Operating business67% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresExecution decidesdistribution

Hand Tool & Knife Making

Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Cutlery and hand tool manufacturing

Base industry report for 3322 →
Establishments · CanadaA
128
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
68%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
1,032
Employment · USA
33,171
32 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$2.0B
$61k per employee

Of 128 Canadian establishments with employees, 68% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Execution decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.

What you would have to beat

Get to the buyer. The product is reachable and the need is real; the channel is owned by someone else, and a route to it — a partner, a reseller, a trade relationship, a book of clients bought outright — is what has to be built.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDdistribution — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA68% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 332, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 5

The binding constraint — distribution

The pre-screen called hand tools "an import-and-brand category, not a manufacturing entry". The count agrees about who is actually here: 87 of Canada's 128 establishments, 68%, have fewer than ten employees [A]. These are knife makers, edge-tool smiths, specialty woodworking-tool makers and saw-blade shops. Making the thing is reachable — a forge, grinders, heat-treat, a few CNC machines. At that scale it is a craft business and a good one for the person who wants it. The question a screen asks is whether it becomes more than that. The obstacle is the shelf. Stanley Black & Decker's Tools & Outdoor segment — Stanley, DeWalt, Craftsman, Irwin, Lenox — took $13,158M of net sales in 2025 on a 10.7% adjusted segment margin, inside a company whose full-year sales fell 2% to $15.1B, 1% organically, after a cost programme that has removed about $2.1B of annual cost since mid-2022 [A]. Read that as a description of the channel. Mainstream hand tools reach users through a few home-improvement and industrial distributors whose planograms are negotiated with a supplier of that size, in a category where that supplier's own sales are falling and its energy is going into making the same tools cheaper. A new maker cannot buy its way onto that shelf and cannot match the landed cost if it did. What remains is direct sale of a premium tool to an enthusiast — mail order, the maker's own site, a specialist retailer. That works, and Canada has well-known examples, but each one is bounded by the size of its enthusiast audience, and none publishes results, so how far the ceiling sits above a good living was not established. The ERP software sold to metal shops on this branch is screened separately.

Market scaleinternational

Hand tools and cutlery are light, durable and standard — they ship from anywhere to anywhere, and the mainstream category is supplied largely from offshore plants under a handful of global brands. A Canadian maker competes with the world on the retail shelf, and with a world of other craft makers when selling direct online.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 128 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 87, or 68%, have fewer than ten employees; 7 have a hundred or more
US establishments, NAICS 3322A 1,032 establishments, 33,171 employees, $2.02B payroll (US County Business Patterns, 2022) — about 32 employees per establishment
Stanley Black & Decker Tools & Outdoor net sales, 2025A $13,158M — the figure in the release's full-year segment table; the release states no full-year growth rate for the segment
Stanley Black & Decker Tools & Outdoor segment margin, 2025A 10.1% reported; 10.7% adjusted (full year — the 13.2% figure in circulation is the fourth quarter alone)
Stanley Black & Decker company results, 2025A net sales $15.1B, down 2% and down 1% organically; gross margin 30.3%, up 90 basis points; about $2.1B of pre-tax run-rate savings from the cost programme since mid-2022
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Stanley Black & Decker (NYSE: SWK) — Stanley, DeWalt, Craftsman, Irwin and Lenox, sold through the home-improvement and industrial shelf
Scale
Tools & Outdoor took $13,158M of 2025 net sales at a 10.7% adjusted segment margin, inside a company whose full-year sales fell 2% to $15.1B, 1% organically, after a programme that has removed about $2.1B of annual cost since mid-2022.
Concentration
Not published, and the company does not break out hand tools. What the record can say is that one supplier at $13.2B negotiates the planogram a new maker would need to be on.
Others in the field
Snap-on (NYSE: SNA) owns the other route to a professional user and does not use the shelf at all: a franchised mobile-van channel whose Tools Group sold $1,964.9M in fiscal 2025, against $1,989.2M in 2024 and $2,088.8M in 2023. Techtronic, Klein Tools and Fiskars are the other names on the mainstream shelf — none researched here. In the enthusiast niche a Canadian maker competes with every other small maker selling direct, and with the audience's size.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. On the retail route the lock-in is the retailer's, not the maker's; on the direct route it is the maker's own list.
Price movement
Downward pressure at both ends of the mainstream channel. Stanley's sales fell 2% in 2025 while its gross margin rose 90 basis points to 30.3% — margin bought out of cost, not out of price — and Snap-on's van channel has now declined three years running.
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — No consolidator is buying small toolmakers. The money at the top of this category is being taken out of cost rather than spent on acquiring makers: about $2.1B of annual run-rate savings at Stanley since mid-2022, against falling sales; and Snap-on's Tools Group shrinking each year since 2023. A craft maker looking for an exit has no obvious trade buyer on this evidence.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Stanley Black & Decker Tools & Outdoor net sales, 2025A $13,158M at a 10.7% adjusted segment margin (10.1% reported)
Stanley Black & Decker company results, 2025A net sales $15.1B, down 2% and 1% organically; gross margin 30.3%, up 90 basis points; about $2.1B of pre-tax run-rate savings since mid-2022
Snap-on net sales, fiscal 2025A $5,156.1M in the 53 weeks to 3 January 2026, against $5,108.4M and $5,108.3M in the two prior years
Snap-on Tools Group segment net salesA $1,964.9M in fiscal 2025, $1,989.2M in 2024, $2,088.8M in 2023 — the franchised mobile-van channel, down 6% across two years
Canadian establishments under ten employeesA 87 of 128, 68% (Statistics Canada, December 2023); only 7 have a hundred or more
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$18.3B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 4 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Stanley Black & DeckerNYSE: SWKA $13.2B — Tools & Outdoor segment net sales, 2025, from the full-year segment table
Snap-on IncorporatedNYSE: SNAA $5.2B — FY2025 net sales, 53 weeks to 3 January 2026; the Snap-on Tools Group was $1,964.9M of it
Techtronic Industries / Klein Tools / FiskarsUNVERIFIED not disclosed — The other mainstream brands a new maker would meet on the shelf. Named from general knowledge; Techtronic and Fiskars are listed in Hong Kong and Helsinki respectively and neither was researched, and Klein is private
The sub-ten-employee maker majorityA not disclosed — 87 of 128 Canadian establishments (Statistics Canada, December 2023): knife makers, edge-tool smiths and saw-blade shops. None discloses revenue, and none was researched by name

