Operating business13% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresStructure decidescapital intensity

Clay Brick Plant (and Studio Ceramics)

SoftwareTypically runs on Batching, dispatch and ticketing. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Clay product and refractory manufacturing

Base industry report for 3271 →
Establishments · CanadaA
97
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
59%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
1,031
Employment · USA
35,810
35 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$2.0B
$57k per employee

Of 97 Canadian establishments with employees, 59% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDcapital intensity — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA59% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 327, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — capital intensity

Two unlike businesses share this code. Nearly half of the 97 Canadian establishments — 46 of them — have one to four employees [A]: studio potteries and small ceramic makers, craft businesses limited by the maker's hands and not examined further. The industrial end is clay brick and refractories: a shale pit, a tunnel kiln that runs continuously, and a product that goes on the front of houses. The attraction is real — brick is heavy, so imports are limited, and Wienerberger, which holds the number one position in Ontario, calls it Canada's most attractive and dynamic real-estate market [A]. The cut is what existing kilns are worth. When Wienerberger bought Meridian Brick, the largest US clay facade maker by capacity and strong in Ontario, it announced $250M for a business with more than $400M of revenue, 20 plants and over 1,000 employees, and closed at a final cash price of $230M, recovering a further $23M for the plants the US Department of Justice made it divest [A]. That is under 0.6 times sales for the kilns, the clay reserves and the working capital together — one transaction clearing well below what the capacity would cost to build, because housing starts swing and a continuous kiln's gas bill does not. A new plant has to earn a return on new-build cost while competing against an owner who bought in at that price. Brampton Brick, the listed Ontario maker, left the other way: family holding companies of its own chief executive and a director bought it out at $12 a share [B] — a price for the equity, not for capacity. The 327 record cuts ready-mix and aggregates on the permit; brick shares the pit-permitting problem, but here it is the second reason, not the first.

Market scaleregionalunit: one brick plant and the housing markets within economic trucking distance of it

Brick is heavy enough that most of it is sold within a few hundred kilometres of the kiln, which is why Ontario's plants sit beside the Greater Toronto housing market. It travels further than concrete — architectural brick is shipped across provinces — so the market is a region, not a haul radius. Studio ceramics have no geography beyond the maker's own channels.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 97 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 46 of them — 47% — have 1 to 4 employees; 43 are in Ontario
US establishments and employment, NAICS 3271A 1,031 establishments; 35,810 employees; $2.04B payroll (US Census County Business Patterns, 2022)
Wienerberger's purchase of Meridian Brick (announced December 2020)A $250M announced 17 December 2020 for revenue 'in excess of $400 million' (year to 30 June 2020), 20 plants in the US and Canada, more than 1,000 employees; on closing the final cash purchase price was $230M, with $23M received for the plants divested as a US Department of Justice remedy, for net cash out of $207M
What that price impliesUNVERIFIED Under 0.6× the stated revenue floor on the $230M final cash price, and about 0.5× net of the remedy disposal — a floor-based ratio, not a multiple
Brampton Brick take-privateB $12 per share deemed price on the June 2021 rollover of insiders' Class A and Class B shares into BBL Acquisitions, which had completed a take-over bid for the Class A shares in March 2021 and is owned by family companies of the chief executive and of a director
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Wienerberger, which bought Meridian Brick in 2021 and claims the number one position in Ontario
Scale
Meridian was bought at a final cash price of $230M for a business with more than $400M of revenue, 20 plants and over 1,000 employees, with $23M recovered on the plants the US Department of Justice made it divest
Concentration
Not published. 43 of Canada's 97 establishments in this code are in Ontario, and 46 of the 97 have one to four employees — studio potteries, not brick plants
Others in the field
Brickworks' Glen-Gery (eight US brick plants, 26 company-operated distribution outlets, three design studios), Brampton Brick — the listed Ontario maker, taken private in 2021 — Acme Brick, and the provincial makers. Below all of them sits a craft tail that does not compete with a kiln at all
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not sourced as a price series. What is sourced is worse: Brickworks' North American brick EBITDA margin fell from 9.8% to 0.8% in the year to 31 July 2025, and it wrote the business down A$175.4M after A$94.3M the year before
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Wienerberger is the acquirer of scale, and the US Department of Justice forced divestitures out of its Meridian purchase — the market was already concentrated enough to trip antitrust. Brickworks names 'industry consolidation activity' in the Midwest as one driver of its own 2025 impairment. Buying a kiln is possible; buying it cheaply is what the incumbents are already doing.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Wienerberger's purchase of Meridian BrickA $250M announced 17 December 2020 for revenue 'in excess of $400 million', 20 plants, 1,000+ employees; final cash price $230M, with $23M received for the DoJ-ordered divestitures
Brickworks Building Products North America, year to 31 July 2025A Revenue A$408M, down 8%; EBITDA A$3M, down 92%; EBIT a loss of A$17M
Brickworks North America EBITDA marginA 0.8% in FY2025 against 9.8% in FY2024 (ex-property sales)
Brickworks North America impairmentA A$175.4M written off the CGU at 31 July 2025 (A$32.5M right-of-use, A$142.9M property, plant and equipment), after A$94.3M in FY2024 which fully impaired its goodwill and brand names
Brickworks North America footprintA Eight operating brick manufacturing sites, 26 company-operated distribution outlets and three design studios (New York, Philadelphia, Baltimore)
Brampton Brick take-privateB $12.00 a share deemed price on the June 2021 rollover of insiders' shares into BBL Acquisitions, owned by family companies of the chief executive and of a director
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$408M

