LXP — Learning Experience & Skills Platforms
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 12
The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability
The category is being absorbed into the HR suite and the content library from both ends, so the independent layer in the middle has nowhere to stand. An LXP is not an LMS. The corporate LMS (the neighbouring 541514 record) assigns and tracks: compliance courses, completions, certificates, audit evidence. An LXP recommends: it sits on top of the LMS and the content libraries, builds a skills graph of each employee from what they read, do and are assessed on, and routes them to content, gigs, mentors and internal jobs (career mobility). Skills intelligence vendors (Eightfold AI, Workera) infer and verify the skills; internal talent marketplaces (Gloat, Fuel50) turn them into open roles and projects; content aggregators (Go1) and libraries (Coursera, LinkedIn Learning, Pluralsight, Skillsoft) supply what gets recommended. The neighbours are left alone: course delivery and compliance tracking stay with the corporate LMS record, the training providers with 6114, creator course platforms with 6115, and the core employee record with HRM. The evidence of absorption is consistent. EdCast, an independent LXP and content marketplace, was bought by Clearlake-owned Cornerstone in May 2022 [B, release]. Workday bought Sana for about $1.1B, announced September 2025 and closed 4 November 2025, and its release says Sana Learn will work alongside Workday Learning [A/B, release]. Degreed, the reference independent LXP, raised $153M at a $1.4B valuation in April 2021 (over $360M in total) [B]; by July 2022 it had cut 15% of staff and brought its co-founder back as CEO [B], and a layoff tracker reports a further 40% cut in March 2026 [C, UNVERIFIED]. On the content side, Coursera and Udemy completed an all-stock combination in May 2026 on combined 2025 revenue above $1.5B and 18,000 enterprise customers [B/C], and Pluralsight passed from Vista to its lenders in August 2024 [B]. The skills-intelligence and talent-marketplace independents raised their large rounds in 2021–2023 (Eightfold $220M, Gloat $90M, Go1 $200M, 360Learning $200M, Workera $23.5M) and none of those rounds has been followed by a disclosed larger one in the sources opened. Incumbent vulnerability decides it, and it runs the wrong way for an entrant. The buyer is the CHRO who already owns Workday, SAP SuccessFactors or Cornerstone, each of which now ships a skills cloud, an LXP layer and an opportunity marketplace with the employee record attached. The lock-in that matters is that record, not the LXP: a recommendation layer is easy to switch off, which is why standalones are being bought rather than displaced. A new entrant would be selling the most removable layer of the HR stack to buyers who are consolidating vendors.
Sectors joined: Cybersecurity · SaaS · Technology · Dev Tools · B2B SaaS · AI
[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.
The incumbent
Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 13 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 13 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| DegreedB | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published. Series D $153M on 2021-04-14 at a $1.4B valuation, co-led by Sapphire Ventures and Riverwood Capital, over $360M raised in total [B: Utah Business]. Bought Learn In and cut 15% of staff in mid-2022, co-founder back as CEO [B: UNLEASH]. A layoff tracker (Blind) lists a 100-person, 40% cut on 2026-03-14 [C, UNVERIFIED by any release] |
| Cornerstone OnDemand (EdCast)B | not disclosed | — | Private since its 2021 take-private by Clearlake Capital; no revenue published. Completed its acquisition of EdCast, the LXP and content-marketplace vendor, on 2022-05-16; price not disclosed [B, release]. EdCast now runs as a Cornerstone business unit |
| Workday (Sana)NASDAQ: WDAYB | not disclosed | — | No learning or skills line reported. Agreed to buy Sana for about $1.1B (announced at Workday Rising, September 2025) and completed it on 2025-11-04; the completion release describes Sana Learn as an AI-native learning platform to work alongside Workday Learning [A/B: Workday release; price from Orrick and IT Brief coverage] |
| Eightfold AIB | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published. Series E $220M on 2021-06-10 led by SoftBank Vision Fund 2, more than $410M raised in total; valuation reported at about $2B [B: Training Industry release copy; the valuation from Business Standard at search-result level, C]. Talent intelligence: skills inference for hiring, mobility and workforce planning |
| GloatB | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published. Series D $90M on 2022-06-28 led by Generation Investment Management, more than $192M raised in total [B: SiliconANGLE]. Internal talent marketplace |
| Fuel50C | not disclosed | — | Private (Auckland origin); no revenue published. Series B $15.5M on 2021-04-09 led by PeakSpan Capital and Shearwater Capital, $28.2M raised in total [B/C: company announcement]. Career pathing and talent marketplace |
| WorkeraB | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published. Series B $23.5M in March 2023 led by Jump Capital with NEA, Owl Ventures, AI Fund and Sozo Ventures [B: TechCrunch]. Skills assessment and verification; total raised not stated in the coverage opened |
| 360LearningB | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published. $200M round on 2021-10-21 led by Sumeru, SoftBank Vision Fund 2 and Silver Lake Waterman, about $242.6M raised in total; 1,500+ customers claimed [B round; C customers: Tech.eu]. Sells itself as a collaborative LMS, so it straddles the LMS neighbour |
| Go1B | not disclosed | — | Private (Brisbane); no revenue published. Series D US$200M (A$273M) in July 2021 led by SoftBank Vision Fund 2, over US$280M raised in total, valued above US$1B [B: Startup Daily]. Content aggregator: one subscription to many publishers' libraries, delivered inside the buyer's LMS or LXP |
| Coursera (Coursera for Business, Udemy Business)NYSE: COURB | $1.5B | — | Combined 2025 revenue of more than $1.5B for Coursera plus Udemy, all segments including consumer and degrees, not enterprise only; 18,000 enterprise customers; combination completed May 2026 [B: completion release as carried by Pulse 2.0]. Figures carried in more detail by the 6114 record |
| LinkedIn LearningC | not disclosed | — | Inside Microsoft (LinkedIn segment); no learning line reported |
| PluralsightB | not disclosed | — | Private. Taken private by Vista for $3.5B in 2021; ownership passed to a lender group led by Blue Owl and Ares in August 2024 after Vista wrote off its equity [B: Bloomberg Law]. Technology-skills library with skill assessments |
| Skillsoft (Percipio)NYSE: SKILC | not disclosed | — | Listed; total revenue carried by the 6114 record (about $531M in fiscal 2025, shrinking) and not re-opened here; Percipio is its learning-experience platform. No LXP line reported |
Vendor landscape
Market leaders, the full paid field, and every open-source alternative. Where a free tier exists it is what sets the price floor, so it is analysis rather than an appendix.
