Operating business57% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresOne thing must be truewillingness to pay

Pharmaceutical Wholesale Distributor

SoftwareTypically runs on Distribution ERP, EDI and marketplace integrations. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-19

The industry — Pharmaceuticals, toiletries, cosmetics and sundries merchant wholesalers

Base industry report for 4145 →
Establishments · CanadaA
1,538
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
65%
most common size: 1–4

Of 1,538 Canadian establishments with employees, 65% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Prove the value in money the buyer already counts. The need is real; what is unproven is that this buyer moves budget for it. That is a priced test with real customers, not a product problem.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDwillingness to pay — Executional — a better operator can move it.
How fragmented the field isA65% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 414, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Wholesale Trade, US · opened 2020
82.8%
1 year
64.3%
3 years
51.2%
5 years
34.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 6

The binding constraint — willingness to pay

Demand could not be steadier: distributors carry 91% of Canada's prescription medicines to more than 12,000 dispensing points, most orders inside 24 hours [C]. The cut is what the service is paid. McKesson's North American Pharmaceutical segment — which includes its Canadian distribution business — took $336.7B of revenue in fiscal 2026 and kept $3.5B of adjusted operating profit: a 1.03% margin, identical to the year before [A]. That is the world's largest operator, after decades of automation. In Canada the distributor's fee is not negotiated in a market at all; it is an allowance written into provincial drug-plan pricing, and the distributors' own association says that funding has been roughly flat for more than fifteen years while operating costs rose 23% across 2021–22 [C]. A payer that has held the fee through that has told an entrant what it will pay. On top sit a Health Canada establishment licence, controlled-substance security and cold chain — real costs, but survivable ones. The fee is what is not. The 1,538 establishments are mostly not full-line drug distributors: 636 employ fewer than five people, and many sit on the toiletries and cosmetics side, which this screen did not examine; the 3256 record covers how flat that category is.

Market scalenational

Full-line pharmaceutical distribution is a national network of regional warehouses serving chains whose supply contracts are let at head office, under a federal establishment licence and provincially set reimbursement. An entrant cannot win one city: the customer is a chain or a banner, and the price is a provincial schedule.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 1,538 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 636 employ 1–4 people, 13 employ 500 or more
McKesson North American Pharmaceutical revenue, fiscal 2026 (to 31 March 2026)A US$336.7B, up 11%
McKesson North American Pharmaceutical adjusted segment operating profit, fiscal 2026A US$3.5B — an adjusted segment operating margin of 1.03%, the same as fiscal 2025
McKesson's sale of its Canadian Rexall and Well.ca retail businessesA A US$667M net loss recorded in fiscal 2025 to remeasure the disposal group to fair value; the sale closed 30 December 2024. It was the retail pharmacy business, not McKesson Canada's distribution business, which McKesson kept
Share of Canadian prescription medicines delivered by distributorsC 91%, across about 240,000 orders a week to more than 12,000 dispensing points, more than 80% of them delivered within 24 hours (CAPDM, citing IQVIA Canada analysis, July 2025)
Distributor funding against costC Operating costs up 23% on 2021–2022 data while funding was 'relatively stagnant for more than 15 years' — the association's own advocacy claim
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
McKesson Canada, inside McKesson’s North American Pharmaceutical segment (NYSE: MCK)
Scale
The segment took US$336.7B of revenue in fiscal 2026 and kept US$3.5B of adjusted operating profit — a 1.03% margin, identical to fiscal 2025. It is overwhelmingly US revenue with Canada inside it; McKesson does not report Canadian distribution separately.
Concentration
Not published as a company share. What is published is the sector’s: distributors carry about 91% of Canada’s prescription medicines to more than 12,000 dispensing points, on the association’s own figures [C].
Others in the field
Kohl & Frisch, the large independent Canadian full-line distributor; the banner groups that run their own distribution rather than buy it — Shoppers Drug Mart, Jean Coutu, Familiprix; Cencora’s Canadian specialty arm Innomar Strategies and Cardinal Health Canada in the specialty and hospital lanes; and, in the logistics layer beside them, UPS, which bought Andlauer Healthcare Group outright in 2025.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. The binding instruments are the chain supply contract and the provincial reimbursement schedule; neither was read.
Price movement
Set by the payer, not negotiated: the distribution allowance is written into provincial drug-plan pricing, and the distributors’ association says funding has been roughly flat for more than fifteen years while operating costs rose 23% across 2021–22 [C]. At the top of the trade, McKesson’s segment margin did not move at all between fiscal 2025 and fiscal 2026.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — The money in this business is moving into the logistics layer rather than the wholesale one. UPS paid CAD $55.00 a share — about C$2.2B, US$1.6B — for Andlauer Healthcare Group, a Canadian healthcare 3PL and cold-chain carrier, completing in November 2025. That is what a buyer will pay for the delivery network around the medicine. Nobody has paid a comparable price for a Canadian full-line wholesaler, and no such transaction was found.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

