Public-Safety Drones & Licence-Plate Readers
The industry — Navigational and guidance instruments manufacturing
Base industry report for 334511 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 78
- Under 10 employeesA
- 37%
Of 78 Canadian establishments with employees, 37% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Get to the buyer. The product is reachable and the need is real; the channel is owned by someone else, and a route to it — a partner, a reseller, a trade relationship, a book of clients bought outright — is what has to be built.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 10
The binding constraint — distribution
The demand is real and growing fast. Axon's Platform Solutions line, which holds its drones, counter-drone kit and fixed cameras, rose 122.6% to $149.8M in Q2 2026 [A]. Flock Safety reported more than $300M of annual recurring revenue, up 70%, when it raised $275M at a $7.5B valuation [A, company release]. From 22 December 2025 the FCC also put new foreign-made drone models on its Covered List [A]. The cut is that police buy a network, not a device. A drone or a plate camera earns its keep only when it plugs into the dispatch, evidence and real-time crime-centre software the agency already runs, and the three firms that own that software have already picked their drone makers. Flock bought Aerodome in October 2024. Axon owns Dedrone and integrates Skydio. Motorola has invested in Brinc twice, the second time with $100M on 1 July 2026 [A]. Contracts run for years: Axon carries $9.8B of remaining performance obligations [A]. The listed specialists outside those platforms show where an independent ends up. ShotSpotter-maker SoundThinking grew 2% to $104.1M and lost $9.4M in 2025 after Chicago ended its contract [A]. Rekor's own Q2 2026 10-Q raises substantial doubt about its ability to continue as a going concern [A]. Politics adds churn without opening a door: Austin halted Flock in June 2025 and Pflugerville ended its contract in August 2026 over outside-agency data access [B], while Connecticut now caps plate data at 21 days and New Mexico bars sharing it for immigration enforcement [B]. A city that cancels Flock usually moves to another incumbent. In Canada the opening is narrower still: the new lower-risk BVLOS category keeps drones 1 km from populated areas [A], so urban DFR still runs on special approval. Distribution decides it.
The vendors sell worldwide, but each country controls its own market through police procurement, airspace rules and supply-chain bans. The FCC Covered List bars new foreign drone models only in the US. Canada's November 2025 rules allow lower-risk BVLOS flight only away from populated areas. Plate-data retention is set state by state. NAICS 334511 (navigational and guidance instruments) is where drone guidance hardware falls, but the plate cameras and the software sit in neighbouring codes. The 78 Canadian establishments below count the whole code, not this niche.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 5 of 9 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 9 named · 5 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Axon EnterpriseNASDAQ: AXONA | $2.8B | — | FY2025 total net sales (10-K filed 2026-02-25); Platform Solutions $265.9M of it. Q2 2026 net sales $904.4M (10-Q filed 2026-08-06) — Axon Air drone-programme software, Dedrone counter-drone, Sky-Hero indoor drones, Axon Outpost and Lightpost fixed ALPR, Fusus real-time crime centre; Skydio integration partner |
| Flock SafetyA | not disclosed | — | Private; ARR above $300M (+70%) stated at its March 2025 $275M raise at $7.5B. Revenue not published — ALPR network in 5,000+ communities, Aerodome DFR drones (acquired Oct 2024), Raven gunshot detection, FlockOS, business and HOA cameras. Faced 2025-26 contract cancellations (Austin, Pflugerville) and an Illinois Secretary of State audit over federal access |
| Motorola SolutionsNYSE: MSIA | $11.7B | — | FY2025 net sales (10-K filed 2026-02-12); Video about $2.09B derived from segment percentages — Vigilant and fixed LPR, CommandCentral Aware, CAPE drone software; $100M BRINC investment (1 Jul 2026); agreed to buy D-Fend counter-drone for $1.5B (31 May 2026) |
| SkydioC | not disclosed | — | Private; 'hundreds of millions in annual revenue' per its April 2026 Series F post; no figure — US-built X10 and Dock DFR drones; $110M Series F at $4.4B (23 Apr 2026); integrated with Axon; Vancouver Police (BC) dock-based DFR, June 2026; sanctioned by China in 2024, which cut its battery supply |
