Operating business47% entry signalMarket screen9 sourced figuresOne thing must be truegrowth quality

Regional Mattress Factory

SoftwareTypically runs on Cabinet design-to-manufacture, nesting and job costing. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Other furniture-related product manufacturing

Base industry report for 3379 →
Establishments · CanadaA
250
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
67%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
732
Employment · USA
35,233
48 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$1.8B
$51k per employee

Of 250 Canadian establishments with employees, 67% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Take share rather than ride the market. Demand is flat, seasonal or policy-driven, so growth has to come out of a competitor. That is possible and it is slower, and it rewards an operator who can wait.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDgrowth quality — Market shape — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA67% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 337, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 6

The binding constraint — growth quality

A mattress is mostly air, which is why it is still made near where it is sold: freight protects a regional factory from an offshore one better than any tariff, and a plant is sewing, foam and a quilting line rather than heavy capital. Two-thirds of the 250 Canadian establishments in this group have fewer than ten people. The cut is that the category has stopped growing while the leader bought both the shop floor and the spring. Canadian revenue for the whole group was $1.10B in 2013, $1.20B in 2019 and $1.15B in 2024 [A] — eleven years of flat nominal dollars, which is a real decline once prices are taken out. Mattresses are about $0.8B of that and blinds and shades about $0.35B, neither of them growing since 2013. In a category that is not growing a new factory sells only what it takes from someone else — and in eighteen months the someone else closed on every side of it. Somnigroup, the Tempur Sealy parent, bought Mattress Firm in February 2025 and reported $7,476.5M of 2025 net sales, of which Mattress Firm’s stores were $3,505.4M, lifting its direct share of sales to 65.2% by the fourth quarter [A]. On 26 August 2026 it also bought Leggett & Platt [A], the components maker whose springs and foam a new plant would buy. And Sleep Number, the largest listed vertically integrated bed maker, filed for chapter 11 on 12 June 2026 and was sold to Sleep Country Canada on 31 July 2026 for US$529.5M, with nothing expected for its shareholders [A] — so the Canadian chain that already controlled the shelf now owns the American factory too. An entrant would buy its inputs from one competitor and ask another for shelf space. What remains is factory-direct retail — a store problem, not a manufacturing one — or boxed beds sold online against imported foam. Blinds and shades, the other half of this residual code, were not examined beyond their revenue line.

Market scaleregionalunit: one factory's delivery radius — a day's truck run to the retailers or showrooms it supplies

