Operating business63% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresExecution decidesdefensibility

Machine Shop Acquisition

Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Machine shops, turned product, and screw, nut and bolt manufacturing

Base industry report for 3327 →
Establishments · CanadaA
2,497
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
62%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
22,081
Employment · USA
355,785
16 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$22.0B
$62k per employee

Of 2,497 Canadian establishments with employees, 62% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Execution decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.

What you would have to beat

Find something that compounds. Entry is achievable and so is the first customer; what is missing is a reason the next entrant cannot repeat it as easily as you did.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDdefensibility — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA62% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 332, inherited by every industry beneath it.
The screen itselfUNVERIFIEDfound no clean kill — This record says in its own words that it could not find a decisive reason to stay out, and names what a full study would have to test. That is why it cannot sit in the red band.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — defensibility

The pre-screen called this a candidate and the screen does not overturn that: this record does not find a clean kill. The population is large and small — 2,497 Canadian establishments, 63% with fewer than ten people; in the U.S. 22,081 shops averaging 16 employees — which means thousands of owner-operators, many near retirement, selling businesses a buyer with ordinary resources can finance. Machines hold resale value and the skill is real. What a full study has to test is what the buyer actually acquires. A machine shop owns no product: its revenue is other companies' drawings, re-quoted each time, and usually concentrated in a few accounts held personally by the departing owner. The order book can walk with him. The second pressure is measured. Protolabs' CNC machining revenue grew 17.6% to $243.3M in 2025 [A] on automated quoting and a network of partner shops, and its annual report names "thousands of alternative manufacturing machine shops" among its competitors. The quick-turn, low-volume job — historically the local shop's best-priced work — is the part migrating to a web upload. What stays local is repeat production, large or awkward parts, and repair for nearby industry. A study should price a specific shop against three things: share of revenue in its top three customers, whether the machinists stay, and how much of the work is quick-turn. Defensibility is named as the cut because it is the weakest factor, not because it is proven fatal. Software for these shops is screened separately.

Market scaleregionalunit: one shop's customer radius — the manufacturers, mines, mills and energy operators within a few hours' drive who send drawings and need parts back quickly

Machining is bought on turnaround and trust: buyers want to visit, expedite and return parts, so most shops serve the industrial base of their own region — Ontario and Quebec hold 1,785 of the 2,497. The boundary is softening for small prototype parts, which now ship from digital networks, but repair, large parts and repeat production remain regional.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 2,497 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 1,560 have fewer than ten employees and 2,016 fewer than twenty; none has five hundred or more
US establishments and employment, NAICS 3327A 22,081 establishments, 355,785 employees — about 16 per establishment; payroll US$22.0B, about US$62,000 per employee (US Census County Business Patterns, 2022)
Protolabs CNC machining revenue, 2025A US$243.3M, up 17.6% from US$206.9M — 45.6% of total revenue
Protolabs total revenue, 2025A US$533.1M, up 6.4%; international about 19% of revenue
Protolabs unique customer contacts served, 2025A 48,415, down 6.1% from 51,552 — growth came from larger orders per customer, not more customers
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
No consolidator owns this trade — the field is the independent single-shop majority: 1,560 of Canada's 2,497 establishments employ fewer than ten people and not one employs five hundred
Scale
The U.S. mirror is the same shape at ten times the size — 22,081 establishments and 355,785 employees, about 16 people per shop. The largest firms an entrant meets are not machine shops at all: Xometry quoted US$686.6M of work in 2025 through a website, and Mayville Engineering, a listed contract-fabrication platform, runs US$546.5M of sales across acquired plants.
Concentration
Not published, and on these counts unlikely to be meaningful. The size bands are the structure: 975 shops with one to four employees, 585 with five to nine, and 47 with a hundred or more.
Others in the field
Protolabs and Xometry, which take the quick-turn low-volume job by web upload; Mayville Engineering and similar contract-fabrication platforms buying shops onto one balance sheet; Linamar and the tier-one machining groups for production volume; and, for everything else, the shop three towns over quoting the same drawing
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. The record's own argument is that what holds work in place is the customer's approved-supplier list and the departing owner's relationships, neither of which transfers with the machines; that was not tested against any shop.
Price movement
Not assessed. Price here is re-quoted job by job against the customer's drawing, so there is no series to read.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Yes, but thinly and not in Canada. Mayville Engineering bought Accu-Fab and reports the result: US$546.5M of FY2025 sales, down 6.0%, an 8.6% adjusted EBITDA margin, a US$8.1M net loss and net debt at 3.7 times EBITDA. That is what a listed platform earns assembling these shops, and it is the ceiling a private buyer's pro forma should be measured against. No Canadian machine-shop roll-up was found for this record.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Xometry revenue, FY2025A US$686.6M, up from US$545.5M — 25.9% growth; marketplace revenue US$630M, up 30%
Xometry marketplace active buyersA 81,821 at 31 December 2025, up 20% from 68,267
Xometry net loss, FY2025A US$61.7M attributable to common stockholders, including a US$16.4M loss on debt extinguishment
Protolabs CNC machining revenue, 2025A US$243.3M, up 17.6% from US$206.9M — 45.6% of total revenue
Mayville Engineering, FY2025A Net sales US$546.5M, down 6.0%; adjusted EBITDA US$47.1M — an 8.6% margin; net loss US$8.1M; net debt 3.7x trailing EBITDA
Canadian establishments and their sizeA 2,497, of which 975 employ one to four people and 1,560 fewer than ten; 47 employ a hundred or more; none five hundred
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$1.5B

