Gas Distribution Franchise & Gas Marketing
The industry — Natural gas distribution
Base industry report for 2212 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 292
- Under 10 employeesA
- 50%
- Establishments · USA
- 2,420
- Employment · USA
- 91,556
- Payroll · USA
- $10.3B
Of 292 Canadian establishments with employees, 50% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 5
The binding constraint — entry cost + regulatory drag
A gas utility is the kind of business everyone would like to own: a captive customer base, an allowed return, and nobody building a second set of mains down the same street. That is exactly why it cannot be entered. The franchise is exclusive by territory, so the only door is buying one, and the price is public. Enbridge paid US$14.0B — US$9.4B in cash plus US$4.6B of assumed debt — for three US gas utilities, about 1.3 times their rate base [A], creating a platform of roughly seven million customers; its Ontario utility alone serves over four million. A regulator sets the return on rate base, and the buyer pays a premium to rate base — the arithmetic only works for an owner whose cost of capital is lower than the allowed return, which is a description of a pension fund or an Enbridge, not an entrant. The small end of the count is not an opening either. Alberta has 89 of the 292 establishments, which lines up with the 82 member utilities of the Federation of Alberta Gas Co-ops — 54 co-ops, 16 towns and villages, 5 counties and 7 First Nations [B]: member-owned or municipal, and not for sale. The one part of the code without pipes, gas marketing, needs a provincial licence to sell to small consumers and resells a commodity against the utility's own regulated supply. Utility billing software is screened separately.
Distribution rights are granted territory by territory and rates are set by the provincial regulator for that territory, so there is no competition inside a franchise and none between franchises. A distributor's market is exactly its certificate area, and an entrant cannot serve a customer in an area it has not been granted.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 4 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enbridge Inc.TSX/NYSE: ENBA | $10.7B | — | Gas Distribution and Storage segment operating revenues, FY2025 (C$), per the 10-K segment table — not consolidated Enbridge revenue, which was C$65,194M |
| FortisBC / ATCO Gas / ÉnergirC | not disclosed | — | The other large Canadian distributors. Each is the monopoly in its own certificate area and meets Enbridge nowhere, so they are comparables rather than rivals. None was researched for this record. |
| Federation of Alberta Gas Co-ops members (82 utilities)B | not disclosed | — | 54 co-ops, 16 towns and villages, 5 counties and 7 First Nations — member-owned or municipal. They account for most of Alberta's 89 establishments and they are not for sale to an outside buyer at any price. |
| Licensed gas marketersUNVERIFIED | not disclosed | — | The one part of this code without pipes. A provincial licence is needed to sell to small consumers, and the product competes against the utility's own regulated supply. No marketer's margins, customer numbers or churn were sourced — this entry is a description of the licence regime, not a measured competitor. |
Evidence
Evidence. The purchase price, its cash and debt split, the rate-base and earnings multiples and the combined customer count were read in Enbridge's September 2023 announcement, and the final closing date in its October 2024 completion release [A]. The Ontario customer figure is from Enbridge Gas's own site [A]. The Alberta member counts are from the Federation's home page [B]; matching them to StatCan's 89 Alberta establishments is this record's observation, not a reconciled count. Not sourced: any Canadian allowed return on equity, any Canadian utility transaction, and anything on gas marketers' margins, customer numbers or churn — the sentence on marketing is reasoning from the licence requirement in the Ontario Energy Board Act and general knowledge of how default supply works, and should be read as UNVERIFIED. For the competitive-field block, the Gas Distribution and Storage segment's operating revenues and EBITDA, the C$330M Ohio rate-case impairment and the ~68,000 customer additions were read in Enbridge's Form 10-K for the year ended 31 December 2025, filed 13 February 2026 — the segment figures from the segmented-information note, not from the headline bullets [A]. Consolidated Enbridge revenue was C$65,194M in 2025 and is deliberately kept off this record, because it is three-quarters pipelines and would misstate the size of the business being screened. FortisBC, ATCO and Énergir are named without figures and were not researched. The cut factor is analyst judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National association of Canadian gas distribution utilities; About page says members deliver to about two-thirds of Canadians.
Main US association of investor-owned natural gas distribution utilities; publishes American Gas magazine and rate/regulatory data.
Ontario energy industry association; where gas distribution and marketing issues are argued before the Ontario Energy Board.
AGA conference calendar; page listed a September 2026 summit run with NARUC when checked.
Natural gas price index and news service for North American markets; the pricing source gas marketers work from.
Association of competitive retail energy suppliers - the gas marketing side rather than the regulated wires side.
Distribution utilities and gas marketers barely overlap, so both kinds of body are listed. southerngas.org did not respond when checked.