Operating business63% entry signalMarket screen4 sourced figuresExecution decidesdefensibility

Stock Cabinet & Household Furniture Plant

SoftwareTypically runs on Cabinet design-to-manufacture, nesting and job costing. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-19

The industry — Household and institutional furniture and kitchen cabinet manufacturing

Base industry report for 3371 →
Establishments · CanadaA
3,236
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
68%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
10,187
Employment · USA
230,036
23 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$10.6B
$46k per employee

Of 3,236 Canadian establishments with employees, 68% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Execution decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.

What you would have to beat

Find something that compounds. Entry is achievable and so is the first customer; what is missing is a reason the next entrant cannot repeat it as easily as you did.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDdefensibility — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA68% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 337, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 5

The binding constraint — defensibility

The pre-screen called this group a candidate, and at the small end it is: 2,205 of 3,236 Canadian establishments have fewer than ten people. That end — the shop that builds to a room and lives on builder relationships — is already screened as Custom Cabinet & Millwork Shop (337), cut on distribution, and this record does not repeat it. What this record tests is the step up that a successful shop is tempted to take: a plant making stock or semi-custom cabinets, or household furniture, in volume for dealers, home centres and online retailers. The two halves fail differently, and both anchors are from filings. In cabinets, the volume tier is consolidating around scale. MasterBrand, the largest manufacturer of residential cabinets in North America, reported 2025 net sales of $2.7B, up 1.3% only because of an acquisition and pricing against a mid-single-digit market decline; net income fell to $26.7M from $125.9M and adjusted EBITDA margin to 10.9% from 13.5% — and its answer was a pending merger with American Woodmark, another of the largest [A]. In furniture, the volume tier is imported. Dorel Home, the Montreal-based ready-to-assemble furniture business, saw revenue fall 40.1% to US$309.4M in 2025 with an operating loss of US$93.9M, and exited its manufacturing and warehousing sites in Cornwall, Ontario and Montréal [A]. Nothing protects a mid-sized volume plant: it gives up the custom shop's one defence — the product is built to a site and cannot be imported — without reaching the purchasing scale and dealer coverage of a consolidator. Institutional furniture (337127), sold on specification to schools and healthcare, may behave differently and was not examined; nor was upholstery, where several Canadian makers persist.

Market scalenational

Stock and semi-custom cabinets and boxed furniture ship nationally through dealers, home centres and e-commerce, and compete with US consolidators and offshore imports on the same shelf. This is the opposite of the custom shop in the 337 record, whose market is a drive time — the plant leaves that shelter when it standardises the product.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 3,236 — 1,429 with 1–4 employees, 776 with 5–9; 85 with 100 or more (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
US establishments and employment, NAICS 3371A 10,187 establishments, 230,036 employees — about 23 per establishment; $10.6B payroll (US Census County Business Patterns, 2022)
MasterBrand net sales, 2025A $2.7B, up 1.3% — acquisition and pricing offset by a mid-single-digit market decline
MasterBrand profitability, 2025A net income $26.7M ($125.9M in 2024); adjusted EBITDA $298.2M, margin 10.9% (13.5% in 2024)
MasterBrand 2026 tariff exposureA gross tariff costs expected at about 5–6% of 2026 net sales; about $30M of cost actions announced
Dorel Home revenue, 2025A US$309.4M, down 40.1% from US$516.2M
Dorel Home operating loss and footprint, 2025A reported operating loss US$93.9M; exit of manufacturing and warehousing sites in Cornwall, Ontario, Montréal, Québec and Ontario, California
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
MasterBrand (NYSE: MBC) — the largest manufacturer of residential cabinets in North America, and since 28 May 2026 the owner of American Woodmark
Scale
2025 net sales $2.7B, up 1.3% only because of an acquisition and pricing against a mid-single-digit market decline; net income $26.7M against $125.9M; adjusted EBITDA $298.2M at a 10.9% margin, down from 13.5%. The all-stock merger with American Woodmark completed on 28 May 2026 at a fixed ratio of 5.150 MasterBrand shares per American Woodmark share, with about $90M of annual cost synergies targeted by the third year.
Concentration
Not published as a percentage; 'largest manufacturer of residential cabinets in North America' is the company's own description.
Others in the field
American Woodmark was the other listed pure-play until it was absorbed. Cabinetworks Group remains, privately held. In distribution the real challengers are the channels — IKEA and the home centres' own cabinet programmes. In furniture, the volume tier is imported ready-to-assemble, with Ashley and La-Z-Boy the large branded names; Dorel Home has left, closing its Cornwall and Montréal sites.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
MasterBrand's 1.3% sales growth came from acquisition and pricing set against a mid-single-digit volume decline, and its adjusted EBITDA margin fell 260 basis points — price held while volume and margin did not.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — The two largest listed North American cabinet makers merged in May 2026, and the stated synergy case is purchasing scale and footprint. Those are precisely the two advantages a mid-sized volume plant cannot reach — so the tier a successful custom shop would step up into is being bought by the people it would be competing with.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