Evidence

Evidence. Establishment counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022) [A]. The Stanley Black & Decker figures were read in its own fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 results release [A]; a search summary had presented the fourth-quarter segment margin as the full-year figure, and the record uses the full-year number from the release. The release gives no full-year growth rate for Tools & Outdoor: the 2% decline and the 1% organic decline are the company's own, across all segments, and are shown here as such. Limits: Tools & Outdoor is mostly power tools and outdoor equipment — the company does not break out hand tools — so the segment stands for the channel an entrant would face, not for the size of the hand-tool market, and no market size is claimed. The statements about planograms, offshore sourcing and the bounded enthusiast market are general industry knowledge and analyst reasoning; no Canadian specialty maker discloses revenue, and none was researched. The cut factor is analyst judgment. The competitive field was added in a later pass and adds Snap-on: consolidated net sales and the Snap-on Tools Group segment sales for the 53 weeks to 3 January 2026, with the two prior years, were read in Snap-on's Form 10-K [A]. Techtronic, Klein Tools and Fiskars are named from general knowledge and tiered UNVERIFIED there; none was researched.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

GroupCanadaA
Canadian Knifemakers Guild (Facebook group)
facebook.com · 2,221 members (2026-09)

Private Facebook group; page shows 2,221 total members. The guild's own website (canadianknifemakersguild.com) no longer resolves.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
The Knifemakers' Guild
knifemakersguild.com

Custom knifemakers' guild founded 1970 with voting, probationary and associate members and an annual show. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSC
American Bladesmith Society (ABS)
americanbladesmith.org

Blocked automated access (Cloudflare). Wikipedia: forged-blade makers' society founded 1976; 114 Master Bladesmiths as of 2025.

Checked 2026-09-22
ForumInternationalC
BladeForums - Shop Talk (BladeSmith Q&A)
bladeforums.com

Blocked automated access. Search results show the knifemaking subforum runs to 3,000+ pages of threads and is active.

Checked 2026-09-22
ForumInternationalA
KnifeDogs Forums
knifedogs.com · 23,761 members (2026-09)

Knife and knifemaking forum; stats show 23,761 members, 39,100 threads, 361,904 messages; newest post the day before check.

Checked 2026-09-22
SubredditInternationalC
r/knifemaking
reddit.com

Blocked automated access. Created 2012; a third-party tracker (reddapi) listed about 170k members.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
BLADE Show
bladeshow.com

Largest knife show; Atlanta, 4-6 June 2027; page says 1000+ exhibitors, classes and demos.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaA
Artist-Blacksmith's Association of North America (ABANA)
abana.org

Blacksmiths and edge-tool smiths, professional and hobby; 80+ affiliate groups. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22

Knife makers talk on BladeForums Shop Talk and r/knifemaking; Canadian makers mainly in the guild's Facebook group. No community specific to woodworking-tool or saw-blade makers was found.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.