Vertical software45% entry signalMarket screen3 sourced figuresOne thing must be trueincumbent vulnerability

Apparel PLM & Production Management

Prepared 2026-09-09

The buyer population — Apparel manufacturing

Base industry report for 315 →
Establishments · CanadaA
1,179
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
73%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
4,733
Employment · USA
70,315
15 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$2.8B
$40k per employee

Of 1,179 Canadian establishments with employees, 73% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDincumbent vulnerability — Executional — a better operator can move it.
Measured inputsUNVERIFIEDnot applied — This is a software market. The industry’s business counts describe its BUYERS, not the market being entered, so they are left out of the signal.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 11

The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability

Centric has consolidated apparel PLM and now sits behind Dassault's balance sheet, with the brand-side buyer standardised and the factory side served by whatever the brand mandates. The remaining independents are being bought rather than beaten. Nothing is disclosed here. Every vendor named on this record is private, or sits inside a parent that does not break the line out, so no revenue floor can be built and the market size is genuinely unknown rather than estimated.

I

The incumbent

Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.

Incumbent
Centric Software (Dassault Systèmes)
Scale
The default product-lifecycle system for apparel and footwear brands; grown by acquisition of adjacent planning and pricing tools
Challengers
Bamboo Rose, PTC FlexPLM, Aptean Apparel ERP, Backbone PLM, Zedonk
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not assessed
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Category leaders by customer countC PTC, Lectra, Centric Software, Gerber Technology, NGC, Aptean and Coats Digital
Regional concentration, 2025C Asia-Pacific about 38% of apparel-PLM revenue — the manufacturing base, not the brand base
ConsolidationC Gerber's Yunique PLM now sits inside Lectra; Centric sits inside Dassault Systèmes
V

The field

Every vendor named on this record, and what each one discloses. Most disclose nothing, which is why the market is not sized.

Competitor set · 8 named · 0 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Centric SoftwareC not disclosed — Majority-held by Dassault Systèmes; not broken out in Dassault's reporting
PTC FlexPLMC not disclosed — Inside PTC; not broken out
Bamboo Rose / Backbone / ZedonkC not disclosed — Private
LectraEPA: LSSC not disclosed — Listed in Paris, but PLM sits inside its fashion segment and is not broken out. Owns Gerber's Yunique PLM
Dassault Systèmes (ENOVIA, Centric)EPA: DSYC not disclosed — No apparel-PLM line reported
Siemens (Teamcenter)C not disclosed — General-purpose PLM sold into apparel; no line reported
Coats DigitalLSE: COAC not disclosed — Inside Coats Group; no software line reported
NGC / ApteanC not disclosed — Private; no disclosure

Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.

Evidence

Evidence. Market size UNVERIFIED — no vendor in apparel PLM reports a line for it, so no revenue floor can be built. Partly sourced 2026-09-16: the leader set by customer count, the Asia-Pacific revenue concentration and the Lectra/Gerber and Dassault/Centric ownership are from a software-market database and market-research publishers [C], not filings. No share percentage exists for any vendor here. Verify before acting.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Apparel Federation (CAF)
caf-fcv.ca

National apparel industry association (apparel.ca redirects here); trade, customs and HR programs; partner of the ATSC show. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
American Apparel & Footwear Association (AAFA)
aafaglobal.org

Homepage says it represents 'more than 1,100' brands; supply-chain and sourcing committees where PLM buyers sit. No member-company count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationQuebecA
Mmode (Grappe métropolitaine de mode)
mmode.ca

Montreal fashion-industry cluster, a non-profit with paid membership; French-language site.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
Apparel Textile Sourcing Canada (ATSC)
appareltextilesourcing.com

Canada's main apparel sourcing show; Toronto (International Centre) 23-25 Sep 2026 and Montreal 28 Sep 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSC
MAGIC Las Vegas
magicfashionevents.com

Largest US apparel market week incl. Sourcing at MAGIC; 16-18 Feb 2027 per search results. Site blocked automated access.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationInternationalA
The Interline
theinterline.com

Fashion-technology magazine covering PLM, 3D and AI vendors; articles dated September 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Sourcing Journal
wwd.com

Apparel supply-chain trade publication, now hosted under WWD; sourcingjournal.com redirects here.