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Wienerberger (General Shale, Meridian Brick)VIE: WIEA not disclosed — Group revenue not researched for this record. Its Meridian purchase at $230M final cash — under 0.6× a stated revenue floor — is the price benchmark for North American brick capacity
Brickworks (Glen-Gery)ASX: BKWA $408M — Building Products North America segment revenue, year ended 31 July 2025 (A$) — The clearest warning on the record: eight plants earning A$3M of EBITDA and carrying A$269.7M of impairment across two years
Brampton BrickB not disclosed — Ontario's listed brick maker until 2021, when family companies of its chief executive and a director took it private at a $12.00 deemed share price; nothing has been published since
Acme Brick and the regional and provincial makersC not disclosed — Named from general knowledge as the other operators an entrant would meet; none was researched for this record
The studio-ceramics tailA not disclosed — 46 of Canada's 97 establishments in this code have one to four employees (Statistics Canada, December 2023). They share a NAICS code with brick plants and compete with none of them

Evidence

Evidence. The Meridian Brick terms were read in Wienerberger's own press release of 17 December 2020 and the closing figures in its investor presentation of 12 October 2021 [A]; the ratios are my arithmetic on those two documents and stay UNVERIFIED because 'in excess of $400 million' is a floor, not a figure. Wienerberger's Ontario position is its own claim in that presentation, not an independent market measurement. The Brampton Brick price was read in the Brazos/Bratty early-warning release of 11 June 2021 as carried by Stockwatch [B]; no revenue, enterprise value or asset figure accompanied it, so it sizes the equity and nothing else, and no shareholder-approval or delisting date was confirmed. No replacement cost for a brick plant was sourced, so the claim that capacity changes hands below build cost rests on one transaction. Brickworks' North American segment revenue, EBITDA, EBIT, margin, plant count and the A$175.4M and A$94.3M impairments were read in its FY2025 annual report (Appendix 4E, year ended 31 July 2025) — the segment table in the financial overview and note 3.2(c) on impairment [A]. Brickworks reports in Australian dollars at half-yearly average exchange rates it discloses, so the figures are not directly comparable with the US-dollar Meridian price; both are on the record as evidence of the same thing — that brick capacity in North America is currently worth less than it cost. No replacement cost for a kiln was sourced, no Canadian brick price series was found, and Acme Brick and the provincial makers were not researched. Refractories, plumbing fixtures and studio ceramics were not researched. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationUSA
Brick Industry Association
gobrick.com

US clay brick manufacturers' association; publishes the Technical Notes series and runs the Brick in Architecture Awards.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canada Masonry Centre (Canadian Masonry Contractors Association)
canadamasonrycentre.com

Administrative home of the CMCA, which the page says has seven chapters and more than 200 contractor, supplier and manufacturer members.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalC
The American Ceramic Society
ceramics.org

Technical society covering refractories and structural clay as well as advanced ceramics. Blocked automated access (Cloudflare 403).

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaA
NCECA (National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts)
nceca.net

The studio-ceramics body; registration is open for its 61st annual conference, Baltimore 2027, after Detroit 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
FUSION: The Ontario Clay and Glass Association
clayandglass.on.ca

Ontario association for potters and glass makers; runs exhibitions, mentorships and the Conversations in Clay conference.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationInternationalA
Ceramic Arts Network (Ceramics Monthly)
ceramicartsnetwork.org

Publisher of Ceramics Monthly and Pottery Making Illustrated, with a members' forum and the ICAN membership.

Checked 2026-09-22

masonryworx.com no longer resolves; the Canadian masonry bodies are reached through Canada Masonry Centre instead.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other records in this industry