Operating business18% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresStructure decidescapital intensity

Private Timberland Ownership

Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Timber tract operations

Base industry report for 1131 →
Establishments · CanadaA
172
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
88%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
477
Employment · USA
3,769
7.9 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$248M
$66k per employee

Of 172 Canadian establishments with employees, 88% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDcapital intensity — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA88% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 113, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing and Hunting, US · opened 2020
88%
1 year
71.7%
3 years
61.8%
5 years
53%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 3

The binding constraint — capital intensity

Owning trees that grow whether or not anyone is working is a real proposition, and it is the landlord's side of the forest rather than the contractor's side screened at Contract Logging. The cut is what the land pays at the scale where it is run well. Acadian Timber holds about 775,000 acres of freehold in New Brunswick and 300,000 in Maine. In 2025 that estate produced C$87.0M of sales and C$15.8M of adjusted EBITDA — an 18% margin, and under C$15 an acre even before stripping out the services it sells on 1.3 million acres of Crown licence [A]. Free cash flow was C$6.6M against C$20.9M of dividends declared. The year before, it took C$24.6M of carbon-credit sales to lift the result; in 2025 there were none. And the owner does not set the price: sawlogs and pulpwood go to whichever few mills sit inside haul distance, and Acadian's own outlook says pricing may stay challenged until lumber markets improve. A timber tract cannot be started, only bought, and the purchase price is almost the whole business — 73% of the 172 Canadian establishments have one to four employees because there is little to operate. An entrant buys a low cash yield, takes the mill's price, and lacks the acreage over which a forester, a road network and a carbon programme are spread.

Market scaleregionalunit: one wood basket — the freehold tracts within economic haul of the same few sawmills and pulp mills

Standing timber is sold to mills within trucking distance, so a tract competes only with other fibre sources in the same wood basket and its price is set by the mills there. Freehold timberland is also concentrated in a few regions — 76 of the 172 establishments are in Quebec and 20 in New Brunswick — because most Canadian forest is Crown land that cannot be bought at all.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 172 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 125 of them, 73%, have 1–4 employees
US establishments, timber tract operationsA 477 establishments, 3,769 employees, US$247.7M payroll (County Business Patterns, 2022)
Acadian Timber freehold estateA about 775,000 acres in New Brunswick and 300,000 acres in Maine, plus about 1.3 million acres of Crown licence managed under contract
Acadian Timber sales and adjusted EBITDA, 2025A C$87.0M of timber sales and services; adjusted EBITDA C$15.8M, an 18% margin
Acadian Timber free cash flow against dividends, 2025A free cash flow C$6.6M; dividends declared C$20.9M (C$1.16 a share)
Acadian Timber carbon-credit salesA 752,100 voluntary credits sold in 2024 for C$24.6M; none sold in 2025
Operating earnings per freehold acreUNVERIFIED under C$15 of adjusted EBITDA per acre — C$15.8M over about 1.075M freehold acres, overstated because sales include Crown-land services
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Acadian Timber Corp (TSX: ADN) — the only listed pure-play Canadian timberland owner, and the benchmark a buyer of a tract is implicitly bidding against
Scale
About 775,000 freehold acres in New Brunswick and 300,000 in Maine, plus 1.3 million acres of Crown licence managed under contract. FY2025: C$87.0M of sales, C$15.8M of adjusted EBITDA, C$6.6M of free cash flow against C$20.9M of dividends declared. Q2 2026: sales C$14.6M against C$17.1M, adjusted EBITDA C$1.3M against C$2.4M, free cash flow C$0.2M — and C$5.4M of dividends declared in the same quarter.
Concentration
Not published, and the question is close to meaningless: most Canadian forest is Crown land that cannot be bought at all, so the private tier is small, regionally concentrated and never aggregated.
Others in the field
Mosaic Forest Management, which runs TimberWest's and Island Timberlands' coastal British Columbia private lands and describes itself as backed by public service pension funds; J.D. Irving's New Brunswick freehold; the US timber REITs and timberland investment managers that set the bid in North America; and the 125 Canadian establishments with one to four employees, which is what most freehold ownership looks like.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Acadian's Q2 2026 sales volumes fell to 132.1 thousand cubic metres from 191.0 a year earlier on elevated customer roundwood inventories and weak softwood pulpwood demand; its outlook says New Brunswick should return to normal harvesting over the rest of 2026
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — The buyers of Canadian timberland are institutions, not foresters — pension funds and timberland investment managers buying land for its duration rather than its annual cash yield. They can accept a yield an operator cannot, which is exactly why the purchase price is the whole business here. An entrant bidding for a tract is bidding against capital that is not underwriting the harvest.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Acadian Timber sales and adjusted EBITDA, FY2025A C$87.0M of timber sales and services; adjusted EBITDA C$15.8M, an 18% margin
Acadian Timber free cash flow against dividends, FY2025A free cash flow C$6.6M; dividends declared C$20.9M (C$1.16 a share) — the distribution is not covered by the land
Acadian Timber, Q2 2026A sales C$14.6M against C$17.1M a year earlier; adjusted EBITDA C$1.3M against C$2.4M; margin 9% against 14%; free cash flow C$0.2M against C$0.8M; dividends declared C$5.4M (C$0.29 a share); volumes 132.1 thousand m³ against 191.0
Acadian Timber carbon-credit salesA 752,100 voluntary credits sold in 2024 for C$24.6M; none sold in 2025
Mosaic Forest ManagementC Manages the private timberlands of TimberWest and Island Timberlands on Vancouver Island and coastal British Columbia; describes itself as 100% Canadian-owned and backed by public service pension funds (company account). Acreage and harvest volumes are not stated on that page and are not carried here.
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$87M