Paid about $1.1B for Sana in 2025; no learning line reported
Private under Clearlake; no revenue published
Private; $1.4B valuation in 2021, staff cuts since
Combined 2025 revenue above $1.5B, all segments; 18,000 enterprise customers
Paid field · 13 vendors
The reference independent LXP
LMS plus LXP plus content marketplace in one suite
Sana Learn alongside Workday Learning and Skills Cloud
Talent intelligence for hiring and mobility
Internal talent marketplace
Career pathing and talent marketplace
Skills assessment and verification
Collaborative learning; straddles LMS and LXP
Content aggregator sold into other platforms
Content library with skills tracking; Udemy combined May 2026
Content library with the LinkedIn skills profile attached
Tech-skills library and assessments; lender-owned
Content library and the Percipio platform
Open source · 1 projects — the price floor
Course platform stewarded by Axim Collaborative (founded by Harvard and MIT); claims 140M+ learners. It delivers courses; it has no skills graph or talent marketplace
Three layers, one buyer. Recommendation and skills graph (Degreed, EdCast, Sana), skills intelligence and internal mobility (Eightfold AI, Gloat, Fuel50, Workera), and the content the layer recommends (Go1, Coursera, LinkedIn Learning, Pluralsight, Skillsoft). The CHRO buys all three, increasingly from the HR suite that holds the employee record.
Evidence
Evidence. Market size and LXP vendor revenue UNVERIFIED — no LXP, skills-intelligence or talent-marketplace vendor publishes revenue, and no category estimate is used. Opened and confirmed: Workday's completion release for Sana (2025-11-04; describes Sana Learn alongside Workday Learning; no price in the release) [A/B]; the ~$1.1B price from Orrick's deal note and IT Brief coverage of the September 2025 announcement [B, search-result level for Orrick]. Cornerstone's EdCast completion release (2022-05-16, no price) [B]. Degreed's Series D in Utah Business (2021-04-14, $153M, $1.4B, over $360M total) [B]; UNLEASH on the 2022 Learn In purchase, 15% cut and CEO change [B]. The March 2026 Degreed layoff (100 people, 40%) comes only from Blind's layoff tracker, which itself says to verify with official sources — C, UNVERIFIED, not relied on. Gloat Series D in SiliconANGLE [B]; Workera Series B in TechCrunch [B]; 360Learning in Tech.eu [B, customer count C]; Go1 in Startup Daily [B]; Eightfold Series E via the Training Industry copy of its release [B for the round it announces]; Fuel50 Series B on its own blog [C claim, B for the round]. Coursera–Udemy completion (May 2026, >$1.5B combined 2025 revenue, 18,000 enterprise customers) read in Pulse 2.0's copy of the release; barchart's copy did not render [B/C]. Pluralsight's lender takeover from Bloomberg Law search coverage [B]. Skillsoft revenue is carried from the 6114 record and not re-opened. Udemy Business and SAP SuccessFactors homepages returned bot checks (403) and are not in the companies file. Verify before acting.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Canada's L&D professional community (title: 'Canada's Community of L&D Professionals'); the buyers of LXP and skills tools in Canadian employers.
'The professional body for HR, Learning and Development'; home page states 160,000+ members.
Bills itself Europe's leading workplace learning event; 2026 edition 15,000+ attendees and 200+ exhibitors; next 5-6 May 2027, ExCeL London.
20-22 Oct 2026, Mandalay Bay, Las Vegas; 7,200+ attendees and 400+ solution providers claimed; where skills and talent-marketplace vendors launch.
Independent HR research firm with a learning-technology vendor database (461+ solutions) and skills-tech research.
Analyst site on learning, talent and HR technology; the source of the 'LXP' and talent-marketplace framing buyers use.
ATD (td.org) returned a Vercel bot checkpoint and is left out; it is already listed on the corporate LMS record. Communities overlap with the corporate LMS record by design — the same L&D buyer — so different bodies were chosen where possible.