Cross-industry software58% entry signalMarket screen4 sourced figuresOne thing must be truedefensibility

Carbon Accounting — selling the emissions ledger

Prepared 2026-09-20

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Find something that compounds. Entry is achievable and so is the first customer; what is missing is a reason the next entrant cannot repeat it as easily as you did.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDdefensibility — Executional — a better operator can move it.
Measured inputsUNVERIFIEDnot applied — This is a software market. The industry’s business counts describe its BUYERS, not the market being entered, so they are left out of the signal.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services, US · opened 2020
83.3%
1 year
64%
3 years
50.8%
5 years
34.3%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 17

The binding constraint — defensibility

There is nothing here to defend: the arithmetic is trivial, the emission factors are licensed from third parties, and every platform the buyer already owns now ships the feature. Workiva's FY2025 10-K (filed 2026-02-19) describes Workiva Carbon covering scopes one, two and three inside the same platform that produces the customer's statutory report [A]. Microsoft Sustainability Manager is live and documented [A, page fetched 2026-09-20]. The factor data that is supposed to be the moat is a retail product: Climatiq's published price list (fetched 2026-09-20) is a free non-commercial Starter tier, EUR 3,000/year for single-user factor access and from EUR 4,900/year for auditable product footprints. Beneath that sit openLCA (MPL-2.0) and Cloud Carbon Footprint (Apache-2.0), both actively maintained. The capital markets reached this conclusion first, and the evidence is on EDGAR. Watershed Technology's Form D shows USD 100,456,524 sold with a first sale of 2024-01-22; its next Form D shows USD 14,499,988, first sale 2025-12-22 [A]. Persefoni AI sold USD 52,714,648 in the 2023 offering and USD 4,349,962 from six investors in the one first sold 2026-04-23 [A]. An order of magnitude, in two years, at the two best-funded independents. The demand driver receded at the same time: the EU Omnibus Directive, cutting CSRD scope, entered into force 2026-03-18 [A, Workiva 10-Q]. Note also that this record, ESG compliance reporting, energy auditing and supplier tracking are largely sold by one set of vendors — so a new entrant is not picking a niche, it is attacking a bundle.

I

The incumbent

Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.

Incumbent
No independent leader. The ledger is a module of Workiva, Microsoft, IBM, SAP, Salesforce, Sphera and Cority platforms
Scale
Workiva's FY2025 revenue was $884.568M, +19.7% (10-K, year ended 2025-12-31, filed 2026-02-19); it has one operating and reportable segment and discloses no carbon or sustainability revenue line [A]
Share
No published share, and no listed pure play exists. The absence of a single disclosed carbon-accounting revenue line anywhere is itself the finding
Challengers
Watershed, Persefoni, Sweep, Greenly, Normative, Plan A, Sphera, Cority, Benchmark Gensuite, IBM Envizi, Salesforce Net Zero Cloud, SAP Sustainability Footprint Management, Schneider Electric Resource Advisor
Lock-in mechanism
Weak. The artefact is activity data multiplied by published factors, re-baselined most years anyway; the factor libraries are licensed, not owned, and export is a spreadsheet
Price movement
Downward at the data layer. Climatiq lists a free non-commercial tier and EUR 3,000/year for single-user emission-factor access (vendor price list, fetched 2026-09-20) [B]. No vendor discloses seat or platform pricing
Is the buyer consolidating?
Yes — Buyers are folding carbon into the platform that already produces the disclosure. Workiva ships Workiva Carbon beside its Sustainability Program; Microsoft, IBM, SAP and Salesforce ship it beside the ERP or CRM
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Workiva total revenue, FY2025A $884.568M, +19.7%; subscription and support $812.627M (91.9%). No carbon line disclosed
Watershed Technology, Form D offeringsA $100,456,524 sold, first sale 2024-01-22; then $14,499,988 sold, first sale 2025-12-22
Persefoni AI, Form D offeringsA $52,714,648 sold (first sale 2023-08-18); then $4,349,962 sold from 6 investors (first sale 2026-04-23)
Climatiq list price, emission-factor accessB Free non-commercial Starter tier; EUR 3,000/yr single user; product footprints from EUR 4,900/yr
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$885M

