Operating business29% entry signalMarket screen6 sourced figuresStructure decidesentry cost

Machinery & Equipment Dealership

Prepared 2026-09-09

The industry — Machinery, equipment and supplies merchant wholesalers

Base industry report for 417 →
Establishments · CanadaA
14,298
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
60%
most common size: 1–4

Of 14,298 Canadian establishments with employees, 60% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDentry cost — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA60% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 417, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Wholesale Trade, US · opened 2020
82.8%
1 year
64.3%
3 years
51.2%
5 years
34.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 6

The binding constraint — entry cost

The dealership is a floor-plan financing business with a parts counter attached: inventory is carried on credit, the manufacturer sets territory and stocking obligations, and the real margin is in parts and service rather than the machines. A new entrant cannot obtain a franchise for a line worth having — those territories are held and are usually sold with the dealership, not granted. Caterpillar's Canadian map is the clearest illustration: it is divided between exactly two listed dealers, and there is no third door. Toromont holds Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba and most of Nunavut, and took C$4,698.6M of Equipment Group revenue at a 13.2% operating margin in 2025 [A]. Finning holds Western Canada, calls itself the world's largest Caterpillar dealer, and took C$10,591M of revenue with C$5,934M of it — 56% — in product support [A], which is the parts-and-service annuity the machines exist to create. An entrant's only route to a line of that quality is to buy a dealership from someone who already holds one, at a price the manufacturer must approve.

Market scaleregionalunit: one franchised territory

The manufacturer draws the boundary. A dealership is granted an exclusive area and may not sell outside it, which makes the market a map rather than an economy — and makes an existing dealership the only way in.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 14,298 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); 5,392 employ 1–4, 3,204 employ 5–9, and 94 employ 200 or more; Ontario 5,334, Quebec 2,912, Alberta 2,300, British Columbia 1,901
Boundary mechanismA Manufacturer-granted exclusive territory, transferred with the dealership rather than sold separately. Caterpillar's Canadian map is split between two listed dealers: Toromont's territory is Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba and most of Nunavut; Finning holds Western Canada and describes itself as the world's largest Caterpillar dealer
Toromont Industries revenue, 2025A C$5,202.8M consolidated, up 4% from C$5,021.2M; Equipment Group revenue C$4,698.6M, with new equipment sales up 1%, rentals up 9% and product support up 4%
Toromont Equipment Group operating income, 2025A C$617.2M — a 13.2% operating margin, against 13.5% in 2024; consolidated net earnings C$496.6M, down 2%
Finning International revenue and margin, 2025A Revenue C$10,591M, up 7% from C$9,903M; product support revenue C$5,934M from C$5,480M; adjusted EBIT C$869M at an 8.2% margin, against 8.3% in 2024
Finning equipment backlog, 31 December 2025A C$3.1B, described as an all-time high and up 20% from December 2024
National market sizeUNVERIFIED Not applicable — a dealer cannot sell into another dealer's territory
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
It depends on the line, and that is the finding. For Caterpillar in Canada there are exactly two: Toromont Industries in the east and Finning International (TSX: FTT) in the west.
Scale
Toromont 2025 revenue C$5,202.8M, +4%, with Equipment Group revenue of C$4,698.6M at a 13.2% operating margin and consolidated net earnings of C$496.6M. Finning 2025 revenue C$10,591M, +7%, adjusted EBIT C$869M (8.2%), product support C$5,934M, and a record C$3.1B equipment backlog at year end.
Concentration
Not published as a share, and share is the wrong measure. The relevant fact is territorial: between them the two Caterpillar dealers cover the country for one brand, and neither may sell new equipment into the other's map.
Others in the field
By brand rather than by market — Brandt Tractor (John Deere construction and forestry, privately held, Regina), Wajax (Hitachi and a long multi-line book), SMS Equipment (Komatsu), Strongco under Portugal's Nors group (Volvo, Manitou), and the long tail of short-line, material-handling and specialty dealers that is most of the 14,298 establishments.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. The lock-in runs the other way here: it is the dealer who is locked to the manufacturer, through stocking obligations and a territory the manufacturer can decline to transfer.
Price movement
Not measured at the machine. Toromont's Equipment Group operating margin slipped from 13.5% to 13.2% and Finning's adjusted EBIT margin from 8.3% to 8.2%, both on growing revenue.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Territories change hands as whole companies, not as assets. Brandt Tractor took Cervus Equipment — 64 dealership locations across Canada, Australia and New Zealand — private in 2021 at C$19.50 a share, about C$302M. The buyer of a dealership is another dealer the manufacturer already trusts, which is also what caps the price an owner can get for one.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Toromont revenue, 2025A C$5,202.8M consolidated; Equipment Group C$4,698.6M
Toromont Equipment Group operating margin, 2025A C$617.2M of operating income — 13.2%, against 13.5% in 2024
Finning revenue and adjusted EBIT, 2025A Revenue C$10,591M, up 7%; adjusted EBIT C$869M, an 8.2% margin
Finning product support revenue, 2025A C$5,934M — 56% of total revenue
Brandt Tractor / Cervus Equipment, 2021B C$19.50 a share in cash, about C$302M, for 64 dealership locations in Canada, Australia and New Zealand
Canadian establishments with employeesA 14,298, of which 5,392 employ one to four people (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$17.9B

