Dunnville, Ontario
Dunnville has not been a town since 2001: it is Ward 6 of Haldimand County, which governs and assesses it from an administration building thirty kilometres away in Cayuga. The largest property owner actually in Dunnville is its hospital - and not because of the hospital. Haldimand War Memorial Hospital's audited statements carry $1.59 million of land and $13.0 million of buildings under the heading 'Rental', against $90,754 of land and $24.1 million of buildings for the hospital itself, and it collects life-lease occupancy fees from a seniors community called Village by the Grand. Across the road the county runs a long-term care home. Everything else in Dunnville is privately held and unnamed.
6 buildings · 5 with an owner established · 9 sources · 6 tier A · prepared 2026-10-03
Ontario's land registry holds the official record of ownership for more than 7.4 million parcels, and ServiceOntario states that its land registry services are only available online. Anyone may look up who owns a parcel through OnLand, but only by paying: ServiceOntario's fee bulletin sets a copy of a parcel register at $37.10 including HST from 2 November 2026, with $2.56 per additional page and $13.15 per adjacent PIN on Teraview. There is no bulk ownership extract, no open assessment roll - MPAC's per-property values sit behind AboutMyProperty, propertyline and Municipal Connect, each requiring a login - and no price-paid dataset, so a sale price exists only on the registered transfer, one parcel at a time. What is free is everything around title: the municipality's Financial Information Return, the federal real property directory, and the audited statements of the hospitals, colleges and councils that own the largest buildings in a town this size.
The marquee buildings
The towers that set the tone of the core, and who holds them. A price is the price a document states, on the date it states — not an estimate of what the building is worth now.
| Building | Use | Owner | Owner type | Last price paid |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Haldimand War Memorial Hospital 400 Broad Street West, Dunnville |
Institutional | Haldimand War Memorial Hospital The hospital's audited statements for the year ended 31 March 2026 separate its property into hospital and rental. Hospital: land $90,754 with no amortization, buildings $24,129,688 of cost against $11,561,308 of accumulated amortization, net $12,568,380, plus land improvements of $519,966 almost fully written down. Note 1 states the Hospital is incorporated under the laws of Ontario and is a registered charity. Note 2(a) is important for anyone counting: the statements present the Hospital alone and exclude Edgewater Gardens Long-Term Care Centre and the Haldimand War Memorial Charitable Corporation, which it controls but manages separately. |
Institution | —A |
| Haldimand War Memorial Hospital rental portfolio Dunnville (addresses not stated in the statements) $13.0M of buildings at cost on $1.59M of land |
Mixed use | Haldimand War Memorial Hospital The single most striking line in Dunnville's open record. The hospital's 31 March 2026 statements carry 'Land - Rental' at $1,588,416 and 'Buildings - Rental' at $12,999,857 of cost against $6,359,361 of accumulated amortization - a rental property book seventeen times the carrying value of the land under the hospital itself - and report $485,231 of building rental, maintenance and hydro revenue for the year. The statements do not say which buildings these are or where they stand, and no open source names them, so no address is asserted. A small-town hospital is Dunnville's largest identifiable landlord. |
Institution | —A |
| Village by the Grand Dunnville (address not stated in the statements) |
Residential | Not established a paid title search would answer it A life-lease seniors community that appears twice in the hospital's statements: 'Buildings - Village by the Grand' at $36,616 of cost, fully carried, and a note that part of accounts payable is occupancy fees charged to life lease unit holders of Village by the Grand, set aside for future major repairs and replacement of common areas - $631,581 at 31 March 2026, $618,015 a year earlier. That establishes that the hospital administers the scheme and holds the reserve. It does not establish who holds the freehold, and the $36,616 carrying value is too small to be the buildings themselves, so the owner is left blank. |
Not established | —A |
| Grandview Lodge 657 Lock Street West, Dunnville |
Institutional | The Corporation of Haldimand County Haldimand County's long-term care home, and the county's largest physical presence in Dunnville. The county publishes it under Home, Property and Environment as one of its own services - 'The Grandview Lodge Community', 24-hour long-term care - at 657 Lock Street West, which is the signature of a municipal home rather than a licensed private operator. Note that the county's own administration building is in Cayuga, not Dunnville: Grandview Lodge is the county's building here, the county hall is not. |
Government | —A |
| Dunnville Post Office 201 Broad Street East, Dunnville 957 sq m floor area on 0.1333 ha, 1 building |
Retail | Canada Post Corporation Crown Owned, per the Directory of Federal Real Property - 957.4 square metres on 0.1333 hectares, the largest federal building in Dunnville and one of the few parcels in the community whose owner is on a free register. Across Haldimand County Canada Post owns outright in Dunnville, Caledonia, Cayuga, Hagersville and Jarvis, and leases in Fisherville, Selkirk and York. The directory is Open Government Licence - Canada, which is why it can be quoted while nothing about a private parcel can. |
Government | —A |
| Dunnville Old Wharf Site Northeast end of the dam, Grand River, Dunnville 0.0310 ha |
Land | His Majesty the King in right of Canada (Transport Canada) A small Crown-owned parcel on the Grand River at the northeast end of the dam, listed in the Directory of Federal Real Property as Crown Owned with Transport Canada as custodian, primary use Transportation Marine, no buildings. Included because it is the only non-postal federal land in Dunnville itself: Haldimand's larger federal holdings - the 22.7-hectare Port Maitland Small Craft Harbour and the Mohawk Island National Wildlife Area - are at Port Maitland on Lake Erie, not in the town. |
Government | —A |
The core land
The most valuable ground in the city, and what the public record says about it.
