Woodstock, Ontario

Woodstock's largest landholding is a car plant: Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada's West plant sits on 1,000 acres and 1.8 million square feet, and the province's own return shows why - the city's large-industrial class is assessed at $240.7 million against an entire office-building class of $2.9 million. The second-largest holder is the city itself, which bought a farm on Pattullo Avenue in 2016, serviced it, and in May 2026 sold the last 10.6 acres of it to a Dutch-owned steel company for $5.3 million.

7 buildings · 5 with an owner established · 15 sources · 6 tier A · 1 tier B · prepared 2026-10-03

Can you find out who owns it?

Ontario's land registry is public but never free. ServiceOntario holds the official record of ownership for every parcel in the province and sells it one parcel at a time through OnLand: a copy of a parcel register, including the first page, costs $37.10 ($9.70 statutory + $24.25 ELRSA + $3.15 HST) under the Land Registry Services Branch fee bulletin effective 2 November 2026, with $2.56 for each additional page and $13.15 for an adjacent PIN in Teraview. There is no bulk ownership extract, no open assessment roll - MPAC's per-property values sit behind AboutMyProperty, propertyline and Municipal Connect logins - and no price-paid dataset, so a sale price exists only on a registered transfer. What is open in a small Ontario town is everything around title: the municipality's own council record, and the province's Financial Information Return, which publishes the assessed value of every property class in every municipality.

Is ownership public?Public, but one paid search at a time
Cost of one title search$37.10 for a copy of a parcel register including the first page ($9.70 statutory + $24.25 ELRSA + $3.15 HST); $2.56 per additional page; $13.15 per adjacent PIN, Teraview only. Effective 2 November 2026
Bulk ownership dataNone published
Sale pricesNo transaction data published
Sites that forbid taking their data
  • realtor.ca — “The Canadian Real Estate Association's terms for REALTOR.ca prohibit the reproduction, redistribution and systematic retrieval of listing content; its listing data was not taken and no listing price appears in this record.”
1

The marquee buildings

The towers that set the tone of the core, and who holds them. A price is the price a document states, on the date it states — not an estimate of what the building is worth now.

BuildingUseOwner Owner typeLast price paid
Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada - West Plant
Woodstock (TMMC West)
1.8 million sq ft on 1,000 acres
Industrial Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada Inc.
Toyota's own TMMC fact sheet gives the Woodstock plant as 1,000 acres and 1.8 million sq ft. TMMC's site states that West, in Woodstock, builds the RAV4 and RAV4 Hybrid and is the newest of its three plants, the other two being in Cambridge; Canadian production of the sixth-generation RAV4 started in January 2026. The fact sheet does not break out Woodstock's own employment or investment, giving only CAD $8 billion and about 8,500 people across both sites. No purchase price or land transfer appears in any source opened, and the parcel register was not searched.
Public company —A
SmartCentres Woodstock
499 Norwich Avenue
295,950 sq ft
Retail SmartCentres Real Estate Investment Trust
100%
SmartCentres' own property page states the centre is 295,950 sq ft at 499 Norwich Avenue, ownership 100 per cent, anchored by a Walmart Supercentre, with Dollarama, Mark's, Pet Valu and Staples, adjacent to Canadian Tire and Home Depot at Norwich Avenue and Highway 401. The page gives 2025 demographics for a five-kilometre trade area of 11,224 people. No acquisition price or date is stated on the page and none was found elsewhere.
REIT —A
Alyea Street industrial lands (Pattullo Avenue industrial development)
Alyea Street, Woodstock
10.6 acres
Land City of Woodstock
The city's own council release of 7 May 2026: 'Council approved the sale of an additional 10.6 acres of City-owned industrial land on Alyea Street to Stigterstaal Canada Real Estate Inc. for $5.3M with the sale expected to close in the Fall of 2026. This is the company's 3rd land purchase on Alyea Street, and it is also the final remaining industrial land in the Pattullo Avenue industrial development.' At $5.3 million for 10.6 acres the price is about $500,000 an acre. What the city paid for the land, and what it spent servicing it, is in staff reports that could not be opened.
Government —A
Woodstock Hospital
Juliana Drive, Woodstock
Institutional Woodstock Hospital (Woodstock General Hospital)
Infrastructure Ontario's project page records substantial completion of the new Woodstock General Hospital on 27 June 2011 under its alternative financing and procurement model; the page states no project value. The hospital's own About page says it has operated at the Juliana Drive location since 2011, is a 178-bed community hospital serving about 55,000 people locally and nearly 135,000 across Oxford County, and holds silver LEED certification. Title was not searched, so the owning entity is taken from the operator's own statement of itself.
Institution —B
IPEX Woodstock distribution centre
Woodstock, Ontario
150,000 sq ft
Industrial Not established
a paid title search would answer it
Named trade reporting, July 2025: IPEX, a supplier of thermoplastic materials, products and accessories, opened a 150,000 sq ft distribution centre in Woodstock representing a 'more than $27 million investment', combining warehousing with cross-docking and a pedestrian-free design for uninterrupted goods movement. The article does not say whether IPEX owns or leases the building, and no transfer or price appears in any record opened, so no owner is entered. Acreage and builder are not stated.
Not established —A
Canada Post Letter Carrier Depot Woodstock
1280 Commerce Way
1,147.8 sq m on 1.0117 ha
Industrial Canada Post Corporation
The Directory of Federal Real Property records this property, number 19162, as Crown Owned: one building, 1,147.8 sq m of floor area on 1.0117 ha, custodian Canada Post. It is the only federally owned building in Woodstock in the directory. Canada Post's own Station Main at 433 Norwich Avenue, by contrast, is recorded as Lease or Licence.
Government —A
959 and 1401 Dundas Street federal offices
959 Dundas Street and 1401 Dundas Street
382 sq m and 220 sq m
Office Not established
a paid title search would answer it
The inverse of ownership, and the only systematic open evidence of private landlords in Woodstock. The federal property directory records Public Services and Procurement Canada occupying both addresses under Lease or Licence, 382 sq m and 220 sq m, and Farm Credit Canada occupying 700 sq m at 536 Athlone Avenue on the same basis. The register names the tenant, never the landlord, and establishing the owner of any of the three would cost $37.10 a parcel through OnLand.
Not established —A
2

