Operating business38% entry signalMarket screen7 sourced figuresOne thing must be truegrowth quality

Structural Steel Fabrication Shop

Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Architectural and structural metals manufacturing

Base industry report for 3323 →
Establishments · CanadaA
2,373
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
42%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
14,347
Employment · USA
404,187
28 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$25.3B
$63k per employee

Of 2,373 Canadian establishments with employees, 42% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Take share rather than ride the market. Demand is flat, seasonal or policy-driven, so growth has to come out of a competitor. That is possible and it is slower, and it rewards an operator who can wait.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDgrowth quality — Market shape — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA42% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Concentrated — a new entrant competes against establishments with real scale.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 332, inherited by every industry beneath it.
The screen itselfUNVERIFIEDfound no clean kill — This record says in its own words that it could not find a decisive reason to stay out, and names what a full study would have to test. That is why it cannot sit in the red band.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 3

The binding constraint — growth quality

The pre-screen marked this a candidate, and the screen did not overturn that — this record does not find a clean kill, and says so. It is filed with the cut that came closest. What is attractive is real. This is a broad trade, not an oligopoly: 2,373 Canadian establishments, 42% with fewer than ten employees and another 42% with ten to forty-nine [A], led by Ontario, Quebec, British Columbia and Alberta. The shops are certified, equipment-rich and owner-run, which is the profile that sells to a successor. And the top of the industry earns real money: ADF Group, a Quebec fabricator of complex structures, reported a 31.6% gross margin on C$339.6M of revenue in fiscal 2025, and when Canam Group was taken private in 2017 the buyers paid C$12.30 a share, a 98.4% premium, for an enterprise value of about C$875M [A]. Informed money has valued this trade highly. The cut that came closest is the quality of the revenue. ADF's next year shows it: revenue fell 24% to C$258.7M, gross margin to 23.1% and net income from C$56.8M to C$26.3M, with the Terrebonne plant on a work-sharing programme, and the company blames US tariffs and the steel price set by US mills [A] — while its backlog reached a record C$561.1M. Work arrives as discrete projects, each won by bid, often at a fixed price struck before the steel is bought; a full order book and an idle shop can coexist for a year. For a small shop the same lumpiness runs through two or three general contractors. A full study should test, for a specific shop in a specific region: gross margin through a cycle, how steel-price risk is shared in its contracts, bonding and working-capital needs, and customer concentration. The ERP software sold to these shops is screened separately on this branch.

Market scaleregionalunit: one shop's delivery and erection radius — the region within which fabricated members can be trucked to site and the shop is known to the general contractors who bid the work

Fabricated steel is heavy, oversized freight built to one project's drawings, and most shops win work from general contractors and erectors who know them, so competition is regional and establishment counts track provincial construction activity. The exception is the top tier — ADF ships complex structures from Quebec into the United States — which is why tariffs appear in its results and would not appear the same way in a twenty-person shop's.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 2,373 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — 994 (42%) have fewer than ten employees, 999 (42%) have 10 to 49, 380 (16%) have fifty or more; Ontario 865, Quebec 609, British Columbia 338, Alberta 317
US establishments, NAICS 3323A 14,347 establishments, 404,187 employees, $25.29B payroll (US County Business Patterns, 2022) — about 28 employees per establishment
ADF Group revenue, fiscal years to 31 JanuaryA C$258.7M in fiscal 2026 against C$339.6M in fiscal 2025
ADF Group gross margin and net incomeA gross margin 23.1% against 31.6%; net income C$26.3M against C$56.8M
ADF Group order backlog, 31 January 2026A record C$561.1M, 57% Canadian contracts; includes C$138.2M from Groupe LAR, acquired September 2025 for C$16.4M
Canam Group going-private transaction, 2017A C$12.30 per share in cash, a 98.4% premium; enterprise value about C$875M including assumed debt
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
DBM Global — Schuff Steel, Banker Steel and GrayWolf — the Infrastructure segment of INNOVATE Corp (NYSE: VATE); ADF Group (TSX: DRX) is the Canadian equivalent
Scale
DBM Global took $1,210.3M of 2025 revenue, up from $1,071.6M, on $55.4M of income from operations — 4.6%, down from 6.1%. Schuff Steel was $687.5M of it, Banker Steel $246.3M, GrayWolf $237.4M. Remaining performance obligations stood at $1,711.4M and plant utilisation runs 84–94%.
Concentration
None published, and the largest player says why. DBM Global's own 10-K states it "has benefited from being one of the largest players in a market that is highly fragmented across many small firms" — $1.21B of revenue against 14,347 US establishments and 2,373 Canadian ones.
Others in the field
ADF Group, at C$258.7M of fiscal 2026 revenue on a 23.1% gross margin and a record C$561.1M backlog. Canam, taken private in 2017 and silent since. Below them, in any one region, the shops an entrant would actually bid against: 994 Canadian establishments with fewer than ten employees and 999 with ten to forty-nine.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. What holds work is being known to the general contractors and erectors who bid it, plus certification and bonding capacity — none of which transfers with a purchase automatically.
Price movement
Volume is available; margin is not. DBM Global grew revenue 13% in 2025 and its operating margin fell from 6.1% to 4.6%. ADF's gross margin fell from 31.6% to 23.1% on revenue down 24%, which it attributes to US tariffs and the steel price set by US mills.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Thinly, and at both ends. ADF bought Groupe LAR in September 2025 for C$16.4M — a price a founder-owner could realistically achieve, and the clearest read on what a Canadian shop is worth. At the top, INNOVATE added milestone covenants to its debt in the third quarter of 2025 that require it to commence a sales process for the Infrastructure segment: the largest fabricator group in the market is itself for sale, on its lenders' timetable rather than its own.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

