Operating business57% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresOne thing must be truedistribution

Contract Office Furniture & Store Fixture Plant

SoftwareTypically runs on Cabinet design-to-manufacture, nesting and job costing. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Office furniture (including fixtures) manufacturing

Base industry report for 3372 →
Establishments · CanadaA
607
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
46%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
3,687
Employment · USA
105,895
29 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$6.1B
$58k per employee

Of 607 Canadian establishments with employees, 46% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Get to the buyer. The product is reachable and the need is real; the channel is owned by someone else, and a route to it — a partner, a reseller, a trade relationship, a book of clients bought outright — is what has to be built.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDdistribution — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA46% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Concentrated — a new entrant competes against establishments with real scale.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 337, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 8

The binding constraint — distribution

This is one of the few corners of furniture that did not go offshore. Canadian office furniture and fixture plants booked $6.33B of revenue in 2024, up from $3.95B in 2013 [A], and the group is not a cottage trade: 65 of its 607 establishments employ a hundred or more, and the average US plant carries 29. Desks, seating systems and store fixtures are bulky, specified to a floor plan and delivered to a deadline, which keeps production on the continent. The cut is who controls the specification. Contract furniture is not sold to the person who sits in it; it is written into a project by a designer and fulfilled by a dealer aligned to a manufacturer's line, and store fixtures are bought by a chain's construction department on a roll-out programme. An entrant plant has neither the dealer nor the programme. The incumbents, meanwhile, are consolidating to defend exactly that channel: HNI closed its purchase of Steelcase in December 2025, about $2.2B, priced at roughly 5.8x trailing EBITDA once $120M of run-rate synergies are counted [A], forming a $5.8B seller on about $745M of pro forma EBITDA. The price is the argument: 5.8x is not what a buyer pays for factories it wants, and it is that low only because the synergies are counted before they are earned. What the money bought was two overlapping dealer networks that can be run as one — the channel, not the plants. An entrant buys plant. The nearby Custom Cabinet & Millwork Shop record cuts on builder relationships; this one cuts on the aligned dealer, which is harder to borrow.

Market scalenational

Systems furniture and chain-store fixtures ship across the continent from a handful of plants, and the buyer is a national dealer network, a designer's specification or a retailer's head-office construction team. Ontario and Quebec hold 478 of Canada's 607 establishments because they sell into the whole North American contract market, not because demand is local.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 607 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 281 have fewer than ten employees, 65 have a hundred or more
Canadian industry revenue, NAICS 3372A $6.33B in 2024, against $5.40B in 2019 and $3.95B in 2013 (Statistics Canada principal statistics for manufacturing, table 16-10-0117-01; 2024 quality grade B)
US establishments and employment, 2022A 3,687 establishments, 105,895 employees, $6.09B payroll (County Business Patterns) — about 29 people per plant
HNI acquisition of SteelcaseA about $2.2B to Steelcase shareholders; $7.20 cash plus 0.2192 HNI shares per share, implied $18.30; closed 10 December 2025
Multiple paidA about 5.8x trailing adjusted EBITDA inclusive of $120M run-rate synergies, per the announcement
Combined HNI–SteelcaseA pro forma revenue about $5.8B and adjusted EBITDA about $745M
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
HNI Corporation (NYSE: HNI), enlarged by its December 2025 purchase of Steelcase
Scale
Fiscal 2025 (year ended 3 January 2026) net sales about $2.8B, of which Workplace Furnishings was $2,164.1M — up 14.6% reported but only 5.6% organic, the gap being Steelcase's $187.5M over its first 24 days inside the group. HNI expects $120M of Steelcase synergies at maturity.
Concentration
Not published, and not computable here. The combined HNI–Steelcase was presented at about US$5.8B of pro forma revenue; NAICS 3372 in Canada is C$6.33B. Different currency, different geography — putting one over the other would be a made-up share.
Others in the field
MillerKnoll, which turned $3,841.7M in its fiscal 2026 and is now the larger of the two listed contract makers; Haworth, private; Canada's own contract plants — Teknion, Global Furniture Group, Groupe Lacasse, Artopex — all privately held; and on the store-fixture side the chain-programme fabricators and shop-fitting joineries that never appear in a filing.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not assessed
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — There is no financial roll-up bidding for Canadian fixture plants; the consolidation is horizontal, between the manufacturers, and what it is consolidating is the channel. HNI's own case for buying Steelcase was two overlapping dealer networks that can be run as one. An owner's exit here is a trade sale to a strategic, not an auction to funds — which is why the price paid, about 5.8x trailing EBITDA with $120M of synergies already counted in, is the number an entrant should read.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

