Operating business2% entry signalMarket screen5 sourced figuresStructure decidescapital intensity

Short-Line Railway

Prepared 2026-09-19

The industry — Rail transportation

Base industry report for 4821 →
Establishments · CanadaA
277
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
39%
most common size: 1–4

Of 277 Canadian establishments with employees, 39% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Come with the asset, or buy the business that owns it. Plant, fleet, land or quota decide this market before any operating skill does. Operators here are bought, not started.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDcapital intensity — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
How fragmented the field isA39% of establishments have fewer than ten employees — Concentrated — a new entrant competes against establishments with real scale.
What it costs to be in the businessUNVERIFIEDhigh capital — The structural profile of subsector 482, inherited by every industry beneath it.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Transportation and Warehousing, US · opened 2020
84.1%
1 year
67.4%
3 years
52.7%
5 years
36.1%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 8

The binding constraint — capital intensity

Mainline freight in Canada is two companies and is not a market to enter; passenger rail is a Crown corporation and commuter agencies. The only enterable thing in this code is a short line — a branch the Class I no longer wanted, bought or leased with its handful of shippers. The 277 establishments show the shape: 15 with 500 or more employees, and 78 with one to four [A], with Saskatchewan's 37 largely the farmer-owned grain branches. The attraction is real: a captive traffic base and an infrastructure asset that nobody will build a second time. The cut is what the asset demands. Track, bridges and locomotives must be maintained whether or not the cars come, and a branch was shed precisely because its traffic density did not cover that. CN spends on the order of C$3 billion a year on its capital program against C$17.3B of revenue to hold a 61.9% operating ratio [A]; a short line carries the same physics at a fraction of the density, with its revenue set as a division of a through rate the connecting Class I controls. Where short lines work as an investment, they work as a portfolio: Genesee & Wyoming's 120 railroads went to Brookfield and GIC for about $8.4B including debt [A] — infrastructure-fund capital, spreading single-shipper risk across a continent. One line, one owner, three shippers is the same capital without the diversification. The rail operations software sold here is screened separately.

Market scaleregionalunit: one branch line and its interchange — the shippers physically located on a single stretch of track and the Class I junction it feeds

A short line serves only the customers whose sidings are on its rails and hands every car to a connecting Class I. Its market is that fixed set of shippers; national rail revenue is the duopoly's and is not addressable.

Canadian establishments with employeesA 277 (Statistics Canada, December 2023)
Size-band shapeA 15 establishments with 500+ employees; 78 with 1–4; Saskatchewan holds 37
CN revenues and operating ratio, FY2025A C$17,304M, up 2%; operating ratio 61.9%; operating income C$6,587M
CN capital programA About C$2.8B planned for 2026, stated as C$500M below 2025
CN route miles, end of 2025A 18,900 across Canada and the US
Genesee & Wyoming take-private, July 2019A $112 per share, approximately $8.4B including debt, for 120 short lines and more than 26,000 km of track
I

Who you would be competing with

The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.

Largest operator
Canadian National (TSX/NYSE: CNR) and CPKC — not rivals for the same carload so much as the landlords of it. They decide which branches come up for sale, set the interchange terms, and divide the through rate the short line is paid out of.
Scale
CN alone turned C$17,304M of revenue in 2025 at a 61.9% operating ratio over 18,900 route miles, and plans about C$2.8B of capital spending in 2026 — C$500M below 2025.
Concentration
Two Class I carriers hold effectively all Canadian mainline freight; short lines operate the branches those two shed
Others in the field
Genesee & Wyoming — 116 railroads, private since December 2019 under Brookfield Infrastructure and GIC — which in Canada runs the Cape Breton & Central Nova Scotia, Goderich–Exeter, Huron Central, Ottawa Valley, Quebec Gatineau, Southern Ontario, St. Lawrence & Atlantic and Knob Lake lines; Cando Rail & Terminals of Brandon, more than 80% employee-owned and operating at over 25 sites; the US holding companies OmniTRAX and Watco; Arctic Gateway Group's Hudson Bay Railway; and the farmer- and municipally-owned grain short lines that make up much of Saskatchewan's 37 establishments.
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not assessed. A short line does not quote its own price on interline traffic — it takes a division of the connecting Class I's through rate, which the Class I sets.
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — The buyer of short lines at scale is an infrastructure fund, not a trade buyer: Brookfield and GIC paid about $8.4B including debt for Genesee & Wyoming's 120 railroads in 2019. That price buys diversification across a continent of single-shipper lines. One owner with one branch buys the same physics without any of the diversification, and has no comparable buyer to sell to.
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

