Vertical software62% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresExecution decidesdistribution

Utility Metering, Billing & Customer Systems

Prepared 2026-09-09

The buyer population — Electric power generation, transmission and distribution

Base industry report for 2211 →
Establishments · CanadaA
750
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
46%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
12,902
Employment · USA
505,132
39 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$64.8B
$128k per employee

Of 750 Canadian establishments with employees, 46% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Execution decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.

What you would have to beat

Get to the buyer. The product is reachable and the need is real; the channel is owned by someone else, and a route to it — a partner, a reseller, a trade relationship, a book of clients bought outright — is what has to be built.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDdistribution — Executional — a better operator can move it.
Measured inputsUNVERIFIEDnot applied — This is a software market. The industry’s business counts describe its BUYERS, not the market being entered, so they are left out of the signal.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Utilities, US · opened 2020
84.2%
1 year
69.7%
3 years
61.6%
5 years
47.2%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 11

The binding constraint — distribution

The buyer is a regulated utility that procures by RFP on a five-to-ten-year cycle with rate-case scrutiny of every dollar, so the sales cycle is measured in years and the reference list is the product. Itron's $2.4B is mostly devices and outcomes rather than CIS licences, which says where the money actually is: in the meter, not the software. Adjacent to the grid-interconnection study at 221121, which reached the opposite verdict on a narrower wedge.

Angel-backed companies34
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixAB 12, ON 11, NS 3, QC 2, BC 2, US 1, PE 1, NL 1, SK 1

Sectors joined: Cleantech · ClimaTech · Energy · Renewable Energy · Energy Storage · Energy AI

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

The incumbent

Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.

Incumbent
Oracle Utilities and SAP, with Itron (NASDAQ: ITRI) on the metering side
Scale
Itron FY2025 revenue $2.4B (−3%), GAAP net income $301M, diluted EPS $6.50 — device and outcomes revenue, not CIS licences alone
Share
Top five CIS vendors are put at 37–46% of the market by one published source; no vendor-level share is published
Challengers
Hansen Technologies (ASX: HSN), Minsait, Kraken Technologies (Octopus Energy), Harris Computer Systems (Constellation), Gentrack
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not assessed
Is the buyer consolidating?
No
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Itron revenue, FY2025A $2.4B, −3% YoY
Itron GAAP net income, FY2025A $301M, +$62M
Itron diluted EPS, FY2025A $6.50, +$1.32
Top-five concentration in customer information systemsC 37–46% of the market
Named CIS leadersB SAP, Oracle, Minsait, Hansen Technologies, Kraken Technologies
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$2.4B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 4 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
ItronNASDAQ: ITRIA $2.4B — FY2025 revenue — metering hardware, networks and outcomes, broader than CIS software
Oracle UtilitiesB not disclosed — Not disclosed separately by Oracle
SAP (IS-U / Utilities)B not disclosed — Not disclosed separately
Hansen Technologies / Kraken / Minsait / HarrisC not disclosed — Hansen is listed in Australia and Kraken sits inside Octopus Energy; neither breaks out utility CIS. Minsait and Harris (Constellation) do not disclose
S

Startups & challengers

Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.

CompanyStageWhat it doesRaised
Bidgely Funded challenger AI analysis of smart-meter data for utilities: customer engagement and grid planning. —
Uplight Funded challenger Customer engagement, energy-efficiency and demand programs for utilities —
WeaveGrid Funded challenger EV charging data and grid management software for utilities —
Enervee Scrappy competitor Marketplace that delivers utility rebates and efficiency programs at the point of purchase —

Evidence

Evidence. Incumbent financials and market-share figures on this record ARE sourced (tier A/B, see the financials block). The cut factor and reasoning remain analyst judgment and were not tested against customers.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Electricity Canada
electricity.ca

National association of generation, transmission and distribution utilities, covering customer relations among its themes. Members listed; no count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
Electricity Distributors Association (Ontario)
eda-on.ca

Association of Ontario's municipally and privately owned local distribution companies, the buyers of CIS and metering systems in that province. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
Innovate UtilityCX (formerly CS Week)
iucx.org

The utility customer-service, billing and meter-to-cash conference. Site states 2,000+ annual attendees from 320+ utilities and 145+ exhibitors; next April 26-29, 2027, Charlotte NC.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
DTECH (DistribuTECH)
distributech.com

Transmission and distribution show 'from the power plant to the meter'. Site states 18,000+ professionals incl. 3,800+ utility attendees and 700+ exhibitors; next March 1-4, 2027, Atlanta.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
American Public Power Association
publicpower.org · 2,000 members (2026-09)

Community-owned, not-for-profit electric utilities in '2,000 towns and cities nationwide' per its homepage; the small-utility CIS buyer segment.