Disclosed revenue from 3 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 6 named · 3 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Finning InternationalTSX: FTTA $10.6B — FY2025 revenue; the world's largest Caterpillar dealer, holding Western Canada
Toromont IndustriesA $5.2B — FY2025 consolidated revenue, of which C$4,698.6M is the Equipment Group; TSX-listed, holding Caterpillar's eastern Canadian territory
WajaxB $2.1B — FY2025 revenue. Read from Wajax's 2025 results release on the 4172 record in this research and carried across, not re-opened here.
Brandt TractorB not disclosed — Privately held John Deere construction and forestry dealer. Acquired Cervus Equipment's 64 dealership locations in 2021 for about C$302M at C$19.50 a share; publishes no revenue.
SMS Equipment / Strongco (Nors)C not disclosed — Komatsu and Volvo/Manitou dealers respectively; both privately held with no Canadian revenue published, and neither was researched for this record.
The long tail of short-line dealersA not disclosed — 14,298 Canadian establishments with employees; 5,392 employ one to four people and 3,204 employ five to nine (Statistics Canada, December 2023).

Evidence

Evidence. Toromont's 2025 consolidated and Equipment Group revenue, its Equipment Group operating income and margin, its net earnings and the list of provinces in its Caterpillar territory were read from the company's own fourth-quarter and full-year results release of 10 February 2026 [A]. Finning's revenue, product support revenue, adjusted EBIT and margin, its C$3.1B all-time-high equipment backlog and its description of itself as the world's largest Caterpillar dealer were read from its results release of the same day [A]. Together these establish the territorial structure directly rather than by assertion — one brand, two listed dealers, no overlap — and they establish what a dealer at scale earns. A caution on one number: Toromont's release carries more than one backlog figure, a C$1.5B one and a C$342.6M one, and which belongs to the Equipment Group and which to CIMCO was not confirmed, so neither is quoted on this record. What these figures do NOT establish: what a dealership costs to buy, what floor-plan terms a first-time owner would be offered, or whether a manufacturer would approve one. The Brandt–Cervus price of about C$302M at C$19.50 a share is from wire and trade coverage [B]; no circular or company release was opened, and Brandt publishes nothing. The 14,298 establishments span everything from Caterpillar dealers to two-person short-line and material-handling shops and that split is not published, so the count sizes the population and not the opportunity. The cut factor is analyst judgment.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationNorth AmericaA
Associated Equipment Distributors (AED)
aednet.org