The core land

The most valuable ground in the city, and what the public record says about it.

No assessed value for any individual Woodstock parcel is public - MPAC's values sit behind three separate logins - but the province publishes the whole tax base by property class in the Financial Information Return, filed under s.294(1) of the Municipal Act and released as bulk CSV under the Open Government Licence - Ontario. The 2025 return for Woodstock C was last updated 28 July 2026. The shape it shows is unusual: an entire office-building class of $2.9 million against a single large-industrial class of $240.7 million, which is to say that Woodstock has a car plant and essentially no office market.

Total taxable assessment (CVA)$5.599 billion
City of Woodstock, FIR 2025 Schedule 26, taxable assessment at current value before adjustments. 1 January 2016 current values, still the basis for 2026 taxes.
Large-industrial class assessment$240.70 million
FIR 2025 Schedule 26. The class the Toyota plant sits in; the ordinary industrial class adds a further $133.03 million, for an industrial subtotal of $373.73 million.
Office-building class assessment$2.92 million
FIR 2025 Schedule 26. The entire office-building class in a city of 46,705. Against it, the shopping-centre class is $91.40 million - a ratio of about 1 to 31.
Farmland class assessment$37.14 million
FIR 2025 Schedule 26. Farmland is a rounding error in Woodstock's base, unlike Leamington's; the residential class is $4.254 billion.
Total property taxes levied, 2025$134.66 million
FIR 2025: City of Woodstock lower-tier levy $84.22M, County of Oxford upper-tier $33.36M, education $17.08M, including $2.51M of supplementary taxes.
New residential units completed, 2025411
FIR 2025 Schedule 02 statistical information: 191 units in new detached houses (134 with a residential unit plus 57 secondary units), 11 semi-detached, 151 row-house units and 69 apartment or condominium-apartment units.
3

Who owns the town

At this scale the significant owner is rarely a trust or a fund: it is one or two local holding companies, a family in its second or third generation, and often the land around the town rather than the buildings in it.

Concentration in Woodstock runs through one manufacturer and one municipality. Toyota's West plant alone occupies 1,000 acres - roughly a fiftieth of the city - and carries most of a large-industrial assessment base of $240.7 million. The city is the other large holder, and deliberately so: it assembled and serviced the Pattullo Avenue industrial lands and has been selling them off parcel by parcel, with the final 10.6 acres approved for sale in May 2026. No family holding company of the Farhi or Drewlo type appears anywhere in the Woodstock record opened, and no farmland holding is nameable: the whole farmland class is assessed at $37.1 million, less than a sixth of the Toyota plant's class.

