Operating business38% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresOne thing must be truecapital intensity

Precast Concrete Products Plant

SoftwareTypically runs on Batching, dispatch and ticketing. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Cement and concrete product manufacturing

Base industry report for 3273 →
Establishments · CanadaA
1,239
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
41%
most common size: 10–19
Establishments · USA
8,762
Employment · USA
185,552
21 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$12.4B
$67k per employee

Of 1,239 Canadian establishments with employees, 41% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDcapital intensity — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA41% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Mixed — neither a field of micro-operators nor one dominated by large establishments.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 327, inherited by every industry beneath it.
The screen itselfUNVERIFIEDfound no clean kill — This record says in its own words that it could not find a decisive reason to stay out, and names what a full study would have to test. That is why it cannot sit in the red band.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — capital intensity

The 327 record already cuts ready-mix and aggregates on the pit permit, and cement is a kiln owned by a multinational. What is left in this group is the part an ordinary entrant could plausibly reach: precast — septic tanks, steps, barriers, manholes, utility vaults, wall panels — cast in forms in a yard and trucked to site. No quarry is needed; cement and stone are bought in. The industry looks the part: 1,239 Canadian establishments, 68% with fewer than twenty employees [A], and in the US about 21 workers per establishment [A]. Smith-Midland, a small listed precaster, is a rare look inside at near-entrant scale: 2025 revenue of $93.4M from three plants and 285 workers, net income of $12.5M [A], selling within a 450-mile radius, mostly on estimates to general contractors bidding public work. This screen does not find a clean kill. The nearest thing to one is capital: Smith-Midland spent $9.3M on forms, barrier fleet and plant in 2025 — 10% of revenue — and plans over $12M in 2026 [A], needed a bank waiver of its $5M capex covenant to do it, and attributes the year's margin to special barrier-rental projects that carried a lower cost of sales than ordinary product work. Its own filing calls the industry highly competitive and fragmented, with competition limited by distance from the site [A]. The commodity end — a tank or a manhole to a provincial standard — is priced by whoever is closest, and the large end was consolidated at scale: Quikrete paid about $2.74B including debt for Forterra [A], a pipe and precast maker operating in the US and Eastern Canada. A full study should test buying an existing small precaster with its approvals and yard, in a named region, rather than building one.

Market scaleregionalunit: one precast yard and the job sites within economic trucking distance — commodity pieces a short haul, engineered and architectural panels several hundred kilometres

Precast is heavy but, unlike ready-mix, it is cured before it travels, so the radius is set by freight against the value of the piece rather than by a setting clock. Smith-Midland says competition is limited by distance from the construction site and concentrates its selling within 450 miles; a septic tank maker's practical radius is far shorter. There is no national market to size.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 1,239 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) across cement, ready-mix, block, pipe and precast; 842 of them — 68% — have fewer than 20 employees
US establishments and employment, NAICS 3273A 8,762 establishments; 185,552 employees — about 21 per establishment; $12.4B payroll (US Census County Business Patterns, 2022)
Smith-Midland revenue and net income, FY2025A $93.4M revenue, up 19%; net income $12.5M; cost of sales 76% of revenue excluding royalties
Smith-Midland footprintA Three plants (Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina); 285 workers including contract labour; marketing concentrated within a 450-mile radius
Smith-Midland capital spendingA $9.3M in 2025 (about 10% of revenue), up from $6.6M; over $12M intended for 2026; bank covenant caps capex at $5M a year without a waiver
Quikrete's acquisition of ForterraA $24.00 a share in cash, valued at about $2.74B including debt; announced February 2021, closed March 2022
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
No single firm. Smith-Midland's own 10-K calls the industry highly competitive and fragmented, with competition limited by distance from the construction site — and in this trade that is the whole structure, not a disclaimer
Scale
Smith-Midland, the one listed comparable at near-entrant scale, ran three plants and 285 workers for $93.4M of 2025 revenue and $12.5M of net income
Concentration
Not published, and not meaningful: 842 of Canada's 1,239 establishments in this group have fewer than twenty employees, and a septic-tank maker in one county meets perhaps two others
Others in the field
Oldcastle Infrastructure (CRH) and the other multinational-owned pipe and infrastructure precasters, the regional structural precasters — Coreslab, Armtec, Jensen — and, on every commodity bid, whoever has a yard closer to the site
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. Smith-Midland's filing describes product approvals as ordinary rather than protective
Price movement
Not assessed. Smith-Midland's 2025 margin came partly from special barrier-rental projects carrying a lower cost of sales than ordinary product work, so it is not a price signal
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Quikrete has taken two listed building-materials businesses private in four years — Forterra, a pipe and precast maker operating in the US and Eastern Canada, for about US$2.74B including debt, and Summit Materials for about US$11.5B including debt at US$52.50 a share, closing February 2025. The exit for a precaster of any size is a private strategic; there is no public market for one.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Smith-Midland revenue and net income, FY2025A $93.4M revenue, up 19%; net income $12.5M; three plants, 285 workers; marketing concentrated within a 450-mile radius
Smith-Midland capital spendingA $9.3M in 2025, about 10% of revenue, up from $6.6M; over $12M intended for 2026; a bank covenant caps capex at $5M a year without a waiver
Quikrete's acquisition of ForterraA US$24.00 a share in cash, about US$2.74B including debt; announced February 2021, closed March 2022
Quikrete's acquisition of Summit MaterialsA US$52.50 a share in cash, about US$11.5B including debt; closed 10 February 2025; Summit served the United States and British Columbia
Canadian establishment structureA 1,239 establishments across cement, ready-mix, block, pipe and precast; 842 of them — 68% — with fewer than twenty employees (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$93M