US/Canada construction and industrial equipment dealer association; the Canadian Equipment Dealers Association (ex-CEEDA) merged into it in Nov 2024; holds a Parliament Hill Day in Ottawa

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaA
North American Equipment Dealers Association (NAEDA)
naeda.com · 3,500 members (2026-09)

'represents over 3,500 equipment dealers' in ag, industrial, forestry and outdoor power, per About page; Canadian office in Calgary, covers nine provinces

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
AED Summit
aednet.org

AED's annual dealer convention and Condex trade show; 2027 edition Jan 25-27, Orlando

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
CONEXPO-CON/AGG
conexpoconagg.com

Triennial Las Vegas construction equipment show run by AEM; next edition 2029

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
National Heavy Equipment Show
nhes.ca

Canada's biennial heavy equipment show at the International Centre, Toronto; next April 27-28, 2028

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Heavy Equipment Guide
heavyequipmentguide.ca

Canadian construction-equipment magazine and news site (Baum Publications)

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Farm Equipment
farm-equipment.com

Lessiter Media magazine written for farm equipment dealership owners and managers

Checked 2026-09-22
ForumNorth AmericaC
Heavy Equipment Forums
heavyequipmentforums.com

Blocked automated access (Cloudflare); search results show threads from August and September 2026 on excavators, engines and Conexpo

Checked 2026-09-22

The old Canada East Equipment Dealers Association domain (ceeda.ca, now redirecting to canadianequipmentdealers.org) serves a casino page and is dropped; the body merged into AED. westerneda.com (Western Equipment Dealers Association, merged into NAEDA) no longer serves the association and is dropped. Equipment Journal (equipmentjournal.com) is also live.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.

No vertical software market has been recorded along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other records in this industry

Operating businessScreenedfiled at 4171
Farm Equipment DealershipStructure decides
binding constraint: capital intensity

The 417 Machinery & Equipment Dealership record already makes the first argument: the territory is granted by the manufacturer and changes hands with the dealership, so an entrant buys a franchise or has none. This record is about what happens after that gate — what the franchise obliges its holder to carry. Titan Machinery, a listed dealer group built on CNH's Case IH and New Holland lines, is the public ledger. In the year to January 2026 it took $2,427M of revenue and lost $54.2M, after losing $36.9M the year before [A]. It ended the year holding $903M of inventory — having cut it by $206M — against $554M of floorplan payable, and paid $24.1M of floorplan interest [A]. The mechanism is the manufacturer's: stocking commitments are made when grain prices are high, machines arrive when they are not, and the dealer finances the difference while used trade-ins lose value on the lot. Management is modelling agriculture-segment revenue down a further 15–20% in fiscal 2027 [A]. Parts and service do carry a dealership through — that is why they survive — but only one with the balance sheet to sit on a third of a year's sales in iron. Western Canada's equivalent, Rocky Mountain Dealerships, left the public market in 2020 at C$7.41 a share, about C$127.9M [A], bought by its own management. The size bands agree: only 419 of 1,521 establishments employ fewer than five people, while 373 employ twenty to forty-nine — this is an industry of substantial stores, not start-ups. Lawn-and-garden and short-line dealers, the likeliest small entrants, were not examined.

NAICS 41715 vendors named12 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 4172
Industrial & Heavy Equipment DistributorOne thing must be true
binding constraint: distribution

