Operating business55% entry signalMarket screen4 sourced figuresOne thing must be truedefensibility

Specialty Computer Hardware Maker

SoftwareTypically runs on Electronic design automation, product lifecycle and test systems. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-19

The industry — Computer and peripheral equipment manufacturing

Base industry report for 3341 →
Establishments · CanadaA
195
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
67%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
591
Employment · USA
36,315
61 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$4.1B
$113k per employee

Of 195 Canadian establishments with employees, 67% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Find something that compounds. Entry is achievable and so is the first customer; what is missing is a reason the next entrant cannot repeat it as easily as you did.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDdefensibility — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA67% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 334, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 10

The binding constraint — defensibility

The pre-screen called this a scale and supply-chain game, which is true of the mainstream and slightly misses why. Assembly is not the barrier: 130 of Canada's 195 establishments have fewer than ten people, and anyone can buy boards, processors, memory and enclosures and ship a working computer. The cut is what is left for the company whose name is on the box. HP buys PC components in volumes no entrant can approach. Its Personal Systems segment took US$38.5B of revenue in fiscal 2025 and kept US$2.05B of it as operating earnings — 5.3% [A]. In the same company, in the fourth quarter, Printing earned 18.9% [A]; the difference is that printing has proprietary supplies and the PC does not. In a computer the parts that determine performance and price — processor, graphics, memory, operating system — are each made by a supplier with more pricing power than the assembler, and they are the same parts in every competitor's machine. Alongside those results HP announced 4,000–6,000 job cuts company-wide [A]. An entrant buys those parts through distribution at worse prices and lower priority than HP does, and has nothing of its own in the product to charge for. What survives at small scale in Canada is, on this reading, the low-volume engineered end — rugged, industrial and embedded computers, custom workstations and servers — where the customer is paying for integration, certification for a harsh environment and long-term availability of an unchanged configuration. Those are real businesses, but each is won one design at a time against Taiwanese industrial-PC makers with the same offer, and none owns the components. The design software sold to hardware companies is screened separately.

Market scaleinternational

Computers and peripherals are designed in one country, built in another and sold everywhere; component prices are set in global markets and the large assemblers buy for the world. A Canadian maker of rugged or embedded systems sells into defence, energy and industrial projects across borders from its first contract, and meets Asian and American suppliers on every bid. There is no protected domestic market.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 195 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 130 have fewer than ten employees, 9 have one hundred or more, none has five hundred
US establishments, employment and payroll, NAICS 3341A 591 establishments, 36,315 employees; payroll US$4.1B — about US$113,000 per employee (US Census County Business Patterns, 2022)
HP Personal Systems net revenue, fiscal 2025A US$38,532M
HP Personal Systems earnings from operations, fiscal 2025A US$2,054M — a 5.3% operating margin; 5.8% in the fourth quarter on US$10.4B of revenue, up 8%
HP Printing operating margin, fourth quarter fiscal 2025A 18.9% on US$4.3B of revenue — the same company, with proprietary supplies
HP restructuring announced with the resultsA Gross global headcount to fall by about 4,000–6,000; about US$1B of gross run-rate savings targeted by end of fiscal 2028
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
HP Inc. (NYSE: HPQ) in the mainstream; Advantech (TWSE: 2395) in the industrial and embedded niche the small Canadian establishments actually occupy
Scale
HP Personal Systems took US$38,532M of fiscal 2025 revenue at a 5.3% operating margin [A]. Advantech, the Taiwanese industrial-computer maker, took NT$70,882M — US$2,274M — in 2025, up 19% in NT$, at a 39.8% gross margin and NT$11,567M of operating profit, 16.3% of revenue [A]. Sixteen points against five is the whole argument about where the value sits in this code.
Concentration
Not published. No ranking of PC or industrial-computer makers by share was sourced for this record, so none is claimed.
Others in the field
Dell, Lenovo, Apple and Acer in the mainstream; Kontron, Getac and OnLogic alongside Advantech in embedded and rugged systems; Matrox of Dorval, Quebec in specialist imaging and video hardware; and 130 Canadian establishments with fewer than ten employees, none of which owns a component.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not assessed
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — No acquirer of small Canadian hardware builders was identified at screen, and the mainstream is shrinking rather than buying: HP announced a gross headcount reduction of about 4,000–6,000 alongside its fiscal 2025 results [A]. An entrant here should not assume a trade buyer is waiting.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Advantech revenue, 2025A NT$70,882M, up 19% year on year; US$2,274M, up 22% as the company states it in US dollars
Advantech gross and operating profit, 2025A gross profit NT$28,198M — 39.8% of revenue; operating profit NT$11,567M, up 28% — 16.3% of revenue (ratio is arithmetic on the two reported figures)
Advantech earnings per share, 2025A NT$12.25, with a total cash dividend of NT$11.2 per share — a 91.4% payout ratio
The margin gap inside this codeA HP Personal Systems 5.3% operating margin on US$38,532M against Advantech 16.3% on US$2,274M — the assembler of commodity PCs against the maker of qualified industrial ones
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$40.8B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 6 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
HP Inc.NYSE: HPQA $38.5B — Personal Systems segment net revenue, fiscal 2025, US$
AdvantechTWSE: 2395A $2.3B — 2025 revenue as the company states it in US$ (NT$70,882M)
Dell / Lenovo / Apple / AcerC not disclosed — the rest of the mainstream; their filings were not opened for this record and no share ranking was sourced
Kontron / Getac / OnLogicC not disclosed — the embedded and rugged makers an entrant meets on every design win; not researched for this record
MatroxC not disclosed — Dorval, Quebec — the best-known Canadian name in this code; privately held and publishes no revenue
The 130 Canadian establishments with fewer than ten employeesA not disclosed — Statistics Canada, December 2023 — two-thirds of the code, and the realistic shape of an entry

