Operating business21% entry signalMarket screen7 sourced figuresStructure decidescapital intensity

Specialty Food Retail

SoftwareTypically runs on Grocery point of sale, scale and perishables management, loyalty. · no software market screened here yet — the industry page
Prepared 2026-09-18

The industry — Specialty food retailers

Base industry report for 4452 →
Establishments · CanadaA
7,893
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
67%
most common size: 1–4
Establishments · USA
23,793
Employment · USA
164,433
6.9 per establishment
Payroll · USA
$4.5B
$27k per employee

Of 7,893 Canadian establishments with employees, 67% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDcapital intensity — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA67% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Fragmented — there is share to take and no scale operator to displace.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDmedium capital — The structural profile of subsector 445, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Retail Trade, US · opened 2020
88%
1 year
72.3%
3 years
59.8%
5 years
44.2%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 2

The binding constraint — capital intensity

A butcher, cheesemonger, bakery or ethnic grocer is small-format and genuinely reachable — and that is most of what is attractive about it. The cut is the shape of the money: a lease, a fit-out, refrigeration and opening inventory are all spent before the first sale, the inventory spoils, and the recovery comes back one basket at a time from a catchment measured in minutes of walking or driving. Gross margin on food retail does not stretch far enough to service that fit-out quickly, and the landlord — not the operator — captures the value of a location that works, at renewal. This is the same capital-shape cut applied across the retail records in this research, and nothing about specialty food exempts it.

Market scalelocalunit: one store catchment — the households that will routinely walk or drive to this address for one category of food

A specialty food store sells perishable goods to people who came to the street it is on. Its market is a catchment, and a national category total says nothing about whether this address supports a shop.

Boundary mechanismB Walk or short drive to a single address, for one food category
Capital shapeB Lease, fit-out, refrigeration and opening inventory are sunk before the first sale; recovery arrives one basket at a time
Value capture at renewalB A location proven by the operator is repriced by the landlord
Canadian establishments with employeesA 7,893 (Statistics Canada, December 2023); Ontario 2,900, Quebec 2,243, British Columbia 1,260, Alberta 726
Size-band shape of the Canadian countA 67% employ fewer than 10; 47 establishments employ 100 or more (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
US establishments and employment, 2022A 23,793 establishments; 164,433 employees — about 7 per establishment; payroll $4.48B, about $27,220 per employee (US Census County Business Patterns)
US specialty food store salesB $28.80B in 2025, from $27.94B in 2024 and $25.33B in 2022 — derived by subtracting grocery stores and beer, wine and liquor stores from the Census food-and-beverage store total, all not-adjusted annual figures
The only listed pure-play found at this scaleA Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory revenue $27.50M in FY2026 across 253 stores, of which three are company-owned — a franchisor, not an operator, and one running an operating loss of $3.6M
What a specialty food franchise costs the operatorA Royalty of 4% to 6% of retail sales sliding with the product mix, plus a 1% marketing and promotion fee, on a ten-year agreement (Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory)
Annual sales per specialty food store~$1.21MB

$28.80B of 2025 US sales — the Census food-and-beverage store total less the grocery and the beer, wine and liquor lines — divided by the 23,793 US establishments counted in 2022 County Business Patterns. Both steps are approximations: a subtraction between published lines, and a three-year gap between the sales and the count. It is the order of magnitude of one shop's year, and it is the number the fit-out has to be repaid out of.