Checked 2026-09-22
GroupNorth AmericaA
Utility Analytics Institute
utilityanalytics.com

Utility-led member community of analytics staff (data governance, AI adoption); hosts Utility Analytics Week. Member counters on the page rendered as zero, so no count given.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationNorth AmericaA
Energy Central
energycentral.com

Utility-industry news, newsletters, podcasts and jobs site aimed at utility professionals. No member count seen on the pages opened.

Checked 2026-09-22

Utility billing and CIS staff meet at conferences (IUCX, DTECH) and inside their provincial and national associations rather than on open forums; The Electricity Forum (electricityforum.com) is a training and publishing business despite its name and was left off.

↔

The businesses it sells to

Operating-business records filed along the same branch of NAICS — the customers of this software, screened as businesses in their own right.

Other software on this branch

Vertical softwareScreenedfiled at 221119
Renewable Energy & Solar Project SoftwareOne thing must be true
binding constraint: incumbent vulnerability
Incumbent Aurora Solar (installer design and proposals, incl. HelioScope); Power Factors (Vista) owns utility-scale asset management

Renewable-project software is not one market but four layers, and every layer already has a funded owner. The customer is the solar, wind and storage developer or independent power producer (this NAICS); the residential and commercial design layer also sells to solar installers, who sit in 238220/238210. Installer design and proposal is owned by Aurora Solar. Aurora raised a $250M Series C led by Coatue in May 2021 at a $2B valuation and a $200M Series D co-led by Coatue and Energize Ventures in February 2022 — more than $520M in total [B: Canary Media; Aurora's own release] — and bought HelioScope's developer Folsom Labs for the commercial tier in 2021 [B]. The challenge comes from two directions a newcomer cannot copy cheaply: OpenSolar gives the software away (free to installers, earning from finance and partners; US$20M from Titanium Ventures and Google in October 2025, 28,000+ pros claimed) [B; C], and Enphase owns Solargraf, using it to pull installers toward its hardware [B]. Enerflo sits beside them as the sales-and-install operating system for residential solar sales organisations [C]. Utility-scale design has consolidated. PVcase took a $100M Series B in 2023 (Highland Europe, Energize) [B]; RatedPower went to Enverus in 2022 [B]; Terabase raised $130M led by SoftBank in March 2025 ($200M total) to tie design (PlantPredict) to construction software and robotic assembly [B]. Operations and asset management is the most locked-in layer and the most concentrated. Power Factors has been Vista-owned since 2021, rolled up Greenbyte and 3megawatt, and says it now covers 310 GW; Mubadala bought a minority stake in May 2026 [B]. Raptor Maps ($35M Series C, December 2024) owns drone inspection and the solar digital twin [B], with Zeitview and SenseHawk alongside. Development, diligence and finance workflow is the open layer — and it is filling. Euclid raised a $20M Series A led by Venrock in September 2025 and claims 12 GW onboarded [B; C]; Odyssey raised $74M of equity and debt in September 2026 for emerging-market distributed solar, where it is the platform Nigeria's DARES programme mandates [B]; Paces sells siting and permitting data; Frigg matches small projects with investors on grant-stage funding [C]. Incumbent vulnerability decides it. The installer tier has a $520M-funded leader under price attack from a free product and a hardware maker; utility-scale design and asset management are owned by a SoftBank-, Highland- and Vista-backed set; and the development-workflow gap that looked open in 2023 now has Venrock and development-finance money in it. Market size and vendor revenue UNVERIFIED — every vendor is private or inside a parent. How this differs from its neighbours: 221121 (grid interconnection and large-load power) is queue and site intelligence sold to data-centre and large-load developers, where Enverus/Pearl Street lead; 2211 covers utility metering, billing and customer systems; the 541620 records cover carbon, ESG and efficiency reporting. This record is the project software that designs, sells, builds, finances and operates the generating asset itself.

NAICS 22111913 vendors namedOpen →