Packaging & Janitorial Supply Distributor
The industry — Paper, paper product and disposable plastic product merchant wholesalers
Base industry report for 4182 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 918
- Under 10 employeesA
- 64%
Of 918 Canadian establishments with employees, 64% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Execution decidesThe hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.
Find something that compounds. Entry is achievable and so is the first customer; what is missing is a reason the next entrant cannot repeat it as easily as you did.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 9
The binding constraint — defensibility
Boxes, films, towels, cups and copy paper delivered to factories, offices and restaurants from a regional warehouse. It is reachable: a lease, two trucks and a manufacturer willing to sell to you, and 381 of the 918 Canadian establishments have fewer than five people. The group is real money — $14.9B of Canadian operating revenue in 2023 at a 7.5% pre-tax margin, though down 4.1% on the year [A]. The cut is that nothing the distributor sells is its own. Veritiv, the last big listed distributor in this trade, reported $7.15B of net sales and a record 7.2% adjusted EBITDA margin in 2022, and within months accepted a take-private at $170 a share, about $2.6B [A] — roughly five times that record year's adjusted EBITDA, which is the market's own statement of how durable it thinks the spread is. It had already sold its Canadian business in May 2022 [A]. The margin in this trade is a purchasing rebate earned by volume and handed partly back to the customer in contract bids; the entrant buys the same case of towels at a worse price and sells it to a buyer who puts the contract out again next year. The customer's switching cost is one phone call. What builds a position is density — more drops per route in one city — and that is precisely the asset the private-equity roll-ups are paying to assemble, branch by branch. A small distributor in this group is best understood as an acquisition target, not an entry strategy; the honest way in is to buy an existing route book, where the scrap-yard record next door (4181) turns on a site permit rather than a customer list. The distribution software sold to this trade is screened separately.
The goods are bulky and cheap relative to their cube, so freight cost caps how far a case of towels or a pallet of cartons can travel from the warehouse. Competition happens between branches serving the same metropolitan delivery area; national accounts exist but are served branch by branch.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 7 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 7 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| BunzlLSE: BNZLA | not disclosed | — | FY2025 group revenue £11,845.4M, North America £6,276.7M — left unconverted rather than presented as dollars. Runs Bunzl Canada and describes itself as the consolidator of a fragmented market |
| VeritivA | $7.1B | — | 2022 net sales, US$ — its last full year as a listed company — Taken private by CD&R for about US$2.6B in 2023; had already sold Veritiv Canada in May 2022 |
| Imperial DadeC | not disclosed | — | Private-equity-backed roll-up in packaging and janitorial supply, active in Canada; publishes nothing |
| Sysco / Gordon Food ServiceC | not disclosed | — | Foodservice distributors that carry disposables on the same truck as the food — the adjacent competitor an entrant does not expect |
| Swish Maintenance / Sani MarcC | not disclosed | — | Canadian sanitation-supply houses; privately held, not researched for this record |
| NETWORK Services Company / AFFLINKC | not disclosed | — | Buying groups — what an independent joins to get near a national purchase price, and the reason the margin is a rebate |
| The independent branchesA | not disclosed | — | 918 Canadian establishments with employees, 381 of them under five people and only 26 with 100 or more (Statistics Canada, December 2023) |
Evidence
Evidence. Veritiv's 2022 net sales, adjusted EBITDA and the Veritiv Canada divestiture date were read from its fourth-quarter 2022 results release (8-K exhibit, 28 February 2023) [A]. The $170 per share price, the 31% premium and the approximately $2.6B valuation were read from Veritiv's own announcement and completion releases on EDGAR [A]. Canadian revenue and margin are from Statistics Canada's Annual Wholesale Trade Survey via ISED's Canadian Industry Statistics page for NAICS 4182, 2023 preliminary [A]. Limits: Veritiv is a US business, the multiple is my arithmetic on equity value rather than enterprise value, and a one-year revenue fall after a 17% rise the year before does not establish a trend. The claims that margin is a volume rebate and that roll-ups are the natural buyers are industry knowledge, not sourced; no Canadian branch-level economics were found. The stationery half of the group (41821) was not separately examined. The cut factor is analyst judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Homepage states 'more than 11,000 companies, organizations, and individuals'; includes distributors, wholesalers, manufacturers and BSCs.
Canadian division of ISSA (absorbed the former CSSA); has a Distributor Council; hosts Canada Night at ISSA Show. No member count stated.
Nov 17-19, 2026, Mandalay Bay, Las Vegas; the main jan-san distributor/manufacturer show. No attendee figure stated.
Buying/marketing cooperative of independent packaging distributors; site states '80 locations across North America'. No member-company count stated.
Toronto-based packaging body; site states 'over 2,500 members', mostly brands, designers and converters rather than distributors; co-runs PACK EX Montreal.
Sanitation Canada and Facility Cleaning & Maintenance sites did not resolve and were dropped; r/janitorial (about 4k, per GummySearch) is cleaning staff, not distributors, so it was left out.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.