Operating business6% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresStructure decidescapital intensity

Plastics Injection Moulding Job Shop

SoftwareTypically runs on Job-shop and moulding ERP, tooling and quality tracking. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-09

The industry — Plastics and rubber products manufacturing

Base industry report for 326 →
Establishments · CanadaA
2,065
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
34%
most common size: 20–49
Establishments · USA
11,487
Employment · USA
812,715
71 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$47.3B
$58k per employee

Of 2,065 Canadian establishments with employees, 34% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDcapital intensity — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA34% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Concentrated — a new entrant competes against establishments with real scale.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 326, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — capital intensity

A press, a mould and a validated process precede any revenue, and the mould is usually the customer's — which means the customer can move the work by moving a tool. That single fact caps the defensibility of the whole business, and there is a filing that measures it. Core Molding Technologies, a listed custom moulder, discloses that Volvo fell from 14% of its sales in 2024 to 4% in 2025 because programmes it supplied transitioned to programmes it does not, a transition the company says runs from the second half of 2024 through 2026 [A]; its five largest customers were 65% of 2025 sales, and the same five were 69% the year before [A]. That is the shape of a job shop many times larger than anything an entrant would build. The same filings show where the cash goes: Core Molding's product sales fell 20.2% in 2025 while total net sales fell only 9.5%, because US$41.6M of tooling revenue — customers paying for moulds — filled the gap against US$11.3M the year before [A]. Tooling is one-time work billed at a thin margin; the parts revenue behind it is what recurs, and it shrank by a fifth. Tooling, cleanroom and certification costs put entry in the high six figures before a first part ships, and what that money buys is a press, not a customer. The consolidators are not bidding at that end either: ABC Technologies of Toronto, majority owned by Apollo funds, completed the purchase of TI Fluid Systems in April 2025 at an enterprise value of over £1.8 billion, forming a US$5.4B, 34,600-employee tier one [A]. That buys a platform, not a job shop. 1,037 of Canada's 2,065 establishments have fewer than twenty employees [A], and those are the shops an entrant would actually be bidding against — for the same tool package, inside the same freight radius, with the same customer holding the drawing.

