Operating business52% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresOne thing must be truewillingness to pay

Wire Product & Spring Plant

Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Spring and wire product manufacturing

Base industry report for 3326 →
Establishments · CanadaA
167
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
43%
most common size: 10–19
Establishments · USA
1,016
Employment · USA
34,855
34 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$2.0B
$59k per employee

Of 167 Canadian establishments with employees, 43% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Prove the value in money the buyer already counts. The need is real; what is unproven is that this buyer moves budget for it. That is a priced test with real customers, not a product problem.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDwillingness to pay — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA43% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Mixed — neither a field of micro-operators nor one dominated by large establishments.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 332, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — willingness to pay

Buying wire and bending, weaving or welding it into nails, mesh, fencing, racks and springs needs modest machinery, and 113 of Canada's 167 plants employ fewer than twenty people. The cut is who sets the price of a wire product: the import quote. Tree Island Steel of Richmond, B.C. — a listed maker of nails, stucco and concrete mesh, fencing and other fabricated wire products — reported 2025 revenue of $161.8M, down from $207.0M, with gross profit of $9.5M [A]. That is a gross margin under 6% before a dollar of overhead; adjusted EBITDA was $3.0M and the year closed at a $5.3M net loss, the second loss running. The company cut its workforce by 27%, withdrew from product lines it called unprofitable, and lost U.S. volume to expanded tariffs on wire products. A nail or a roll of mesh is specified by gauge and coating, so a distributor can substitute an offshore container for a domestic pallet without the end user noticing, and the domestic plant earns only what is left after matching that price on steel it bought at the North American rod price. An entrant would be the smallest buyer of wire selling into that spread. Custom springs are a different business — made to a customer's drawing, in short runs, with some engineering content — and resemble the job shop more than the wire mill; that niche was not tested here. Software for metal shops is screened separately.

Market scalenational

Standard wire products are dense, stackable and cheap to move, so they trade nationally and across the border and are priced against containers landing at the coast. Tree Island sells into both Canada and the United States from British Columbia, which is why a U.S. tariff on wire products reached its results directly.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 167 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 113 have fewer than twenty employees, none has five hundred or more
US establishments and employment, NAICS 3326A 1,016 establishments, 34,855 employees — about 34 per establishment (US Census County Business Patterns, 2022)
Tree Island Steel revenue, 2025A $161.8M, down from $207.0M in 2024 (C$)
Tree Island gross profit, 2025A $9.5M, down from $11.8M — 5.9% of revenue (percentage derived)
Tree Island adjusted EBITDA and net result, 2025A Adjusted EBITDA $3.0M (2024: $4.3M); net loss $5.3M (2024: net loss $4.1M)
Tree Island responseA Workforce reduced 27%; withdrawal from unprofitable product lines; U.S. volumes lower on expanded U.S. tariffs on wire and wire products
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Tree Island Steel (TSX: TSL) is the listed Canadian maker; Insteel Industries (NASDAQ: IIIN) is the North American scale comparable
Scale
Tree Island 2025 revenue $161.8M (from $207.0M), gross profit $9.5M — 5.9% — adjusted EBITDA $3.0M and a $5.3M net loss, the second running. Insteel's fiscal 2025 net sales were $647.7M with gross profit of $93.4M, a 14.4% gross margin
Concentration
Not published. The counts are the structure: 113 of Canada's 167 plants employ fewer than twenty people and none has five hundred or more
Others in the field
Insteel Industries in concrete-reinforcing wire; Leggett & Platt in wire forming and springs — no longer listed, acquired by Somnigroup in August 2026; and the imported container, which is what actually sets the price of a standard gauge and coating
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
The two listed comparables moved in opposite directions in the same year. Tree Island's revenue fell 21.8% while its gross margin fell to 5.9%; Insteel's net sales rose 22.4% and its gross margin rose from 9.4% to 14.4%. Both percentages are arithmetic on reported figures. A market where two makers of comparable goods diverge this far in one year is being sorted by tariff lines and freight, not by operating skill
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — No consolidator of Canadian wire plants was identified at screen, and that absence matters to an entrant: there is no listed roll-up setting a price for these businesses and no obvious exit. Tree Island, the one listed domestic maker, spent 2025 shrinking — cutting its workforce 27% and withdrawing from product lines it called unprofitable — rather than buying.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Tree Island Steel revenue, 2025A $161.8M, down from $207.0M — a 21.8% fall (percentage derived) (C$)
Tree Island gross profit, 2025A $9.5M — 5.9% of revenue (percentage derived)
Tree Island adjusted EBITDA and net result, 2025A Adjusted EBITDA $3.0M; net loss $5.3M, the second consecutive loss
Insteel Industries net sales, fiscal 2025 (to 27 September 2025)A $647.7M (US$), from $529.2M in fiscal 2024 — up 22.4% (percentage derived)
Insteel gross profit, fiscal 2025A $93.4M — a 14.4% gross margin, against 9.4% in fiscal 2024 (both margins derived from reported figures)
Leggett & Platt revenue, FY2025A $4,055.1M (US$), a third consecutive decline from $4,725.3M in 2023. Reported as a public company for FY2025; Somnigroup International acquired the company on 26 August 2026, so this is the last year it published
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$4.9B