A finished mattress is bulky and cheap per cubic metre, so plants serve the retailers within trucking distance and the national brands run networks of regional licensee or company plants rather than one central factory. The national revenue figure is the sum of those radii, not a market any one plant addresses.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 250 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 167 have fewer than ten employees, 9 have a hundred or more
Canadian industry revenue, NAICS 3379A $1.15B in 2024, against $1.20B in 2019 and $1.10B in 2013 (Statistics Canada table 16-10-0117-01; the 2024 estimate carries quality grade D)
Split inside the group, 2024A mattresses about $799M (grade E), against $724M in 2013; blinds and shades about $353M (grade B), against $376M in 2013
US establishments and employment, 2022A 732 establishments, 35,233 employees, $1.81B payroll (County Business Patterns) — about 48 people per plant
Somnigroup net sales, FY2025A $7,476.5M, up 51.6% on the Mattress Firm acquisition; gross margin 42.6%
Mattress Firm inside Somnigroup, FY2025A $3,505.4M of net sales at a 33.4% gross margin; direct channel 65.2% of group sales in Q4 against 26.9% a year earlier
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Somnigroup International (NYSE: SGI) — Tempur Sealy, Mattress Firm since February 2025, and Leggett & Platt since August 2026
Scale
FY2025 net sales $7,476.5M, up 51.6%, at a 42.6% gross margin. Mattress Firm's stores were $3,505.4M of that at a 33.4% gross margin, and the direct channel reached 65.2% of group sales by the fourth quarter against 26.9% a year earlier.
Concentration
Not published. What is published is the direction: the largest maker now sells two-thirds of its output through its own floor.
Others in the field
On the factory side, Serta Simmons and the private regional plants. On the vertically integrated side the field just shrank: Sleep Number ($1,411.5M in its final fiscal year) went through chapter 11 in June 2026 and was sold to Sleep Country Canada on 31 July 2026, leaving Purple ($468.7M) as the listed maker still selling its own beds. In Canada the binding competitor is the retail shelf — Sleep Country Canada, taken private by Fairfax at C$35.00 a share, about C$1.7B, on 1 October 2024, and now the owner of Sleep Number’s assets as well.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not assessed. Category revenue has been flat in nominal dollars since 2013, which is a real decline, but no price series was read.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Both ends of the channel changed owner inside eighteen months. The largest maker bought the largest US chain in February 2025; the largest Canadian chain was taken private by Fairfax in October 2024. Neither buyer is shopping for a regional factory — they bought distribution. An entrant's plant has no obvious acquirer, and its route to the consumer is owned by the firms it would be competing with.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Somnigroup net sales, FY2025A $7,476.5M per the 10-K filed 27 February 2026, up 51.6% on the Mattress Firm acquisition
Mattress Firm inside Somnigroup, FY2025A $3,505.4M at a 33.4% gross margin; direct channel 65.2% of group sales in Q4 against 26.9% a year earlier
Sleep Number net sales, fiscal 2025A $1,411.5M for the 53 weeks ended 3 January 2026 — its final annual report. Sleep Number entered chapter 11 on 12 June 2026 and was sold on 31 July 2026; this is the scale of the business that changed hands, not the scale of a competitor an entrant would meet
Purple Innovation revenue, FY2025A $468.7M
Leggett & Platt net trade sales, FY2025A $4,055.1M — the components supplier an entrant’s plant would buy springs and foam from, larger than the Canadian industry group by an order of magnitude. Reported as a public company for FY2025; Somnigroup acquired it on 26 August 2026, so this is the last year it published
Sleep Country Canada take-privateB C$35.00 a share, about C$1.7B, by Fairfax Financial, closing 1 October 2024
Canadian plants under ten employeesA 167 of 250 establishments; 9 employ a hundred or more
Sleep Number asset sale to Sleep Country Canada, 31 July 2026A US$529.5M cash consideration, of which about US$267.4M repaid debtor-in-possession term and roll-up loans and US$10.0M went to escrow. The company does not expect any proceeds for stockholders. Per the Form 8-K filed 3 August 2026
Somnigroup acquires Leggett & Platt, 26 August 2026A Merger agreement dated 13 April 2026; Leggett & Platt became a wholly owned indirect subsidiary of Somnigroup International. Per the Form 8-K of 26 August 2026 and the Form 15-12G of 8 September 2026, which certifies the common stock at one holder of record
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$13.4B

