Operating business42% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresOne thing must be truegrowth quality

Custom Drapery & Soft-Furnishings Workroom

SoftwareTypically runs on Manufacturing ERP, often light. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Textile furnishings mills

Base industry report for 3141 →
Establishments · CanadaA
114
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
54%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
1,371
Employment · USA
47,961
35 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$2.1B
$45k per employee

Of 114 Canadian establishments with employees, 54% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Take share rather than ride the market. Demand is flat, seasonal or policy-driven, so growth has to come out of a competitor. That is possible and it is slower, and it rewards an operator who can wait.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDgrowth quality — Market shape — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA54% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Mixed — neither a field of micro-operators nor one dominated by large establishments.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 314, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 3

The binding constraint — growth quality

The Technical Textiles & Cut-and-Sew record screened the specification end of this subsector and cut it on size. This group is the household end — carpets, curtains, linens — and the pre-screen thought cut-and-sew scale made it reachable. One half is not. Tufting is plant, and the Canadian carpet mills are emptying: $479.3M of revenue in 2021, $196.3M in 2024 — down 59% in three years [A]. Interface, the listed carpet-tile specialist, grew 5.4% to $1,387M in 2025, but it sells carpet tile alongside LVT and rubber flooring and does not split them [A] — it is a commercial flooring company, and its growth says nothing for a tufting mill. The other half is reachable: a drapery and soft-furnishings workroom is sewing machines, a cutting table and a few interior designers' phone numbers, and 62 of the group's 114 establishments have fewer than ten employees. But read what the curtain and linen mills report. Revenue fell from $417.5M in 2021 to $320.9M in 2024, and only $212.0M of that was goods they manufactured [A] — about a third of what these mills sell, they did not make, against 30% in 2019. The survey does not say what the rest is; resale of imported goods is the likeliest reading. A workroom prices against the imported ready-made panel, and its client belongs to the designer or dealer who specifies. The cut is growth quality: every line in the group is shrinking, and a third of what the survivors sell is already not their own manufacture.

Market scaleregionalunit: one metropolitan area's interior designers, window-covering dealers and hospitality fit-outs — the radius within which a workroom measures, delivers and installs

Custom drapery and soft furnishings are measured on site, made to the window and installed by hand, so a workroom competes inside the metropolitan area it can drive to. The national revenue figures describe the mills and importers that set the ready-made price it is compared against; they are not the workroom's addressable market.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 114 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 62 have fewer than ten employees; 50 in Ontario, 35 in Quebec, 19 in British Columbia
Textile furnishings mills — total revenueA C$517.2M in 2024, from C$896.8M in 2021 — down 42% (Annual Survey of Manufacturing and Logging Industries, table 16-10-0117-01, 2024 preliminary)
Carpet and rug mills — total revenueA C$196.3M in 2024, from C$479.3M in 2021 — down 59% (same table)
Curtain and linen mills — total revenue and own manufactureA C$320.9M in 2024, from C$417.5M in 2021; revenue from goods manufactured C$212.0M, 66% of the total; in 2019 C$252.6M of C$360.4M, 70% (same table; goods-manufactured cells quality grade C)
Interface net sales, 2025A US$1,387M, up 5.4% (4.3% currency-neutral); gross margin 38.7%; portfolio described as carpet tile, LVT, rubber flooring and area rugs
US establishments and employment, 2022A 1,371 establishments, 47,961 employees — about 35 per establishment (County Business Patterns)
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
No manufacturer leads the workroom trade. The firm that sets the reference price is Hunter Douglas, the world's largest window-coverings maker, taken private by 3G Capital in 2022
Scale
3G Capital acquired 75% of Hunter Douglas at €175 per ordinary share, completed 25 February 2022, with the founding family retaining 25%. The company then ran 136 companies with 47 manufacturing and 89 assembly operations in more than 100 countries, selling mainly as Luxaflex.
Concentration
Not published. Locally the structure is the count: 62 of the 114 Canadian establishments have fewer than ten employees, and the group's own mills are shrinking — C$896.8M of revenue in 2021, C$517.2M in 2024.
Others in the field
Budget Blinds, the franchise banner an independent joins to get leads — about 1,355 franchised locations and no company-owned ones; Springs Window Fashions and the other branded manufacturers that sell through dealers; the imported ready-made panel, which is the price a custom quote is compared against; and the other workrooms inside the same metropolitan area.
Lock-in mechanism
The designer or the window-covering dealer owns the client, not the workroom. That is trade knowledge and is not measured on this record.
Price movement
Not measured for workrooms. The mills that set the ready-made price fell from C$896.8M to C$517.2M of revenue between 2021 and 2024, and a third of what the curtain and linen mills now sell they did not manufacture — 66% of revenue was own manufacture in 2024, against 70% in 2019.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — At the manufacturer and banner level, not the workroom level. Hunter Douglas went to 3G Capital in 2022 and Budget Blinds' franchisor rolls up the retail front end at about 1,355 locations. No buyer was found for a single drapery workroom, which is why nothing here prices one.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Hunter Douglas take-private, 2022A €175 per ordinary share for a 75% stake, completed 25 February 2022; the family retained 25% and statutory buyout of the remaining shares followed at the same price
Hunter Douglas footprint at the time of the dealA 136 companies with 47 manufacturing and 89 assembly operations in more than 100 countries; principal brand Luxaflex
Hunter Douglas enterprise valueB Reported by the financial press at about US$7.1B; the transaction release itself does not state an enterprise value
Budget Blinds franchise termsC About 1,355 franchised locations and no company-owned ones; initial franchise fee US$19,950, royalty 3.5%, total initial investment US$100,500–$211,250
Interface net sales, 2025A US$1,387M, up 5.4% (4.3% currency-neutral); gross margin 38.7% — a commercial flooring company, and the comparable for the carpet half of this group only
V

The field

Every operator named on this record, and what each one discloses. A private single-site operator discloses nothing, which is the normal case — the listed consolidators are the only window in.

