Vertical software45% entry signalMarket screen2 sourced figuresOne thing must be trueincumbent vulnerability

EDI & Trading Partner Integration

Prepared 2026-09-09

The buyer population — Business-to-business electronic markets, and agents and brokers

Base industry report for 419 →
Establishments · CanadaA
3,938
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
84%
most common size: 1–4

Of 3,938 Canadian establishments with employees, 84% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDincumbent vulnerability — Executional — a better operator can move it.
Measured inputsUNVERIFIEDnot applied — This is a software market. The industry’s business counts describe its BUYERS, not the market being entered, so they are left out of the signal.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Wholesale Trade, US · opened 2020
82.8%
1 year
64.3%
3 years
51.2%
5 years
34.4%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability

SPS Commerce's asset is not software but a map: thousands of pre-built retailer connections, each one negotiated and maintained, which a new entrant would have to rebuild connection by connection while the retailer keeps changing the spec. At $751.5M growing 17.8% with a $231.4M EBITDA line, it is also funded well enough to buy anything that works.

Angel-backed companies3
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixAB 1, ON 1, QC 1

Sectors joined: Marketplace · Workforce Marketplace

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

The incumbent

Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.

Incumbent
SPS Commerce (NASDAQ: SPSC)
Scale
2025 revenue $751.5M, +17.8% YoY, with adjusted EBITDA of $231.4M
Share
No published share; the moat is the installed retailer connection library rather than a share position
Challengers
TrueCommerce, Cleo, Orderful, DiCentral (TrueCommerce), EDI departments inside NetSuite and Dynamics partners
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not assessed
Is the buyer consolidating?
No
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

SPS Commerce revenue, 2025A $751.5M, +17.8% YoY
SPS Commerce adjusted EBITDA, 2025A $231.4M
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$752M

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 2 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 2 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
SPS CommerceNASDAQ: SPSCA $752M — FY2025 revenue
TrueCommerce / Cleo / OrderfulC not disclosed — Private; no disclosed revenue

Evidence

Evidence. Incumbent financials and market-share figures on this record ARE sourced (tier A/B, see the financials block). The cut factor and reasoning remain analyst judgment and were not tested against customers.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
GS1 Canada
gs1ca.org

Canadian member organization of GS1; runs the barcode/GTIN subscriptions and community groups that retailer EDI compliance is built on.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
GS1 US
gs1us.org

US member organization of GS1; standards body behind the item identifiers used in retail EDI.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaA
X12 (Accredited Standards Committee X12)
x12.org

Standards body that maintains the ASC X12 EDI transaction sets; membership is by organization. Member count not stated on open pages.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
GS1 Connect
connect.gs1us.org

GS1 US annual supply chain conference; next edition May 24-26, 2027, Denver.

Checked 2026-09-22
SubredditInternationalC
r/EDI
reddit.com

Subreddit for EDI analysts and integrators. Reddit blocked automated access (429); search results show it active.

Checked 2026-09-22

No Canadian body is specific to EDI; GS1 Canada is the closest. Vendor-run forums (IBM webMethods community, SPS/TrueCommerce blogs) were left out as marketing channels.

↔

The businesses it sells to

Operating-business records filed along the same branch of NAICS — the customers of this software, screened as businesses in their own right.

Operating businessScreenedfiled at 4191
Manufacturers’ Agency & B2B MarketplaceExecution decides
binding constraint: defensibility

The pre-screen called this the most interesting code in wholesale, and the numbers half agree. An agent sells a principal's line on commission and never owns the goods: no inventory, no receivables beyond the commission cheque. 3,938 Canadian establishments, 2,676 of them with fewer than five people. The federal small-business benchmark for agents and brokers shows 5,793 businesses averaging $650K of revenue and $86K of net profit — a 13.2% margin, with the top quartile averaging $2.0M and $222K and the bottom quartile losing money [A]. That is a good living reached with almost no capital. The marketplace variant is better still once liquid: Liquidity Services' GovDeals segment took $87.4M of revenue on $903M of gross merchandise volume — a 9.7% take — at a 92.7% segment direct profit margin [A]. The cut is what the business owns when it works. The agent's asset is a line held at the principal's pleasure. The agency builds the territory at its own cost; once the volume justifies a salaried rep, the principal can end the agreement on short notice and keep the customers, who were always buying the principal's product. Success is the trigger for termination. The marketplace faces the mirror problem: it is worth nothing until both sides are present, and GovDeals got its sellers through government surplus contracts, not through a launch. This is not a clean kill. It is a verdict that the agency is enterable as self-employment and weak as an asset. A full study would test, in one product category, the actual termination and post-termination commission terms principals sign, and whether any category has buyers fragmented enough that the principal never wants them direct. The EDI software on this branch is screened separately.

NAICS 41916 vendors named10 sourced figuresOpen →