THE LIMITATION FIRST: there is no assessment figure for Dunnville. Dunnville has had no separate assessment roll since it joined Haldimand County in 2001, and Schedule 26A of the Financial Information Return reports by municipality. Every figure below is for the whole of Haldimand County, and one distortion must be stated plainly: Haldimand's industrial assessment is concentrated at Nanticoke on the Lake Erie shore, roughly thirty kilometres from Dunnville, so the county's industrial base is not Dunnville's. Haldimand is absent from the 2025 FIR file, so the 2024 return is used throughout.
Who owns the town
At this scale the significant owner is rarely a trust or a fund: it is one or two local holding companies, a family in its second or third generation, and often the land around the town rather than the buildings in it.
Ownership in Dunnville concentrates in two institutions and the federal Crown. The private side is invisible: Haldimand's $1.32 billion farmland base has no open owner register, and no commercial parcel in the community can be attributed to anyone.
| Name | Type | Holdings |
|---|---|---|
| Haldimand War Memorial Hospital Audited statements to 31 March 2026: Land - Hospital $90,754 and Land - Rental $1,588,416; Buildings - Hospital $24,129,688, Buildings - Rental $12,999,857, Buildings - Village by the Grand $36,616. It also controls, without consolidating, Edgewater Gardens Long-Term Care Centre and the Haldimand War Memorial Charitable Corporation. |
Institution | $1.68M of land and $37.2M of buildings at cost across hospital, rental and Village by the GrandA |
| The Corporation of Haldimand County The single-tier municipality that governs Dunnville as Ward 6, from an administration building in Cayuga. Its own-purpose levy across the whole county in 2024 was $89,830,229. Grandview Lodge is its building in Dunnville. |
Government | Grandview Lodge at 657 Lock Street West, plus county servicesA |
| Canada Post Corporation Crown Owned at 201 Broad St. E., Dunnville, plus Caledonia, Cayuga, Hagersville and Jarvis; leased at Fisherville, Selkirk and York. Directory of Federal Real Property, Open Government Licence - Canada. |
Government | 0.1333 ha and 957 sq m in Dunnville; five owned post offices across HaldimandA |
| Fisheries and Oceans Canada Stated so the figure is not credited to the town. The Port Maitland Small Craft Harbour is 22.7 hectares Crown Owned plus a 2.03-hectare east pier held under Lease or Licence, at the mouth of the Grand River on Lake Erie. Environment and Climate Change Canada separately owns the 2-hectare Mohawk Island National Wildlife Area offshore. |
Government | 24.7 ha at Port Maitland - not in DunnvilleA |
Who builds the houses
New-home building in this market: the volume, and the firms behind it. Ownership of a builder matters as much as its volume — a private-equity platform and a family firm behave differently.