Market scaleregionalunit: one press, and the tools running on it

Parts ship, so the market is not a drive time — but the tool belongs to the customer, which means the real boundary is the customer list rather than geography. A moulder's market is as large as its tooling drawer.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 2,065 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 1,037 with fewer than twenty employees, 269 with a hundred or more and 17 with five hundred or more; Ontario 921, Quebec 584
US plastics and rubber products manufacturing, County Business Patterns 2022A 11,487 establishments; 812,715 employees — about 71 per establishment; US$47.31B payroll. Covers all of NAICS 326, rubber products included
Core Molding Technologies net sales, FY2025A US$273.8M, down 9.5% from US$302.4M. Product sales were US$232.2M, down 20.2%; tooling revenue was US$41.6M against US$11.3M in 2024
Core Molding customer concentration, 2025A Five customers were 65% of sales — International 28%, BRP 14%, PACCAR 11%, Yamaha 8%, Volvo 4%. The same five were 69% in 2024, when Volvo alone was 14%
Core Molding margins and capital, FY2025A Gross margin US$47.6M, 17.4% of net sales against 17.6%; adjusted EBITDA US$30.7M, 11.2% of net sales; capital expenditure US$17.3M, of which US$10.8M on facilities and US$6.5M on a Mexico expansion; US$63M of business awarded, mostly new
What the consolidators pay for, and it is not a job shopA ABC Technologies of Toronto — majority owned by Apollo funds, with Oaktree a minority — completed the acquisition of TI Fluid Systems on 15 April 2025 at an enterprise value of over £1.8B, rebranding the combined business TI Automotive: US$5.4B of revenue, 34,600 employees, 26 countries
Boundary mechanismA Customer-owned tooling: the work moves when the tool moves. Core Molding's filing shows one customer going from 14% of sales to 4% as its programmes transitioned to a supplier the company does not serve
Entry costUNVERIFIED Press, tooling and process validation, in the high six figures before a first part ships. No quotation was opened for any of the three — this is the analyst's estimate and is tiered as one
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
No single moulder leads this trade. The nearest Canadian name at scale is ABC Technologies of Toronto, majority owned by Apollo funds, which completed the purchase of TI Fluid Systems on 15 April 2025 and rebranded the combined business TI Automotive
Scale
TI Automotive: over £1.8B of enterprise value paid, US$5.4B of combined revenue, 34,600 employees in 26 countries. At the other end of what an entrant could imagine reaching, Core Molding Technologies — the listed custom moulder — did US$273.8M of net sales in 2025, down 9.5%, at an 11.2% adjusted EBITDA margin
Concentration
Not published, and the counts say why it would not help: 1,037 of Canada's 2,065 establishments have fewer than twenty employees and only 17 have five hundred or more. This is a job-shop industry with a thin layer of tier-one moulders above it
Others in the field
TI Automotive and the private-equity owners assembling the automotive tier ones; Magna's exterior and interior plastics operations; Core Molding Technologies as the listed comparable at the reachable end; Husky Technologies of Bolton, Ontario, which sells the machines rather than the parts and takes an entrant's largest cheque; and the 1,037 sub-twenty-employee independents that are the industry's actual shape
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Core Molding's product sales fell 20.2% in 2025 while total net sales fell only 9.5%, because US$41.6M of tooling revenue filled the gap against US$11.3M the year before. Tooling is customers paying for moulds — one-time work. The recurring parts revenue underneath it shrank by a fifth
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Private equity is the buyer, and it is buying at the top. ABC Technologies — Apollo majority, Oaktree minority — paid an enterprise value of over £1.8 billion for TI Fluid Systems in April 2025. Nothing comparable was sourced for a single-press Canadian job shop, and that is the finding: the consolidators are assembling tier-one platforms, not the shops the size bands are full of, so an owner at that end has no bid to price against
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Core Molding Technologies net sales, FY2025A US$273.8M, down 9.5% from US$302.4M; product sales US$232.2M, down 20.2%; tooling revenue US$41.6M against US$11.3M
Core Molding customer concentration, 2025 and 2024A Five customers 65% of 2025 sales — International 28%, BRP 14%, PACCAR 11%, Yamaha 8%, Volvo 4% — against 69% in 2024, when Volvo alone was 14%
Core Molding margins and capital, FY2025A Gross margin 17.4% of net sales against 17.6%; adjusted EBITDA US$30.7M, 11.2%; capital expenditure US$17.3M
ABC Technologies / TI Fluid Systems, completed 15 April 2025A Enterprise value over £1.8B; combined revenue US$5.4B, 34,600 employees, 26 countries; Apollo funds majority, Oaktree minority
The field an entrant actually meetsA 1,037 of Canada's 2,065 establishments have fewer than twenty employees; 269 have a hundred or more
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$5.7B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
TI Automotive (ABC Technologies)A $5.4B — Combined revenue (US$) stated at completion of the TI Fluid Systems acquisition on 15 April 2025, at an enterprise value over £1.8B. Toronto-headquartered; privately held by Apollo funds with Oaktree a minority, so no standalone moulding revenue is published
Core Molding TechnologiesNYSE American: CMTA $274M — FY2025 net sales (US$), down 9.5%; five customers were 65% of sales. The closest listed analogue to what an entrant would be building, several times over
Magna InternationalTSX: MG / NYSE: MGAC not disclosed — Canada's largest automotive parts maker, with exterior and interior plastics operations. Its figures were not opened for this record
Husky TechnologiesC not disclosed — Bolton, Ontario. It sells the machines and hot runners rather than the parts, which is why it is named: an entrant's largest single cheque goes to a machine builder, and that supplier is indifferent to whether the entrant wins the job. Privately held; no figures opened
The sub-twenty-employee independent majorityA not disclosed — 1,037 of 2,065 Canadian establishments. This is the real competitive set — the shops inside the customer's freight radius bidding the same tool package, with the customer holding the drawing and able to move it

Evidence

Evidence. Core Molding Technologies' net sales, product sales, tooling revenue, gross margin, adjusted EBITDA, capital expenditure and new business awarded were read in its fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 press release, filed as exhibit 99.1 to its Form 8-K on EDGAR; the customer-concentration percentages for 2025 and 2024 and the Volvo programme transition were read in its Form 10-K for the year ended 31 December 2025 [A]. The ABC Technologies / TI Fluid Systems enterprise value, completion date, combined revenue, headcount and ownership were read in the companies' own completion announcement of 15 April 2025 [A]. Counts are Statistics Canada and US Census County Business Patterns 2022 [A]; the employees-per-establishment figure is this record's division. What is not established: Core Molding is a US structural-composites and injection moulder serving trucks and powersports, so it shows what customer concentration does to a job shop, not what a Canadian moulder earns — no small Canadian moulder's financials were found. The entry-cost figure remains UNVERIFIED: no quotation for a press, a tool or a validation programme was opened, so 'high six figures' is analyst estimate and is tiered as such. The US count covers all of NAICS 326 including rubber products, and the film, sheet and bottle half of the group is screened separately at 3261. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Association of Moldmakers (CAMM)
canadianassociationofmoldmakers.com

