Tier-Supplier Auto Parts Plant
The industry — Motor vehicle parts manufacturing
Base industry report for 3363 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 731
- Under 10 employeesA
- 39%
- Establishments · USA
- 4,640
- Employment · USA
- 572,859
- Payroll · USA
- $33.8B
Of 731 Canadian establishments with employees, 39% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 8
The binding constraint — capital intensity
This is the one part of the vehicle chain with real Canadian depth: 731 establishments, 458 of them in Ontario, and 198 employing a hundred people or more — a size profile unlike almost any other manufacturing group, and the first sign that small does not survive here. Martinrea International, the Vaughan-based metal-forming and fluid-systems supplier, shows what the economics are for a well-run incumbent. In 2025 it made C$4,821.9M of sales and C$268.1M of adjusted operating income — a 5.6% margin, which was above the midpoint of its own outlook [A]. To earn that it spent C$237.7M on plant and equipment, about 4.9% of sales, across 57 locations in ten countries [A]. The mechanism behind those two numbers is the cut. The customer is one of a handful of automakers, who award a part for the life of a vehicle programme, require the supplier to build the tooling and capacity before the programme launches, and then negotiate the price down each year. Volume is whatever the automaker's assembly line runs — Martinrea's release notes it had to negotiate recovery of its tariff costs from customers rather than price them in [A]. An entrant therefore needs quality-system certification, a launch record an automaker's purchasing group will accept, and a press line or moulding cell financed ahead of revenue, in exchange for a mid-single-digit margin it does not control. Capital is the binding factor because it is committed before the award is secure. The 191 establishments under five people are largely rebuilders and aftermarket or performance-part makers, who sell to distributors and enthusiasts rather than to automakers. That is a different proposition, arguably the reachable one, and it was not examined here.
Parts are sourced by automakers' global purchasing groups for continental vehicle programmes; Martinrea runs 57 locations across ten countries to follow them. Ontario's cluster exists because the assembly plants are there, but the competition for each award is international.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 2 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 5 named · 2 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Magna InternationalTSX/NYSE: MGAA | $42.0B | — | FY2025 total sales, in US dollars |
| Martinrea InternationalTSX: MREA | $4.8B | — | FY2025 total sales, in Canadian dollars |
| LinamarTSX: LNRC | not disclosed | — | The third Canadian tier-one, Guelph; its results were not opened for this record |
| Bosch / Denso / ZF / Forvia / AptivC | not disclosed | — | The global tier-ones bidding for the same programmes; none of their results were opened for this record |
| The Canadian sub-five-employee establishmentsA | not disclosed | — | 191 of 731 establishments have 1–4 employees (Statistics Canada, December 2023) and are largely rebuilders and aftermarket or performance-part makers — a different customer and arguably the reachable proposition, not screened here. |
Evidence
Evidence. Martinrea's figures were read from its year-end and fourth-quarter 2025 results release on GlobeNewswire (5 March 2026); the capex-to-sales percentage is arithmetic on two reported figures [A]. Business counts are Statistics Canada and US Census figures supplied with the work list [A]. What the figures establish: the margin and reinvestment rate of a competent Canadian tier-one in a reasonable year. What they do not: the description of how programmes are awarded and priced down annually is general industry knowledge and carries no sourced figure here; Martinrea is a metal-former and says nothing directly about electronics, seating or powertrain suppliers, whose margins differ; and the aftermarket and rebuilding end of this code — the likely owner-operator niche — was not researched at all. Magna's 2025 total sales, adjusted EBIT, 2026 outlook and 28-country footprint were read from the results release filed as Exhibit 99.1 to its Form 6-K of 13 February 2026 [A]; the 5.6% margin is arithmetic on two reported figures and Magna reports in US dollars while Martinrea reports in Canadian ones, so the two are not directly comparable. Linamar and the global tier-ones are named without figures because none of their results were opened. The cut factor is analyst judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
The Canadian parts suppliers' body; runs Project Arrow, the Canada Automotive Summit and the Ontario Automotive Modernization Program.
Has separate Original Equipment Suppliers and Aftermarket Suppliers boards; the OE side is the tier-supplier forum.
Publishes the quality standards a tier supplier is audited against - PPAP, APQP, FMEA - and runs supply chain working groups.
Nonprofit research body; runs the CAR Management Briefing Seminars and publishes supplier and trade analysis, including on US-Canada trade.
Plant-level coverage of press and body, paintshop, assembly and powertrain; runs an Automotive Manufacturing North America event.
Automotive News and its Canada edition (autonews.com) serve an Akamai access-denied page to this network, so they were left out.