Operating business55% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresOne thing must be trueincumbent vulnerability

Dental Laboratory & Sign Manufacturing

SoftwareTypically runs on Niche-specific: dental lab management, quality systems for devices. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Other miscellaneous manufacturing

Base industry report for 3399 →
Establishments · CanadaA
3,765
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
76%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
14,995
Employment · USA
251,868
17 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$14.9B
$59k per employee

Of 3,765 Canadian establishments with employees, 76% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDincumbent vulnerability — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA76% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 339, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Manufacturing, US · opened 2020
86.2%
1 year
70.8%
3 years
58.4%
5 years
45.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability

3399 is a residual holding several unrelated niches, so this screen ran on its two most reachable — dental laboratories and sign manufacture — rather than on the code as a whole. Dental labs cut on who the buyer became. Dental Service Organisations are consolidating practices and then buying or contracting labs at negotiated volume rates, and the top 50 firms already take over 46% of industry revenue [C]; chairside milling moves the simplest, most profitable cases out of the lab entirely. Sign manufacture cuts on the same mechanism a rung down: the profitable work is national-account rollouts, which go to fabricators with installation networks. A second finding, and the more useful one: the published sizing for dental labs is irreconcilable — $9.2B, $10.39B and $6.3B all appear for overlapping definitions, and lab counts of 4,566 and 27,000+ are both in circulation. No figure here should be used for a decision.

Market scalenational

Crowns and bridges ship, so a lab's competitor is any other lab including offshore production — the local dentist relationship is a preference, not a boundary. Sign fabrication is heavier and more regional, but the contracts worth having are national rollouts.

Daktronics net sales, fiscal 2026 (53 weeks to 2 May 2026)A $838.7M (US$), from $756.5M in fiscal 2025 and $818.1M in fiscal 2024
Dentsply Sirona revenueA $3,680M in 2025, after $3,793M in 2024 and $3,965M in 2023 — a third consecutive decline (US$)
Envista Holdings revenue, FY2025A $2,719.5M (US$), from $2,510.6M in 2024
US establishments, employment and payroll, NAICS 3399A 14,995 establishments, 251,868 employees and $14.87B of annual payroll — about $59,000 per employee (US Census County Business Patterns, 2022; per-employee figure derived)
Canadian establishments with employeesA 3,765 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 1,979 have fewer than five employees and only 11 have two hundred or more; Ontario 1,474, Quebec 1,015
Top-50 concentration, dental laboratoriesC over 46% of industry revenue
Published market size — and why it cannot be usedC $9.2B (2025, global), $10.39B (2024, US alone) and about $6.3B (US, ~4,566 firms) are all published for overlapping definitions. A US-only figure exceeding the global one is not a rounding difference
Published lab countsC about 4,566 firms employing 43,400, against a separate claim of more than 27,000 certified labs — a six-fold disagreement
Structural driverC DSO consolidation on the buying side; chairside milling removing simple cases from the lab
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
There is no single incumbent, because 3399 is a residual. On the signage side Daktronics (NASDAQ: DAKT) is the listed benchmark; on the dental-laboratory side the firm that decides a lab's future is not a rival lab but its customer — the Dental Service Organisation
Scale
Daktronics net sales $838.7M in fiscal 2026 (53 weeks to 2 May 2026), from $756.5M. dentalcorp, Canada's largest DSO, states 650+ locations, 10,700+ team members and more than six million patient visits a year
Concentration
The only concentration figure found for dental laboratories — top 50 firms taking over 46% of revenue — comes from the same tier-C literature this record shows to be unreliable, and should not be used. No share series was found for sign manufacture at all
Others in the field
For a lab: dentalcorp, Heartland Dental and Aspen Dental on the buying side; offshore production, which ships as easily as a domestic crown does; and the chairside milling systems Dentsply Sirona and Envista sell straight to the dentist, which remove the simplest and most profitable cases before a lab sees them. For a sign shop: Daktronics and the national fabricators with installation networks, against 1,979 Canadian establishments in this group with fewer than five employees
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not measured for either niche. Dentsply Sirona's revenue has fallen three years running, from $3,965M in 2023 to $3,680M in 2025, which is a fact about the equipment maker and not about lab prices
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — What is consolidating is not the manufacturers but their customers. Dental practices are being rolled into DSOs — dentalcorp alone claims 650+ Canadian locations — and a DSO negotiates lab work centrally or takes it in-house, so a lab's customer count falls while each remaining customer gets stronger. Signage has the same shape one rung along: the work worth having is a national-account rollout, awarded to whoever can fabricate and install across the country, and it never reaches a single-shop fabricator.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Daktronics net sales, fiscal 2026A $838.7M (US$), from $756.5M in fiscal 2025
Dentsply Sirona revenue, 2023–2025A $3,965M → $3,793M → $3,680M (US$)
Envista Holdings revenue, FY2025A $2,719.5M (US$), from $2,510.6M
dentalcorp network, self-reportedC 650+ locations, 10,700+ team members, 6M+ annual patient visits
Top-50 concentration, dental laboratoriesC over 46% of industry revenue — from the unreliable tier-C literature, shown here for what it claims, not as a finding
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$7.2B