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 7 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 7 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Workiva (Workiva Carbon)NYSE: WKA $885M — FY2025 total revenue, Form 10-K for the year ended 2025-12-31, filed 2026-02-19. One operating and reportable segment; revenue is disaggregated only into subscription and support ($812.627M), XBRL professional services ($60.643M) and other services ($11.298M). No carbon or sustainability line is disclosed, so the tier A covers the total and the absence, not any carbon figure — Confirmed still listed on the NYSE: 10-Q filed 2026-08-04, Form 4s through 2026-09-16
WatershedA not disclosed — Private; no revenue published. Watershed Technology, Inc. Form D filed 2026-01-06 reports $14,499,988 sold, first sale 2025-12-22, against $100,456,524 sold in the Form D filed 2024-02-21 (first sale 2024-01-22). A Form D covers one offering only and is not a complete funding history
PersefoniA not disclosed — Private; revenue range marked 'Decline to Disclose' on its own Form D. Persefoni AI Inc. filed a Form D on 2026-05-01 reporting $4,349,962 sold from six investors, first sale 2026-04-23; the 2023-10-06 Form D reported $52,714,648 sold of an $82,714,648 offering
Microsoft Sustainability ManagerNASDAQ: MSFTA not disclosed — Not broken out anywhere in Microsoft's reporting. Product documentation on learn.microsoft.com was fetched 2026-09-20 and is live with no deprecation notice — the checkable fact is that the feature ships inside Power Platform, not what it earns
IBM Envizi / Salesforce Net Zero Cloud / SAP Sustainability Footprint ManagementC not disclosed — Suite modules; no line reported by any of the three parents. EDGAR full-text search returns no 2025-26 filer citing 'Envizi' or 'Net Zero Cloud' other than two proxy statements, so even adoption is unevidenced here
Sweep / Greenly / Normative / Plan AC not disclosed — All private and all European; none files with the SEC and none publishes revenue. Named because they compete, not because anything about them could be sourced
Sphera / Cority / Benchmark GensuiteC not disclosed — Private EHS platforms carrying carbon as one module; no disclosure. Sphera is Blackstone-owned and Cority Thoma Bravo-owned on press accounts that were not opened here [UNVERIFIED]
S

Startups & challengers

Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.

CompanyStageWhat it doesRaised
Agreena Funded challenger Carbon-farming platform that measures regenerative practices and issues soil-carbon certificates —
CarbonCloud Startup Climate footprint calculation and labelling for food producers. —
Tangible Startup Embodied-carbon data for construction materials to help build lower-carbon —
veritree Startup Verification and tracking of tree-planting and restoration projects for brands —
V

Vendor landscape

Market leaders, the full paid field, and every open-source alternative. Where a free tier exists it is what sets the price floor, so it is analysis rather than an appendix.

WorkivaA

$884.568M FY2025 revenue, 6,624 customers, 97.2% gross retention; carbon is a module, not a segment [A]

Hyperscaler and ERP bundlesC

Microsoft, IBM, SAP, Salesforce all ship a carbon module; none discloses a figure [A for existence, C for scale]

WatershedA

Best-funded independent; last documented raise $14.5M (Form D, first sale 2025-12-22) [A]

Paid field · 6 vendors

Workiva CarbonEnterprise / listed filers

Sold beside the statutory report, which is the real reason it wins

WatershedLarge enterprise

Private

PersefoniEnterprise and financial institutions

Private; funding has contracted sharply

Sweep / Greenly / Normative / Plan AEuropean mid-market

Private; mandate-exposed

Microsoft Sustainability Manager / IBM Envizi / SAP SFM / Salesforce Net Zero CloudExisting platform estate

