Operating business57% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresOne thing must be truedistribution

Specification-Grade LED Luminaire Maker

SoftwareTypically runs on Manufacturing ERP and certification tracking. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-19

The industry — Electric lighting equipment manufacturing

Base industry report for 3351 →
Establishments · CanadaA
190
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
54%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
1,021
Employment · USA
35,030
34 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$2.5B
$72k per employee

Of 190 Canadian establishments with employees, 54% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Get to the buyer. The product is reachable and the need is real; the channel is owned by someone else, and a route to it — a partner, a reseller, a trade relationship, a book of clients bought outright — is what has to be built.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDdistribution — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA54% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Concentrated — a new entrant competes against establishments with real scale.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 335, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 11

The binding constraint — distribution

Lamps — the bulbs and tubes — are an import commodity and were not examined. Fixtures are different: since LEDs replaced lamps, a luminaire is an aluminium housing, purchased LED boards and drivers, and optics: assembly and design more than heavy plant. Canada's count shows it — 190 establishments, 102 with fewer than ten people, and Quebec with 73 nearly level with Ontario's 80, which is the mark of Montreal's architectural-lighting cluster. One of that cluster proved the prize: Lumenpulse, founded in 2006, was taken private in 2017 at C$21.25 a share, valuing it at about C$600M — an 85.8% premium [A]. The cut is how a commercial fixture gets bought. It is not chosen by the building owner; it is written into a specification by a lighting designer or engineer and then priced, packaged and often substituted by the independent lighting agency that represents manufacturers in that city to the electrical distributor and contractor. Acuity, at US$3,612.2M of lighting sales in fiscal 2025 the largest listed North American fixture maker, shows how completely that channel is the market: of that, US$2,646.8M — 73% — went through its independent sales network, and that was the part that grew, 3.7%, while retail fell 10.3% and corporate accounts 23.9% [A]. The segment as a whole grew 1.1% at an 18.3% adjusted operating margin [A]. The judgment here is that each territory's strongest agencies are tied to one of the few full-line manufacturers and fill out their line card with specialists they choose. A new maker needs an agent in every city, and the good ones already have a product like its own. In a market growing one percent, an entrant is asking agents to displace a line that pays them.

Market scalenational

Commercial lighting is specified project by project and sold through independent agencies that each hold a metropolitan territory, but a manufacturer needs representation across the continent to be a credible specification, and fixtures carry the same safety and energy listings throughout Canada and the United States. Quebec and Ontario hold 153 of Canada's 190 establishments and sell nationally and south of the border. The territory is the agent's market; the manufacturer's is national.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 190 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 80 in Ontario and 73 in Quebec; 102 have fewer than ten employees, 17 have one hundred or more
US establishments, employment and payroll, NAICS 3351A 1,021 establishments, 35,030 employees — about 34 per establishment; payroll US$2.5B (US Census County Business Patterns, 2022)
Acuity Brands Lighting net sales, year to 31 August 2025A US$3,612.2M, up US$38.8M or 1.1%
Acuity Brands Lighting sales through its independent sales networkA US$2,646.8M — about 73% of segment sales — up 3.7%; retail sales US$170.7M, down 10.3%; corporate accounts US$156.7M, down 23.9%
Acuity Brands Lighting operating profit, fiscal 2025A US$590.6M — 16.4% of segment sales; adjusted US$662.3M — 18.3%
Lumenpulse going-private transactionA C$21.25 per share in cash, valuing the company at about C$600M; an 85.8% premium to the prior close; announced 27 April 2017
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Acuity Brands (NYSE: AYI) in North America; Signify (Euronext: LIGHT), the former Philips Lighting, globally
Scale
Acuity’s lighting segment sold US$3,612.2M in the year to 31 August 2025, up 1.1%, with 73% of it through the independent sales network and an 18.3% adjusted operating margin [A]. Signify’s full-year 2025 sales were EUR 5,765M with comparable sales growth of −3.4% at an 8.9% adjusted EBITA margin, announced together with a EUR 180M cost-reduction programme [A]. The two largest players in the category are growing one percent and shrinking three.
Concentration
Not published; no share ranking of North American fixture makers was sourced, and Acuity reports a lighting segment rather than a share.
Others in the field
Signify, Cree Lighting, Hubbell, Eaton and Current among the full-line makers; the Montreal specification cluster — Lumenpulse, Lumenwerx of Saint-Laurent, Eureka, Axis Lighting and Standard Products; and 102 Canadian establishments with fewer than ten employees. The agency that carries the line in each city is the party an entrant actually has to win.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence, though a specification written around one manufacturer’s optics is the mechanism worth testing
Price movement
Not assessed
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Yes, and the Canadian design-led makers are what gets bought: Lumenpulse was taken private in 2017 at C$21.25 a share, about C$600M, an 85.8% premium [A]. The rest of the Montreal cluster is still independent and sells exactly as the incumbent does — Lumenwerx of Saint-Laurent reaches specifiers through an independent agent network, with over 800 employees and more than 45,000 installations since 2014 by its own account [C].
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Signify sales, full-year 2025A EUR 5,765M with comparable sales growth of −3.4%; adjusted EBITA margin 8.9%; free cash flow EUR 440M
Signify cost-reduction programme announced with the resultsA EUR 180M, most of the savings to be delivered through 2026 with full benefit in 2027; guidance of a 7.5–8.5% adjusted EBITA margin for 2026
Acuity Brands Lighting sales through independent agentsA US$2,646.8M of US$3,612.2M — about 73% of segment sales — up 3.7% while retail fell 10.3%
Lumenpulse going-private transactionA C$21.25 per share in cash, about C$600M, an 85.8% premium; announced 27 April 2017
Lumenwerx, a Canadian maker selling the same wayC Saint-Laurent, Quebec; over 800 employees including more than 40 engineers and designers; more than 45,000 installations across North America since 2014; sells through an independent sales agent network with an agent locator (company website)
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$9.4B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 7 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 7 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Acuity BrandsNYSE: AYIA $3.6B — Lighting segment net sales, fiscal 2025 to 31 August, US$
SignifyEuronext: LIGHTA $5.8B — full-year 2025 sales, EUR — lamps and fixtures together, worldwide
LumenpulseA not disclosed — Montreal; taken private in 2017 at about C$600M and no longer reporting. The proof that a Canadian design-led entrant can be worth something
LumenwerxC not disclosed — Saint-Laurent, Quebec; privately held. Says it has over 800 employees and sells through independent agents — the same channel as the incumbent
Eureka / Axis Lighting / Standard ProductsC not disclosed — the rest of the Montreal cluster; all private, none researched for this record
Cree Lighting / Hubbell / Eaton / CurrentC not disclosed — the other full-line North American makers whose lines fill an agency’s card; their filings were not opened for this record
The 102 Canadian establishments with fewer than ten employeesA not disclosed — Statistics Canada, December 2023 — the specialists who live or die on an agent’s line card

