Independent Hog Barn
The industry — Hog and pig farming
Base industry report for 1122 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 1,416
- Under 10 employeesA
- 83%
Of 1,416 Canadian establishments with employees, 83% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Execution decidesThe hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.
Get to the buyer. The product is reachable and the need is real; the channel is owned by someone else, and a route to it — a partner, a reseller, a trade relationship, a book of clients bought outright — is what has to be built.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 5
The binding constraint — distribution
The pre-screen cut this on barn capital. The barn is expensive; the sharper problem is who buys the pigs. There is scale here — 13.9 million hogs on Canadian farms at 1 January 2026, 10.9 million slaughtered in the second half of 2025 [A] — and no quota, so on paper anyone may build. Now read the country's newly listed packer: Canada Packers processed 4.17 million hogs in 2025 and raised 46.7% of them itself [A]. Its release reports sales of $1,836.4M and pro forma adjusted EBITDA up about 46% to $191M, and says the results benefited from 'improved year-over-year market conditions driven by the vertically integrated spread' while the packer spread stayed flat [A]. That phrase is the screen: the spread between the cost of raising a hog and the value of its meat is where the money is, and the packer stands on both sides of it. An independent producer sells to a buyer that is also its largest competitor in hog production and that fills nearly half its hooks from its own barns. It still buys most of its hogs outside — 53.3% in 2025 [A] — so the outlet is real; it is not a negotiation between equals, because only one side has a supply it controls. The other outlet is the border: 3.5 million live hogs were exported in the second half of 2025, up 8.0% [A] — an outlet that exists at the pleasure of trade policy and the exchange rate, and whose split between weanlings and market hogs the release does not report. The counts show what the survivors look like: 1,416 establishments, 93% in Quebec, Ontario and Manitoba [A], where the plants are. A new barn without a packer's contract is a building full of animals that reach market weight on a date that cannot be moved, with one or two possible buyers. Shackle space, not the barn, is the scarce asset, and the one owner of it whose numbers are public raises nearly half its own supply.
A finished hog is hauled live to a plant, so a producer's market is the one or two packers within trucking range, plus the US border for weanlings and feeder pigs from Manitoba and Ontario. 93% of Canadian establishments sit in the three provinces that have the large plants. Pork then trades globally, but the barn does not.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 4 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada PackersTSX: CPKRA | $1.8B | — | FY2025 sales — Buys 53.3% of its hogs from producers and raises the rest. An independent sells to the firm it competes with. |
| Olymel / HyLife / Sofina FoodsUNVERIFIED | not disclosed | — | The other large Canadian kill floors. Named from general knowledge; none of their volumes, ownership or contract terms was sourced for this record. |
| US finishing barns and packersA | not disclosed | — | Took 6.99 million live Canadian hogs in 2025 — 5.2 million isoweans and feeders to farms, 1.7 million head to plants. The alternative buyer, at the pleasure of trade policy. |
| The 6,935 Canadian hog farmsA | not disclosed | — | $7.2B of farm cash receipts between them in 2025. Only 1,416 are employer businesses; 93% of those sit in Quebec, Ontario and Manitoba, beside the plants. |
Evidence
Evidence. Establishment counts are Statistics Canada's business counts (December 2023). Inventory, slaughter and live exports are from Statistics Canada's livestock estimates for 1 January 2026. Canada Packers' figures — hogs processed, the internal/external split, sales and pro forma adjusted EBITDA — are read from its own fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 results release; the EBITDA figures are the company's pro forma estimates, as it states. What these establish is that the largest listed Canadian packer supplies nearly half its own hogs and attributes its profit to integration. What they do not establish is the contract terms an independent is offered, the position at other packers (Olymel, HyLife, Sofina and the Quebec marketing arrangements were not opened), barn construction cost, or the mix of weanlings and market hogs in the live-export figure, which Statistics Canada's release does not break out. Added in the completion pass: the national totals — 21.8 million hogs marketed through Canadian plants, 6,935 hog farms, $7.2B of hog farm cash receipts, 6.99 million live hogs exported with the 5.2 million / 1.7 million split — are from Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada's red meat and livestock industry profile as modified 4 September 2026. The ~19% share is derived, not published: Canada Packers' own count of 4.17 million hogs processed in 2025 over AAFC's 21.8 million marketed through Canadian plants in the same year. The two counts are not defined identically (a plant's throughput and a national marketing total need not match at the edges), so the figure is tiered B and stated as 'about'. The spin-off date and the discontinued-operations treatment are read from Maple Leaf Foods' own fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 results release of 5 March 2026, and the TSX: CPKR ticker from Canada Packers' own investor page. Olymel, HyLife and Sofina remain UNVERIFIED — named, not sourced. The inference that an independent is a marginal supplier on the packer's terms is the analyst's reading of one company's disclosure, and the cut factor is judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Farms represented through its nine provincial pork associations, per its homepage. The national producer body.
Producers' marketing board for Ontario hog farmers; blocked automated access (403). Search results cite about 1,900 farms; not verified on the page.
AgMedia magazine, six issues a year, 'the trusted source for Canadian swine producers' per its page. No circulation stated.
Affiliated state pork producer associations, per its homepage; it says the industry has 60K+ producers. Presents World Pork Expo.
Annual production and research conference; next edition January 5-7, 2027, Fairmont Banff Springs. No attendance figure stated.
Pork industry trade show in Stratford, Ontario; next edition June 16-17, 2027. No exhibitor count stated.
Swine news, markets and podcasts site with dedicated Eastern and Western Canada pork producer pages.
Weekly podcast for producers, vets and nutritionists; 350+ episodes. Claims 44,000 listeners, an audience claim rather than a member count.
Canadian hog producers organize through provincial boards (Ontario Pork also handles hog payment and trucking; Manitoba Pork and Alberta Pork verified live) and meet at Banff and Stratford; the busiest online talk is on US-centred sites such as Swineweb and pig333 (3tres3.com, which states 214,708 registered users) rather than a Canadian forum.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.