Operating business47% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresOne thing must be truegrowth quality

Appliance & Consumer Electronics Distributor

SoftwareTypically runs on Distribution ERP, EDI and marketplace integrations. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Home entertainment equipment and household appliance merchant wholesalers

Base industry report for 4142 →
Establishments · CanadaA
347
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
65%
most common size: 1–4

Of 347 Canadian establishments with employees, 65% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Take share rather than ride the market. Demand is flat, seasonal or policy-driven, so growth has to come out of a competitor. That is possible and it is slower, and it rewards an operator who can wait.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDgrowth quality — Market shape — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA65% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 414, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Wholesale Trade, US · opened 2020
82.8%
1 year
64.3%
3 years
51.2%
5 years
34.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 5

The binding constraint — growth quality

A distributor of televisions, audio and household appliances stands between a handful of global manufacturers and a handful of national retailers, and the Canadian figures show what that position has been worth. The group's revenue was $10.1B in 2012 and $11.0B in 2024 [A] — 9% growth in nominal dollars across twelve years in which Canadian wholesale trade as a whole grew 72%, from $865B to $1,487B [A]. It earns a 23.2% gross margin and a 4.5% operating profit [A], the thinnest of the consumer-goods wholesale groups in this batch, and only 347 establishments remain, more than half of them in Ontario where the manufacturers keep their Canadian sales offices. The mechanism is not mysterious. The major brands sell direct to the major retailers, and what is left for an independent is the tail: regional appliance dealers and builders served on thin terms, premium or niche lines a big brand's sales company does not bother with, and parts. Those niches are real, but each depends on a supply agreement the manufacturer can end, and none of them is growing the pie. An entrant would be financing inventory of fast-depreciating goods to take share of a market that, after inflation, is materially smaller than it was a decade ago. No Canadian company in this group discloses anything, and the only anchor is American: Almo, the largest US national distributor of consumer appliances and electronics, earned US$75M of EBITA on US$1.3B of revenue before DCC bought it for about US$610M — 5.8%, on the best-run version of this business [A]. The agency's own series carries the cut, and it is enough to say the growth is not there.

Market scalenational

Manufacturers appoint distributors for Canada or for large regions of it, the retail buyers are national chains and buying groups, and goods move from a few import warehouses. There is no local catchment: the contest is for the distribution agreement itself.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 347 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 225 have fewer than ten employees; Ontario 182
Operating revenue, home entertainment and appliance wholesalersA $11.0B in 2024; $10.8B in 2023; $11.7B in 2022; $9.7B in 2019; $10.1B in 2012 (Annual Wholesale Trade Survey, table 20-10-0077-01)
Growth against all wholesale trade, 2012 to 2024A this group +9% nominal; all Canadian wholesale trade +72%, from $865B to $1,487B (same table)
Gross margin and operating profit, 2024A 23.2% gross margin; 4.5% operating profit (same table)
Labour remuneration, 2024A $518M, below the $617M paid in 2012 — the group employs less than it did (same table)
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
No Canadian distributor leads — the closest thing to a listed comparable is Almo Corporation, the US national appliance and consumer-electronics distributor owned since December 2021 by DCC plc (LSE: DCC)
Scale
Almo turned over US$1.3B for US$75M of underlying EBITA in the year to 30 April 2021, with about 660 staff and nine warehouses, and was bought on an enterprise value of roughly US$610M. The DCC Technology division that holds it turned over £2,451.5M in the year to 31 March 2026 for £79.8M of adjusted operating profit.
Concentration
Not published for Canada. The 347 Canadian establishments include the manufacturers’ own sales subsidiaries, which are not separated out in the count, so no share can be computed for the independent distributor.
Others in the field
The manufacturers’ Canadian sales companies, which invoice the national retailers directly; the retail buying groups (Mega Group and the like) through which independent dealers buy around a distributor; appliance-parts distributors such as Reliable Parts and Marcone; and the roughly 225 Canadian establishments here with fewer than ten employees.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. The binding document is the manufacturer’s distribution agreement, which was not read.
Price movement
Thin and static: 23.2% gross margin and 4.5% operating profit across the Canadian group in 2024, against a 5.8% EBITA margin at Almo in its last independent year (US$75M on US$1.3B — the division is the analyst’s).
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — Nobody is rolling up Canadian appliance and electronics distributors. The one listed consolidator went the other way: DCC bought Almo for about US$610M in 2021 and has now formally started a sale process for the whole Technology division, intending to have agreed a sale by the end of calendar 2026. An owner here should not assume a strategic buyer is waiting.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Almo Corporation revenue, year to 30 April 2021A US$1.3B (£1.0B), the last figures published before DCC acquired it
Almo Corporation underlying EBITA, year to 30 April 2021A US$75M (£57M) — about 5.8% of revenue, the analyst’s division of two reported figures
Enterprise value DCC paid for AlmoA about US$610M (£462M) cash-free, debt-free — roughly 0.47× sales and 8.1× EBITA on the same two figures
DCC Technology revenue and profit, year to 31 March 2026A £2,451.5M of revenue, down 3.4%, for £79.8M of adjusted operating profit — a 3.3% margin
DCC Technology sale processA Formally commenced; DCC states its intention to have reached agreement for the sale of the business by the end of calendar 2026
Canadian group margins, 2024A 23.2% gross margin, 4.5% operating profit (Annual Wholesale Trade Survey, table 20-10-0077-01)
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$1.3B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 2 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Almo Corporation (DCC plc)LSE: DCCA $1.3B — year to 30 April 2021, the last year reported before the acquisition
DCC Technology (the division holding Almo)LSE: DCCA £2.5BGBP — divisional revenue, year to 31 March 2026; a sale process for the division is under way
Manufacturers’ Canadian sales subsidiariesC not disclosed — Samsung, LG, Whirlpool, Bosch and the rest sell direct to the national retailers; their Canadian sales companies publish no separate figures and sit inside the 347-establishment count
Retail buying groups (Mega Group and similar)C not disclosed — Independent appliance and electronics dealers buy through buying groups, which removes the distributor from the transaction; membership and volumes are not published and were not researched
Appliance parts distributors (Reliable Parts, Marcone)C not disclosed — The parts tail the record names as a surviving niche; both are private, publish no figures, and their ownership was not researched