Evidence

Evidence. Business counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022); payroll per employee is arithmetic on the Census figures. HP's figures were read from its fiscal 2025 fourth-quarter and full-year results release as filed with the SEC on Form 8-K [A]. What they establish: a maker with US$38.5B of annual PC revenue keeps about five cents of each dollar of it, and earns more than three times that rate where it owns the consumable. What they do not establish: anything about the margins of small Canadian makers of rugged, industrial or embedded computers — none reports publicly at that scale and no anchor was found for that niche, so the account of what survives and why is analyst judgment. No ranking of PC makers by share was sourced, so none is claimed. Servers, storage and peripherals other than printers were not separately researched. The cut factor is analyst judgment. Competitive field (added). Advantech’s 2025 revenue, gross profit, operating profit, EPS and dividend were read from the company’s own FY2025 results announcement [A]; the 39.8% and 16.3% ratios are arithmetic on the reported figures, and the NT$/US$ growth rates differ (19% and 22%) because the company reports both, which is stated rather than reconciled. Advantech is named as the relevant incumbent for the industrial and embedded niche, not as a Canadian competitor. Dell, Lenovo, Apple, Acer, Kontron, Getac, OnLogic and Matrox are named from trade knowledge of who sells into these segments; no filing or company document for any of them was opened, and Matrox’s ownership and any past divestitures were not verified. The derived floor on this page sums HP’s Personal Systems segment and Advantech’s whole company — both US$, both far larger than anything a Canadian entrant addresses.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationInternationalA
Global Electronics Association (formerly IPC)
electronics.org

Electronics manufacturing standards and trade body, formerly IPC; US & Canada region; no member count on page.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
PICMG
picmg.org · 150 members (2026-09)

'150+ member companies' per homepage; open standards for embedded and edge computing (CompactPCI, COM Express).

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
VITA
vita.com

Standards body for the bus-and-board embedded computing industry (VPX, FMC); member roster public.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventInternationalA
embedded world
embedded-world.de

Nuremberg, 16-18 March 2027; the main embedded-systems trade fair.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
embedded world North America
embedded-world-na.com

Anaheim, Sept 22-24, 2026; North American edition of the embedded-systems show.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationInternationalA
Embedded Computing Design
embeddedcomputing.com

Industrial, automotive and edge embedded-hardware trade press; current coverage of embedded world NA 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
ForumInternationalA
EEVblog Electronics Community Forum
eevblog.com

Busiest independent electronics-design forum; index shows 440k+ posts in its largest boards and posts dated today.

Checked 2026-09-22
PodcastInternationalA
The Amp Hour
theamphour.com

Weekly electronics and EE podcast; episode 734 dated 2026-09-18.

Checked 2026-09-22

No Canadian association specific to computer-hardware makers was verified; Electro-Federation Canada is broader electrical. SMTA blocks automated access; r/embedded could not be fetched.