Evidence

Evidence. Business counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022). Acuity's segment sales, channel split and operating profit were read from its fiscal 2025 fourth-quarter and full-year results release as filed with the SEC on Form 8-K [A]; the 73% share is arithmetic on the channel table. The Lumenpulse price, valuation, premium and founding year were all read from the company's own announcement of 27 April 2017 [A]. What they establish: the largest listed fixture maker sells nearly three-quarters of its lighting through independent agents, the category grew about one percent, and a Canadian design-led entrant was once worth about C$600M. What they do not establish: how agencies choose or drop lines, whether leading agencies are in practice tied to one full-line manufacturer, or what a new line pays them — that account is analyst judgment from how the trade is organised and no statistic was sourced for it. The Lumenpulse price is nine years old. Lamps, and residential fixtures sold through retail, were not researched. The cut factor is analyst judgment. Competitive field (added). Signify’s full-year 2025 sales of EUR 5,765M, its −3.4% comparable sales growth, the 8.9% adjusted EBITA margin, the EUR 440M free cash flow, the EUR 180M cost programme and the 2026 margin guidance were read from Signify’s own fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 press release of 30 January 2026 [A]; its divisional sales split is not in that release and is not claimed. Lumenwerx’s employee count, installation count, founding year and its use of an independent agent network were read from the company’s own site and are tiered C accordingly. Eureka, Axis Lighting, Standard Products, Cree Lighting, Hubbell, Eaton and Current are named from trade knowledge of who competes for a specification; no document for any of them was opened, and no ownership or divestiture history is claimed. The derived floor on this page adds a US$ segment figure to a EUR company total — both cover far more than specification-grade fixtures, and it is not a market size.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Electro-Federation Canada (EFC)
electrofed.com

National association of electrical manufacturers, distributors, manufacturers' agents (CEMRA) and field service; the Canadian lighting distribution channel. No member count stated on homepage.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationOntarioA
IES Toronto Section
iestoronto.org

Toronto section of the Illuminating Engineering Society (SW Ontario to Kingston and northern Ontario); manufacturers, designers, engineers; Illumination Awards and events. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaC
Illuminating Engineering Society (IES)
ies.org

The lighting profession's standards and membership body (LD+A magazine, RP standards). ies.org blocked automated access (Cloudflare); confirmed via search results.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
International Association of Lighting Designers (IALD)
iald.org

Elmhurst IL-based association of the architectural lighting designers who specify luminaires; chapter events incl. Chase the Dark Sept 2026. No member count stated on homepage.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
Light + Intelligent Building North America (successor to LightFair)
lightintelligentbuildingna.us.messefrankfurt.com

lightfair.com now redirects here; Messe Frankfurt show with IES and IALD, March 15-18 2027, Las Vegas.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
LEDucation
leducation.org

Designers Lighting Forum of New York's LED trade show; April 13-15 2027, New York Hilton Midtown, with a designers-only day. No attendance stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationNorth AmericaA
EdisonReport
edisonreport.com

Daily lighting-industry business newsletter (acquisitions, rep changes, tariffs); also publishes designing lighting magazine; posts dated Sept 22 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaA
DesignLights Consortium (DLC)
designlights.org

Non-profit whose Qualified Products Lists gate utility rebates for LED luminaires and controls in the US and Canada; a maker must list here to sell through rebates.

Checked 2026-09-22

Get A Grip On Lighting, the industry podcast, aired its final episode on 2025-12-20 and is not listed. ledsmagazine.com now redirects to buildings.com and is not listed.