Operating business34% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresStructure decidesentry cost + regulatory drag

Supply-Managed Poultry & Egg Quota

Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Poultry and egg production

Base industry report for 1123 →
Establishments · CanadaA
1,958
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
87%
most common size: 1–4

Of 1,958 Canadian establishments with employees, 87% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDentry cost + regulatory drag — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA87% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 112, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing and Hunting, US · opened 2020
88%
1 year
71.7%
3 years
61.8%
5 years
53%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 6

The binding constraint — entry cost + regulatory drag

This is the best farm business in Canada to already own. Chicken, turkey, eggs and hatching eggs are supply-managed: a board matches production to demand, the price is set from a cost-of-production formula, and the 1,958 establishments [A] sell everything they are allowed to grow. The allowance is the business, and the screen is about what it takes to get one. In Ontario, the largest province for this group, a chicken farmer must hold at least 14,000 units of quota, and the board is explicit that it 'does not regulate the price of quota which is bought and sold on the open market' [B]. Its new-entrant programme lends up to 10,000 of those units to a farmer who buys the first 4,000, on a fifteen-year commitment — and has admitted forty-seven farms since it began [B]. In eggs the number is public: BC Egg's exchange cleared at $370 per unit of layer quota on 2 September 2026, with 6,370 units on offer against 33,930 units of bids — an 18.8% fill rate — one application per person, local buyers first, and a clearing price that may only rise when the board's own conditions are met [A]. A unit is, broadly, the right to keep one laying hen. Whatever flock size makes a living, the quota for it is bought at a price the board does not set, and is released in parcels too small and too rationed to assemble a farm from. The result is what dairy shows in Dairy Quota & Beef Herd Operation from the other side: a licence that capitalises the whole future margin into its purchase price, so that the entrant buys the profit in advance from the person leaving. The unregulated corners — the small-flock exemptions, ducks, quail, pastured specialty — are real, and the exemption exists precisely to cap them below commercial scale. Growing past it requires the quota the exemption exists to avoid.

Market scaleregionalunit: one province's quota pool for one commodity — chicken, turkey, table eggs or hatching eggs — administered by that province's marketing board

Quota is allocated nationally to provinces and then issued, transferred and priced inside each province by its own board; British Columbia's egg exchange even offers quota to buyers in the seller's region first. A producer competes only to acquire quota, and only within the province where it would be grown.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 1,958 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 67% have 1–4 employees; 35 establishments employ 50 or more
Where they areA Ontario 670, Quebec 586, British Columbia 342, Alberta 115 (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
BC layer quota, market clearing priceA $370.00 per unit of layer quota at the 2 September 2026 exchange; 5,000 units offered in the Lower Mainland and 1,370 on Vancouver Island against offers to buy of 28,820 and 5,110 units, an 18.8% fill rate; that fill rate met the Consolidated Order's conditions for raising the clearing price to $375.00 at the next exchange; one application per person, 10% deposit (BC Egg quota exchange)
Ontario chicken: minimum quota holdingB 14,000 units; the board 'does not regulate the price of quota which is bought and sold on the open market' and 'does not set the price of quota' (Chicken Farmers of Ontario)
Ontario chicken: new-entrant programmeB Entrant buys at least 4,000 units, board lends up to 10,000, fifteen-year commitment; forty-seven farms admitted since inception
Market price of Ontario chicken quota per unit, and the flock size that supports a householdUNVERIFIED Not sourced — the board does not publish a price, and no figure was taken from brokers or trade press
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
The provincial marketing boards hold the gate; behind them the processors set what the gate is worth. Maple Leaf Foods (TSX: MFI) is the listed one on the chicken side.
Scale
There are 4,852 licensed commercial poultry and egg producers in all of Canada — 2,834 regulated chicken, 1,295 egg, 488 turkey and 235 broiler hatching egg — producing $6.5B of farm cash receipts in 2025. Maple Leaf Foods turned $3,913M of sales in 2025 at a 12.2% adjusted EBITDA margin, with Poultry approximately 25% of that, roughly $1.0B.
Concentration
Not published on either side. No processor share of Canadian chicken is disclosed, and the producer side is a licence register rather than a market: 4,852 holders, full stop.
Others in the field
Exceldor, Olymel, Sofina and Cargill in chicken processing; Burnbrae Farms and the other graders in eggs — none sourced here. The instructive competitor is the one an entrant cannot become: Cal-Maine Foods (NASDAQ: CALM), the largest US shell-egg producer, operating in the market that has no supply management.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
The contrast is the whole point. Cal-Maine's net sales fell from US$4,262M in fiscal 2025 to US$2,912M in fiscal 2026 and its net income from US$1,220M to US$317M — a 32% revenue fall and a 74% earnings fall in twelve months, in an egg market with no board. In Canada the farm price moves by cost-of-production formula, and BC Egg's layer-quota clearing price moves instead: $370.00 a unit on 2 September 2026, rising to $375.00 at the next exchange because the fill rate met the Consolidated Order's condition.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — There is no roll-up of poultry farms, because the thing worth buying is the licence and it is bought one parcel at a time from whoever is leaving. The relevant scarcity is the register itself: 4,852 licensed producers nationally, against 1,958 employer establishments in this NAICS group. An entrant is buying a seat from one of fewer than five thousand holders, at a price the board declines to regulate.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Licensed Canadian poultry and egg producers, 2025A 4,852 in total — 2,834 regulated chicken, 1,295 egg, 488 registered turkey, 235 broiler hatching egg (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, poultry and egg industry profile)
Poultry and egg farm cash receipts, 2025A $6.5B, 6.4% of Canadian farm cash receipts; 1.4 billion kg of chicken produced, 61.2% of it in Quebec and Ontario (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada)
Cal-Maine Foods net salesA US$2,911.6M in the fiscal year ended 30 May 2026, against US$4,261.9M in the year ended 31 May 2025 — down 31.7% (10-K, XBRL company facts)
Cal-Maine Foods net incomeA US$316.7M in fiscal 2026 against US$1,220.0M in fiscal 2025 — down 74.0% (10-K, XBRL company facts)
Maple Leaf Foods, FY2025A Sales $3,913M, up 7.7%; adjusted EBITDA $476M at a 12.2% margin; two business units, Prepared Foods and Poultry, approximately 75% and 25% of sales (results release, 5 March 2026)
Avian influenza, 2025A Over 2.4 million commercial birds affected in six provinces (Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada)
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$6.8B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Cal-Maine FoodsNASDAQ: CALMA $2.9B — net sales, fiscal year ended 30 May 2026 — Not a competitor an entrant will meet — the counterfactual. The same business without supply management lost a third of its revenue and three-quarters of its earnings in one year.
Maple Leaf FoodsTSX: MFIA $3.9B — FY2025 sales, continuing operations after the 1 October 2025 pork spin-off — The buyer on the chicken side; Poultry is approximately 25% of sales on the company's own statement, so roughly $1.0B. Group adjusted EBITDA margin 12.2%.
Exceldor / Olymel / Sofina / CargillUNVERIFIED not disclosed — The other large Canadian poultry processors. Named from general knowledge; nothing about them was sourced for this record.
Burnbrae Farms and the egg gradersUNVERIFIED not disclosed — Eggs reach retail through graders, not from the barn. Named from general knowledge; privately held and not sourced.
The 4,852 licensed producersA not disclosed — $6.5B of farm cash receipts between them in 2025 — about $1.34M each, derived from two AAFC figures. The register is the market, and every seat in it is held.

