Contracted Parcel Delivery Route
The industry — Couriers
Base industry report for 4921 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 2,351
- Under 10 employeesA
- 67%
Of 2,351 Canadian establishments with employees, 67% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Execution decidesThe hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.
Prove the value in money the buyer already counts. The need is real; what is unproven is that this buyer moves budget for it. That is a priced test with real customers, not a product problem.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 3
The binding constraint — willingness to pay
The reachable entry here is not a courier company, it is a route: a van or a small fleet delivering parcels under contract to an integrator or an e-commerce carrier. It is genuinely open — 1,303 of Canada's 2,351 courier establishments employ fewer than five people [A], and the contracted route is the commonest shape a business that size takes. The cut is who holds the shipper. National parcel networks own the customer relationship, the sortation and the tracking, and they buy the final mile from contractors at a per-stop rate the contractor does not set. The value stays upstream: Purolator alone made $256M of profit before tax in 2025 [A], in a year when it was also carrying the financing cost of buying Livingston. The contractor underneath carries the vehicle, the fuel, the driver and the injury risk, and is one contract renewal away from zero revenue. Volume is not the safety net it looks like either — Canada Post's own parcel revenue fell 30.1% in 2025 as volumes dropped 32.6% [A] through labour disruption, and that volume moved to other networks at those networks' rates, not the contractor's. The sibling record, Local Courier & Same-Day Delivery (4922), cuts the independent metro courier on incumbent strength; this one cuts the contracted route on a different mechanism — a single buyer that sets the price, so that the payer's willingness to pay is a line in someone else's cost model. The dispatch and routing software sold to this industry is screened separately at 492.
Parcel networks are national, but the work an entrant can actually win is a territory served out of one terminal. The contractor competes with other contractors for that terminal's routes and with nobody else; the national parcel total is the carrier's market, not the route owner's.
Sectors joined: Fuel Delivery · Logistics/Delivery · Retail/Delivery
[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 4 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| FedEx CorporationNYSE: FDXA | $94.7B | — | FY2026 revenue, year ended 31 May 2026, Form 10-K filed 20 July 2026 |
| Purolator HoldingsA | not disclosed | — | Canada Post's courier subsidiary and the domestic buyer a Canadian route owner is most likely to be contracted to. C$256M of profit before tax in 2025; revenue is not stated in the Canada Post release that was read, so none is given. |
| Amazon and the shippers building their own deliveryA | not disclosed | — | FedEx's 10-K names Amazon as both customer and competitor, with its own network of hubs, aircraft and vehicles operated through independent contractors and delivery service partners. Amazon's own contractor programme terms were not obtained and no figure is attached. |
| Other contracted route operatorsA | not disclosed | — | 1,303 of Canada's 2,351 courier establishments employ one to four people (Statistics Canada, December 2023). These are the businesses bidding for the same terminal's territories, and none of them discloses anything. |
Evidence
Evidence. Establishment counts and size bands are Statistics Canada business counts (December 2023) [A]. The Purolator profit and the Canada Post parcel decline were read in Canada Post's own 20 April 2026 results release [A]; that release does not state Purolator's revenue, so no margin is given. What these figures do not establish: no contractor rate card, route purchase price or contractor income statement was found, so the claim that the per-stop rate leaves the contractor thin is analyst judgment, not measurement. The reading that most 1–4 employee establishments are contracted routes is an inference from the size-band shape, not a classification StatCan publishes. TFI International no longer reports its Package and Courier business as a separate segment, so it could not be used. The cut factor is analyst judgment. Competitive field added 2026-09-20. FedEx Corporation's Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended 31 May 2026, filed 20 July 2026, was opened on EDGAR and read at source [A]: the ~100,000 independent-service-provider vehicles against ~82,000 company vehicles, the ~360 Network 2.0 locations, the market-by-market mix of employee couriers and service providers, the 9% rise in purchased transportation expense on higher contracted service provider rates, the incentive payments to contracted service providers inside business optimization costs, and the risk-factor description of Amazon's in-house network. FedEx is a US filer and its disclosures describe a US network with some Canadian overlap under Network 2.0; they are not a Canadian rate card and should not be read as one. No Canadian carrier publishes the contracted share of its final mile, no route purchase price was found, and Amazon's contractor programme terms were not obtained. The cut factor remains analyst judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Final-mile carriers, shippers and drivers; its Final Mile Forum 2027 in Orlando marks 40 years. No member count stated.
Independent association of active Amazon DSP owners with legal representation; 2026 posts. No member count stated.
Drivers and contractors on FedEx Ground and the 'Network 2.0' merger; posts from September 21-22, 2026 via its RSS feed. Subscriber count not retrievable.
Subscribers per RedPulse (2026-09-22); Reddit blocked the direct lookup. Mostly DSP van drivers, not route owners; active September 2026.
Small-package supply chain trade magazine (MadMen3); read by shippers and carriers more than by route contractors.
Small-package logistics conference; next edition September 13-15, 2027, National Harbor, MD. No attendance stated.
Podcast and blog from a route brokerage/consultancy covering FedEx Ground, Amazon DSP and bread routes; a vendor voice, but the one route buyers listen to.
There is no live Canadian body: the Canadian Courier & Logistics Association's lobbying registration went inactive in July 2026 and canadiancourier.org now hosts a casino-shuttle page. The FedEx contractor group ThinkISP's domain has expired. Contractors talk mostly in private Facebook groups, which could not be verified.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.