| BRINCA | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published — Seattle DFR and tactical drones; $75M led by Index Ventures (Apr 2025) with Motorola as strategic investor; Motorola paid $100M for a further stake on 1 Jul 2026 (MSI 10-Q); says 600+ agencies use its products [C] |
| GenetecA | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published — Montreal; AutoVu ALPR and Citigraf, named as competitors in both Axon's and Motorola's 10-Ks |
| SoundThinkingNASDAQ: SSTIA | $104M | — | FY2025 revenues (10-K filed 2026-03-30), up 2%; net loss $9.4M — ShotSpotter gunshot detection and PlateRanger ALPR; names Flock Safety among its gunfire-detection competitors |
| Rekor SystemsNASDAQ: REKRA | $23M | — | Six months to 30 June 2026 (10-Q filed 2026-08-13); Public Safety segment $6.9M — ALPR and roadway data; its 10-Q states substantial doubt about its ability to continue as a going concern |
| DraganflyNASDAQ: DPRO / CSE: DPROA | $7.7MCAD | — | FY2025 revenue, up 17.8% (results release 24 Mar 2026); comprehensive loss C$23.0M; cash C$90.2M — Saskatoon drone maker serving public safety among other markets; revenue weighted to defence and industrial work |
Startups & challengers
Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.
| Company | Stage | What it does | Raised |
|---|---|---|---|
| Paladin | Startup | DFR software and drones; Axon's 10-K lists its Watchtower against Axon Air | — |
Evidence
Evidence. Axon's figures come from its FY2025 Form 10-K (filed 25 February 2026) and Q2 2026 Form 10-Q (filed 6 August 2026), both read on EDGAR [A]. That covers Platform Solutions, the counter-drone driver, the $9.8B RPO and its named ALPR, drone-software and indoor-drone competitor lists. Platform Solutions also includes in-car video, interview-room cameras and VR hardware, so it is not a pure drone figure. Motorola's net sales, the 16% and 21% Video shares and the California ALPR statute risk factor come from its FY2025 10-K. The BRINC $100M investment, the D-Fend agreement and the Silvus date come from its Q2 2026 10-Q (filed 5 August 2026). The $2.09B Video figure is arithmetic on segment percentages and is not a number Motorola publishes. SoundThinking's figures are from its FY2025 10-K (filed 30 March 2026). Rekor's are from its Q2 2026 10-Q, read at source. Draganfly's are from its 24 March 2026 results release, in Canadian dollars [A]. Flock's ARR, valuation and community count are the company's own March 2025 funding post; ARR is a claim, not audited revenue. Skydio's Series F and BRINC's $75M round were read on the companies' own posts (BRINC's via DRONERESPONDERS). The FCC fact sheet (22 December 2025), the Federal Register Part 108 notice and Transport Canada's 2025 rule summary were read at source [A]. The 2026 state laws come from a MultiState summary [B]; NCSL bars automated access. Pflugerville's cancellation and lease price come from Community Impact [B], which also reports Austin's June 2025 halt. Not read: the Illinois Secretary of State's 25 August 2025 audit release on Flock and federal access (seen only as a search-result title; the site returned 403). GeekWire's report of a $125M BRINC round led by Motorola (403; only the $100M in Motorola's 10-Q is used). Asheville's and Santa Cruz's cancellations (WLOS bars Claude; not opened). No vendor publishes ALPR or DFR market share, and no published market size was used. The cut factor is analyst judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Public-safety drone programme network; republishes vendor releases such as BRINC's April 2025 raise. Member count not read.
The buyers' association; Flock tied its October 2024 Aerodome announcement to the IACP conference. Member count not read.
Canadian drone and advanced air mobility industry association; homepage verified live. Member count not read.
US uncrewed-systems industry association; homepage verified live. Member count not read.
The Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police (cacp.ca) has Claude-specific robots rules, so it was not listed. Unmanned Systems Canada's old domain now redirects to an unrelated IT news site.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.
No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.