Pension Fund (a Buyer, Not a Market)
The industry — Pension funds
Base industry report for 5261 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 70
- Under 10 employeesA
- 40%
Of 70 Canadian establishments with employees, 40% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Widen the definition, or stack this niche with others. The prize as drawn will not carry a business on its own; it may still be worth owning as one line of several.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 8
The binding constraint — market size
This code counts pools of money, not businesses. A pension fund exists because an employer or a government sponsors a plan; nobody founds one to compete for customers, and its members are assigned by their employment rather than won. The honest screen is that this is a buyer, not a market to enter, and the addressable market for an entrant as a pension fund is nil — which is why the cut is market size even though the pools are vast. Statistics Canada put trusteed pension assets at $2.6 trillion at the end of 2025, up 6.2%, with public-sector plans holding $2.1 trillion — 82.4% of the total — against $460.6 billion in private-sector plans [A]. That concentration is the second finding. The establishment count bears it out: 70 employers, of which 17 have 200 or more staff — the large public plans that run investment teams in-house — while private-sector plan assets grew only 1.5% in the year. So even what is sold to these funds (asset management mandates, custody, actuarial and administration services) faces a small number of very large buyers who increasingly do the work themselves, and a long tail of private plans that is barely growing. Those supplier markets are the ones to screen; the fund-administration software sold into this branch is screened separately at 526.
Pension plans are registered federally or provincially, but the funds buy investment management, custody and administration nationally and internationally, and the largest of them invest globally. There is no catchment to define: the 'market' is a short list of sponsors, not a territory, and an entrant cannot acquire members.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every operator named on this record, and what each one discloses. A private single-site operator discloses nothing, which is the normal case — the listed consolidators are the only window in.
Competitor set · 5 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| CPP InvestmentsA | not disclosed | — | Not a competitor and not a market — a buyer. $793.3B of net assets at 31 March 2026; paid $4.73B to external managers and $1.76B of its own operating expense in the year |
| Caisse de dépôt et placement du QuébecC | not disclosed | — | Named as one of the eight large Canadian plans that dominate the buyer side; its own figures were not opened for this record |
| Ontario Teachers' Pension PlanC | not disclosed | — | Named for the same reason; figures not opened for this record |
| OMERS / HOOPP / PSP Investments / BCI / AIMCoC | not disclosed | — | The rest of the large-plan group. Together with the three above they are effectively the whole addressable buyer list for anything sold into this code |
| The plan's own in-house investment teamA | not disclosed | — | The real competitor for any manager pitching a mandate. CPP Investments' $1,757M of operating expense is the internal alternative, priced |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Evidence
Evidence. The asset and concentration figures were read from Statistics Canada's Daily release on employer pension plans (trusteed pension funds) for the fourth quarter of 2025 [A]; the establishment count is Statistics Canada, December 2023 [A]. CPP Investments' net assets, returns, external management and performance fees, operating expenses and expense ratio were read from its fiscal 2026 annual results release of 21 May 2026 [A]. Those fee lines are the only sourced measurement of what one of these buyers actually pays an outside supplier. They do not establish the supplier markets as a whole: the share of Canadian pension assets run externally, average mandate size, fee scales, and administration outsourcing rates were not sourced, and the statement that the large public plans increasingly manage internally is general knowledge of the Canadian model plus CPP's own cost disclosure, not a measured series. The other seven plans in the competitive field are named from general knowledge; their figures were not opened, and their scale here is UNVERIFIED. No US County Business Patterns figures joined for this code. The cut factor is analyst judgment: 'market size' is used in the sense that there is no enterable market at all, not that the money is small.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
'Over 130 of the largest pension plans in the country' per its About page; the investment staff of Canadian plans.
Plan sponsors, administrators and advisers; regional councils, Pension Academy and a National Conference. No member count on site.
ACPM's annual conference; the 2026 edition in Montreal was marked sold out at check.
Pension, benefits and investment professionals; regional councils and an annual FORUM (June 8-10 2026 Quebec City; June 14-16 2027 Niagara Falls). No member count on site.
'Nearly 600 member institutions' (pension funds and other LPs) per its About page.
'More than 650 public sector retirement systems, plan sponsors, unions and service providers' per its homepage.
Canadian pension and benefits trade publication.
Ted Seides' interview podcast with institutional allocators (pension, endowment and foundation CIOs); site bills itself the '#1 institutional investing podcast'.
Also live but not listed to stay within eight: MEBCO (multi-employer plans, mebco.org) and Top1000funds.com. Pensions & Investments (pionline.com) blocked automated access and is omitted.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.