Vancouver, British Columbia
British Columbia sells title searches for $11.06 and gives away the thing no other jurisdiction in the Americas publishes at all — a free public register of the people behind the companies and trusts that own land.
7 buildings · 4 with an owner established · 16 sources · 4 tier A · 3 tier B · prepared 2026-09-27
Land titles in British Columbia are held by the Land Title and Survey Authority, a statutory corporation, and anybody may search one — but each search is a paid transaction: $11.06 for a search under section 377 of the Land Title Act, $16.76 for a certified State of Title Certificate, on the fee schedule current at 1 April 2026. There is no bulk owner product at any price; the public ParcelMap BC extract is parcel geometry with a PID, and the fully attributed version is licensed "Access Only" to government. What is genuinely unusual is the Land Owner Transparency Registry: since 30 April 2021 it has held transparency reports naming the interest holders behind corporations, trusts and partnerships that own BC land, and a public search of it is free — the LTSA fee schedule prices "Search of publicly accessible information under section 35" at NIL. Assessed values are open because the City of Vancouver redistributes BC Assessment's land and improvement values under the Open Government Licence – Vancouver, but no open dataset carries an owner name and BC publishes no price-paid file at all.
- bcassessment.ca — “Any commercial use of these data in whole or in part, directly or indirectly, including the use of such data for business, residential address or telephone directory services or any solicitation service is specifically prohibited except with the prior written authority of the owner of the copyright.”
The marquee buildings
The towers that set the tone of the core, and who holds them. A price is the price a document states, on the date it states — not an estimate of what the building is worth now.
| Building | Use | Owner | Owner type | Last price paid |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bentall Centre 505 Burrard Street (Bentall I–IV), Downtown Vancouver 1,528,789 sq ft |
Office | Hudson Pacific Properties 20% of the unconsolidated joint venture that owns it HPP's 2025 Form 10-K states: "We own 20% of the ownership interest in the unconsolidated joint venture that owns Bentall Centre." The property table gives 1,528,789 sq ft in Downtown Vancouver at 92.5% leased. The filing does not name the 80% partner. HPP also holds 20% of the JV that owns the adjacent Burrard Exchange development site. |
REIT | —A |
| Pacific Centre — 701 West Georgia 701 West Georgia Street |
Office | Cadillac Fairview Cadillac Fairview's own Vancouver office search lists 701 West Georgia among its three Vancouver office properties. CF's about page states it is "Wholly owned by the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan, with assets under management of $26 billion" — the pension link is the second source, so tier B. No percentage interest is stated. |
Pension fund | —B |
| Pacific Centre — 725 Granville 725 Granville Street |
Mixed use | Cadillac Fairview Listed on Cadillac Fairview's Vancouver office search page alongside 701 West Georgia and Granville Square. Ownership share not stated; the CF/Ontario Teachers' relationship comes from CF's about page. |
Pension fund | —B |
| Granville Square 200 Granville Street |
Office | Cadillac Fairview Appears as a Cadillac Fairview property on CF's Vancouver office availability page, with per-floor availabilities. CF is wholly owned by the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan per its about page. |
Pension fund | —B |
| The Post 349 West Georgia Street |
Mixed use | Not established a paid title search would answer it The building's own site opened and says only "Proudly Managed By" with a quadreal.com contact address — management, not ownership. QuadReal publishes no asset list. Establishing the registered owner needs an $11.06 LTSA title search, and any corporate owner's interest holders a LOTR search. |
Not established | —A |
| The Stack 1133 Melville Street |
Office | Not established the source would not open thestack.ca opened (568 KB) and carries no ownership statement anywhere in its server-rendered text, and Oxford Properties' own /en/property/the-stack URL answers HTTP 200 with a "404: Oops! Nothing was found" page. No primary page states the owner. |
Not established | —A |
| Oakridge Park (650 West 41st Avenue parcel) 650 West 41st Avenue — PID 003-128-687, folio 750164920000, zoning CD-1 (1) |
Mixed use | Not established a paid title search would answer it This is the single highest-assessed parcel in the 2026 City of Vancouver roll: land $800,594,000 plus improvements $1,136,633,000, a $1,350,426 tax levy, year built 1995, legal description excepting air space plans 20425 and EPP85694. The roll carries no owner name — that is the point. |
Not established | —A |
The core land
The most valuable ground in the city, and what the public record says about it.
Vancouver's open roll is unusually good: it splits land value from improvement value and gives the actual tax levy on every parcel, so the city's land can be measured separately from what is built on it. It names nobody. Figures are the 2026 report year of the City of Vancouver property tax report, which redistributes BC Assessment values under the Open Government Licence – Vancouver.
Who builds the houses
New-home building in this market: the volume, and the firms behind it. Ownership of a builder matters as much as its volume — a private-equity platform and a family firm behave differently.