MasterBrand net sales, 2025A $2.7B, up 1.3% — acquisition and pricing against a mid-single-digit market decline
MasterBrand profitability, 2025A net income $26.7M against $125.9M; adjusted EBITDA $298.2M, margin 10.9% against 13.5%
MasterBrand / American Woodmark mergerA completed 28 May 2026; 5.150 MasterBrand shares per American Woodmark share; about $90M of annual cost synergies targeted by year three
Dorel Home revenue, 2025A US$309.4M, down 40.1% from US$516.2M; reported operating loss US$93.9M
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$3.0B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
MasterBrandNYSE: MBCA $2.7B — 2025 net sales, before the American Woodmark merger completed
American WoodmarkA not disclosed — Merged into MasterBrand on 28 May 2026 at 5.150 MasterBrand shares per share; no longer an independent competitor
Cabinetworks GroupC not disclosed — Large US stock and semi-custom cabinet manufacturer; privately held, nothing opened for this record
IKEA and the home centres' own cabinet programmesC not disclosed — The channel that reaches the buyer without a mid-sized plant; not sized for this record
Dorel Home (departed)A $309M — 2025 revenue, in US dollars, down 40.1% — Exited its Canadian manufacturing and warehousing, closing Cornwall, Ontario and Montréal

Evidence

Evidence. MasterBrand's figures were read from its fourth-quarter and full-year 2025 results release on its investor site (February 2026), which described the American Woodmark merger as pending [A]. The merger's completion on 28 May 2026, the 5.150 exchange ratio and the roughly $90M of targeted annual cost synergies were then read from the completion release filed as Exhibit 99.1 to MasterBrand's Form 8-K of that date [A]; no combined-company revenue figure is stated in that release and none is stated here. Dorel Home's figures were read from Dorel Industries' fourth-quarter and 2025 year-end release on dorel.com (March 2026) [A]. Business counts are Statistics Canada and US Census figures supplied with the work list [A]. What the figures establish: the largest cabinet maker's earnings fell sharply in a soft market and it chose to merge; a Canadian volume furniture business shrank by 40% and closed its domestic plants. What they do not: Dorel Home's decline also reflects its own restructuring and financing strain, not only import competition; no mid-sized Canadian cabinet plant's results were found, so the 'stuck in the middle' argument is reasoned from the two ends rather than observed; institutional and upholstered furniture were not researched. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Kitchen Cabinet Association (CKCA)
ckca.ca

Manufacturers, suppliers and dealers in the Canadian kitchen cabinet industry; runs the CKCA National Forum and a monthly manufacturers' roundtable. No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaA
Kitchen Cabinet Manufacturers Association (KCMA)
kcma.org

Residential cabinet manufacturers and key suppliers; About page says 'almost 300 companies throughout North America'. Sets the KCMA A161.1 cabinet standard.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationQuebecA
Association des fabricants de meubles du Québec (AFMQ)
afmq.com · 80 members (2026-09)

Member furniture manufacturers ('80 membres' on its homepage); says 36% of Canada's furniture makers are in Quebec.

Checked 2026-09-22
ForumNorth AmericaA
WOODWEB Cabinetmaking forum
woodweb.com

Professional-only industrial woodworking board (hobbyists barred); threads dated through Aug 2026. Its Woodworking Business forum (business.pl) had replies through 21 Sep 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
IWF Atlanta (International Woodworking Fair)
iwfatlanta.com

Biennial wood products design and technology show and conference, Georgia World Congress Center; 2026 edition ran 25-28 Aug 2026. No attendance figure on the page.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Wood Industry magazine
woodindustry.ca

Canadian quarterly plus weekly e-digest for cabinet, furniture and secondary wood manufacturers; articles dated 16 Sep 2026. No circulation stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
American Home Furnishings Alliance (AHFA)
ahfa.us

Home furnishings manufacturers and importers plus suppliers; no member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22

Cabinet plant owners talk on WOODWEB and through CKCA's roundtables; the household-furniture side has no active Canadian operator forum found, and the Canadian Furniture Show site (canadianfurnitureshow.com) now redirects to an unrelated page.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other records in this industry