Bought as a line item on an existing contract

ClimatiqAPI / data layer

Sells the factors and the calculation others resell as a product

Open source · 4 projects — the price floor

openLCA (olca-modules)MPL-2.0

Life-cycle assessment engine; last push 2026-09-15, actively maintained [A, GitHub API]

Cloud Carbon FootprintApache-2.0

Cloud-emissions estimation, 1,050 stars, last push 2026-04-23 [A, GitHub API]

Green Software Foundation Impact FrameworkMIT

The successor to the CarbonQL project — that repository name now redirects here. Last push 2026-08-25 [A, GitHub API]

Climatiq Starter tierFree, non-commercial

Not open source, but it sets the same floor: factor search and five basic product footprints at no cost [B, vendor price list]

The same vendor list serves all four sustainability software categories in this atlas — carbon accounting, ESG compliance reporting, energy auditing and supplier tracking. Workiva, Sphera, Cority, Benchmark Gensuite, Enablon and the hyperscalers sell into one budget held by one buyer, usually a sustainability lead reporting to the CFO. That matters for entry: a single-category product is priced against a bundle the buyer is already paying for.

Evidence

Evidence. Sourced by opening primary documents. Workiva's FY2025 10-K (year ended 2025-12-31, filed 2026-02-19) and Q2 2026 10-Q (filed 2026-08-04) were read in full: total revenue $884.568M FY2025 and $502.596M for H1 2026, one reportable segment, Workiva Carbon described as a product, and no carbon or sustainability revenue line anywhere. Four Form D filings were opened directly — Watershed Technology, Inc. (2024-02-21 and 2026-01-06) and Persefoni AI Inc. (2023-10-06 and 2026-05-01) — and the dollar figures quoted are from those forms. Climatiq's price page and Microsoft's Sustainability Manager documentation were fetched 2026-09-20; openLCA, Cloud Carbon Footprint and the Impact Framework were checked through the GitHub API on the same day for licence and last-push date. NOT sourced, and not claimed: any market size — no dollar figure for this category is asserted anywhere in this record; any revenue for Watershed, Persefoni, Sweep, Greenly, Normative, Plan A, Sphera, Cority, Benchmark Gensuite, Enablon or EcoVadis, none of which publishes one; any share figure for anybody. The ownership of Sphera and Cority is UNVERIFIED here. The GHG Protocol's free calculation tools now redirect to a Zendesk help centre that refused automated retrieval (403), so their continued free availability is UNVERIFIED. Form D amounts are per-offering and are not a complete funding history. Verify before acting.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationInternationalA
Carbon Accounting Alliance
carbonaccountingalliance.com

Not-for-profit alliance of carbon-accounting firms, launched Nov 2023, registered in England with an international mandate; annual conference (2026 edition listed). No member count stated.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Business for Social Responsibility (CBSR)
cbsr.ca

Canada's membership association for corporate sustainability teams; workshops, peer networking, member directory. No member count stated on site.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventNorth AmericaA
Trellis Impact 27 (Trellis Group, formerly GreenBiz)
trellis.net

Main North American corporate-sustainability conference; May 11-13, 2027, Moscone West, San Francisco. Same group runs GreenBiz (Feb 2027, San Diego) and Scope 2/Scope 3 webinars.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Corporate Knights
corporateknights.com

Toronto-based sustainable-economy magazine since 2002; 126,000+ is its stated circulation (inserted in The Globe and Mail, WSJ, Washington Post), not members.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationInternationalA
ESG Today
esgtoday.com

Daily ESG and sustainability-reporting news site; covers carbon-accounting vendors, ISSB/CSRD rule changes and software fundings. No readership figure stated.

Checked 2026-09-22

GLOBE Forum (Vancouver), normally the main Canadian sustainability event, says on its own site that the 2026 edition is paused, so it is not listed. Reddit (r/ESG, r/sustainability) could not be verified from this network.