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 4 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Acadian Timber CorpTSX: ADNA $87M — FY2025 timber sales and services, Canadian dollars — Paid C$5.4M of dividends in Q2 2026 out of C$0.2M of free cash flow. Every number a private tract buyer needs is on this one company's face, and it says the land does not currently fund its own distribution.
Mosaic Forest Management (TimberWest and Island Timberlands)C not disclosed — The coastal British Columbia private estate, managed for pension-fund owners. Its own site states the manager relationship and the pension backing but publishes no acreage, harvest or financials, and the specific limited partners were not verified for this record.
US timber REITs and timberland investment managersC not disclosed — Not researched for this record. They are named because they set the North American bid for timberland; no acreage, transaction price or per-acre value was sourced, which is the gap the evidence note already flags.
The 125 single-digit-employee freeholdersA not disclosed — 73% of the 172 Canadian establishments have one to four employees, and 76 of the 172 are in Quebec. Owning trees is not a staffed operation, so the competitive set for a tract is other passive owners and whoever else wants that particular wood basket.

Evidence

Evidence. Acadian Timber's acreage, sales, adjusted EBITDA, free cash flow, dividends and carbon-credit figures were read in its own Q4 and year-end 2025 results release [A]. The per-acre figure is this record's arithmetic on those numbers, not a disclosed metric, and it flatters the land because Acadian's sales include services on Crown licence. Acadian's Q2 2026 figures — sales C$14.6M, adjusted EBITDA C$1.3M, free cash flow C$0.2M, dividends C$5.4M and volumes of 132.1 thousand cubic metres — were read in the company's own results release of 5 August 2026 [A], which is the most recent filing; FY2025 remains the last full year. Mosaic Forest Management's role and its pension-fund backing are from the manager's own website [C], which publishes neither acreage nor financials, so no area figure for it is on the record. What was not sourced: a timberland transaction price per acre, so the yield on purchase price — the number the argument finally rests on — is not on the record, and the claim that land value dominates is reasoning from the income side only. Small private woodlots may also carry recreational or development value that a timber screen does not see. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Forest Owners
forestowners.ca

National federation of provincial private forest landowner groups, formed by the union of CAFO and the Canadian Federation of Woodlot Owners; site says it represents 480,000 forest landowners.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Ontario Woodlot Association
ontariowoodlot.com

Provincial woodlot owner association organised in local chapters, focused on forest management practice.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Woodland Owners Association
nationalwoodlands.com

Site describes it as the largest family woodland owner association in America. Its older nationalwoodlands.org address redirects here.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Forest Landowners Association
forestlandowners.com

US private working-forest owners' association; advocacy, cost-and-trends data for Southern forestry practices, and landowner tools.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
National Conference of Private Forest Landowners
forestlandowners.com

The Forest Landowners Association's annual conference; page showed 2026 sponsors and programme when checked.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationNorth AmericaA
Forestnet (TimberWest and Logging & Sawmilling Journal)
forestnet.com

Forest industry magazines and podcast; current issue shown as July/August/September 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22

Private timberland owners split between family woodlot associations and institutional timberland investors, who use consultancies such as Forisk (forisk.com) rather than a trade body. cfwo.ca is now Community Futures Western Ontario, an unrelated organisation, and cwf-fcb.ca and woodlandowners.org did not respond.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.