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Smith-MidlandNASDAQ: SMIDA $93M — FY2025 revenue (US$) — The only look inside a precaster at near-entrant scale, and it says the industry is fragmented and distance-limited
Quikrete Holdings (Forterra, Summit Materials)A not disclosed — Private; publishes nothing. It paid about US$2.74B including debt for Forterra and about US$11.5B including debt for Summit — the buyer that sets what a scaled position is worth
Oldcastle Infrastructure (CRH)C not disclosed — CRH's precast and infrastructure-products arm; CRH does not report it separately and it was not researched for this record
Coreslab Structures, Armtec, Jensen Precast and the regional structural precastersC not disclosed — Named from general knowledge as the operators a Canadian entrant would meet on engineered work; none was researched and none publishes results
The yard-scale independent majorityA not disclosed — 842 of Canada's 1,239 establishments in this group have fewer than twenty employees (Statistics Canada, December 2023). On a commodity bid these, not the multinationals, are the competitive set

Evidence

Evidence. Smith-Midland's figures were read in its 10-K for the year ended 31 December 2025 on EDGAR [A]; the Forterra terms were read in the company's 8-K press-release exhibit of 22 February 2021 [A]. The establishment counts cover the whole group, not precast alone — no count for precast by itself was available. Smith-Midland's 2025 included unusually profitable special barrier-rental projects, so its margin flatters an ordinary precaster, and it is a US company; no Canadian precaster's financials were found. A draft claim that its product approvals have kept new competitors out was removed: the filing says the opposite, describing a highly competitive and fragmented industry. This record does not find a decisive cut: capital intensity is the closest, and it is analyst judgment. The Summit Materials terms were read in the merger-completion press release filed as an 8-K exhibit on EDGAR [A]; Summit is named here because it is the same buyer, not because it is a precaster. Oldcastle Infrastructure, Coreslab, Armtec and Jensen are named from general knowledge and were NOT researched for this record; none publishes results. Ready-mix is covered by the 327 record; cement and block were not separately researched.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Precast Concrete Institute (CPCI)
cpci.ca

Producer, associate, supporting and professional member classes; regional chapters; publishes Imagineering magazine. No member count stated on site.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Concrete Pipe & Precast Association (CCPPA)
ccppa.ca

Pipe, manhole and box-culvert precasters; its members page says over 40 member organizations across North America (not a precise count).

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Precast Concrete Association (NPCA)
precast.org · 950 members (2026-09)

Stated as 950+ member companies on its homepage; certification, education, Precast Inc. magazine. Canadian plants also belong.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (PCI)
pci.org

Technical institute and trade body for structural and architectural precast; plant certification programme. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
The Precast Show
precast.org

NPCA's annual show; page says more than 5,000 attendees and 400+ exhibitors expected for the 2027 edition.

Checked 2026-09-22

NPCA's Precast Inc. magazine has no stable page of its own on precast.org, so it is folded into the NPCA entry. Reddit feeds were unreachable from this network.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other records in this industry