Operating business24% entry signalMarket screen4 sourced figuresStructure decidesentry cost + regulatory drag

Aggregate Pit & Quarry

SoftwareTypically runs on Mine planning, geology modelling, fleet dispatch and safety systems. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Non-metallic mineral mining and quarrying

Base industry report for 2123 →
Establishments · CanadaA
1,028
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
53%
most common size: 5–9
Establishments · USA
5,227
Employment · USA
87,785
17 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$6.7B
$76k per employee

Of 1,028 Canadian establishments with employees, 53% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDentry cost + regulatory drag — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA53% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Mixed — neither a field of micro-operators nor one dominated by large establishments.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 212, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Mining, Quarrying, and Oil and Gas Extraction, US · opened 2020
75.4%
1 year
60%
3 years
48.5%
5 years
24.5%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 6

The binding constraint — entry cost + regulatory drag

Most of this group by count is sand, gravel and crushed stone; the rest — potash, salt, diamonds, gypsum — is nine-figure mining that was not examined. The record at Ready-Mix Concrete & Aggregates argued from structure that the permit is the business. This one tests that with a price series, and the test holds. Vulcan Materials shipped 226.8 million tons in 2025 at a freight-adjusted US$21.98 a ton, up 4%, and kept US$11.33 of that as cash gross profit, up 7% [A]. A commodity that holds a better-than-50% cash margin and raises price through a soft construction year is not behaving like a commodity; it is behaving like a local franchise rationed by licence. Ontario shows the rationing: 3,565 licences on private land produced 167.9 million tonnes in 2023, down 3.2% [A] — yet only 348 Ontario establishments are classified to this code, so a large share of those licences evidently sit inside road builders and concrete producers who mine for their own jobs. That is the entrant's problem from both ends. A new licence means years of rezoning, hearings and appeals with no revenue; an existing one is bid for by Vulcan-type consolidators and by the local paving contractor who needs the stone more than any financial buyer does. 53% of the 1,028 establishments have fewer than ten employees, and they are mostly families who got their licence decades ago.

Market scalelocalunit: one pit's haul radius — the distance a load of stone can be trucked before freight exceeds the price of the stone

Aggregate is worth about twenty dollars a ton at the gate and costs real money per kilometre to move, so each pit competes only with the handful of others that can reach the same job sites. National and provincial tonnages describe how many of these local markets exist, not a market an entrant can address. Potash, salt and diamonds in the same code trade internationally and are outside this screen.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 1,028 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 541, or 53%, have fewer than 10 employees; Ontario 348, Quebec 264
US establishments, non-metallic mineral mining and quarryingA 5,227 establishments, 87,785 employees, US$6.70B payroll (County Business Patterns, 2022)
Vulcan Materials aggregates price, 2025A freight-adjusted US$21.98 a ton against US$21.08 in 2024 — up 4% reported, 6% mix-adjusted — on 226.8 million tons shipped, up 3%
Vulcan Materials aggregates cash gross profit, 2025A US$11.33 a ton against US$10.61, up 7%; segment gross profit US$1,964.8M; company adjusted EBITDA US$2,323.6M at a 29.3% margin
Ontario aggregate licences, 2023A 3,565 licences for pits and quarries on private land, plus 2,429 aggregate permits on Crown land (The Ontario Aggregate Resources Corporation)
Ontario aggregate production, 2023A 167.9 million tonnes, down 5.6 million tonnes or 3.2% on 2022; licensed operations 156.3 million tonnes
Licences held outside the industryUNVERIFIED Ontario has roughly ten licences for every establishment classified to this code, implying many pits are captive to contractors and concrete producers
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Vulcan Materials (NYSE: VMC) — the largest US aggregates producer, and on this record the price-behaviour benchmark rather than a Canadian rival
Scale
226.8 million tons shipped in 2025, up 3%, at a freight-adjusted US$21.98 a ton against US$21.08, holding US$11.33 a ton of cash gross profit against US$10.61; segment gross profit US$1,964.8M
Concentration
Not published. In Ontario the measurable concentration is in licences rather than firms — 3,565 private-land licences against 348 establishments classified to this code
Others in the field
Martin Marietta on the listed side; the international cement and aggregates groups that own the large Canadian banners; and, at the other end and far more often, the local paving contractor or concrete producer who holds a licence for its own jobs and the 541 Canadian establishments with fewer than ten employees
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. The licence is the lock-in: it is the thing that cannot be replicated inside the haul radius
Price movement
Up, through a soft construction year. Vulcan's freight-adjusted price rose 4% reported and 6% mix-adjusted in 2025, and unit cash gross profit rose 7% — the behaviour of a rationed local franchise, not of a commodity
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — A permitted pit meets two buyers an entrant cannot outbid. The listed consolidator is adding reserves and can pay for the tonnes it will sell for decades. The local paving contractor or ready-mix producer is buying security of supply for its own jobs and will pay more than a financial return justifies. No Canadian pit transaction price was sourced, so the direction is evidenced and the level is not.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Vulcan Materials aggregates price, 2025A freight-adjusted US$21.98 a ton against US$21.08 — up 4% reported, 6% mix-adjusted — on 226.8 million tons shipped
Vulcan Materials aggregates cash gross profit, 2025A US$11.33 a ton against US$10.61, up 7%; segment gross profit US$1,964.8M
Martin Marietta total revenues, 2025A US$6,150M against US$6,536M in 2024 (10-K filed 19 February 2026)
Ontario aggregate licences against establishmentsA 3,565 private-land licences (TOARC, 2023) against 348 Ontario establishments in this code (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$6.2B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 4 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Vulcan MaterialsNYSE: VMCA not disclosed — Consolidated revenue was not read for this record; the anchor is the unit economics — 226.8 million tons at US$21.98 a ton freight-adjusted, US$11.33 a ton of cash gross profit
Martin MariettaNYSE: MLMA $6.2B — FY2025 total revenues, US$
Heidelberg Materials / CRH / HolcimC not disclosed — The international groups that own the large Canadian aggregate banners. Canadian aggregate revenue is not separately disclosed by any of them, and the banner attributions were not verified for this record
Licence-holding independents and captive contractor pitsA not disclosed — 541 of 1,028 Canadian establishments have fewer than 10 employees (Statistics Canada, December 2023); Ontario has roughly ten licences for every establishment classified here, which implies many pits sit inside road builders and concrete producers