Disclosed revenue from 3 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 3 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
XometryNASDAQ: XMTRA $687M — FY2025 total revenue, US$ — a marketplace, not a shop, but it quotes the same work
Mayville Engineering CompanyNYSE: MECA $547M — FY2025 net sales, US$; the listed contract-fabrication platform that buys shops
ProtolabsNYSE: PRLBA $243M — 2025 CNC machining revenue, US$; company total US$533.1M
LinamarTSX: LNRC not disclosed — Canada's largest precision-machining group. Its segment accounts were not opened for this record, so no figure is claimed — it is named because it is the scale an entrant's production work is quoted against
The 1,560 sub-ten-employee Canadian shopsA not disclosed — The actual competitive set inside any one drive radius. Counted by Statistics Canada (December 2023); nothing else about them is published

Evidence

Evidence. Business counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022). Protolabs' figures were read from its 2025 annual report filed with the SEC [A]. What they establish: a web-quoted competitor's machining line is growing at 17.6% and is now a quarter-billion-dollar business. What they do not establish: that any particular Canadian shop has lost work to it — US$243M is small against a US$22B U.S. payroll base, and the claim that quick-turn work is the part migrating is analyst reasoning. The succession wave the pre-screen cites was not sourced and is not on the record as a figure. No sale price, earnings multiple or customer-concentration statistic for Canadian machine shops was sourced, so none appears on the record. Customer concentration and owner dependence are widely reported features of small shops but are UNVERIFIED here — no dataset was opened. This is a screen that ends in a recommendation to study, with defensibility flagged as the factor to test first; the cut factor is analyst judgment. Added for the competitive field: Xometry's FY2025 revenue, buyer count and net loss were read from its fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 release as furnished to the SEC on Form 8-K, and Mayville Engineering's FY2025 sales, margin, loss and leverage from its own 3 March 2026 release, also furnished on Form 8-K [A]. Neither is a Canadian machine shop; they are named as the listed windows on what web-quoted machining and platform-owned fabrication actually earn. No Canadian machine-shop roll-up, and no sale price or multiple for a Canadian shop, was found — that absence is why no acquisition benchmark appears here.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Tooling & Machining Association (CTMA)
ctma.com

Represents Canadian tooling and precision metalworking shops; has a member search. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Tooling & Machining Association (NTMA)
ntma.org · 1,000 members (2026-09)

Homepage counter shows '1K member companies' and 26 local chapters; precision machining and tooling shops.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaA
Precision Machined Products Association (PMPA)
pmpa.org

Precision machining companies with a facility in the U.S. or Canada; dues scaled to net sales. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
ForumInternationalC
Practical Machinist
practicalmachinist.com

Blocked automated access (403). Search results show an active 'Shop Management and Owner Issues' subforum with threads on buying and starting shops.

Checked 2026-09-22
SubredditInternationalC
r/Machinists
reddit.com

Reddit blocked automated access. GummySearch (secondary) listed 282k members as of 2026-09-18; mostly working machinists, some owners.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
Canadian Manufacturing Technology Show (CMTS)
cmts.ca

SME-run biennial show; next Sept 27-30, 2027, Toronto Congress Centre. No attendance figure stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
IMTS - International Manufacturing Technology Show
imts.com

AMT-run biennial show in Chicago; site reports 90,000+ attendees and about 1,700 exhibitors for Sept 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
PodcastUSA
MakingChips
makingchips.com

Podcast network for metalworking shop leaders; 541+ episodes, active Sept 2026; spin-offs incl. Buy the Numbers and Machine Shop MBA.

Checked 2026-09-22

Shop owners talk on Practical Machinist's owner subforum; r/Machinists is dominated by employees. Canadian Metalworking magazine blocked access and was left out.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.