Powersports Vehicle Manufacturing
The industry — Other transportation equipment manufacturing
Base industry report for 3369 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 191
- Under 10 employeesA
- 58%
- Establishments · USA
- 957
- Employment · USA
- 39,881
- Payroll · USA
- $2.7B
Of 191 Canadian establishments with employees, 58% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 9
The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability
A residual code — motorcycles, snowmobiles, all-terrain and side-by-side vehicles, golf carts, bicycles, military vehicles and more. The screen takes powersports, because that is where a Canadian entrant would be looking and where the public record is, and says plainly that the rest was not examined. The attraction is that enthusiasts pay real money for a better machine and that Quebec has the supplier base and the engineers; 71 of the 191 Canadian establishments are there. The reason they are there is also the cut. BRP of Valcourt — Ski-Doo, Sea-Doo, Can-Am — reported C$8,442.7M of revenue for the year to 31 January 2026, up 6.8%, and C$1,103.4M of normalised EBITDA [A]. In its fourth quarter its North American retail sales rose 12% with market-share gains in off-road vehicles and snowmobiles, in a year-round-product industry it described as flat [A]. This is an incumbent taking share in a flat market, with its own engines, a new-model cadence it funds from a billion dollars of EBITDA, and the dealer network every entrant would need. The places an entrant might hope to outflank it are electric and light-mobility products — and BRP's own results close that door too: it recorded a C$229.8M impairment on its EV assets and light-mobility unit and C$28.5M of EV-related provisions, citing 'the challenges in the EV industry' [A]. The best-resourced player tried the new category and wrote it down. There is no slow or distracted incumbent here to be vulnerable. The small establishments in this code are makers of things like custom motorcycles, bicycle frames and specialty carts; each is its own niche and none was screened.
Powersports vehicles are sold through dealer networks across North America and exported worldwide; BRP reports in Canadian dollars but earns most of its revenue abroad. Stated as international for the powersports niche — the rest of this residual code has no shared geography.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 2 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 5 named · 2 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| BRPTSX: DOOA | $8.4B | — | fiscal 2026 revenue to 31 January 2026, in Canadian dollars |
| PolarisNYSE: PIIA | $7.2B | — | FY2025 sales, in US dollars |
| Harley-DavidsonNYSE: HOGC | not disclosed | — | Listed; its results were not opened for this record |
| Honda / Yamaha / Kawasaki / SuzukiC | not disclosed | — | Powersports lines inside much larger groups; not separately disclosed and not opened for this record |
| Textron Specialized Vehicles (Arctic Cat) / Segway PowersportsC | not disclosed | — | Segment or private operations; no results opened for this record |
Evidence
Evidence. BRP's figures were read from its fourth-quarter and full-year fiscal 2026 results release as filed with the SEC on Form 6-K (March 2026) [A]. Business counts are Statistics Canada and US Census figures supplied with the work list, and cover the whole residual group [A]. Only powersports was screened: bicycles, golf carts, military vehicles and the rest of the residual were not examined. What the figures establish: the scale, profitability and current share momentum of the dominant Canadian incumbent, and that its own electric and light-mobility bet was impaired. What they do not: no competitor's results were opened, so 'taking share' is BRP's own characterisation of its retail performance against industry data it does not publish in the release; and no market size for powersports is stated because none was sourced. What the small establishments in the code make is inferred from the code's definition, not researched. BRP's impairment does not prove an electric entrant must fail — it shows the incumbent found no profitable volume there yet. Polaris's 2025 sales, gross margin and GAAP and adjusted results were read from the earnings release filed as Exhibit 99.1 to its Form 8-K of 27 January 2026 [A]; its Off Road segment revenue is deliberately not quoted here, because the figure available was arithmetic on quarterly tables rather than a stated annual segment line. Harley-Davidson, the Japanese majors, Textron and Segway are named without figures because none of their results were opened. The cut factor is analyst judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Manufacturers and distributors of motorcycles, scooters, ATVs and side-by-sides; says members account for about 90% of new on-road motorcycles sold in Canada. mmic.ca redirects here.
National volunteer-led body for organized snowmobiling; publishes annual economic-impact and trail figures. ccso-ccom.ca redirects here.
Represents the four snowmobile manufacturers (BRP, Arctic Cat, Polaris, Yamaha); publishes annual unit sales, e.g. 92,387 sold worldwide in 2025.
US trade association for motorcycle and powersports manufacturers, distributors and dealers; owns AIMExpo.
ATV manufacturers' and distributors' body; maintains the ANSI ATV standard and rider training. News dated June 2026.
Side-by-side (ROV) manufacturers' body; ANSI ROV standard and driver training.
MIC's annual powersports dealer trade show; 2026 recap and 2027 show information posted.
Dealer-facing trade publication; news dated September 22, 2026, including Canadian dealer items.
The Canadian Off-Highway Vehicle Distributors Council site (cohv.ca) refused connections from two routes on 2026-09-22, so it is not listed; Moto Canada now covers OHVs.