Disclosed revenue from 3 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 3 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Tree Island SteelTSX: TSLA $162M — 2025 revenue (C$)
Insteel IndustriesNASDAQ: IIINA $648M — fiscal 2025 net sales to 27 September 2025 (US$)
Leggett & PlattA $4.1B — FY2025 revenue (US$); wire forming and springs sit inside a much broader furnishings group and are not separated here. A recent figure, reported while the company was still public — Somnigroup International then acquired it on 26 August 2026, so this stands as its last published year rather than an out-of-date one — Still one of the largest wire formers in North America, and it reached this scale as a listed company. It stopped being public on 26 August 2026, when Somnigroup International (Tempur Sealy, Mattress Firm) acquired it. Still operating and still a scale comparable for this record — its accounts simply are not published any more.
Imported wire productUNVERIFIED not disclosed — Not a firm but the price-setter. A distributor can substitute an offshore container for a domestic pallet at the same gauge and coating without the end user noticing. No import-share statistic was sourced for this record, so this is reasoning, not measurement
Independent Canadian plantsA not disclosed — 113 of Canada's 167 plants employ fewer than twenty people and none has five hundred or more (Statistics Canada, December 2023). None publishes accounts

Evidence

Evidence. Business counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022). Tree Island's figures were read from its own full-year 2025 release (March 2026) [A]; the 5.9% gross margin is arithmetic on two reported numbers. The honest limit: Tree Island draws much of its own wire from purchased rod, which places part of its activity in steel wire drawing rather than in NAICS 3326, and it is one company in one bad tariff year. Its product list, though, is the 332619 product list, and it is the only listed Canadian maker found. That imports set the price is the company's own long-standing account of its market and the analyst's reading of a sub-6% gross margin; no import-share statistic was sourced. Heavy-gauge and precision springs were not examined. The cut factor is analyst judgment. Added in the completion pass: Insteel Industries' and Leggett & Platt's figures were read from their XBRL company facts as filed with their Forms 10-K [A]; the gross margins and the year-on-year percentages are arithmetic on those reported figures. Insteel is a US maker of concrete-reinforcing wire and Leggett & Platt a furnishings group, so neither measures the Canadian industry group. Leggett & Platt stopped being a public company on 26 August 2026, when Somnigroup International acquired it (Form 8-K of that date; Form 15-12G of 8 September 2026) — its figure here is final rather than current, and no later one will exist — they establish that the listed end of wire products earns two to three times Tree Island's gross margin, and that the divergence is not explained on this record.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationNorth AmericaA
Spring Manufacturers Institute (SMI)
smihq.org

Trade association of North American precision spring makers; publishes Springs magazine and runs design training.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
Wire Association International (WAI)
wirenet.org · 2,000 members (2026-09)

Homepage states 'more than 2,000 members' in 45+ countries; technical society for wire and cable makers.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Fence Association (CFA)
canadianfenceassociation.ca

Non-profit of fence contractors, retailers, wholesalers and manufacturers; runs an Annual Fence Summit and CGSB chain-link standards work.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Chain Link Fence Manufacturers Institute (CLFMI)
chainlinkinfo.org

Manufacturers' institute for chain-link fence; publishes specs and holds an annual meeting.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
American Fence Association (AFA)
americanfenceassociation.com · 1,800 members (2026-09)

Homepage states '1,800+ member companies' across 20 chapters; hosts the FENCETECH show.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
Interwire
wirenet.org

WAI's wire and cable trade show, billed as the largest in the Americas; next edition 2027.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
SpringWorld (CASMI)
springworld.org

Spring-industry expo in Rosemont, Illinois, run by the Chicago Association of Spring Manufacturers; SMI holds its symposium there.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationNorth AmericaA
Springs Magazine (SMI)
smihq.org

SMI's trade magazine for spring manufacturers.

Checked 2026-09-22

No Canadian wire-products or spring association was found; the Canadian Fence Association is the nearest Canadian body. Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters blocked automated access.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.