McKesson North American Pharmaceutical revenue, fiscal 2026A US$336.7B, up 11%
McKesson North American Pharmaceutical adjusted segment operating marginA US$3.5B of adjusted operating profit — 1.03% of revenue, the same as fiscal 2025
UPS acquisition of Andlauer Healthcare GroupA CAD $55.00 per share in cash, about C$2.2B (US$1.6B); completed November 2025
Share of Canadian prescription medicines delivered by distributorsC About 91%, to more than 12,000 dispensing points (CAPDM, July 2025 — the association’s own claim)
Distributor funding against costC Funding ‘relatively stagnant for more than 15 years’ while operating costs rose 23% on 2021–22 data — the association’s advocacy claim
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$336.7B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 5 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 5 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
McKesson CanadaNYSE: MCKA $336.7B — North American Pharmaceutical segment revenue, fiscal 2026 — overwhelmingly US, with Canadian distribution inside it and not separately reported
Kohl & FrischC not disclosed — The large independent Canadian full-line distributor; privately held and publishes nothing
Banner-owned distribution (Shoppers Drug Mart, Jean Coutu, Familiprix)C not disclosed — The largest pharmacy banners supply their own stores, which removes those dispensing points from an independent wholesaler’s addressable market; none reports distribution separately and the ownership of each banner was not re-verified for this record
Cencora (Innomar Strategies) and Cardinal Health CanadaC not disclosed — Specialty, biologics and hospital supply rather than full-line retail distribution; neither breaks out Canada, and neither was researched for this record
UPS Healthcare / Andlauer Healthcare GroupNYSE: UPSA not disclosed — UPS bought Andlauer for CAD $55.00 a share, about C$2.2B, completing November 2025 — healthcare logistics and cold chain, not full-line wholesaling, and the clearest recent price for an asset adjacent to this industry

Evidence

Evidence. McKesson's segment revenue, adjusted operating profit and margin were read from the fiscal 2026 results exhibit filed with the SEC [A], as was the fiscal 2025 loss on its Canadian disposal. McKesson's fiscal 2026 10-K states that the segment covers distribution and logistics in the U.S. and Canada, and that the Canadian operations moved into it in the second quarter of fiscal 2026 from the former International segment [A]. That segment is overwhelmingly US revenue with Canada inside it; McKesson does not report Canadian distribution separately, so no Canadian margin is on this record. The CAPDM figures come from the association's July 2025 release about a report it commissioned [C]: it is an interested party arguing for higher fees, and the underlying IQVIA analysis was not opened. The provincial allowance schedules themselves were not read, so the statement that the fee is payer-set rests on general knowledge of Canadian drug pricing, not on a document opened for this screen. Toiletries, cosmetics and sundries wholesaling (414520) was not examined. The cut factor is analyst judgment. The competitive field, added in the completion pass: the Andlauer terms — CAD $55.00 a share, about C$2.2B (US$1.6B), completed November 2025 — are read from UPS’s own press release [A]. Andlauer is named because it prices the adjacent asset, not because it is a competing wholesaler: it is a healthcare third-party logistics and cold-chain business, and that release publishes no revenue, network size or customer count for it. The other names in the block are private, or do not report Canada separately; no figure is claimed for any of them, and the ownership of the pharmacy banners was not re-verified here. No transaction price for a Canadian full-line pharmaceutical wholesaler was found, and the record does not imply one exists.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Association for Pharmacy Distribution Management (CAPDM)
capdm.ca

Represents Canadian healthcare distributors; Member Forum Sept 2026 and Annual Conference 2026 on site. No member count published.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Healthcare Distribution Alliance (HDA)
hda.org

US primary pharmaceutical distributors' body since 1876; public member directory, no count on site.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
HDA Distribution Management Conference and Expo
hda.org

March 7-10, 2027 Palm Desert; HDA calls it its largest supply-chain event with 600+ attendees.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
International Federation of Pharmaceutical Wholesalers (IFPW)
ifpw.com

Federation of pharmaceutical wholesalers; biennial General Membership Meeting; member list public, no count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Pharmaceutical Commerce
pharmaceuticalcommerce.com

Biopharma trade press with 3PL, wholesaler and traceability coverage; articles dated Sept 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Canadian Healthcare Network
canadianhealthcarenetwork.ca

Online news community for Canadian pharmacy and medicine professionals; the distributor's customer side.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Neighbourhood Pharmacies
neighbourhoodpharmacies.ca

Association of Canada's pharmacy chains, banners and partners, i.e. the distributors' customers; members listed.

Checked 2026-09-22

No independent operator forum was found; the trade is a handful of companies that talk through CAPDM and HDA.