NameTypeHoldings
Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada Inc.
Toyota's own newsroom fact sheet for TMMC gives the Woodstock plant as 1,000 acres and 1.8 million sq ft; TMMC's own site states that TMMC West, in Woodstock, builds the RAV4 and RAV4 Hybrid and is the newest of its three Ontario plants. The combined Cambridge and Woodstock operation is given as about 8,500 employees and CAD $8 billion of investment. TMMC is a wholly owned manufacturing subsidiary of Toyota Motor Corporation. The parcel register was not searched, so this is the company's own description of its site rather than a title record.
Public company 1,000 acres / 1.8 million sq ftA
City of Woodstock
The city has run its own industrial land bank. On 7 May 2026 council approved the sale of a further 10.6 acres on Alyea Street to Stigterstaal Canada Real Estate Inc. for $5.3 million, closing in the autumn of 2026, and the city's own release states that this is 'the final remaining industrial land in the Pattullo Avenue industrial development'. The city is also the landlord of the downtown core's civic estate from 500 Dundas Street. What the city paid for the Pattullo land, and what it spent servicing it, could not be established: the staff reports are behind a Cloudflare block.
Government Pattullo Avenue industrial development, sold down to its final 10.6 acresA
Stigterstaal Canada Real Estate Inc.
The city's own council release of 7 May 2026 records this as the company's third land purchase on Alyea Street, at $5.3 million for 10.6 acres - about $500,000 an acre - with closing expected in the autumn of 2026. The buyer is the Canadian real-estate arm of a steel group; no other Woodstock holding of the company was established from any source opened.
Private company three land purchases on Alyea Street; latest 10.6 acresA
SmartCentres Real Estate Investment Trust
The only institutional landlord established in Woodstock. SmartCentres' own property page for SmartCentres Woodstock at 499 Norwich Avenue gives 295,950 sq ft and states ownership of 100 per cent; the centre is anchored by a Walmart Supercentre with Dollarama, Mark's, Pet Valu and Staples, adjacent to Canadian Tire and Home Depot, at Norwich Avenue and Highway 401.
REIT 295,950 sq ft, 100% ownedA
Canada Post Corporation
The Directory of Federal Real Property records the Woodstock Letter Carrier Depot at 1280 Commerce Way as Crown Owned, 1.0117 ha with one building of 1,147.8 sq m. Canada Post's Station Main at 433 Norwich Avenue is held by Lease or Licence, as are both Public Services and Procurement Canada offices in the city and Farm Credit Canada's at 536 Athlone Avenue - four federal tenancies whose landlords are not in the register.
Government 1.01 ha Crown owned at 1280 Commerce WayA
5

Who builds the houses

New-home building in this market: the volume, and the firms behind it. Ownership of a builder matters as much as its volume — a private-equity platform and a family firm behave differently.

Statistics Canada's CMHC starts tables do not publish at Woodstock's geography, so the two measures available are the city's own return and the builder regulator. The Financial Information Return records 411 new residential units in 2025, of which 151 were row houses and only 69 apartments. Ontario's Home Construction Regulatory Authority publishes, for each licensee, the total number of freehold and condominium properties delivered to homeowners over 2016-2026. Twenty licensed builders list a Woodstock address; the caveat the directory itself implies is that this is the licensee's registered address, not where the homes were built. The list below is of Woodstock-registered builders, ranked by possessions.

NameTypePossessions 2016-2026
Oxford Builders Inc.
504875 Old Stage Road, Woodstock; HCRA-licensed since 19 May 2011. All 168 possessions are freehold, none condominium. Two chargeable conciliations and no claims amount recorded.
Private company 168A
Hunt Homes Inc.
313 Tecumseh Street, Woodstock; licensed since 24 August 2011. All 136 possessions freehold; no chargeable conciliations and no claims recorded.
Private company 136A
Deroo Bros. Ventures Inc.
506 Devonshire Avenue, Woodstock; licensed since 16 May 2006. 103 freehold possessions, one chargeable conciliation and $299,461.48 in minor claims - the largest claims total of any Woodstock-registered builder. A related licensee, Deroo Fine Homes Inc. of 1182 Alberni Road, shows a further 10.
Family / private 103A
Goodman Homes Limited
233 Tamarack Boulevard, Woodstock; licensed since 4 November 1991, the longest-running of the larger Woodstock names after A.P. Hurley. 73 freehold and 23 condominium possessions, four chargeable conciliations and $25,250.92 in minor claims.
Family / private 96A
Tru-Built Construction Inc.
594681 Highway 59 South, Woodstock; licensed since 8 November 1994. 55 freehold possessions, two chargeable conciliations, no claims amount recorded.
Private company 55A
Sally Creek Lifestyle Homes Inc.
1193 Dundas Street, Woodstock; licensed only since 12 August 2022 and already at 34 freehold possessions, the fastest-building new entrant on the Woodstock list. No conciliations or claims recorded.
Private company 34A
6

Commercial landlords

The commercial side, counted separately from housing: who holds the office, retail and industrial floor area.

