Operating business21% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresStructure decidescapital intensity

Fuel Distribution (Jobber)

SoftwareTypically runs on Fuel delivery routing, tank monitoring and rack-price management. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-09

The industry — Petroleum, petroleum products, and other hydrocarbons merchant wholesalers

Base industry report for 412 →
Establishments · CanadaA
1,176
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
65%
most common size: 1–4

Of 1,176 Canadian establishments with employees, 65% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDcapital intensity — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA65% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 412, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Wholesale Trade, US · opened 2020
82.8%
1 year
64.3%
3 years
51.2%
5 years
34.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 3

The binding constraint — capital intensity

A jobber's balance sheet carries fuel inventory priced daily against customers who pay in 30 days, so working capital swings with the commodity and a bad month is a price move rather than a sales problem. Trucks, tanks and environmental liability sit underneath. The consolidators buying this space have hedging desks and credit lines an independent cannot match.

Market scaleregionalunit: one terminal draw area

A jobber's economics are set by the distance from the rack it lifts at to the customers it delivers to. Beyond that radius freight eats the margin, so the market is a supply area rather than a province.

Handle — Sunoco LP's cents per gallon. Sunoco reports gallons sold and motor fuel profit per gallon in the same table, so the jobber's whole income statement reduces to two numbers: volume and spread. That spread is what a Canadian independent is now quoting against, because the company publishing it bought Parkland in October 2025.

Boundary mechanismB Distance from the loading rack; freight cost per litre rises with every kilometre
Working-capital exposureB Inventory priced daily against 30-day receivables — the commodity moves faster than the cash
Canadian establishments with employeesA 1,176 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 765 have fewer than ten employees; Alberta 350, Ontario 224, Quebec 167, Saskatchewan 114
Operating revenue and margin, petroleum product merchant wholesalers, 2024A $377.6B of operating revenue at a 3.9% gross margin and a 1.3% operating profit; $494.2B at the 2022 price peak and $313.2B in 2019 (Annual Wholesale Trade Survey, table 20-10-0077-01; the 2024 estimate is preliminary)
Sunoco LP fuel distribution margin, FY2025A 13.2 cents of motor fuel profit per gallon, against 11.6 cents in 2024, on 9,884 million gallons sold (8,578 million in 2024)
Sunoco LP Fuel Distribution segment, FY2025A segment profit $1,514M — fuel $1,161M, non-fuel $223M, lease $130M — against $707M of segment expenses; Segment Adjusted EBITDA $990M
Parkland Corporation take-outA Sunoco LP closed the acquisition of Parkland on 31 October 2025, paying about $2.60B in cash to shareholders plus 51,517,198 SunocoCorp units; the all-cash election was C$44.00 a share
Segment EBITDA per gallon, at the consolidator~10.0 centsB

$990M of Sunoco Fuel Distribution Segment Adjusted EBITDA divided by 9,884 million gallons sold, both FY2025, both from the same 10-K table. The segment also books non-fuel and lease profit, so this is the whole channel's EBITDA spread over fuel volume rather than a pure fuel margin — but it is what the largest independent fuel distributor in the Americas keeps per gallon after its own costs, against a 13.2-cent gross spread. An independent lifting at the same rack has the same spread and none of the scale underneath it.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Sunoco LP (NYSE: SUN), which bought Parkland Corporation in October 2025
Scale
FY2025 total revenues $25,201M; Fuel Distribution segment profit $1,514M and Segment Adjusted EBITDA $990M on 9,884 million gallons. Over 15 billion gallons a year across 32 countries and territories, into roughly 9,200 dealer and distributor sites, 1,300 commission-agent locations, 330 company-operated stores and more than 13,000 commercial customers.
Concentration
Not published. Sunoco's 10-K states it is the largest independent fuel distributor in the Americas; Statistics Canada publishes no concentration measure for this subsector.
Others in the field
Federated Co-operatives and the provincial co-ops, the refiner-marketers' own branded supply (Suncor/Petro-Canada, Imperial/Esso, Shell), Gibson Energy on the terminal side, regional jobbers such as MacEwen and North Atlantic, and the 1,176 Canadian establishments in this subsector — 765 of which have fewer than ten employees.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. Sunoco's dealer supply contracts are described in its 10-K as carrying both time and volume commitments.
Price movement
Sunoco's motor fuel profit per gallon rose from 11.6 to 13.2 cents in 2025, but the Canadian group's surveyed operating profit is 1.3% of revenue and has been between 1.1% and 2.5% since 2019.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — The consolidator is now one company and it is not Canadian. Sunoco paid about $2.60 billion in cash plus 51.5 million units for Parkland on 31 October 2025, after paying for NuStar in May 2024 — and Parkland was itself the firm that had spent a decade buying retiring Canadian jobbers. An independent's exit multiple is now set by a Dallas master limited partnership, and the same balance sheet bids against it for every route it wants to buy.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Sunoco LP total revenues, FY2025A $25,201M, against $22,693M in 2024; operating income $935M
Sunoco motor fuel profit per gallon, FY2025A 13.2 cents, against 11.6 cents in 2024
Sunoco Fuel Distribution volume, FY2025A 9,884 million gallons, up 1,306 million — a 15% rise attributed primarily to the Parkland acquisition
Sunoco Fuel Distribution Segment Adjusted EBITDA, FY2025A $990M, against $908M — up $82M on a $361M rise in segment profit and a $280M rise in expenses
Parkland acquisition considerationA about $2.60B of cash plus 51,517,198 SunocoCorp units, closed 31 October 2025; C$44.00 a share was the all-cash election
Canadian group operating profit, 2024A 1.3% of $377.6B of operating revenue, on a 3.9% gross margin (Annual Wholesale Trade Survey, table 20-10-0077-01)
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$25.2B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 4 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Sunoco LPNYSE: SUNA $25.2B — FY2025 total revenues
Parkland CorporationA not disclosed — Acquired by Sunoco LP on 31 October 2025 for about $2.60B of cash plus 51,517,198 SunocoCorp units; no longer reports separately. Its functional currency was the Canadian dollar and it operated in 26 countries.
Federated Co-operatives and the provincial co-opsC not disclosed — Member-owned; the Co-op Refinery Complex supplies its own retail and cardlock network. Not researched for this record.
The independent single-terminal majorityA not disclosed — 765 of the 1,176 Canadian establishments in this subsector have fewer than ten employees, and 350 of the 1,176 are in Alberta (Statistics Canada, December 2023). This is what the competitive structure actually is.

