Independent Crop Input Retailer
The industry — Agricultural supplies merchant wholesalers
Base industry report for 4183 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 1,361
- Under 10 employeesA
- 49%
Of 1,361 Canadian establishments with employees, 49% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 7
The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability
Seed, feed, crop protection and fertiliser sold to farms from a rural branch. The size-band shape is unlike the rest of wholesale: only 365 of 1,361 establishments have fewer than five staff, and the typical unit is a ten-to-fifty-person branch in Saskatchewan, Alberta or rural Ontario. The group is large and violently cyclical — $35.6B of Canadian operating revenue in 2021, $53.3B in 2022, $46.1B in 2023, at a 5% pre-tax margin with cost of goods at 91% of expenses [A]. The 411 grain-handling record already makes the capital argument, spring credit against an autumn harvest, and it applies here. This record adds who the entrant would be selling against. Nutrien's Retail segment reported $17.6B of sales, $4.6B of gross margin and $1.74B of adjusted EBITDA in 2025; of that gross margin, $1.10B — 24% — came from proprietary products and another $376M from Nutrien Financial [A]. The largest retailer is owned by the manufacturer of the fertiliser it sells, earns a quarter of its margin on house brands an independent cannot stock, and earns more again by lending the farmer the money. The other incumbent type on the Prairies is the co-operative, where the customer owns the competitor and takes the margin back as patronage. An independent sells the same glyphosate and the same urea to a farmer who prices every tonne across three dealers. What is left to it is agronomic service and a relationship, which is a real business for an existing family dealer and no basis for a new one. The distribution software sold to this trade is screened separately.
Fertiliser and seed are heavy, time-critical and applied in a window of days, so a farm buys from branches it can reach with its own truck in season. Prices reference global nutrient markets, but the contest for the farm's business is between the two or three sheds within that drive.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 4 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nutrien Ag SolutionsNYSE/TSX: NTRA | $17.6B | — | 2025 Retail segment sales, US$ — North America, Australia and South America, not Canada alone — Owned by the fertiliser manufacturer; a quarter of its retail gross margin comes from house brands an independent cannot stock |
| Federated Co-operatives / UFA Co-operative / Sollio AgricultureC | not disclosed | — | The co-operative channel, where the farm customer is also the shareholder and the margin returns as patronage; annual reports not opened for this record |
| Richardson Pioneer / Viterra / CargillC | not disclosed | — | Grain handlers selling crop inputs beside the elevator, so the same farm is served on both sides of the year; Canadian retail lines not separately disclosed |
| The independent branchesA | not disclosed | — | 1,361 Canadian establishments with employees; only 365 under five people, 492 in the 10–49 band; Ontario 309, Alberta 296, Saskatchewan 279 (Statistics Canada, December 2023) |
Evidence
Evidence. Nutrien's Retail sales, gross margin by product line, proprietary-product margin, Nutrien Financial and the working-capital ratio were read from the segment tables in its full-year 2025 results release of 18 February 2026 [A]. Nutrien Retail spans North America, Australia and South America, so these are not Canadian figures; they establish where the largest incumbent's margin comes from, not what a Prairie branch earns. Canadian revenue, margin and expense shares are from Statistics Canada's Annual Wholesale Trade Survey via ISED's Canadian Industry Statistics page for NAICS 4183, 2023 preliminary [A]; the group total is inflated by large grain-company and co-operative wholesalers and cannot be divided into a per-branch number. The description of co-operative patronage and of farmers price-shopping across dealers is industry knowledge, not sourced. Feed (41831) has different economics and was not separately examined. The cut factor is analyst judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
National body for Canadian ag retailers (fertilizer, crop protection, seed); founded 1995. Runs the annual CAAR Connect Convention. No member count published.
Represents crop input, grain elevator and feed businesses at 340 Ontario locations plus 173 associated supplier businesses, per its overview page.
US trade association for agricultural retailers and distributors; holds the annual ARA Conference and Expo. No member count on its About page.
Manufacturers, wholesalers and distributors of fertilizer; runs the 4R nutrient stewardship program retailers certify under.
Independent Canadian farm discussion forum (commodity marketing, inputs, equipment); posts dated the day checked.
Outdoor farm show at Langham, Saskatchewan; site states over 550 exhibitors and 100 acres; next edition July 20-22, 2027.
Annual conference of the US Agricultural Retailers Association; 2026 edition site reached from aradc.org/conference.
AgTalk (talk.newagtalk.com), RealAgriculture and CropLife magazine all block automated access and were not confirmed here.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.