Transformer & Switchgear Plant
The industry — Electrical equipment manufacturing
Base industry report for 3353 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 359
- Under 10 employeesA
- 43%
- Establishments · USA
- 1,840
- Employment · USA
- 119,362
- Payroll · USA
- $8.8B
Of 359 Canadian establishments with employees, 43% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 10
The binding constraint — entry cost
This is one of the few manufacturing groups where the demand story is real, and the screen should say so. Hammond Power Solutions of Guelph — the listed Canadian dry-type transformer maker — reported record 2025 sales of C$898.3M, up 13.9%, and a year-end backlog 122% higher than a year earlier, driven by US data-centre, infrastructure and electrification work [A]. Roughly C$632M of that was sold into the US and Mexico against C$234M in Canada [A], so a Canadian plant can reach the continental market. Lead times are long and buyers are short of supply. The cut is what has to be sunk before a utility, an OEM or an electrical distributor will place the first order. Every design must be type-tested and certified to CSA and UL standards; custom-engineered units — the part Hammond says is outgrowing standard product — are sold on an engineering record the entrant does not have; and the channel is a small number of electrical distributors and private-label partners who already have a supplier. Hammond itself spent C$35.6M on capacity in 2025, 'at the low end' of its plan, while gross margin fell from 32.8% to 30.3% [A] — the incumbents are adding the capacity the shortage invites. This is not a clean kill. The size bands — 156 of 359 establishments under ten people — point at a reachable end the screen did not test: the certified control-panel and switchboard shop (335315), which assembles bought components to a customer's drawing and needs a shop listing rather than a plant. A full study should start there.
Transformers and switchgear are engineered to North American standards and shipped across the border: Hammond, a Canadian maker, sells more than twice as much into the US and Mexico as into Canada. The competitive set is continental, bounded by CSA/UL certification rather than by distance.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 2 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 5 named · 2 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hammond Power SolutionsTSX: HPS.AA | $898M | — | 2025 sales, C$ — dry-type transformers; says little about large power transformers |
| Powell IndustriesNASDAQ: POWLA | $1.1B | — | fiscal 2025 revenue, US$, printed in the release as "$1.1 billion" rather than to the dollar |
| Hitachi Energy / Siemens Energy / Schneider Electric / Eaton / ABB / GE VernovaC | not disclosed | — | the majors a utility already buys from; their electrification revenue covers far more than this code and was not sourced for this record |
| Delta Transformers / Rex Power MagneticsC | not disclosed | — | Canadian transformer makers an entrant would meet through the same electrical distributors; privately held, no revenue published and none sourced |
| The 156 Canadian establishments with fewer than ten employeesA | not disclosed | — | Statistics Canada, December 2023 — among them the certified panel shops this record names as the reachable niche it did not test |
Evidence
Evidence. Hammond's figures were read from its corrected fourth-quarter 2025 results release on GlobeNewswire (19 March 2026); the correction concerned the quarterly adjusted EBITDA margin only [A]. Business counts are Statistics Canada and US Census figures supplied with the work list [A]. What the figures establish: demand is growing and a Canadian producer can sell continentally. What they do not establish: the cost of certification and type-testing for an entrant, which is asserted here from general knowledge and carries no figure; or the economics of a panel shop, which is named as the reachable niche but was not researched. Hammond makes dry-type transformers and says little about large power transformers, motors or generators, which sit in this group too and were not examined. The cut factor is analyst judgment, and the record says plainly that it is not a clean cut. Competitive field (added). Powell Industries’ fiscal 2025 revenue, gross profit and margin, net income, backlog at 30 September 2025 and net new orders were read from the company’s fourth-quarter and full-year fiscal 2025 results release as filed with the SEC on Form 8-K [A]; the release prints the annual revenue as "$1.1 billion" rather than to the dollar, and the competitor table carries it at that precision rather than at a derived one. Powell is named as the listed comparable for engineered switchgear, not as a Canadian competitor. Hitachi Energy, Siemens Energy, Schneider Electric, Eaton, ABB, GE Vernova, Delta Transformers and Rex Power Magnetics are named from trade knowledge of who sells into Canadian utilities and distributors; no document for any of them was opened. That no roll-up of Canadian panel shops exists is what the screen found, not a sourced fact. The derived floor on this page adds a C$ figure to a US$ one and covers two companies out of a continental field — it is not a market size.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
'More than 230 member companies' (manufacturers, distributors, reps) per its About page; publishes electrical market statistics.
US electrical manufacturers' body; nema.org now points to this new site. No member count stated.
The utilities' association, i.e. the buyers of transformers and switchgear; corporate partner program for suppliers.
Standards committee of manufacturers, users and consultants; twice-yearly meetings (Fall 2026 Fort Lauderdale). Site's TLS certificate had expired.
Transformer industry magazine and news portal (Vol. 13 in 2026); publishes market and workforce reports.
Magazine with podcasts, webinars and an events calendar for the transformer trade.
Accredits switchgear and substation testing firms; ANSI/NETA standards. No member count stated.
NETA's annual electrical power safety and reliability conference; PowerTest27 in Orlando, page says over 1,500 attendees.
Electrical Business magazine (ebmag.com) is live per search but refused connections, so it is left off; Eng-Tips' power forum blocked automated access.