Electric Bus & Truck Assembly Plant
The industry — Motor vehicle manufacturing
Base industry report for 3361 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 69
- Under 10 employeesA
- 55%
- Establishments · USA
- 359
- Employment · USA
- 271,838
- Payroll · USA
- $27.1B
Of 69 Canadian establishments with employees, 55% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 6
The binding constraint — capital intensity
Nobody screens a new light-vehicle assembly plant: the twelve Canadian establishments with 500-plus employees are the transplants of global automakers, and US County Business Patterns puts the average establishment in this group at roughly 750 people. The enterable-looking end is the one the electric transition seemed to open — a purpose-built electric school bus and medium-duty truck maker, selling into subsidised fleet programmes. Canada ran that experiment in public. Lion Electric of Saint-Jérôme delivered 852 vehicles in fiscal 2023 for $253.5M of revenue — and a gross loss of $5.5M and a net loss of $103.8M [A]. It had put $148.0M in 2022 and $72.2M in 2023 into its Joliet, Illinois plant and its Mirabel battery campus, plus $79.1M and $67.2M into vehicle and battery development [A], against an order book it valued at about $500M — an order book that, by its own definition, included vehicles for which subsidy applications had merely been filed [A]. In December 2024 it entered creditor protection owing more than $244M; a Quebec investor group bought what remained in May 2025, and the Joliet and Mirabel sites were shut [B]. The mechanism is the cut. Plant, tooling, certification and a service network are sunk years before volume arrives, and the volume is released by government funding rounds, not by the buyer's own budget — so the entrant carries automotive fixed costs at a few hundred units a year. Truck Body & Trailer Manufacturing (3362) is cut on the same factor for a cyclical reason; here the fixed cost was never covered even at the top of the order book. Upfitting and specialty conversion on a bought chassis is the reachable adjacency and sits in 3362, not here.
Vehicle assembly is organised continentally under the North American trade agreement — plants in Ontario build for the US market and Lion built a US plant to reach the US school-bus market. There is no local or provincial market for an assembler to occupy.
Sectors joined: Automotive Tech · EV Charging SaaS · EV Charging · Electric Vehicles
[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 5 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| NFI GroupTSX: NFIA | $3.6B | — | FY2025 revenue |
| Blue BirdNASDAQ: BLBDC | not disclosed | — | Listed US school-bus maker with its own electric line; results not opened for this record |
| Thomas Built (Daimler Truck) / IC Bus (Traton)C | not disclosed | — | School-bus arms of global truck groups; not separately disclosed |
| Nova Bus (Volvo Group)C | not disclosed | — | Quebec transit-bus operation of a global group; its current status in North America was not checked for this record |
| Lion ElectricB | not disclosed | — | The Canadian pure-play. CCAA filing December 2024 owing more than $244M; assets sold to Quebec investors May 2025; Joliet and Mirabel shut. |
Evidence
Evidence. Lion Electric's deliveries, revenue, losses, capital additions and order book were read from its fourth-quarter and fiscal 2023 results release as filed with the SEC on Form 6-K (29 February 2024); amounts are US dollars [A]. The insolvency facts are from Electric Autonomy Canada's report of the May 2025 court approval, consistent with other coverage; the purchase price was not disclosed in the sources opened and is not stated here [B]. Business counts are Statistics Canada and US Census figures supplied with the work list [A]. What this does not establish: one failed entrant is a case, not a base rate — other electric bus makers exist and were not examined, and Lion's failure also reflects slow subsidy disbursement and its own financing choices. Fiscal 2023 is the last full year it reported. Nothing here measures conventional light-vehicle assembly, which is excluded on scale by inspection rather than by evidence. NFI Group's revenue, adjusted EBITDA, deliveries and backlog were read from its fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 results release (11 March 2026) [A]; NFI is a diesel, gas, hybrid and electric bus maker, so its scale measures what an electric-only entrant is up against rather than the size of an electric market. Blue Bird, Thomas Built, IC Bus and Nova Bus are named without figures because none of their results were opened. The cut factor is analyst judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Transit systems and suppliers; annual conference and transit show, Forum magazine. The buyer side for buses.
National EV industry body; runs the EVVE national conference and the Watt's Current newsletter.
Site states it represents more than 2,100 companies in commercial vehicles, truck bodies and upfitting.
Advanced clean transportation fleet conference and expo; 2027 edition 17-20 May in Las Vegas.
Clean transportation industry member organisation; site states CALSTART and Forth are now Catalyst Mobility.
APTA (apta.com) blocks automated access and was not listed.