Dairy Quota & Beef Herd Operation
The industry — Cattle ranching and farming
Base industry report for 1121 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 9,021
- Under 10 employeesA
- 93%
Of 9,021 Canadian establishments with employees, 93% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 3
The binding constraint — capital intensity
Two businesses share this code and they fail an entrant differently. Dairy is the attractive one — a regulated price, a guaranteed buyer, and Quebec's 3,735 establishments [A], 41% of the group, are mostly that. The ticket is quota, and Ontario's exchange shows what the ticket market looks like. Dairy Farmers of Ontario caps the price at $24,000 per kilogram of butterfat a day. In March 2026, 1,908 producers bid for 25,628 kg; 221 kg was offered; the average buyer got 0.744% of what it asked for [A]. In April the exchange was cancelled outright — 60 kg offered against the 200 kg needed to run a single allotment round [A]. New producers who bought quota in March: none [A]. A capped price does not make quota affordable; it makes it unavailable, because every holder would rather keep a capped asset than sell it, and what little appears is rationed a tenth of a kilogram at a time among farmers already milking. The assisted new-entrant stream exists and moved no quota in either month. Beef has no quota and no floor. The national herd was 11.1 million head on 1 January 2026, up 2.5% — the first increase since 2018 [A] — and over the second half of 2025 Statistics Canada records feeder and slaughter cattle prices climbing to record highs on tight supplies [A]. The breeding females an entrant must buy are priced in that market, against incumbents rebuilding their own herds. A cow-calf operator pays that, carries land and winter feed through a biological cycle of more than two years from breeding to a finished animal, and sells into a packing sector it cannot negotiate with. Either way the capital goes in long before the first cheque, and in dairy it cannot be deployed even when it is in hand. The herd-management software sold to this industry is screened separately.
Milk quota is provincial property — it is issued, capped, traded and rationed by a provincial board, and Ontario quota cannot be milked in Quebec. Beef cattle move further, but a cow-calf operation is tied to its grass and sells calves through regional marts into a feedlot belt concentrated in southern Alberta. Neither business competes nationally for its inputs.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 6 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SaputoTSX: SAPA | $5.4B | — | Canada Sector revenues, fiscal year ended 31 March 2026 — The buyer, not a rival farm. Earns a 12.9% adjusted EBITDA margin in Canada on milk it buys at an administered price and resells at prices it raises to cover that cost. |
| AgropurUNVERIFIED | not disclosed | — | Canada's largest dairy co-operative. Named from general knowledge; its sales were not sourced for this record. |
| Lactalis CanadaUNVERIFIED | not disclosed | — | Named from general knowledge; Canadian revenue not published and not sourced for this record. |
| The 9,048 Canadian dairy farmsA | not disclosed | — | $9.15B of net farm cash receipts from dairying between them in 2025 — about $1.01M each, derived from two AAFC figures. Each holds the quota an entrant would have to buy. |
| The 71,280 cattle farms and ranchesA | not disclosed | — | $20.56B of farm cash receipts from cattle and calves in 2025. Against 9,021 employer establishments in this whole NAICS group, the overwhelming majority of cattle operations have no employees — that is the cost base an entrant is priced against. |
| The federally inspected beef packersUNVERIFIED | not disclosed | — | The buyer of every finished animal. Their number, ownership and share of Canadian slaughter were not sourced for this record. |
Evidence
Evidence. Establishment counts are Statistics Canada's business counts (December 2023). The quota figures are read line by line from Dairy Farmers of Ontario's own exchange summaries for March and April 2026 (PDFs, downloaded and read) — a statutory marketing board's transaction record, which is as primary as this gets. Cattle inventory is from Statistics Canada's livestock estimates for 1 January 2026. Limits: Ontario is one province; Quebec, which holds most of the establishments, runs its own capped exchange and was not opened. The conversion from kilograms of quota to cows, and therefore the dollar cost of a viable herd's quota, was not sourced and is deliberately not stated. The beef half of the argument has two hard numbers — the herd turning up after seven years, and record feeder and slaughter prices on tight supplies — and the rest (replacement cost per head, cycle length, packer leverage) is UNVERIFIED analyst reasoning. Added in the completion pass: Saputo's Canada Sector revenue, adjusted EBITDA and margin were read from the segment table in its fourth-quarter and full-year fiscal 2026 MD&A (fiscal year ended 31 March 2026), downloaded as a PDF and read at the table rather than from the headline bullets — the consolidated C$17,551M comes from the consolidated section of the same document. FY2026 is the latest completed fiscal year; the fiscal 2027 first quarter has been reported but no newer annual figures exist. The dairy farm count, dairying cash receipts, cow numbers, plant count and manufacturing shipments are Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada's Canadian Dairy Information Centre 2025 highlights; the cattle farm count, herd, Alberta share and cattle cash receipts are AAFC's red meat and livestock industry profile as modified 4 September 2026. A caution on the counts: AAFC's 9,048 dairy farms and Statistics Canada's 9,021 employer establishments in NAICS 1121 are close by coincidence and are not the same universe — the AAFC number is dairy farms only, the StatCan number is all cattle ranching and farming businesses with employees. Agropur, Lactalis Canada and the beef packers are named from general knowledge and carry no figure; they are UNVERIFIED. The cut factor is judgment: quota could equally be read as regulatory drag, and capital was chosen because it also kills the beef side.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National dairy producer organisation behind supply management; site listed a 2026 annual general meeting.
DFO's producer-facing section, including the quota exchange archive and board news dated January 2026. This is where the quota price is set.
National association for cow-calf, backgrounding and feedlot operators.
Annual national beef industry conference; site had a 2026 poster competition and registration banner when checked.
Published by Dairy Farmers of Ontario; current issue shown as August 2026.
Blocked automated access (Cloudflare). Search results show the Glacier FarmMedia beef title live with 2026 content.
Dairy and beef share the NAICS code but not the communities: dairy operators organise through the provincial marketing boards, beef operators through the cattle associations. Lactanet (lactanet.ca) is the other national dairy body, covering herd records and genetics.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.