DBM Global revenue and operating income, FY2025A $1,210.3M and $55.4M (4.6%), against $1,071.6M and $65.7M (6.1%) in 2024
DBM Global revenue by business unit, 2025A Schuff Steel $687.5M (56.8%), Banker Steel $246.3M (20.3%), GrayWolf $237.4M (19.6%), DBM Vircon $32.3M, Aitken $6.8M
DBM Global remaining performance obligations, 31 December 2025A $1,711.4M, of which $1,253.7M is expected within one year; plant utilisation 84–94%
DBM Global customer concentrationA two largest customers were 22.1% of revenue in 2025 and 25.5% in 2024
INNOVATE Corp forced sale processA milestone covenants added to its debt agreements in Q3 2025 require a sales process for the Infrastructure segment; management has initiated it
ADF Group revenue and margin, fiscal 2026A C$258.7M against C$339.6M, gross margin 23.1% against 31.6%; record backlog C$561.1M
Groupe LAR acquisition priceA C$16.4M, September 2025, bringing C$138.2M of backlog with it
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$1.5B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 4 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
DBM Global (INNOVATE Corp, Infrastructure segment)NYSE: VATEA $1.2B — Infrastructure segment revenue, FY2025, from INNOVATE's 10-K
ADF GroupTSX: DRXA $259M — Revenue for the fiscal year ended 31 January 2026, in Canadian dollars
Canam GroupA not disclosed — Taken private in 2017 at C$12.30 a share, a 98.4% premium, for an enterprise value of about C$875M. Publishes no results since
The regional independent majorityA not disclosed — 2,373 Canadian establishments (Statistics Canada, December 2023): 994 with fewer than ten employees, 999 with ten to forty-nine. DBM Global's own filing describes the market it leads as highly fragmented across many small firms

Evidence

Evidence. Establishment counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022) [A]; they cover the whole group, which also holds metal windows and doors, rebar fabrication, prefabricated metal buildings and ornamental metalwork, none of which was examined separately. The ADF figures were read in its results release for the year ended 31 January 2026, and the Canam terms in the April 2017 announcement as published by one of the participating investors [A]. What they do and do not show: ADF and Canam are the top of the trade — complex structures, joists and decking at continental scale — and their margins say little about a twenty-person shop bidding local work, for which no public figures exist. The description of how small shops win and price work is general industry knowledge, not sourced. The cut factor is analyst judgment, and unusually weakly held: this group is the one in this batch most worth a full study. The competitive field was added in a later pass: DBM Global's segment revenue and income from operations, the split between Schuff Steel, Banker Steel, GrayWolf, DBM Vircon and Aitken, the remaining performance obligations, the 84–94% utilisation range, the two-customer concentration, the company's own description of the market as highly fragmented, and the debt covenants requiring a sales process for the segment were all read in INNOVATE Corp's 2025 Form 10-K [A].

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Institute of Steel Construction (CISC)
cisc-icca.ca

Fabricator, erector and associate members; shares a member directory with CSSBI; Steel Links portal and certification. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC)
aisc.org

Fabricator certification and standards body; publishes Modern Steel Construction (that page blocks automated access, so not listed separately).

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
NASCC: The Steel Conference
nascc.aisc.org

AISC's annual fabricator/erector/engineer conference; next edition Denver, April 14-16, 2027.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
CWB Association
cwbgroup.org

Free individual membership arm of the CWB Group (the Canadian welding certification body); chapters, courses, Fabricating the Future programme.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Steel Erectors Association of America (SEAA)
seaa.net

Erectors and fabricators that erect; safety and training focus. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaC
FABTECH
fabtechexpo.com

Blocked automated access. Search results: Oct 21-23, 2026, Las Vegas; largest North American metal forming, fabricating and welding show, co-sponsored by FMA and AWS.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationNorth AmericaC
The Fabricator
thefabricator.com

Blocked automated access. FMA's metal fabrication magazine per search results; covers structural and plate fabrication shops.

Checked 2026-09-22

The Fabricators & Manufacturers Association (fmamfg.org) also blocks automated access and is not listed separately. Reddit feeds were unreachable from this network.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.