Checked 2026-09-22

WhichPLM (whichplm.com) is now a one-person consultancy site rather than a PLM publication and was left off. Just-Style returned 403 and r/fashiondesign rate-limited RSS fetches.

↔

The businesses it sells to

Operating-business records filed along the same branch of NAICS — the customers of this software, screened as businesses in their own right.

Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3151
Domestic Knitwear & Hosiery MillOne thing must be true
binding constraint: willingness to pay

Canada has a world-scale knitter, and it is the reason not to start one. Gildan, headquartered in Montreal, reported 2025 net sales of $3,619M, up 11%, at a 31.2% gross margin and a 21.5% adjusted operating margin [A], from what it describes as vertically integrated, large-scale plants located primarily in Central America, the Caribbean, North America and Asia — and it closed the purchase of HanesBrands on 1 December 2025. Its sales to Canada alone were US$125.0M [A]. The entire Canadian apparel-knitting industry made C$108.7M in 2024, down from C$212.0M in 2015 [A]. So the country's own champion sells more into Canada than every Canadian knitting mill produces, from a plant network built mostly abroad. The pre-screen cut this on plant, but plant is not the binding problem: 25 of the 39 establishments have fewer than ten employees, and two-thirds sit in Quebec's old hosiery and sweater trade. The cut is willingness to pay. The buyer of a T-shirt, a sock or a fleece carries a reference price set by a company earning thirty-one points of gross margin at that price. A domestic mill survives only on buyers who will pay a multiple for provenance, a uniform contract or a fast small run — and an industry that has halved in nine years is the measure of how many there are. The software sold to apparel makers is screened separately.

NAICS 31514 vendors named11 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3152
Cut-and-Sew Contract ShopExecution decides
binding constraint: defensibility

The pre-screen marked this covered by a software record, which screens what is sold to apparel makers, not the making. The enterable proposition is a contract sewing shop — and it is reachable: 428 of the 817 Canadian establishments have one to four employees, and the entry is machines, a lease and sewers. The best case for it is Canada Goose, which made C$1,528.2M of revenue at a 69.7% gross margin in fiscal 2026 [A] selling down-filled outerwear it says is made exclusively in Canada. But read how. Over 80% of those products were manufactured directly in its own facilities — five in Canada — and contract partners are described as what lets it flex production capacity higher or lower, with contract-made goods returned to its own plants for inspection and the logo [A]. That is the contractor's position in one paragraph: the brand keeps the margin, keeps the core volume in-house, and buys outside capacity as a shock absorber. The national series agrees. Cut-and-sew contracting earned $278.0M in 2024, down from $329.9M in 2021, with 33% of revenue paid out in wages against 26% for the manufacturers who own their product [A]. The cut is defensibility: a contract shop sells labour hours to a customer who can insource them, offshore them or move them down the street, and holds nothing that compounds.

NAICS 31524 vendors named11 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3159
Small-Batch Hats, Gloves & AccessoriesExecution decides
binding constraint: willingness to pay

A residual code — hats, gloves, belts, ties, scarves and whatever clothing fits nowhere else. The reachable niche is the small accessory maker: a few machines, a blocking bench or a glove pattern, and 194 of the 323 Canadian establishments have one to four employees. The Small-Batch Leather Goods record next door cut a similar bench on distribution — the maker cannot buy attention. This group adds a different and blunter piece of evidence, because here the statistical agency publishes both sides of the ledger. Canadian accessory manufacturers booked $521.3M of revenue in 2024 against $563.1M of expenses [A]. That is not a bad year in a good run: expenses exceeded revenue in five of the eleven years since 2013 for which both sides are published — 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2024 — and the best year cleared 6% [A]. Revenue has grown, from $349.4M in 2015, and it has not helped. About a fifth of 2024 revenue was not goods the establishments made [A, low-quality estimate], which suggests makers topping up with resale. The cut is willingness to pay: across a decade and the whole group, customers have not paid these makers enough to cover what it costs to be them, and a new bench does not arrive with a better price. Industrial and safety gloves, which sell through distributors on different terms, were not examined separately.

NAICS 31595 vendors named10 sourced figuresOpen →