EAM — Enterprise Asset Management
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 12
The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability
Every independent EAM vendor that reached scale has already been bought, and the buyers are the industrial and suite companies the customers already use. IBM bought Maximo's maker, MRO Software, for about $740M in 2006 [B]. GE bought Meridium, the asset-performance (APM) leader, at a $495M enterprise value in 2016 [A, acquirer release]. Trimble bought Cityworks in 2019 [A, acquirer release]. Hexagon paid $2.82B for Infor's EAM business in 2021, a business expected to earn $184M that year, more than 70% of it recurring [B, release as reproduced by CIMdata]. IFS bought Ultimo in 2022 and Copperleaf in 2024. Siemens paid $1.575B plus an earn-out for Brightly, which expected about $180M of 2022 revenue [B, acquirer release]. Schneider Electric took full ownership of AVEVA in January 2023 [B]. The exit prices are high, roughly 9–15 times revenue, but they were paid for decades of reference customers in regulated, asset-heavy buyers, not for software a new entrant could rebuild. The buyer is a utility, a transit agency, a refinery or a public-works department. It buys by RFP on a five-to-fifteen-year cycle, wants a reference list in its own sector, and treats the system as the legal record of its asset condition and maintenance. How this differs from its neighbours. CMMS, the record written alongside this one, is the work-order tool for a single plant or facility team: priced per technician, bought by a maintenance manager, swappable in a quarter. EAM is the enterprise asset register: the hierarchy of every asset, its lifecycle cost, its condition and risk, capital planning (Copperleaf) and reliability analytics (APM). It is integrated with ERP finance and GIS and bought by the CIO or the asset-management director. The two overlap in the mid-market (IFS Ultimo, Brightly, eMaint all sell both). ERP (541514-erp-enterprise-resource-planning) holds the money; SAP and Oracle sell EAM as an ERP module, which is half the incumbent problem. Utility metering, billing and CIS (2211-utility-metering-billing-and-customer-systems) is the customer-and-meter side of the same utility buyer; EAM is the network-and-plant side. Incumbent vulnerability decides it: there is no weak incumbent to attack, only acquirers waiting for the next independent.
Sectors joined: Cybersecurity · SaaS · Technology · Dev Tools · B2B SaaS · AI
[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.
The incumbent
Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 10 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 10 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| IBM MaximoNYSE: IBMB | not disclosed | — | Not broken out. IBM announced the MRO Software acquisition (Maximo) in August 2006 for about $740M in cash; MRO had reported $199.2M revenue for fiscal 2005 [B: Washington Technology, Oil IT Journal; revenue figure from search summary of Control Engineering, page blocked]. Now sold as Maximo Application Suite through IBM and a partner channel (e.g. Cohesive, a Maximo integrator) |
| SAP Asset ManagementNYSE: SAPC | not disclosed | — | Plant maintenance and asset management sit inside S/4HANA and SAP Business Network; no line reported. sap.com disallows automated access, so no SAP page was opened |
| IFSB | not disclosed | — | Private (Hg, EQT and TA as reported owners; not re-verified here). FY2025: ARR +23%, cloud revenue +30%, recurring 83% of revenue, net retention 114%, operating margin +5pp; no absolute revenue in the release [B, company release via MFN, 2026-01-22]. Owns Ultimo (mid-market EAM, signed July 2022) and Copperleaf (capital planning, about C$1B, completed August 2024 per search coverage; ifs.com returned HTTP 429, so neither release was opened). The IFS Copperleaf and IFS Ultimo branding was confirmed on copperleaf.com and ultimo.com |
| OctaveB | not disclosed | — | Octave Attune EAM is the former Infor EAM, later HxGN EAM. Hexagon paid $792M cash plus 132.6M B shares, $2.82B in total, at completion on 2021-10-01; the business expected $184M of 2021 revenue, over 70% recurring [B, Hexagon release reproduced by CIMdata]. Hexagon spun out its Asset Lifecycle Intelligence division and related units as Octave Intelligence plc (incorporated in Ireland) in 2026; Hexagon keeps no stake [A, Hexagon investor page]. The rename and IDC MarketScape leader placement are in Octave's 2026-03-24 release [C, vendor] |
| OracleNYSE: ORCLC | not disclosed | — | E-Business Suite Enterprise Asset Management and Fusion Cloud Maintenance; no line reported. oracle.com returned HTTP 403 |
| AVEVAB | not disclosed | — | Owned by Schneider Electric since the scheme for the minority took effect on 2023-01-18, at 3,225p a share [B: Schnitger Corporation]. Sells APM (AVEVA Predictive Analytics, Asset Information Management) to process industries, not a full work-order EAM; no AVEVA revenue is now published separately |
| GE Vernova APMNYSE: GEVA | not disclosed | — | Meridium (bought by GE Digital in 2016 at a $495M enterprise value, after a 26% stake in 2014 [A, GE release]) and SmartSignal are now sold as GE Vernova APM, per its product page. Reliability analytics and risk-based inspection that sit on top of a Maximo or SAP work-order system |
| Bentley SystemsNASDAQ: BSYA | $1.5B | — | Company total for FY2025, up 11.0%; ARR $1,462.1M at 2025-12-31 [A, company release 2026-02-26]. AssetWise ALIM (asset lifecycle information management for infrastructure) is not broken out, so this is NOT an EAM figure |
| TrimbleNASDAQ: TRMBA | not disclosed | — | Signed to buy Azteca Systems (Cityworks, Sandy, Utah; launched 1996; used by more than 700 utilities and local governments) in October 2019, terms undisclosed [A, Trimble release]. Cityworks and AgileAssets are now sold as Trimble Unity Maintain. Not broken out |
| SiemensETR: SIEB | not disclosed | — | Bought Brightly Software (Cary, NC) for $1.575B plus an earn-out; Brightly expected about $180M of 2022 revenue and $160M ARR, with about 800 staff [B, Siemens release]. Brightly is now sold as Siemens asset management software. Buildings, education, healthcare and public infrastructure: the boundary between CMMS and EAM |
Startups & challengers
Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.