Disclosed revenue from 3 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 3 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
DaktronicsNASDAQ: DAKTA $839M — fiscal 2026 net sales, 53 weeks to 2 May 2026 (US$)
Dentsply SironaNASDAQ: XRAYA $3.7B — FY2025 revenue (US$); sells the chairside milling systems that take cases out of the lab, and is not itself a lab
Envista HoldingsNYSE: NVSTA $2.7B — FY2025 revenue (US$); dental equipment and consumables, not lab services
dentalcorpC not disclosed — Canada's largest dental service organisation and a lab's consolidating customer, at 650+ locations by its own account. Its website publishes no financial statements and no investor section; no revenue was read for this record
Independent labs and sign shopsA not disclosed — 1,979 of Canada's 3,765 establishments in this group have fewer than five employees and only 11 have two hundred or more (Statistics Canada, December 2023). None publishes accounts

Evidence

Evidence. The tier-C figures on this record contradict each other, and that contradiction is the record's main finding, not a defect in it. The sizing literature for dental laboratories publishes a US market larger than its own global market ($10.39B against $9.2B) and lab counts differing six-fold (about 4,566 firms against a claim of more than 27,000 certified labs), which is the same failure already documented at 8132. Nothing in that literature is usable and none of it should drive a decision. What the completion pass added is sourced. Daktronics' fiscal 2026 net sales, Dentsply Sirona's three-year revenue decline and Envista's FY2025 revenue were each read from those companies' XBRL company facts as filed with the SEC [A]. Daktronics is a genuine anchor at this industry's scale for the signage half of the record — it is a listed sign and display manufacturer. The honest limit, and it is a large one: there is no tier-A anchor for dental laboratories themselves. No dental lab of any size is listed; Dentsply Sirona and Envista sell equipment to dentists and are evidence about the mechanism the record names — chairside milling pulling work out of the lab — not a measurement of the lab industry. dentalcorp's 650+ locations are the company's own marketing claim [C]. The dental-laboratory sizing therefore remains UNVERIFIED and is the part of this record a buyer would have to establish independently. Business counts are Statistics Canada (December 2023) and US County Business Patterns (2022); the per-employee payroll figure is arithmetic on two reported Census figures. The screen covers dental labs and signage only — jewellery, sporting goods and the rest of 3399 were not examined and remain effectively unscreened. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

ForumInternationalA
Dental Lab Network forums
dentallabnetwork.com

Independent dental technician forum (removables, CAD/CAM, implants, help wanted); posts dated the week of the check.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Association of Dental Laboratories (NADL)
nadl.org

US trade association for dental laboratories; runs NADL Vision 21 and publishes JDT magazine. No member count published.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationNorth AmericaA
LMT (Lab Management Today) and LMT LAB DAY
lmtmag.com

Business magazine for dental lab decision makers; runs LAB DAY Chicago/West/East shows (LAB DAY East 26 Sep 2026) and the SoundBites podcast.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Sign Association of Canada (SAC-ACE)
sac-ace.ca

National sign industry association since 1955, seven regional chapters; runs Sign Experience Canada. No member count published.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaA
International Sign Association (ISA)
signs.org

Sign, graphics and visual communications manufacturers association; SAC-ACE membership includes ISA membership. No member count published.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
ISA Sign Expo
signexpo.org

Main sign industry trade show; 31 March - 2 April 2027, Las Vegas.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Sign Media Canada
signmedia.ca

Canadian signage trade magazine with buyers' guide and news.

Checked 2026-09-22

No live national Canadian dental-technologist association was verified; adto.ca (Ontario) returned an empty page.