GBP figures are shown in their own currency and are left out of any total below — converting them at today's rate would put a spot rate under a full year of trading.

Evidence

Evidence. Every figure here is read from Statistics Canada — the business counts and the Annual Wholesale Trade Survey, table 20-10-0077-01 [A]. The twelve-year comparisons are the analyst's arithmetic on that table. No Canadian company anchor was found: the distributors in this group are private or are the Canadian sales subsidiaries of global manufacturers, and none reports segment results; the anchor that does exist is the American one added with the competitive field, below. The mechanism offered for the stagnation — brands selling direct to national retailers — is industry knowledge and is UNVERIFIED; the series shows that revenue stalled, not why. The group may also include manufacturers' own sales companies, which would mean the independent's share is smaller than the total suggests; that was not tested. The cut factor is analyst judgment. The competitive field, added in the completion pass: Almo’s revenue, underlying EBITA, staff, warehouses and enterprise value are read from DCC plc’s own announcement of the acquisition, 15 December 2021 [A]; the Technology division’s FY2026 revenue and adjusted operating profit, and the statement that its sale process has formally commenced, from DCC’s results for the year ended 31 March 2026 [A]. Almo is a US business — it is the best available anchor for what this trade earns, not a measure of the Canadian market, and the margins it earns come with nine warehouses behind them. The Canadian names in the block are private or are subsidiaries that consolidate into a foreign parent; none publishes a figure, and they are tiered C for that reason.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Electro-Federation Canada (EFC)
electrofed.com · 230 members (2026-09)

'More than 230 member companies' (manufacturers, distributors, manufacturers' agents) in Canada's electrical and automation industries, per its Who We Are page.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaA
Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers (AHAM)
aham.org

Manufacturers of major, portable and floor-care appliances plus suppliers and partners; has an AHAM Canada council. No member count on its About page.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Consumer Technology Association (CTA)
cta.tech

US trade association for consumer technology makers, distributors and retailers; owns and produces CES. No member count found on its membership page.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventInternationalA
CES
ces.tech

CTA's annual consumer technology trade show, Las Vegas; CES 2027 runs January 6-9, per the site.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
TWICE
twice.com

US consumer electronics and appliance trade news (retailing, distribution, CES, CEDIA coverage); articles current at time of check.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
The Retail Observer
retailobserver.com

Monthly magazine for independent retailers of major appliances, consumer electronics and home furnishings; September 2026 digital issue linked from the home page.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
CEDIA Expo
cediaexpo.com

Annual custom-integration and AV trade show run with CEDIA (cedia.org); 2026 edition Denver, next Las Vegas September 7-10, 2027, per the site.

Checked 2026-09-22

Dealerscope's site (dealerscope.com) did not respond and no 2026 content was found, so it was left off. marketnews.ca, once Canada's consumer-electronics trade title, now shows only a re-syndicated CBC news feed and a 'coming soon' page and was dropped as repurposed.