Sawmill & Wood-Preserving Plant
The industry — Sawmills and wood preservation
Base industry report for 3211 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 726
- Under 10 employeesA
- 39%
- Establishments · USA
- 3,067
- Employment · USA
- 89,731
- Payroll · USA
- $5.4B
Of 726 Canadian establishments with employees, 39% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 6
The binding constraint — capital intensity
Two businesses share this code and they have opposite years. Wood preservation is the attractive one: Stella-Jones sold C$3,492M of treated poles, ties and lumber in 2025 at an 18.9% EBITDA margin, with utility products alone at C$1,822M and rising [A]. But its customers are electric utilities and Class I railways buying on multi-year supply programmes, its moat is a continental network of treating plants plus pole-quality fibre under contract, and it spent C$259M on acquisitions in 2025 absorbing what adjoins it [A]. A new treating plant is a permitted, capital-heavy site with two or three possible customers per region, each already supplied. Sawmilling is the reachable-looking one and the numbers are worse. The Value-Added Wood Manufacturing record cuts small sawmilling on fibre supply; this screen adds what happens at the border. Interfor lost C$344.4M on C$2,805.9M of sales in 2025, booked a C$69.1M impairment on its Eastern Canadian mills, and has US$663.5M of cumulative duties on deposit; the combined countervailing and anti-dumping rate is 35.16%, with a further 10% Section 232 tariff on top [A]. That is cash paid before the customer pays, on a commodity averaging C$599 per thousand board feet in the fourth quarter. The size bands say this is a plant industry — 199 of 726 establishments employ fifty or more [A] — and a mill is sunk capital whose working capital is then taxed at the border. The small custom and portable mills that make up the bottom of the count sell locally and avoid the duty, and are the subject of the other record.
A sawmill competes for logs within the distance a loaded truck can economically travel and sells lumber into a continental commodity price it does not set; a treating plant serves the utilities and railways within freight reach. Both are regional on the side that decides whether the plant runs, which is why national production totals describe nothing an entrant could address.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 5 of 7 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 7 named · 5 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| West Fraser TimberTSX/NYSE: WFGA | $5.5B | — | FY2025 sales, reported in US dollars — Net loss US$937M; more than 50 facilities in Canada, the US, the UK and Europe by its own description. The Lumber segment lost money before impairments |
| InterforTSX: IFPA | $2.8B | — | FY2025 sales, C$2,805.9M — Net loss C$344.4M with US$663.5M of duties sitting on deposit at the border |
| Stella-JonesTSX: SJA | $3.5B | — | FY2025 sales, C$3,492M — The consolidator, and the only consistently profitable operator in the code: 18.9% EBITDA margin, C$259M of acquisitions in 2025, selling poles and ties to utilities and Class I railways on multi-year programmes |
| Koppers HoldingsNYSE: KOPA | $1.9B | — | FY2025 revenue — The other listed treater. Segment detail was not opened for this record |
| WeyerhaeuserNYSE: WYA | $6.9B | — | FY2025 net sales — Timberlands and wood products, overwhelmingly American — the scale comparison rather than a competitor a Canadian mill meets for logs |
| Canfor, Tolko and Western Forest ProductsC | not disclosed | — | The other large Canadian sawmillers an entrant meets for logs and for customers. None was opened for this record and no listing status or figure is asserted for any of them |
| The independent millsA | not disclosed | — | 184 of 726 Canadian establishments employ fewer than five people (Statistics Canada, December 2023). Custom and portable mills selling inside Canada avoid the export duty entirely and publish nothing — that avoidance is the only structural advantage visible at small scale |
Evidence
Evidence. Interfor's figures, the duty rates and the duties-on-deposit number were read in its Q4 2025 results release; Stella-Jones's sales by category, EBITDA margin and acquisition spend in its Q4/FY2025 release [A]. Counts are Statistics Canada and US Census [A]. What they establish: a large, well-run Canadian sawmiller lost money at 2025 prices with the duty in place, and the one consistently profitable activity in the code is held by a consolidator selling to a handful of infrastructure buyers. What they do not establish: the economics of a small mill selling only into Canada, which pays no duty and was not separately sourced here; nor the capital cost of a new treating plant, for which no figure was found and none is given. Duty rates are reset by administrative review and will change. The cut factor is analyst judgment. The competitive field added in the completion pass: West Fraser's FY2025 sales, net loss, restructuring and impairment charges, group and segment adjusted EBITDA, and its own statement about closures and curtailments of uneconomic lumber and OSB mills, were read in its Q4-2025 news release, filed on EDGAR as exhibit 99.1 to a 6-K on 11 February 2026 [A]. Weyerhaeuser's and Koppers' FY2025 revenues are from their 10-Ks [A]. Interfor and Stella-Jones are the figures already cited above. Canfor, Tolko and Western Forest Products are named as the other large Canadian sawmillers but were not opened, so they carry no figure. What is still not established: no price was found for a Canadian sawmill or a treating plant changing hands, so the consolidation note gives direction and no multiple, and Koppers' segment mix was not examined.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Represents BC forest industry; runs the annual COFI Convention.
National forest products association; publishes member list and economic impact data.
Canadian treated-wood body; runs plant certification and operator training.
ANSI-accredited standards body for wood preservation; technical committee meetings.
Sawmill trade magazine from Hatton-Brown; posts mill and equipment news.
Sawmill equipment show, Portland, 23-25 September 2026; free registration for mill personnel.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.
No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.