Rail Contract Services & Terminal Operation
The industry — Support activities for rail transportation
Base industry report for 4882 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 249
- Under 10 employeesA
- 43%
- Establishments · USA
- 1,761
- Employment · USA
- 45,044
- Payroll · USA
- $3.0B
Of 249 Canadian establishments with employees, 43% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Get to the buyer. The product is reachable and the need is real; the channel is owned by someone else, and a route to it — a partner, a reseller, a trade relationship, a book of clients bought outright — is what has to be built.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 6
The binding constraint — distribution
Track and right-of-way maintenance, railcar and locomotive servicing, terminal and yard operation — real work with real barriers to casual competition, since it takes certified people and heavy equipment on live track. The group is substantial: 249 Canadian establishments, 42 of them with fifty or more employees, and in the US an average of about 26 employees per establishment. The pre-screen's note was 'contract work for two customers', and the filings bear it out. CN, one of the two, spent $2,306M on purchased services and material in 2025 against $2,313M in 2024 — flat on $17,304M of revenue — and attributed the flatness to 'lower contracted services' offset by other items [A]. That line is the contractor's whole market at one customer, and it also contains freight forwarding, track materials, crew lodging and utilities. The buyer employs its own engineering forces, decides each season how much to contract out, qualifies who may set foot on its property, and can take the work back in-house whenever headcount allows. Price, volume and access all sit on the customer's side of the table. The incumbents hold multi-year approved-contractor standing and the safety record that renews it, which an entrant cannot present on day one. The reachable variant is work where the customer is a shipper rather than a railway — industrial switching inside a plant, transloading, private-siding maintenance — since there the buyers number in the hundreds. That variant was not screened here and is the part worth a second look. The freight and terminal software on this branch is screened separately.
Crews and track machinery are mobilised along a railway's territory and the work is let by the carrier's regional engineering and mechanical organisations. The market is therefore the corridor a contractor is qualified on, not a national total, even though the two dominant buyers are national.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every operator named on this record, and what each one discloses. A private single-site operator discloses nothing, which is the normal case — the listed consolidators are the only window in.
Competitor set · 6 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Loram Maintenance of WayB | not disclosed | — | The specialist track-maintenance contractor. Its own site sets out the service lines — production and specialty rail grinding, rail milling, shoulder ballast cleaning, undercutting, ditching, material handling and rail inspection — run through operating companies in North America, the UK, Australia, Brazil, India and Japan. Private; no revenue published. |
| Cando Rail & TerminalsB | not disclosed | — | Canadian, based in Brandon, Manitoba. Industrial switching, terminal design and operation (five named terminals) and short lines including Central Manitoba Railway and BCRY. Acquired Savage Rail from Savage Enterprises LLC in May 2026; price not disclosed and no revenue published. |
| RailWorks / PNR RailWorksB | not disclosed | — | Track construction and maintenance, transit rail and technical services, run from New York with PNR RailWorks as the Canadian operating company and French Industries in the group. Private; no revenue published. |
| HerzogB | not disclosed | — | Missouri-based family of companies — Herzog Contracting, Herzog Railroad Services, Herzog Transit Services, Herzog Technologies — covering construction, maintenance-of-way services and transit operations. Private; no revenue published. |
| CN and CPKC's own engineering and mechanical forcesA | not disclosed | — | The in-house alternative, and the competitor that actually took share in 2025. CPKC names insourcing and a new parts agreement as a reason its purchased services fell C$91M; CN names lower contracted services as a reason its line stayed flat. A contractor's volume is a decision the customer makes each season. |
| Wabtec and the rolling-stock OEMsNYSE: WABC | not disclosed | — | The aftermarket alternative on the locomotive and railcar side, and the party on the other end of CPKC's “new parts agreement” language. Not researched for this record; no Wabtec filing was opened. |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Evidence
Evidence. CN's expense lines, its definition of purchased services and material, and its explanation of the 2025 movement were read in its 2025 annual MD&A, downloaded and parsed directly [A]. CPKC's equivalent line has now been opened: its purchased services and other expense, its explanation of the 2025 decrease, its revenue and its operating ratio were read in its Form 10-K for the year ended 31 December 2025 [A], and CPKC attributes part of the fall specifically to insourcing locomotive work and to lower terminal service costs — which is the mechanism this record's reason asserts, stated by the buyer. CPKC's line carries the same contamination as CN's: it “encompasses a wide range of third-party costs, including expenses for joint facilities, personal injury and damage claims, environmental remediation, property taxes, contractor and consulting fees, and insurance premiums”, so it does not size the contractor market either. Business counts are Statistics Canada and US Census [A]. What the CN figure establishes is that the buyer's outside spending is flat and that contracted services specifically fell; it does not size the contractor market, because the line mixes in items that never reach a rail contractor — freight forwarding, materials, crew transportation and lodging, utilities and joint-facility costs — and the share that does reach one is not disclosed. No rail services contractor's revenue or margin was found — the large ones are private. The shipper-side variant named in the reason was researched only as far as one transaction: Cando Rail & Terminals' acquisition of Savage Rail from Savage Enterprises LLC in May 2026, read on Cando's own site [B] — a company statement, not a filing, with no price, no revenue and no employee count disclosed. Loram, RailWorks/PNR RailWorks and Herzog were confirmed as real operators with the service lines described from their own corporate sites [B]; none of the four publishes financial statements, and no revenue figure for any contractor in this code was found anywhere. Wabtec was named but not opened. The cut factor is analyst judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
'Close to 60' member railways per Member Railways page, plus associate members (contractors and suppliers join as associates).
'Over 150 companies' per About Us: suppliers of products and services to railways and transit, including contractors.
'More than 400 member contractors and suppliers' and 1,300 professionals per Join page; members work in all 10 Canadian provinces.
Individual railway engineering and maintenance-of-way professionals; member forum and technical committees. No count published.
Railway Engineering-Maintenance Suppliers Association; maintenance-of-way equipment, products and services firms.
Biennial; June 2026 Omaha, site says 4,000 attendees. Largest North American railroad supply and maintenance show.
Rail industry news with MOW and railcar-repair coverage; current posts on homepage.
RSS feed returned posts dated 2026-09-22 incl. CN/TCRC and CSX track-maintenance layoffs; working railroaders, not contractors specifically.
Railway Age and Railway Track & Structures block automated access and are not listed.