Metro Vancouver's new homes come overwhelmingly from privately held developers — family firms in their second and third generation, plus one large pension-owned builder — not from listed housebuilders, and Canada publishes no builder league table by units, so every figure below is the company's own cumulative claim on its own site rather than a ranked count. Statistics Canada's CMHC series (table 34-10-0143, vector 729969) records 17,298 housing starts in the Vancouver census metropolitan area over the eight months January–August 2026.
| Name | Type | Homes built (company-stated, cumulative) |
|---|---|---|
| Onni Group onni.com/about: "We've constructed over 15,000 new homes, own and manage more than 11,200 rental apartments, built more than 19 million square feet of office, retail, and industrial space, and have an additional 28 million square feet of space in different phases of development." |
Family / private | 15,000+A |
| Concert Properties concertproperties.com: "We've built over 12,000 homes across Canada since 1989" and "We're owned by 49 pension funds and institutional investors representing 200,000+ Canadians" — the only large BC builder that is pension-owned rather than family-held. |
Pension fund | 12,000+A |
| Bosa Properties bosaproperties.com/about states 10,000 homes delivered, 5,000 rental homes and 7,000 condo units in the pipeline, and 5.5 million sq ft of commercial space under management, over "more than 35 years". |
Family / private | 10,000A |
| Wesgroup Properties wesgroup.ca/about: "What started as a local family business in British Columbia over 60 years ago… Wesgroup is proud to have built more than 7,000 homes and over 100 communities while managing over 3 million square feet of commercial property as well." |
Family / private | 7,000+A |
Commercial landlords
The commercial side, counted separately from housing: who holds the office, retail and industrial floor area.
Downtown Vancouver's towers are held mostly by Canadian pension capital and its in-house managers, with one US-listed REIT holding a minority of the largest complex. There is no free floor-area league table for Vancouver; these are the owners' own disclosures, and where a figure is company-wide rather than Vancouver-only the note says so.
| Name | Type | Portfolio or asset size (as stated) |
|---|---|---|
| QuadReal Property Group quadreal.com states "a global real estate investment, development and operating company with AUM of $98.5 billion". Company-wide, not Vancouver-only; the site no longer publishes an asset list, and the page does not state its own ownership. |
Pension fund | $98.5B AUMA |
| Cadillac Fairview cadillacfairview.com/about-us: "Wholly owned by the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan, with assets under management of $26 billion." Its Vancouver office search lists 701 West Georgia, 725 Granville and Granville Square. |
Pension fund | $26B AUM; 3 Vancouver office propertiesA |
| Hudson Pacific Properties 2025 Form 10-K: Bentall Centre, Downtown Vancouver, 1,528,789 sq ft at 92.5% leased, held through an unconsolidated joint venture in which HPP owns 20%; the JV carries a $482.6M facility maturing 1 July 2027. |
REIT | 1,528,789 sq ft (Bentall Centre, 20% JV interest)A |
| Concert Properties concertproperties.com: "We own and manage more than 12.5 million square feet of commercial space." Canada-wide, head-officed in Vancouver. |
Pension fund | 12.5M+ sq ftA |
| Onni Group onni.com/about states more than 19 million sq ft of office, retail and industrial built and a further 28 million sq ft in phases of development. North America-wide, Vancouver-based. |
Family / private | 19M+ sq ft builtA |
| Bosa Properties bosaproperties.com/about, "Square feet of commercial space under management". |
Family / private | 5.5M sq ft under managementA |
Looked for and not found
Claims this page would have made if a source could be opened. They are left out rather than guessed.
- Who holds the 80% of the Bentall Centre joint venture that Hudson Pacific does not — the 10-K names no partner.
- The owner of The Post (349 West Georgia): only the manager is published.
- The owner of The Stack (1133 Melville): no primary page states one.
- The registered owner of the city's highest-assessed parcel at 650 West 41st Avenue, and whether a reporting body has filed a LOTR transparency report against it — LOTR search is free but needs an account, which was not opened here.
- BC Assessment's advertised interactive map of "the top 500 valued residential properties" was not opened, and its terms forbid commercial reuse in any case.
- No open dataset names the owner of a BC parcel: the public ParcelMap BC extract is geometry plus PID, and the Fully Attributed variant is licensed "Access Only", audience Government.
- No price-paid dataset exists. Property Transfer Tax open data is transaction counts and values by municipality and regional district, with municipalities of one to four transactions suppressed as "Not Releasable".
- BC Assessment's full roll (Data Advice) is "Named users" only; there is no public bulk assessment roll.
- LOTR covers only land held through corporations, trusts and partnerships — land held directly by an individual is out of scope — and filings began 30 November 2020, so pre-2021 static holdings may be incompletely reported.
Sources
- Property tax report (2026 report year) — City of Vancouver Open Data, sourced from BC Assessment · openA
- Fees — LTSA Customer Fee Listing as at April 1, 2026 — Land Title and Survey Authority of British Columbia · openA
- About the Land Owner Transparency Registry — Land Title and Survey Authority of British Columbia · openA
- Property Transfer Tax Data 2026 (and 2019, 2020 series) — BC Ministry of Finance via BC Data Catalogue · openA
- Hudson Pacific Properties, Inc. Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025 — US Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR) · openA
- Vancouver office availabilities and About Us — Cadillac Fairview · openA
- The Post — 349 West Georgia Street — The Post (QuadReal-managed building site) · openA
- The Stack — 1133 Melville Street — thestack.ca · openA
- About Onni — Onni Group · openA
- Concert Properties homepage — Concert Properties · openA
- About Bosa Properties — Bosa Properties · openA
- About Wesgroup — Wesgroup Properties · openA
- QuadReal Property Group homepage and About Us — QuadReal Property Group · openA
- BC Assessment homepage and copyright notice — BC Assessment · openA
- Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, housing starts, under construction and completions in centres 10,000 and over — table 34-10-0143, vector 729969 (Vancouver, total units) — Statistics Canada · openA
- ParcelMap BC Parcel Polygons (OGL) and Fully Attributed variants — Land Title and Survey Authority of BC via BC Data Catalogue · openA