One REIT, one municipality and one manufacturer account for almost all of the commercial and industrial ground that can be established in Woodstock from open sources. There is no office landlord worth naming - the city's entire office-building assessment class is $2.9 million - and no second enclosed shopping centre.

NameTypeFloor area / land
SmartCentres Real Estate Investment Trust
SmartCentres Woodstock, 499 Norwich Avenue, Walmart Supercentre-anchored, at Norwich Avenue and Highway 401. Ownership stated as 100 per cent on the REIT's own property page. This is the only institutional commercial landlord established in the city.
REIT 295,950 sq ft, 100%A
City of Woodstock
The city has been the supplier of serviced industrial land in Woodstock, selling parcels on Alyea Street to industrial purchasers; the May 2026 sale of 10.6 acres to Stigterstaal Canada Real Estate Inc. for $5.3 million exhausts the Pattullo Avenue holding.
Government Pattullo Avenue industrial development (final 10.6 acres sold May 2026)A
IPEX
Opened in 2025 on a stated investment of more than $27 million, combining warehousing with cross-docking. Whether IPEX owns or leases the building is not stated in the article, so it is listed as an occupier of significant floor area rather than an established owner.
Private company 150,000 sq ft distribution centreB
?

Looked for and not found

Claims this page would have made if a source could be opened. They are left out rather than guessed.

  • What the City of Woodstock paid for the George Alyea farm on Pattullo Avenue in 2016, and the roughly $16.5 million it is reported to have spent on studies, design, grading and servicing: both figures appear only in council staff reports behind a Cloudflare block, so neither is claimed here.
  • Whether IPEX owns or leases its 150,000 sq ft Woodstock distribution centre. The trade report establishes the building, the floor area and a $27 million investment, but not the interest held.
  • The owners of the three buildings the federal government leases in Woodstock - 959 Dundas Street, 1401 Dundas Street and 536 Athlone Avenue. The federal register names only the tenant; the landlord would cost $37.10 a parcel to establish.
  • Any family or private holding company with a material Woodstock portfolio. Nothing of the kind appears in any source opened, which is itself a finding for a city of 46,705: the big holders here are a carmaker, a municipality and a REIT.
  • Any link between a property holding and elected office in Woodstock. Nothing was established and the record therefore carries none. Checked: the city's own site navigation and its published council highlights; no conflict-of-interest or pecuniary-interest registry page is linked from the city site.
  • CMHC housing starts for Woodstock: not published at that geography. The unit counts used are the city's own figures in the Financial Information Return.
§

Sources

  1. Overview: land registry — Government of Ontario (ServiceOntario) · openA
  2. Bulletin No. 2026-04: Land Services Fee Changes effective November 2, 2026 (Schedule I, Tariffs of Fees) — Ministry of Public and Business Service Delivery and Procurement, ServiceOntario, Land Registry Services Branch · openA
  3. MPAC home page (AboutMyProperty, propertyline, Municipal Connect) — Municipal Property Assessment Corporation · registrationA
  4. OnLand - Ontario Land Registry Access — Teranet / ServiceOntario · paidA
  5. Financial Information Return bulk CSV, fir_data_2025.csv (Schedule 26, Taxation and Payments-in-Lieu Summary; Schedule 22, Municipal and School Board Taxation; Schedule 02, Statistical Information) — Ontario Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing · openA
  6. Ontario Builder Directory (/api/builders, /api/buildersummary endpoints) — Home Construction Regulatory Authority (HCRA) · openA
  7. Directory of Federal Real Property, open data extract (dfrp-rbif.xml) — Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat · openA
  8. Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada Inc. (TMMC) Fact Sheet — Toyota (Toyota USA Newsroom) · openA
  9. Toyota Manufacturing Canada - TMMC Inc. (plants: North, South, West) — Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada Inc. · openA
  10. Council Highlights from the May 7 meeting (Proposed Sale of 10.6 Acres of City-Owned Industrial Land to Stigterstaal Canada Real Estate Inc.) — City of Woodstock · openA
  11. Property - SmartCentres Woodstock, 499 Norwich Avenue — SmartCentres Real Estate Investment Trust · openA
  12. IPEX opens new distribution centre in Woodstock — Daily Commercial News (ConstructConnect) · openA
  13. Woodstock General Hospital - project page (substantial completion 27 June 2011) — Infrastructure Ontario · openA
  14. About Woodstock Hospital — Woodstock Hospital · openA
  15. City of Woodstock home page — City of Woodstock · openA