HNI net sales, fiscal 2025A about $2.8B for the year ended 3 January 2026
HNI Workplace Furnishings segment, fiscal 2025A $2,164.1M, up 14.6% reported and 5.6% organic
Steelcase inside HNI, fiscal 2025A $187.5M of net sales from 24 days of ownership after the 10 December 2025 close
Expected Steelcase synergiesA $120M at maturity, with only modest accretion expected in 2026
MillerKnoll net sales, fiscal 2026A $3,841.7M for the year ended 30 May 2026, against $3,669.9M in fiscal 2025
Canadian plants under ten employeesA 281 of 607 establishments; 65 employ a hundred or more
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$6.0B

Disclosed revenue from 2 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 6 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
MillerKnollNASDAQ: MLKNA $3.8B — fiscal 2026 net sales, year ended 30 May 2026, per the 10-K filed 20 July 2026
HNI Corporation (with Steelcase)NYSE: HNIA $2.2B — Workplace Furnishings segment net sales, fiscal 2025 (year ended 3 January 2026); group net sales were about $2.8B
HaworthC not disclosed — Privately held (Holland, Michigan); no revenue published
Teknion / Global Furniture Group / Groupe Lacasse / ArtopexC not disclosed — The Canadian contract plants an entrant would actually meet in an Ontario or Quebec specification. All privately held; none publishes revenue, and none was researched to a filing for this record
Store-fixture fabricators on chain rollout programmesC not disclosed — The fixture half of this code is bought by retail construction departments on multi-year programmes. The fabricators holding those programmes are private and were not identified individually
The independent single-plant majorityA not disclosed — 281 of Canada's 607 establishments in this group employ fewer than ten people (Statistics Canada, December 2023) — they survive on custom work and local millwork, not on contract specification

Evidence

Evidence. The Canadian revenue series is read from Statistics Canada table 16-10-0117-01 and the US counts from County Business Patterns [A]. The deal terms are read from the Steelcase announcement of 4 August 2025 and HNI's closing release filed on Form 8-K [A]. What these do not establish: the claim that contract furniture moves through dealers aligned to one manufacturer, and that store fixtures are bought on chain roll-out programmes, is industry knowledge and was not sourced to a document — it is UNVERIFIED. No Canadian manufacturer's financials were read; the large Canadian makers are private. The multiple is as the buyer presented it, synergies included. MillerKnoll's fiscal 2026 net sales are read from its 10-K filed 20 July 2026 [A]. On the competitive field: the four Canadian contract makers and the store-fixture fabricators are named because an entrant meets them, not because anything was sourced about them — they are private, publish nothing, and are tiered C. No share figure is offered, because the only two totals available are in different currencies and different geographies. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationNorth AmericaC
BIFMA
bifma.org

Blocked automated access; search shows live 2026 events (360 Conference, Furniture Summit). Trade body for commercial furniture makers since 1973.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
NeoCon
neocon.com

Chicago commercial-interiors show since 1969; 2026 edition ran June 13-16, 2027 planning posted. Where contract furniture lines launch.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Business of Furniture (Bellow Press)
bellowpress.com

Weekly workplace-furniture trade paper; issue dated 2026-09-21 on site.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
officeinsight
officeinsight.com

Contract-interiors trade weekly; current issues and Chicago Design Week product guide listed on site.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Canadian Interiors
canadianinteriors.com

Interior design trade magazine; news dated 2026-09-16 on homepage. Specifier audience for contract furniture.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
Shop! Association
shopassociation.org

Trade body for the 'retail environment and experience industry' (its words) since 1956; public member directory. Who-we-represent page is script-rendered, not read.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationQuebecA
Association des fabricants de meubles du Quebec (AFMQ)
afmq.com · 80 members (2026-09)

'80 membres' on its homepage; Quebec furniture manufacturers of all kinds, not office-specific.

Checked 2026-09-22

BIFMA, Woodworking Network (FDMC) and SMTA block automated access; wmsexpo.com timed out and was not verified.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other records in this industry