Operating business38% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresOne thing must be truemarket size

Commercial Trapline & Game Preserve

Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Hunting and trapping

Base industry report for 1142 →
Establishments · CanadaA
116
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
91%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
434
Employment · USA
1,899
4.4 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$86M
$45k per employee

Of 116 Canadian establishments with employees, 91% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Widen the definition, or stack this niche with others. The prize as drawn will not carry a business on its own; it may still be worth owning as one line of several.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDmarket size — Market shape — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA91% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 114, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing and Hunting, US · opened 2020
88%
1 year
71.7%
3 years
61.8%
5 years
53%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 2

The binding constraint — market size

The pre-screen said licence-bound and tiny; the numbers say tiny is the operative word. Entry is cheap — a trapper's course, a licence, a registered line or a landowner's permission, a snowmobile and steel. What is missing is revenue. The Fur Institute of Canada's compilation of provincial wildlife-agency returns puts all wild fur sold in Canada in 2023–24 at 330,710 pelts worth C$12.76M, down from 916,572 pelts and C$48.96M in 2012–13 [B]. That is the whole country's crop, shared among every licensed trapper, and it would not make one mid-sized business. The Northwest Territories, which markets its fur actively, reported 7,421 pelts sold for C$582,043 across the entire 2025 season — and pays trappers a start-up grubstake of up to C$2,000 to keep them on the land [A]. Price is set at a single auction in North Bay by a handful of international buyers; in June 2025 muskrat averaged C$1.99 and beaver C$15.18. Trapping persists as culture, wildlife management and side income, not as an enterprise, which is why 75% of the 116 establishments have one to four employees and none has fifty. The money adjacent to this code — guided hunts for non-residents — is classified with hunting and fishing camps at 721212 and was not screened here. Game preserves were not separately researched.

Market scaleinternational

Wild fur is a globally traded commodity: Canadian pelts are consigned to auction in North Bay and bought by international brokers for garment makers abroad, so the price a trapper receives is set by world fashion demand, not by anything local. The trapline itself is a local registered territory, but it is the auction, not the territory, that determines whether the activity pays.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 116 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 87, or 75%, have 1–4 employees and none has 50 or more
US establishments, hunting and trappingA 434 establishments, 1,899 employees, US$86.0M payroll (County Business Patterns, 2022)
Canadian wild fur production, 2023–24B 330,710 raw pelts sold for C$12,755,963 — Northwest Territories and Nunavut not reported (Fur Institute of Canada, compiled from provincial and territorial wildlife services, January 2026)
Canadian wild fur production, 2012–13B 916,572 pelts sold for C$48,959,315 — the highest-value season in the Fur Institute series, which begins in 2010–11
Northwest Territories fur sales, 2025 seasonA 7,421 pelts for C$582,043.27 across both 2025 auctions; 2024 was 19,119 pelts for C$521,707; the territorial grubstake pays a trapper up to C$2,000 of start-up money against the previous season's pelts (Government of the Northwest Territories, June 2025 sale results)
Auction prices, NWT pelts, June 2025A muskrat C$1.99, beaver C$15.18, marten (sold as sable) C$98.96, lynx C$186.78, wolverine C$533.58 average per pelt
Angel-backed companies1
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixNL 1

Sectors joined: Ocean Tech

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Fur Harvesters Auction Inc., North Bay, Ontario — the auction is the market, and for Canadian wild fur there is one
Scale
At its 2–4 June 2026 sale FHA offered 245,862 pelts across 24 wild species, clearing 100% or near it on most of them; its chief executive reported the sale as the highest gross in the company's North Bay history, beating 2013
Concentration
Not published. FHA does not disclose revenue, and no series exists for what share of the Canadian crop passes through it
Others in the field
The Russian sable auctions, which sit just before FHA's June sale in the calendar; Saga Furs Oyj in Finland on the farmed side; country buyers who buy pelts off the trapline for cash; and the 116 Canadian establishments themselves, 75% of them with one to four employees
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Sharply up in 2026. At FHA's June 2026 sale muskrat averaged C$5.54, beaver C$45.23 overall, marten (sold as sable) C$190.50 overall, lynx C$338.76 and wolverine C$653.25 — multiples of the 2025 NWT averages already on this record. The exception is raccoon (C$15.48) and coyote (C$23.69), which FHA describes as still slow.
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — Nobody is buying traplines. There is no acquirer, no multiple and no exit: a registered line is transferred through a provincial or territorial wildlife agency, and what consolidated instead was the selling channel, down to a single Canadian wild-fur auction house. FHA attributes the 2026 price record to buyer attendance — the largest in its history, about half of it new Asian buyers — which is the honest shape of this market: a few dozen international brokers in one room, once or twice a year.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Pelts offered at one FHA saleB 245,862 across 24 wild species, 2–4 June 2026
FHA June 2026 average pricesA beaver C$45.23, muskrat C$5.54, wild mink C$56.89, marten C$190.50, lynx C$338.76, red fox C$43.82 (eastern), coyote C$23.69, wolverine C$653.25, timber wolf overall to C$444.12 arctic
Clearance at the June 2026 saleA 100% on beaver, muskrat, wild mink and all four fox grades; 99% on otter and marten; 61% on lynx and 83% on raccoon
Canadian wild fur production, 2023–24B 330,710 pelts for C$12.76M, against 916,572 pelts for C$48.96M in 2012–13 (Fur Institute of Canada)
Canadian establishments with employeesA 116, of which 87 (75%) have 1–4 and none has 50 or more (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
V

The field

Every operator named on this record, and what each one discloses. A private single-site operator discloses nothing, which is the normal case — the listed consolidators are the only window in.

