Niche & Community Publishing
The industry — Newspaper, periodical, book and directory publishers
Base industry report for 5131 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 1,972
- Under 10 employeesA
- 72%
Of 1,972 Canadian establishments with employees, 72% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Take share rather than ride the market. Demand is flat, seasonal or policy-driven, so growth has to come out of a competitor. That is possible and it is slower, and it rewards an operator who can wait.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 7
The binding constraint — growth quality
A community paper, a trade magazine or a small book list is one of the cheapest businesses in this research to start: no plant, no licence, and 1,420 of Canada's 1,972 publishing establishments employ fewer than ten people [A]. The cut is what has happened to the revenue the model rests on. Statistics Canada puts newspaper publishers' operating revenue at $1.6B in 2024, down 17.9% in two years [A]. Print advertising fell 34.3%, which is expected. The finding that matters is that digital advertising fell too — down 11.9% to $315.1M [A]. The standing argument for a new publisher was that the reader could be found again online and the advertising would follow; the agency's own series says the advertising went to the platforms instead, and publishers are now shrinking on both sides of the ledger. The industry held a 3.2% operating margin only by cutting expenses 19.1% [A] — it is being managed down, not rebuilt. Postmedia shows the same thing at scale: fiscal 2025 revenue of $431.5M rose only because it bought Saltwire, advertising grew 2.7% without it, and the year closed on a $77.3M net loss [A]. Periodicals are steadier — $1.0B in 2023, up 1.9% over two years — but expenses grew 5.2% and the margin fell to 6.3% [A]. What survives inside this group is publishing as a by-product of something else: an association's magazine, an events business with a title attached (events, conferences and trade shows were 5.8% of sales). That is a reason to own an audience, not a reason to enter publishing. Book and directory publishing were not examined. The editorial and rights software sold to publishers is screened separately at 513.
A publisher competes for the attention and the advertising of one defined audience: the merchants of one town, the suppliers to one trade. National totals describe the decline but are not addressable; the title's market is the advertisers who want that audience and nobody else.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 6 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 6 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Postmedia Network Canada Corp.TSX: PNC.BA | $432M | — | year ended 31 August 2025 |
| Torstar / Metroland MediaC | not disclosed | — | Privately held; no revenue published and its filings were not opened for this record. It is the other national holder of Canadian community titles. |
| Glacier MediaTSX-V: GVCC | not disclosed | — | Listed but thinly covered; its financial statements were not opened for this record. |
| Black Press MediaC | not disclosed | — | British Columbia community chain; privately held, no revenue published. Its recent ownership change was not verified for this record. |
| Village Media / Overstory MediaC | not disclosed | — | Digital-native local publishers competing for the same local advertiser without the print cost base; privately held, nothing published. |
| The one-title majorityA | not disclosed | — | 1,420 of 1,972 Canadian publishing establishments employ fewer than ten people (Statistics Canada, December 2023). This, not the chains, is what an entrant's town already has. |
Evidence
Evidence. Newspaper and periodical figures were read in Statistics Canada's Daily releases of 10 November 2025 and 22 January 2025 [A]. The Postmedia figures were read in the text of its fourth-quarter fiscal 2025 results release as carried by two newswire republishers, because the Business Wire original refused the connection [A, with that caveat]. What this does not establish: the StatCan series are industry-wide and dominated by dailies and large chains; no separate series for community weeklies or trade titles was found, and a well-run niche title may do better than the aggregate. Book publishers, directory publishers and 'other publishers' (calendars, greeting cards) sit in this group and were not researched. The competitive block adds no new sources: Postmedia and the Statistics Canada series carry it, and every other publisher named there is tier C because no filing or transaction of theirs was opened — including the ownership of the Black Press and Metroland titles, which is asserted nowhere on this record. The cut factor is analyst judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Blocked automated access; search shows posts dated Sept 2026. National daily and community newspaper association formed 2016 from CNA and CCNA.
National association for Canadian-owned magazines; Symposium Sept 23, 2026; memberships from $350/yr.
'Approximately 115' Canadian-owned English-language book publishers, per homepage.
'More than 200 member newspapers' per About page.
'More than 450 members across the U.S. and Canada' per homepage; local independent online news publishers; has a member Slack.
'1,600+ members' per About page; US community newspapers since 1885.
News site for the Canadian magazine industry; items dated Aug-Sept 2026.
Canadian journalism trade site; items dated Sept 2026.
Quill & Quire and INMA block automated access; AWNA (awna.com) is live but left off to stay within eight.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.