This is the largest group in wholesale machinery — 5,803 establishments — and it holds two different businesses. The heavy-equipment half (construction, forestry, mining) is the franchised dealership that the 417 Machinery & Equipment Dealership record cuts on territory, and nothing here changes that. The other is industrial supply: bearings, hydraulics, power transmission, pumps, safety and MRO consumables sold to plants and mines, where specialists plainly do get started. Across the group as a whole 3,400 of the 5,803 establishments employ fewer than ten people, though how those divide between the two halves is not published. Wajax spans both and shows what they have in common. Its 2025 revenue was C$2,145M at a 19.2% gross margin and a 5.3% adjusted EBIT margin, carrying C$548M of inventory even after cutting C$126M [A]; industrial parts were C$553M, down 3.4% [A]. And its results still describe the terms of its direct distribution relationship with Hitachi, reset in March 2022 [A] — a supplier's decision about its channel, material enough to a two-billion-dollar distributor that it is still named in its disclosures four years on. That is the shape of the whole group: the distributor's franchise is the manufacturer's line, and the manufacturer decides who holds it. In heavy equipment that closes the door. In industrial supply it leaves it ajar — an entrant with technical knowledge of one product family can sometimes win a second-tier line or a territory an incumbent neglects. This screen did not find a clean kill for that niche; a full study would test which lines are open and what a specialist earns.

NAICS 41727 vendors named12 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 4173
IT & Electronics DistributorStructure decides
binding constraint: capital intensity

Reachable on paper: 2,142 Canadian establishments, 932 of them with fewer than five staff, and a product that needs no factory. The cut is that a distributor's real product is credit and inventory, sold at a seven-point gross margin. TD SYNNEX, the largest broadline IT distributor, closed fiscal 2025 on $62.5B of revenue, a 6.99% gross margin and a 2.26% operating margin [A]. To earn that $4.37B of gross profit it carried $11.7B of receivables and $9.5B of inventory at year end [A] — roughly five dollars of working capital for every dollar of gross profit. The Canadian series says the same thing from the other side: the group turned over $61.4B in 2023, down 2.1%, with cost of goods at 81.9% of expenses [A]. The vendor sets the price list and the rebate; the reseller expects to be carried on terms; the distributor's spread is what is left for funding the gap. An entrant borrows against a smaller book and is refused direct authorisation by the vendors whose lines resellers actually need, so it buys from the incumbents it means to compete with. That is where the 932 micro-firms sit: sub-distributors, component brokers and single-line importers living in gaps the broadliners do not bother with. This record differs from the 417 dealership screen, where the franchise territory is the barrier; here nobody grants a territory, and the balance sheet is the moat. The managed-service adjacency in 5415 is where a small entrant's labour, rather than its borrowing capacity, is what gets paid.

NAICS 41735 vendors named10 sourced figuresOpen →
Operating businessScreenedfiled at 4179
Dental & Professional Equipment Supply HouseOne thing must be true
binding constraint: incumbent vulnerability

A broad group — office machines, restaurant and laundry equipment, dental, medical and laboratory supply — and healthy in aggregate: $55.3B of Canadian operating revenue in 2023, up 4.3%, at a 7.6% pre-tax margin [A]. This screen examines the professional supply house (41793), the niche with a public anchor, and says plainly that office, store and service-establishment equipment were not examined. Unlike the 417 dealership record, nobody here is granted an exclusive territory; the barrier is of a different kind. Patterson Companies, one of the largest full-line dental supply houses in North America, reported $6.57B of net sales in fiscal 2024 with internal growth of 0.8%, dental internal sales flat, a 21.0% gross margin and a 3.9% operating margin [A]. It was then taken private for about $4.1B, a 49% premium — announced December 2024, completed 17 April 2025, after which the company deregistered, so fiscal 2024 is the last year it will ever report [A]. Read together: a flat market in which the buyer still paid up, because the customer relationship is sticky in ways a catalogue price cannot break. The full-line house sells the chair, installs it, sends the technician when it fails, and delivers consumables next day on one invoice; the practice that tries a cheaper gloves-and-burs supplier still needs the incumbent for everything that has a service contract. An entrant can undercut the consumables and cannot replace the service network, and the consumables are exactly what the practice can already price-shop online. The customers meanwhile are consolidating into group practices that negotiate supply centrally, which helps the largest supplier, not the newest. The 2,053 micro-firms in the count were not examined; nothing here establishes whether a single-line specialist can live under that umbrella.

NAICS 41797 vendors named12 sourced figuresOpen →