Competitor set · 4 named · 0 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Hunter Douglas (3G Capital)A not disclosed — Revenue not published since the 2022 take-private. What is public is the price: €175 per ordinary share for 75%, completed 25 February 2022, across 136 companies with 47 manufacturing and 89 assembly operations in more than 100 countries
Budget Blinds (Home Franchise Concepts)C not disclosed — The banner, not a manufacturer: about 1,355 franchised locations, US$19,950 initial fee, 3.5% royalty, US$100,500–$211,250 total investment. Read from a service that analyses the franchise disclosure document, not from the document itself
InterfaceNASDAQ: TILEA not disclosed — US$1,387M of 2025 net sales, up 5.4%. Listed carpet-tile and resilient flooring; the comparable for the carpet half of this statistical group and not a competitor to a drapery workroom
The 114 Canadian textile furnishings millsA not disclosed — The competitive structure: 62 with fewer than ten employees; 50 in Ontario, 35 in Quebec, 19 in British Columbia (Statistics Canada, December 2023). Within a workroom's own radius the field is a handful of these

Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.

Evidence

Evidence. The Canadian revenue series are from Statistics Canada's Annual Survey of Manufacturing and Logging Industries, table 16-10-0117-01, 2024 preliminary and subject to revision [A]. Interface's figures and its description of its portfolio were read in its fourth-quarter 2025 results release as filed on Form 8-K [A]; the release does not split carpet from resilient flooring, so it cannot show whether carpet itself grew; the release attributes growth to all product categories. What is not sourced: anything about workrooms themselves. No figure was found for workroom revenue, pricing or count, and the statement that the designer or dealer owns the client is UNVERIFIED trade knowledge. Why carpet revenue fell so fast between 2021 and 2022 was not established — a plant closure or a reclassification would both produce it. The cut factor is analyst judgment. The competitive field added later: the Hunter Douglas share price, the 75% stake, the completion date and the 136-company footprint were read in the 3G Capital transaction release of 25 February 2022 [A]; the roughly US$7.1B enterprise value is press reporting and is not in that release [B]. Budget Blinds' location count, franchise fee, royalty and investment range come from a commercial service that analyses the 2026 franchise disclosure document [C] — the FDD itself was not opened, and no Item 19 unit revenue was obtained. Springs Window Fashions is named from trade knowledge and was not researched.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationUSA
Window Coverings Association of America (WCAA)
wcaa.org

Chapter-based association for designers, workrooms, installers and window-treatment vendors; no member count published. Site news dated November 2025.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Decorators & Designers Association of Canada (DDA)
ddacanada.com

Canadian body for decorators and designers, the workroom's main trade customers; 2026 awards gala and student competition listed.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
Custom Workroom Conference
customworkroomconference.com

Education and trade show for drapery and upholstery workroom professionals; September 28-30, 2026, Erie, PA.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Window Fashion VISION
wf-vision.com

Trade magazine for window-covering retailers, workrooms and designers; issue and news items dated September 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
PodcastUSA
Sew Much More
ceildi.libsyn.com

Weekly interview podcast with workroom and upholstery business owners; episodes dated September 2026. sewmuchmorepodcast.com redirects here.

Checked 2026-09-22

No Canadian association specific to drapery workrooms was found; WCAA chapters are US-based. Trade forums for this craft run mostly in closed Facebook groups, which could not be verified.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other records in this industry

Operating businessScreenedfiled at 314
Technical Textiles & Cut-and-SewOne thing must be true
binding constraint: market size

Canadian cut-and-sew survives in the niches offshore production cannot serve — short runs, certified technical fabric, defence and medical specifications — and those niches are genuinely underserved. They are also small, and the skilled sewing labour that would staff a line has largely left the trade. Two figures set the scale. The country's largest buyer of certified sewn goods put its whole requirement into one contract worth up to C$3.7B over 20 years, awarded to Logistik Unicorp in October 2022, covering about 1,222 items for more than 160,000 people with a Canadian-manufacture majority attached [A]. That is not a market an entrant wins a slice of; it is a prime contract awarded once a generation, and the work below it is subcontracted on the prime's terms. What the certified work earns is visible at the listed comparable: Lakeland Fire + Safety grew net sales 15.2% to US$192.6M in fiscal 2026 and still lost US$25.3M, its gross margin falling from 41.1% to 32.9% [A]. The cut is market size. A viable business exists here — 227 of the 628 Canadian establishments have one to four employees, so small shops plainly survive — but the certification that keeps the work onshore is the same thing that concentrates it into long awards, and only eleven establishments in the country employ 100 or more people.

NAICS 3145 vendors named9 sourced figuresOpen →