Apparel & Footwear Brand Distributor
The industry — Textile, clothing and footwear merchant wholesalers
Base industry report for 4141 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 1,999
- Under 10 employeesA
- 71%
Of 1,999 Canadian establishments with employees, 71% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Execution decidesThe hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.
Find something that compounds. Entry is achievable and so is the first customer; what is missing is a reason the next entrant cannot repeat it as easily as you did.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 4
The binding constraint — defensibility
This is a large, open and apparently healthy trade. Canada has 1,999 clothing, footwear and textile wholesalers, 71% of them under ten people, split almost evenly between Ontario and Quebec, and together they earned a 37.5% gross margin and 7.6% operating profit on $19.9B of revenue in 2024 [A]. The enterable form is the distributor or agency that takes a foreign or emerging label into Canadian retail: it needs a showroom, a line of credit for a season's inventory, and a rep who knows the buyers. Nothing about entry is hard. The cut is what the distributor owns once it has succeeded, which is nothing. The label belongs to the brand, the shelf belongs to the retailer, and the distribution agreement has a term. A brand that proves itself in a market takes the market back — first with its own e-commerce site, then with its own stores. Canada Goose is the domestic illustration of where the margin went: in fiscal 2026 its direct-to-consumer revenue was $1,157.4M, up 15.9%, against wholesale revenue of $291.2M [A] — wholesale is under a fifth of a $1,528.2M business that held a 69.7% gross margin. Brands build that mix on purpose, and each point of it is volume that once passed through an intermediary. The group's revenue shows the result: $19.7B in 2022, $19.8B in 2023, $19.9B in 2024 [A], flat through three years of inflation. A full study would have to test the one defensible position — a long exclusive on a line the owner cannot or will not run direct — and price how often those are renewed. Piece goods and notions were not examined.
A distributor holds Canadian rights to a label and sells it to retailers across the country from a showroom in Montreal or Toronto; the buyers are national chains and independents reached at seasonal markets. Competition is for lines and for open-to-buy budgets, neither of which is local.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 2 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 5 named · 2 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| S&S Activewear (with alphabroder)B | not disclosed | — | The combined imprintables distributor, majority owned by Clayton Dubilier & Rice. Privately held; no revenue published. Gildan's Annual Information Form describes the combination and the resulting 39% concentration but does not name the parties — the identification here rests on the matching date and description in S&S's own release, so treat the name as reported rather than filed. |
| Gildan ActivewearTSX / NYSE: GILA | $3.6B | — | fiscal 2025 net sales, year to 28 December 2025, reported in US dollars |
| Canada GooseA | $1.5B | — | fiscal 2026 total revenue; wholesale was $291.2M of it — Not a distributor — the case for what happens to the distributor's share when a label succeeds. |
| Next Level Apparel and Color Image Apparel (Bella + Canvas)A | not disclosed | — | Named in Gildan's Annual Information Form as “smaller U.S. based companies selling to or operating as wholesale distributors of imprintables activewear products” — brands that have taken the distribution step themselves. Both are private; no revenue published. The same paragraph names Fruit of the Loom, Inc., a Berkshire Hathaway subsidiary, as a competing manufacturer rather than a distributor. |
| The independent showroom majorityA | not disclosed | — | 1,426 of 1,999 Canadian establishments have fewer than ten employees, split almost evenly between Ontario (786) and Quebec (782) (Statistics Canada, December 2023). A showroom, a line of credit and a rep who knows the buyers — and no exclusive that cannot be withdrawn. |
Evidence
Evidence. The group figures are read from Statistics Canada's Annual Wholesale Trade Survey [A] and Canada Goose's from its Q4/FY2026 results release [A]. What they do not establish: Canada Goose is a brand owner, not a distributor, and its wholesale line grew in the year — it illustrates where brands choose to put their margin, not the income statement of the firms in this group. No distributor's accounts or agreement terms were read; the claim that successful lines are taken back direct is industry knowledge, UNVERIFIED, and the survey's 7.6% operating profit shows that many incumbents are doing fine. The competitive field adds Gildan's Form 40-F for fiscal 2025, filed 26 February 2026: the Annual Information Form for the distributor combination, the 39% concentration and the named channel competitors, and the MD&A for net sales, the product split and the HanesBrands purchase price [A]. S&S Activewear's own press release supplies the acquirer's name, the completion date and its brand and warehouse counts [A] — note that it dates the close 3 October 2024 while Gildan's filing says 1 October 2024; both are given rather than one picked. Gildan does not name its largest distributor customer, so the identification of S&S Activewear rests on the matching date and description, not on a filing: treat that link as reported, UNVERIFIED as a filed fact. No Canadian brand distributor's accounts or agreement terms were opened, because none publishes any. This is a judgment cut, not a clean kill, and the record says so.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Calls itself the national association for Canada's apparel industry, working with government on trade and regulation; no member count stated. apparel.ca redirects here.
Homepage says it represents 'more than 1,100 world famous name brands'; policy and trade advocacy body for brands, suppliers and retailers.
Footwear trade body for brands, importers, distributors and retailers; homepage claims to represent '98% of the footwear industry'. No member count stated.
National footwear, apparel and accessories trade show connecting wholesalers and retailers; next 7-9 Feb 2027, Toronto Congress Centre. No exhibitor count stated.
Wholesale buying show with a MODE section (apparel, accessories, footwear) and 45+ permanent showrooms; next 23-26 Jan 2027, Mississauga; page states 400+ exhibitors.
Informa's trade-only apparel, footwear and accessories market; next 16-18 Feb 2027. Site blocked automated access; confirmed via search results.
Distributors and sales agents meet retailers at AFA Canada, Toronto Market Week and MAGIC; the associations represent brands and importers on trade policy. No active forum for agency or distribution operators was verified.