Evidence

Evidence. Sunoco LP's figures are read from its Form 10-K for the year ended 31 December 2025, filed 19 February 2026 — the gallons, the cents per gallon and the segment profit come from the Fuel Distribution table in the MD&A, not from the company-wide headline, and the Parkland consideration from the Significant Achievements section. The Canadian revenue and margin series is read from Statistics Canada's Annual Wholesale Trade Survey, table 20-10-0077-01, where subsector 412 holds only this one industry group; the 2024 estimate is flagged preliminary by the agency and may be revised. What none of it establishes: Sunoco is a $25B partnership with a refinery, 14,000 miles of pipeline and 160 terminals, and its 13.2-cent spread is earned with procurement and hedging an independent does not have — it bounds the opportunity, it does not describe it. No Canadian jobber's accounts were opened, and none publishes any. The working-capital mechanism the cut rests on, and the weight of tank and environmental liability, are industry knowledge and remain UNVERIFIED. Heating oil and cardlock, also inside this code, were not examined. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Fuels Association
canadianfuels.ca

Covers refining, distribution and marketing; membership is weighted to refiners rather than independent jobbers.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Convenience Industry Council of Canada (CICC)
convenienceindustry.ca

National body for convenience retailers, distributors and suppliers.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Propane Association
propane.ca

Propane marketers and distributors; runs the Propane Training Institute and a member map.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaA
SIGMA: America's Leading Fuel Marketers
sigma.org

Site states it represents fuel marketers and chain retailers in the United States and Canada; runs share groups.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
NACS
convenience.org

Convenience and fuel retailing association since 1961; runs the NACS Show. nacsonline.com no longer resolves.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
NATSO
natso.com

Truck stop and travel centre operators; publishes Stop Watch magazine and a podcast.

Checked 2026-09-22

emamerica.org (Energy Marketers of America) now bounces to a domain-parking lander and was dropped; cipma.org was not used.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other records in this industry

Operating businessScreenedfiled at 4121
Propane Distribution BranchOne thing must be true
binding constraint: growth quality

The Fuel Distribution (Jobber) record already screens the bulk gasoline and diesel route and cuts on working capital. This group's average explains why: Canadian petroleum wholesalers booked $377.6B of revenue in 2024 at a 3.9% gross margin and 1.3% operating profit [A], a number dominated by crude and rack-volume marketers that no entrant resembles. The one corner that earns a real margin is delivered propane — rural heating, farm, construction and commercial accounts served from a bulk storage site by bobtail truck. Superior Plus, which delivers propane across Canada from a network of branches, shows both the appeal and the cut. Its Canadian Propane segment made US$273.2M of gross profit on US$626.2M of revenue in 2025, a 44% margin, and US$100.4M of adjusted EBITDA [A]. But that EBITDA grew 2%, revenue grew 1%, and volume grew 2% to 337 million gallons in a year that was 7% colder than the one before — while adjusted gross profit from propane distribution fell 1% on lower unit margins [A]. When an operator on that scale needs a cold winter to stand still, the product is in slow retreat: efficiency, heat pumps and gas-line extension take customers at the edges. For 2026 Superior guides the whole group to about 2% adjusted EBITDA growth, on weather assumed back to the five-year average [A]. An entrant would spend on storage, trucks and customer tanks — Superior put US$38.8M of capital into the Canadian segment last year — to win accounts one at a time from incumbents in a pool that is not getting larger. Growth in this trade is bought, by acquiring retiring independents, and that is a consolidator's game.

NAICS 41215 vendors named13 sourced figuresOpen →