Evidence

Evidence. Vulcan's tonnage, price and unit-profit figures were read in its Q4 and full-year 2025 results release [A]. Ontario licence and production figures were read in TOARC's 'Production Statistics 2023' — TOARC is trustee of the province's Aggregate Resources Trust and the official source [A]. The inference that many licences are captive is the analyst's: it compares a licence count with an establishment count from a different source and year, one firm can hold many licences, and neither source says who holds them. No Canadian per-tonne price series was found — Vulcan is a US operator and stands in for pricing behaviour, not for Canadian price levels. No pit transaction price was sourced, so 'paying for the moat in full' remains reasoning. Potash, salt, diamond, gypsum and peat operations in this code were not examined at all. The cut factor is analyst judgment. Martin Marietta's 2025 and 2024 total revenues, added with the competitive field, were read from its own XBRL company facts as filed in the 10-K of 19 February 2026 [A]; nothing else about Martin Marietta was researched, and its revenue is on the record as a second listed comparable, not as a Canadian figure. The Canadian banner attributions in the competitor block — Heidelberg Materials, CRH, Holcim — are UNVERIFIED and are named as groups rather than as sourced market positions.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationOntarioA
Ontario Stone, Sand & Gravel Association (OSSGA)
ossga.com · 280 members (2026-09)

'Over 280 aggregate producers and suppliers in Ontario' per its About page; annual OSSGA Conference and operations tours.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationBritish-ColumbiaA
British Columbia Stone, Sand & Gravel Association (BCSSGA)
gravelbc.ca

BC aggregate producers' association; regulatory input and public information. No member count on site.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationAlbertaA
Alberta Sand & Gravel Association (ASGA)
asga.ab.ca · 200 members (2026-09)

'200+ stakeholders' (gravel producers, consultants, suppliers, municipalities) per its homepage; founded 1974.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Stone, Sand & Gravel Association (NSSGA)
nssga.org

US crushed stone, sand and gravel producers and suppliers; runs the AGG1 Academy & Expo. No member count found on site.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
AGG1 Academy & Expo
agg1.org

NSSGA's aggregates equipment and education show; March 15-17 2027, New Orleans.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Pit & Quarry
pitandquarry.com

North Coast Media magazine for crushed stone, sand and gravel; runs the 'Drilling Deeper' podcast (episode 76 at check). Blocks curl; read via fetch.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaC
Rock to Road
rocktoroad.com

Annex Business Media magazine for Canadian aggregates and roadbuilding. Blocked automated access (connection refused); live in search results.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
CONEXPO-CON/AGG
conexpoconagg.com

Triennial construction and aggregates equipment show; next March 13-17 2029, Las Vegas.

Checked 2026-09-22

Rock Products magazine and Heavy Equipment Forums blocked automated access and are omitted. The Institute of Quarrying (quarrying.org, UK-based professional body) is live but UK-centred.