Evidence

Evidence. Establishment counts are Statistics Canada's business counts (December 2023). The BC layer-quota price, the units offered, the bids against them and the 18.8% fill rate are read from BC Egg's own quota-exchange page and its notification of the 2 September 2026 exchange — a statutory board's posted clearing price, tiered A; the page does not define a unit, and 'one hen' is the general understanding of layer quota rather than something read there. The Ontario chicken rules are read from Chicken Farmers of Ontario's prospective-farmers page; they are the board's own words but a web page rather than an order or schedule, so tiered B. What is missing is the number that would size the cheque: the open-market price of chicken quota and the flock size that makes a living. A blog figure for Ontario egg quota surfaced in search and was not used. Because of that gap the reason names no quota total at all, and rests on BC Egg's posted clearing price and the two boards' own rules. Added in the completion pass: the national producer counts by commodity, the $6.5B of poultry and egg farm cash receipts, the 1.4 billion kg of chicken and the 2025 avian-influenza figure are from Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada's poultry and egg industry profile (modified 24 June 2026). Cal-Maine's net sales and net income are read from the SEC's XBRL company-facts series for its 10-K filings — US$2,911.6M and US$316.7M for the fiscal year ended 30 May 2026, against US$4,261.9M and US$1,220.0M for the year ended 31 May 2025 — and are quoted in US dollars, not converted. Maple Leaf Foods' sales, adjusted EBITDA, margin and the statement that Poultry is approximately 25% of sales are read from its own fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 results release of 5 March 2026; the 2024 comparatives there are restated to exclude the pork operations spun off on 1 October 2025, so the $3,913M is a continuing-operations figure and the ~$1.0B poultry line is the company's own approximate share of it, not a disclosed segment revenue. Exceldor, Olymel, Sofina, Cargill and Burnbrae are named from general knowledge and are UNVERIFIED. Turkey and hatching-egg quota were not examined, and neither was Quebec. The cut factor is analyst judgment, though here it is close to the boards' own description of their systems.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Chicken Farmers of Canada
chickenfarmers.ca · 2,800 members (2026-09)

Chicken farmers it represents ('our 2,800 farmers'), per its homepage; the national chicken supply-management agency.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Egg Farmers of Canada
eggfarmers.ca · 1,290 members (2026-09)

Egg farmers and family farms ('more than 1,290'), per its homepage; national egg supply-management agency.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Turkey Farmers of Canada
turkeyfarmersofcanada.ca · 510 members (2026-09)

Turkey farmers it represents ('510+'), per its homepage.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Hatching Egg Producers (CHEP)
chep-poic.ca

National body for broiler hatching egg producers; no producer count stated on the site. News last posted April 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Chicken Farmers of Ontario
ontariochicken.ca · 1,300 members (2026-09)

Family-run chicken farms in Ontario ('over 1,300'), per its homepage; the board that allocates Ontario chicken quota.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Egg Farmers of Ontario
getcracking.ca · 500 members (2026-09)

Egg farmers and pullet growers ('over 500'), per its About page; runs Ontario egg quota.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Poultry Industry Council
poultryindustrycouncil.ca

Ontario poultry-sector charity for education and extension; founding members include CFO and EFO; corporate and individual member tiers, no total stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
National Poultry Show
poultryindustrycouncil.ca

PIC's annual poultry trade show in London, Ontario; next Feb 3-4, 2027. No attendance figure stated.

Checked 2026-09-22

Canadian Poultry magazine (canadianpoultrymag.com) refused connections and CPEPC's site (cpepc.ca) returned a server error on 2026-09-22, so neither is listed. The Alberta Poultry Service Industry Workshop domain (psiw.ca) no longer resolves.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.