Competitor set · 5 named · 0 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Fur Harvesters Auction Inc.A not disclosed — North Bay, Ontario. The consignment channel for Canadian wild fur and, in practice, the price-setter: an entrant does not compete with it, an entrant ships to it and accepts what the room pays. 245,862 pelts offered at the June 2026 sale alone.
The Russian sable auctionsB not disclosed — Named in FHA's own June 2026 sale report as having run immediately before it, with clearances of 50% or less and prices down from February. They are the competing supply for the same international buyers, and a bad Russian sale is what a Canadian trapper's marten price is measured against.
The other 115 Canadian establishments, and the licensed trappers behind themA not disclosed — 116 establishments with employees, 87 of them with one to four and none with fifty. This is the competitive structure: not firms fighting for share but individuals working registered lines, against a national crop worth C$12.76M in 2023–24.
Country buyersC not disclosed — Local dealers who buy pelts off the line for cash rather than waiting for auction settlement. Named from general knowledge of how the trade works; no count, volume or margin was sourced for this record.
Saga Furs Oyj (Nasdaq Helsinki: SAGCV)C not disclosed — The listed Finnish auction house, and the surviving venue on the farmed side of the trade. Not researched for this record; it is named to mark where the farmed-fur price is set, not as a competitor for Canadian wild pelts.

Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.

Evidence

Evidence. The national series was read directly in the Fur Institute of Canada's bilingual report 'Canadian Wild Fur Production from 2010 to 2023' (February 2026, returns dated January 2026); it is an industry body's compilation of government returns, so it is tiered B, and the 2023–24 total omits two territories. Statistics Canada stopped publishing fur statistics after 2011 and its archived tables are no longer served. The NWT figures and per-pelt prices were read in the territorial government's own June 2025 auction report [A]. That North Bay is now the one remaining Canadian wild-fur auction and that its buyers are few is general knowledge, not sourced here. Not sourced: the number of trappers actually working a line (the Fur Institute counts licences issued, which is not the same thing), any income per trapper, and anything on commercial game preserves — the second activity in this code — which may have different economics. Guide-outfitting was deliberately left out because it is classified elsewhere. The competitive-field block was built on Fur Harvesters Auction's own sale-results report for 2–4 June 2026, downloaded as a PDF from furharvesters.com: the per-species offering counts, clearance rates and Canadian-dollar averages are read from its table [A], and the 245,862 total is this record's sum of that column, so it is tiered B. The remarks on record gross sales, buyer attendance and the Russian sable auctions are the auction house's own statements about its own sale [B] — self-reported, unquantified in the case of the gross, and not independently checked. One thing a reader must not miss: the prices on this record's scale block are the Northwest Territories' 2025 averages and the Fur Institute's 2023–24 crop, and fur prices moved up sharply in 2026 — marten from C$98.96 to C$190.50, muskrat from C$1.99 to C$5.54. That does not disturb the cut, because the whole Canadian crop was C$12.76M at the bottom and a four-fold price move on 330,710 pelts still does not make one mid-sized business, but it does mean the 2023–25 figures are no longer current prices. The cut factor is analyst judgment, though on these figures it is not a close call.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Fur Institute of Canada
fur.ca

National body with harvester, wholesaler and other member categories; compiles the provincial wild-fur sales figures the record cites. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Ontario Fur Managers Federation (OFMF)
furmanagers.com

Provincial trappers' body; runs the trapper education course, a magazine and an AGM; 2026/27 membership $28.25 with licence. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationAlbertaA
Alberta Trappers' Association
albertatrappers.com

Provincial trappers' body with locals, a magazine and annual reports. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Trappers Association (NTA)
nationaltrappers.com

US national trappers' body with state affiliates; publishes American Trapper. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Fur Takers of America (FTA)
furtakersofamerica.org

Second US national trappers' body with state chapters and an annual Rendezvous. Its old .com domain no longer resolves.

Checked 2026-09-22
ForumNorth AmericaA
Trapperman Forums
trapperman.com

Busiest independent trapping board (UBB.threads); Trapper Talk showed 92 viewers when checked, posts dated June 2026. No member count on index.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Fur-Fish-Game
furfishgame.com

Long-running hunting, fishing and fur-trapping magazine; site is minimal but live.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
FHA Annual Trappers Convention
furharvesters.com

Fur Harvesters Auction's convention at North Bay, Ontario; page lists January 9-10, 2026 edition with demonstrations and competitions.

Checked 2026-09-22

BC Trappers Association (bctrappers.ca) and Saskatchewan Trappers Association (saskatchewantrappers.com) are also live provincial bodies. Trapper & Predator Caller's site did not respond. Reddit feeds were unreachable.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

Other records in this industry