CN revenues and operating ratio, FY2025A C$17,304M, up 2%; operating ratio 61.9%; operating income C$6,587M
CN capital programA About C$2.8B planned for 2026, C$500M below 2025
Genesee & Wyoming take-private, July 2019A $112 per share, approximately $8.4B including debt, for 120 short lines and more than 26,000 km of track
Genesee & Wyoming portfolio sinceC 116 railroads reported as at 2021, ten of them Canadian; no longer files, so nothing current is disclosed
Canadian single-line operatorsA 78 of 277 establishments employ one to four people
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$17.3B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 6 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Canadian National RailwayTSX/NYSE: CNRA $17.3B — FY2025 revenues, Canadian dollars
CPKCTSX/NYSE: CPC not disclosed — The second Class I and the other half of the duopoly; its results were not opened for this record
Genesee & WyomingB not disclosed — Owned by Brookfield Infrastructure and GIC since December 2019 (about $8.4B including debt); the largest short-line holding company in Canada, with ten named railways here. Private, so nothing current is published
Cando Rail & TerminalsC not disclosed — Brandon, Manitoba; more than 80% owned by present and retired employees; over 25 sites, plus the Central Manitoba and Barrie Collingwood railways. Private
OmniTRAX / Watco / Arctic Gateway GroupC not disclosed — US holding companies and, in the case of Arctic Gateway, a northern community and First Nations consortium holding the Hudson Bay Railway. Not researched for this record
Farmer- and municipally-owned grain short linesA not disclosed — Much of Saskatchewan's 37 establishments; 78 of the 277 national total employ one to four people. This — not a national rival — is what an entrant would sit beside

Evidence

Evidence. CN's figures were read in its 30 January 2026 year-end release; the Genesee & Wyoming terms in the announcement filed on EDGAR on 1 July 2019 [A]. The Canadian counts are Statistics Canada's [A]. What these do and do not establish: they show the capital a railway consumes and the kind of buyer that owns short lines at scale. They do not show any Canadian short line's economics — none reports publicly — and the claims that branch-line density fails to cover maintenance and that the Class I controls the rate division are industry reasoning, not read from a filing. The description of Saskatchewan's establishments as farmer-owned grain lines is general knowledge, not checked against the register. The cut factor is analyst judgment. Competitive field: CN's figures and the Genesee & Wyoming price are the same tier-A sources cited above. G&W's current railroad count and its list of Canadian lines are from secondary reference material and are tiered C — the company has been private since 2019 and publishes nothing. Cando's employee ownership and site count, and the OmniTRAX, Watco and Arctic Gateway attributions, are likewise secondary and unconfirmed in a filing. No Canadian short line's revenue was found, because none is published.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Railway Association of Canada
railcan.ca

National rail association with a shortlines policy file, member railways list and courses.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationNorth AmericaA
American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association
aslrra.org

Site states it represents short line and regional railroads operating 50,000 miles of track.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
ASLRRA Annual Conference and Exhibition
aslrra.org

The short line industry's main meeting; 2027 edition in New Orleans, 14-16 March.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
Railway Interchange
railwayinterchange.org

Combined REMSA/RSI/RSSI trade show; site claims 4,000+ attendees and 400+ exhibitors.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationNorth AmericaA
Progressive Railroading
progressiverailroading.com

Freight rail trade publication; September 2026 items on the front page when checked.

Checked 2026-09-22

railwayage.com and railroad.net both blocked automated access; the open rail forums (forum.trains.com, railroad.net) are enthusiast rather than operator communities.

↔

Software serving this industry

Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.