Windsor-based national association for mould makers and their suppliers; camm.ca redirects here. Publishes CAMM Magazine and the Mold Makers Index.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
Society of Plastics Engineers (SPE)
4spe.org

Technical society for plastics processors; site announces the SPE and PLASTICS merger and runs ANTEC 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
NPE: The Plastics Show
npe.org

Triennial show run by the Plastics Industry Association, 3-7 May 2027 in Orlando; the site claims 51,000+ attendees and 2,200+ exhibitors.

Checked 2026-09-22
SubredditInternationalA
r/InjectionMolding
reddit.com

Process, tooling and shop-floor troubleshooting talk; RSS feed returned posts dated the day of checking.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationNorth AmericaC
Plastics News
plasticsnews.com

Crain trade title covering processors, resin pricing and moulder ownership changes. Blocked automated access (403).

Checked 2026-09-22

canplastics.com (Canadian Plastics, Annex Business Media) does not resolve from this network and is not listed.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other records in this industry

Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3261
Plastic Film & Packaging Extrusion PlantStructure decides
binding constraint: capital intensity

The atlas already screens the injection-moulding job shop under 326, where the customer owns the tool. This record takes the other half of the group — film, sheet, bags, bottles and pipe, where the line is yours and the product is closer to a commodity. It is a big, working industry: 1,811 Canadian establishments, and unlike most of manufacturing the weight is in the middle — 29% have fifty or more employees [A], which is the first sign of what it takes. Winpak, the Winnipeg packaging-film and rigid-container maker, is the clean Canadian anchor. In 2025 it reported revenue of $1,125.4M, down 0.5%, with volumes down 1.0%, and $84.9M of property, plant and equipment additions [A] — about 7.5% of revenue, reinvested in a year when volume shrank. Its gross margin still slipped 1.6 points to 30.4%, and not because resin outran price: pricing added $3.4M to earnings and everything else took $14.9M back, on production waste, quality problems and output too low to carry the plant [A]. It guides to another $80–100M for 2026. That is the mechanism: an extrusion line earns a conversion spread over resin, the spread only covers the machine if the line runs around the clock, and staying qualified with food and medical customers means buying the next generation of line whether or not the market grew. Winpak's one weak product says what happens otherwise — biaxially oriented nylon volumes fell 14% on competitive pricing pressure [A]. An entrant with one or two used lines is the marginal producer in that fight, buying resin in truckloads against railcar buyers. A full study would look instead at buying an existing niche converter with customer approvals already in hand.

NAICS 32616 vendors named12 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 3262
Custom Rubber Compounding & Moulded GoodsOne thing must be true
binding constraint: defensibility

Tires are out of reach by inspection — a tire plant is a global maker's asset, and the five establishments in this code with 500 or more employees [A] sit at that scale. What an entrant could actually build is the other end: a custom mixing or moulding shop making compound, gaskets, hose assemblies, mounts and liners for mining, rail, automotive and defence customers. A mixer, mills and presses are real money but not plant-scale, and 54% of the 254 Canadian establishments have fewer than twenty employees [A]. The cut is who controls the volume. AirBoss of America's Rubber Solutions segment — a Canadian-listed custom compounder, and about as established as this business gets — reported 2025 net sales of US$205.2M, down 9.3%, on volume down 13.0%, with gross profit down 25% to US$26.6M [A], roughly a 13% gross margin. The telling line is inside that: tolling volume fell 59.7% while non-tolling fell 11.3% [A]. Tolling is mixing the customer's own recipe on your line. The recipe, the approvals and the end customer all stay with them, so the work arrives when their own mixers are full and leaves the moment they are not — the compounder is the customer's overflow capacity and is priced like it. The 326 record makes the matching point for plastics, where the customer owns the mould; here the customer owns the formula. A new shop starts with no proprietary compounds, so it starts as the most movable supplier on every account it wins. A full study would test a narrow proprietary niche — a compound or part the customer cannot mix in-house — rather than general custom work.

NAICS 32625 vendors named10 sourced figuresOpen →