Disclosed revenue from 4 of 7 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 7 named · 4 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Somnigroup InternationalNYSE: SGIA $7.5B — FY2025 net sales per the 10-K filed 27 February 2026 — Owns Tempur Sealy, Mattress Firm (February 2025) and, since 26 August 2026, Leggett & Platt — so it holds the brand, the retail floor and the components supply of this industry at once.
Leggett & PlattA $4.1B — FY2025 net trade sales, company-wide rather than bedding-only. A recent figure, reported while the company was still public — Somnigroup International then acquired it on 26 August 2026, so this stands as its last published year rather than an out-of-date one — The components maker whose springs and foam a new plant would buy, and it built that position as a listed company. Since 26 August 2026 it has been a wholly owned subsidiary of Somnigroup — the same company that owns Tempur Sealy and Mattress Firm, and the largest competitor this record names. It still supplies the trade; an entrant would now be buying its inputs from its biggest rival.
Sleep NumberOTC: SNBRQA $1.4B — fiscal 2025 net sales, 53 weeks ended 3 January 2026, per the last 10-K it ever filed. A historical figure: Sleep Number and its subsidiaries filed voluntary chapter 11 petitions on 12 June 2026 (SDNY, Case No. 26-11399), sold substantially all assets to Sleep Country Canada on 31 July 2026, and deregistered on 3 August 2026 — the common stock is to be cancelled under a plan of liquidation — Was the largest listed vertically integrated bed maker. It is not a going concern and no longer files; its assets now sit inside Sleep Country Canada.
Purple InnovationNASDAQ: PRPLA $469M — FY2025 revenue
Sleep Country CanadaA not disclosed — Taken private by Fairfax at C$35.00 a share, about C$1.7B, on 1 October 2024 [B]. On 31 July 2026 its wholly-owned subsidiary SNBR, Inc. bought substantially all of Sleep Number’s assets out of chapter 11 for US$529.5M cash [A] — so the Canadian retail shelf now owns the American factory too.
Serta Simmons BeddingC not disclosed — Privately held; no revenue published and none researched for this record
The independent regional plantsA not disclosed — 167 of Canada's 250 establishments in this group employ fewer than ten people (Statistics Canada, December 2023). This is the competitive structure, and it is what an entrant joins rather than displaces

Evidence

Evidence. The Canadian revenue series is read from Statistics Canada table 16-10-0117-01 [A]; note that the 2024 group estimate is graded D and the mattress line E, so the level is soft even though eleven years of flatness is not. Somnigroup's figures are read from its Q4/FY2025 release as filed with the SEC [A]. What was not sourced: the freight argument for regional plants, the licensee structure of the national brands and the state of factory-direct and boxed-bed competition are industry knowledge — UNVERIFIED. No Canadian mattress maker's accounts were read, and the blinds-and-shades half of the code was not researched. On the competitive field: Sleep Number, Purple and Leggett & Platt figures are read from their 10-K filings for FY2025 [A]; Sleep Number’s chapter 11 filing, the sale to Sleep Country Canada and the US$529.5M consideration are read from its Forms 8-K of 23 July and 3 August 2026 and its Form 15-12G of 3 August 2026 [A], which also confirm it no longer files and now quotes over the counter as SNBRQ; Somnigroup's total is confirmed against the same 10-K that the Q4 release preceded [A]. The Somnigroup acquisition of Leggett & Platt is read from Leggett's Form 8-K of 26 August 2026 and its Form 15-12G of 8 September 2026 [A]; note that both Leggett's and Sleep Number's revenue lines are now final rather than current, because neither company files any more. The Sleep Country take-private terms are consistent across reputable reporting but no arrangement circular was opened — tier B. Serta Simmons publishes nothing and was not researched. Leggett & Platt is listed as a supplier, not a rival, and its total is company-wide rather than bedding-only. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationInternationalA
International Sleep Products Association (ISPA)
sleepproducts.org

US-based mattress industry body; runs ISPA EXPO and publishes BedTimes; no member count on page.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
ISPA EXPO
ispaexpo.com

Biennial mattress-industry show; March 10-12, 2026 Orlando was the last; ISPA's site lists March 21-23, 2028, New Orleans.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationInternationalA
BedTimes
bedtimesmagazine.com

ISPA's business journal for the sleep products industry.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationQuebecA
Association des fabricants de meubles du Québec (AFMQ)
afmq.com · 80 members (2026-09)

80 member furniture manufacturers per its homepage; furniture broadly, not mattress-specific.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Furniture Today
furnituretoday.com

Covers bedding makers and retailers; runs a Bedding Conference.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
Las Vegas Market
lasvegasmarket.com

Semi-annual furniture and bedding market where mattress makers show to retailers.

Checked 2026-09-22

sleepretailer.com last posted May 2024 and was dropped as inactive; canadianfurnitureshow.com now redirects to an unrelated furniture-guide site; the Canadian Home Furnishings Alliance (chfaweb.ca) is live but undated, with one bedding maker among 17 listed members, so it was left off. No Canadian mattress-maker association was found.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other records in this industry