I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
No single firm leads, and no roll-up is assembling one. The category leader is the format — a single-site owner-operator: 5,293 of 7,893 Canadian establishments with employees in this group have fewer than ten staff, and 47 have a hundred or more
Scale
The largest listed pure-play reached at this scale is Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory (Nasdaq: RMCF), and it is a franchisor rather than an operator: FY2026 revenue of $27.5M, down from $29.6M, across three company-owned, 111 licensee-owned and 139 franchised stores in 34 states. 71% of its revenue is selling product to its own franchisees, 22% is royalties, marketing and franchise fees, and 7% is the three stores it runs itself. That is the shape of the money in franchised specialty food: the system earns on supply and on a percentage of the top line, and the operator keeps the residual.
Concentration
Not published. No share series exists for this code in either country
Others in the field
The franchised systems — Rocky Mountain Chocolate, Bulk Barn, COBS Bread, Purdys Chocolatier, Laura Secord — which an independent either joins or competes with on the same street; the supermarket's own in-store bakery, butcher and cheese counter, which sells the same categories to a customer already inside the building; and the single-site independent majority.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence. What is visible is the shape of a franchise if the entrant takes one: Rocky Mountain Chocolate charges a royalty of 4% to 6% of a store's retail sales, sliding with how much of the mix is product bought from the franchisor, plus a 1% marketing and promotion fee, on agreements that generally run ten years.
Price movement
US specialty food store sales were $28.80B in 2025 against $25.33B in 2022, up 13.7% over three years on the Census subtraction below. Rocky Mountain Chocolate's revenue fell 7.0% in FY2026 — product sales to its own stores down 11.0% to $21.36M while royalty and marketing fees rose 10.3% to $5.93M — and it recorded an operating loss of $3.6M, after $5.9M the year before.
Is the buyer consolidating?
No — No consolidator exists at this scale, and saying so is the honest answer rather than a gap. No listed roll-up, private-equity platform or acquirer of independent Canadian butchers, bakeries, fishmongers, produce markets or cheese shops was found, and none of the Canadian banners in the category publishes a store price, a unit volume or a transaction. The realistic exit is a sale to an employee, a neighbour or a family member, at a price the owner has to discover with no comparable to check it against — which is a material fact about a business whose capital is sunk in a fit-out.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory revenue, FY2026 (year ended 28 February 2026)A $27.50M, down 7.0% from $29.58M
Rocky Mountain Chocolate store systemA Three company-owned, 111 licensee-owned and 139 franchised stores across 34 states and the Philippines at 28 February 2026
Where a confectionery franchisor's revenue comes fromA 71% product sold to franchisees, 22% royalties, marketing and franchise fees, 7% company-owned stores (FY2026; 76/19/5 in FY2025)
What the franchise costs the operatorA Royalty of 4% to 6% of the store's retail sales, sliding with the share of franchisor-produced product in the mix, plus a 1% marketing and promotion fee; agreements generally run ten years
Royalty and marketing fees collectedA $5.93M in FY2026, up 10.3% from $5.38M, while Durango product and retail sales fell 11.0% to $21.36M
US specialty food store salesB $28.80B in 2025, from $27.94B in 2024 and $25.33B in 2022. Derived by subtracting grocery stores and beer, wine and liquor stores from the Census food-and-beverage total, all not-adjusted annual figures
Rocky Mountain Chocolate operating resultA Operating loss of $3.6M in FY2026, after an operating loss of $5.9M in FY2025; loss from continuing operations of $(0.56) a share
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$27M

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 4 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Rocky Mountain Chocolate FactoryNasdaq: RMCFA $27M — FY2026 revenue, year ended 28 February 2026 — Not a competitor on any Canadian street — a franchisor, and the only listed pure-play found at this industry's scale. It is on the record because its disclosure prices the franchise an entrant might take: 4–6% royalty plus 1% marketing on retail sales
Bulk Barn, COBS Bread, Purdys Chocolatier and Laura SecordC not disclosed — The Canadian specialty food banners an entrant meets in a mall or on a high street. All privately held; none publishes revenue, store count at source, or unit economics, and no figure was taken from an aggregator
The supermarket counterC not disclosed — Loblaw, Empire and Metro in-store bakery, butcher, fish and cheese counters sell the same categories to a customer who is already in the building for everything else. No grocer breaks out counter sales, so the size of this competitor is not measurable from any filing
The single-site independent majorityA not disclosed — 5,293 of 7,893 Canadian establishments with employees have fewer than ten staff; 47 have 100 or more. In the US the average establishment employs about seven people at roughly $27,200 of payroll each. This is the competitive structure, not a footnote to it

Evidence

Evidence. The original screen carried no counts and no operator figures; the counts and the competitive field were added in a later pass. Canadian and US counts are agency tables [A]. Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory's revenue, store split, revenue mix, royalty and marketing-fee terms and fee collections are read from its Form 10-K for the year ended 28 February 2026 — the current annual filing, checked for a later one, and read in the filing rather than in any summary of it. US category sales are derived by subtraction from the not-adjusted annual NAICS 445, 4451 and 4453 lines of the Census Monthly Retail Trade Survey workbook; because it is a subtraction rather than a published line, it is tiered B and the method is stated wherever it appears. What this does not establish. Rocky Mountain Chocolate is a US confectionery franchisor. It prices a franchise and it shows how a franchised specialty-food system divides the money, and that is all it does — it says nothing about what a Canadian butcher, fishmonger, bakery or cheese shop earns, and it is not offered as though it did. No consolidator, fund or acquirer of independent specialty food stores was found in Canada; that search returned nothing and nothing was substituted for it. Bulk Barn, COBS Bread, Purdys and Laura Secord publish no revenue, and no aggregator figure was used for any of them. The in-store counter competitor is unmeasurable from public filings. The three mechanism statements below — boundary, capital shape, value capture at renewal — are reasoning carried over from the original screen, and so is the cut factor: UNVERIFIED.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationNorth AmericaA
Specialty Food Association (SFA)
specialtyfood.com

Site states it has united artisans, purveyors, importers, distributors and retailers since 1952.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
Fancy Food Shows
specialtyfood.com

SFA's Summer Fancy Food Show and Winter FancyFaire, the latter in San Francisco 17-19 January 2027.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Federation of Independent Grocers (CFIG)
cfig.ca

Describes itself as serving independent grocers, franchised and specialty; news items dated September 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Health Food Association (CHFA)
chfa.ca

Describes itself as Canada's largest trade association for natural health and organic products; retailer members.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Canadian Grocer
canadiangrocer.com

National grocery trade publication covering independents and specialty formats; items dated 22 September 2026.

Checked 2026-09-22

baking.ca (Baking Association of Canada) did not respond and oimp.ca did not resolve, so no butcher or bakery body is listed.