CMHC publishes no starts series for Dunnville. Ontario's Home Construction Regulatory Authority directory is the only per-builder record: five licensees carry a Dunnville address with a live licence, out of 31 that have ever held one - and one of them has delivered more homes in the last decade than any other licensee in this batch. The caveat is the one that always applies: the directory gives the licensee's registered address, not where the homes were built, and a Dunnville-registered builder at this volume is almost certainly building across Haldimand and Niagara.
| Name | Type | Possessions, 2016-2026 |
|---|---|---|
| 1694467 Ontario Inc. 385 River Road, Dunnville; licensed since 13 December 2006, website given as keesmaathomes.com. 247 freehold possessions, no condominium units, no chargeable conciliations and no claims paid - the largest volume and the cleanest record in this batch. Year by year: 11 (2016), 24, 22, 25, 23, 36 (2021), 43 (2022), 15, 19, 23 (2025), 6 so far in 2026. Read from the HCRA builder directory API. |
Private company | 247A |
| Ed Robinson Homes Ltd. 319 Haldimand Road 17, Dunnville; licensed since 16 March 2006. 64 freehold possessions, no condominium units, no chargeable conciliations, no claims paid. Read from the HCRA builder directory API. |
Private company | 64A |
| John L. Cowan Limited 110 Brookfield Boulevard, Dunnville; licensed since 5 May 1986, the oldest live licence in the town, with four freehold possessions and no claims behind it. |
Private company | 4A |
| Fingerprint Homes Ltd. 244 Inman Road, Dunnville; licensed 14 April 2022. Four freehold possessions, no claims. |
Private company | 4A |
| Merigold Developments Inc. 1333 Highway 3 East, Suite 11, Dunnville; licensed 19 September 2025, the newest licence in the town. The HCRA summary returns no possession count, which is what a one-year-old licence looks like. |
Developer | 0A |
Commercial landlords
The commercial side, counted separately from housing: who holds the office, retail and industrial floor area.
No REIT, pension fund or named commercial landlord could be established in Dunnville, and Haldimand County reports only $1.42 million of shopping-centre assessment in its entirety, so there is probably nothing of that kind to find. The one named landlord in the community is the hospital, through a rental portfolio larger than its own hospital land.
| Name | Type | Floor area |
|---|---|---|
| Haldimand War Memorial Hospital Audited statements to 31 March 2026: 'Land - Rental' $1,588,416 and 'Buildings - Rental' $12,999,857 of cost, $6,640,496 net, generating $485,231 of building rental, maintenance and hydro revenue. The statements give no addresses for these buildings. |
Institution | $13.0M of rental buildings on $1.59M of landA |
Looked for and not found
Claims this page would have made if a source could be opened. They are left out rather than guessed.
- No parcel-level owner for any privately held building: establishing one means paying $37.10 per parcel register on OnLand, and no open Ontario register answers the question.
- No sale price for any privately held property: Ontario publishes no price-paid dataset, so a price exists only on the registered transfer.
- Which buildings make up Haldimand War Memorial Hospital's $13.0 million rental portfolio, and where they stand: the statements give the carrying values and the rental revenue but no addresses.
- Who holds the freehold of Village by the Grand: the hospital carries only $36,616 of buildings against it and administers the life-lease repair reserve, which does not establish title.
- The address and bed count of Edgewater Gardens Long-Term Care Centre, which the hospital controls but does not consolidate.
- Haldimand County is absent from the 2025 Financial Information Return file, so every assessment and levy figure here is the 2024 return.
- There is no assessment, levy or land-area figure for Dunnville itself anywhere in the open record - only for the whole of Haldimand County, whose industrial base sits at Nanticoke rather than in Dunnville.
Sources
- Overview: land registry — Government of Ontario (ServiceOntario) · openA
- Bulletin 2026-04: Land Services Fee Changes effective November 2, 2026 — Ministry of Public and Business Service Delivery and Procurement, ServiceOntario, Land Registry Services Branch · openA
- MPAC home page (AboutMyProperty, propertyline, Municipal Connect) — Municipal Property Assessment Corporation · registrationA
- Financial Information Return - multi-year data by year (bulk CSV) — Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Ontario (EFIS) · openA
- Directory of Federal Real Property - open data extract (dfrp-rbif.zip) — Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat · openA
- Ontario Builder Directory API (/api/builders, /api/buildersummary, /api/builderProperties) — Home Construction Regulatory Authority (HCRA) · openA
- Financial Statements, year ended March 31, 2026 — Haldimand War Memorial Hospital (audited by KPMG LLP) · openA
- Contact Us (400 Broad Street West, Dunnville) — Haldimand War Memorial Hospital · openA
- Grandview Lodge — Haldimand County · openA