| Company | Stage | What it does | Raised |
|---|---|---|---|
| AssetWorks | Funded challenger | Fleet and enterprise asset management for government, public works and commercial fleets; ownership not verified here | — |
| Augury | Funded challenger | Machine-health sensors and AI for manufacturing uptime; feeds APM/CMMS rather than replacing EAM. Funding not sourced here | — |
| eMaint | Funded challenger | Fluke Reliability CMMS with an EAM tier (hierarchies, TCO) and Fluke condition-monitoring sensors; the CMMS-EAM boundary | — |
Vendor landscape
Market leaders, the full paid field, and every open-source alternative. Where a free tier exists it is what sets the price floor, so it is analysis rather than an appendix.
Not broken out; MRO Software had $199.2M revenue in FY2005 when IBM bought it for ~$740M
Module of S/4HANA; no line reported
Private; FY2025 ARR +23%, 83% recurring; no absolute figure published
Paid field · 10 vendors
The reference EAM for utilities, transport, energy and defence; sold with a large integrator channel
The default where SAP is already the ERP
IFS Cloud for enterprise; Ultimo (acquired 2022) for mid-market; Copperleaf (acquired 2024) for capital planning
Formerly Infor EAM, then HxGN EAM; spun out of Hexagon with Octave in 2026
The default where Oracle is already the ERP
Meridium and SmartSignal; reliability analytics above the work-order system
Owned by Schneider Electric since 2023
Asset lifecycle information for rail, roads, bridges and utilities
GIS-centric public asset management; Cityworks plus AgileAssets
Buildings, schools, healthcare and public infrastructure; the CMMS-EAM boundary
Open source · none — there is no price floor
No open-source EAM of consequence exists. ERP suites such as Odoo and ERPNext include a basic maintenance module, but nothing open-source carries the regulated asset register, risk-based inspection or reliability analytics that a utility or refinery buys EAM for. Where the free tier is missing, the incumbents keep their pricing power.
EAM is a consolidated category of suite and industrial-group products. The enterprise tier is IBM Maximo, SAP and IFS, with Octave, Oracle and the infrastructure-software groups (Bentley, Trimble) behind them, and APM vendors (GE Vernova, AVEVA) layered on top. Every major independent has been acquired.
Evidence
Evidence. Market size UNVERIFIED — no vendor discloses an EAM revenue line (IBM, SAP, Oracle, Bentley, Trimble, Siemens, Schneider and GE Vernova all report EAM inside larger segments), and no share figure could be sourced; the only business-level revenue figures are the acquisition disclosures for Infor EAM ($184M expected 2021) and Brightly (~$180M expected 2022), both from acquirer releases. Opened [A]: GE's Meridium release (2016, $495M enterprise value, 26% stake in 2014); Trimble's Cityworks release (2019-10-03, terms undisclosed, 700+ utilities and local governments); Bentley's FY2025 results (2026-02-26, revenue $1,501.8M, ARR $1,462.1M); Hexagon's Octave separation page (Octave Intelligence plc, incorporated in Ireland; Hexagon keeps no stake). Opened [B]: Hexagon's Infor EAM completion release as reproduced by CIMdata (2021-10-01; $792M cash plus shares, $2,820M total); Schnitger Corporation on the $2.75B announcement and on the AVEVA delisting (2023-01-18); Siemens' Brightly release ($1.575B plus earn-out; $180M revenue and $160M ARR expected for 2022; Cary, NC); IFS's FY2025 release on MFN (2026-01-22; ARR +23%, cloud +30%, recurring 83%, NRR 114%); Washington Technology and Oil IT Journal on IBM–MRO (about $740M, August 2006). Opened [C, vendor]: Octave's IDC MarketScape release (2026-03-24; Octave Attune EAM is formerly HxGN EAM; 340 HxGN EAM partners); product pages for GE Vernova APM, AVEVA Predictive Analytics, Bentley AssetWise ALIM, Trimble Unity Maintain ('the future of AgileAssets & Cityworks'), IFS Ultimo, IFS Copperleaf and Siemens asset management ('Brightly is now Siemens'). NOT opened: ibm.com, oracle.com and hexagon.com returned HTTP 403; ifs.com returned HTTP 429; sap.com disallows automated access in robots.txt. So the Copperleaf price (about C$1B, completed August 2024) and the Ultimo deal (signed 2022-07-05) rest on search coverage only [C]. MRO's $199.2M FY2005 revenue comes from a search summary of Control Engineering, whose page returned 403 [C]. Uptake's funding (2017 Series D at a $2.3B valuation) appears only in TechCrunch, which this brief bars, and in aggregators; it is not used, and Uptake is left out. Verdantix and IDC ranking reports are paywalled; the placements cited are vendor claims [C]. Verify before acting.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
International professional body for asset management, established 1994; 'over 2000 individual and 300 corporate members and a network of over 46,000 people globally' (count is individual members).
Maintenance and reliability profession body with chapters plus Latin American and Middle Eastern affiliates; runs the CMRP certification. No member count on the home page.
Canadian not-for-profit association for maintenance, reliability and asset management; chapters, education and an annual national conference. No member count on the pages opened.
Reliability publisher and events: Uptime magazine, the International Maintenance Conference 2026, and MaximoWorld for IBM Maximo users.
Maintenance and reliability trade publication with an EAM / CMMS section; covered the SMRP 2026 conference.