Sustainability Procurement Tracking — supplier ESG data as a network
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Execution decidesThe hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.
Get to the buyer. The product is reachable and the need is real; the channel is owned by someone else, and a route to it — a partner, a reseller, a trade relationship, a book of clients bought outright — is what has to be built.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 9
The binding constraint — distribution
The buyer-side product is worthless without the supplier side, and one network already holds both — you cannot buy your way onto either. EcoVadis is named in 525 EDGAR filings filed since 2025-01-01, 26 of them 10-Ks [A, EDGAR full-text search run 2026-09-20]. The citations are companies advertising their own rating: Workiva's FY2025 10-K lists a Silver Medal from EcoVadis, "placing us in the top 15% of all companies assessed", as evidence of its sustainability performance [A]. That is what a standard looks like from the inside. Each buyer that demands a scorecard conscripts its suppliers, and each rated supplier becomes a reason for the next buyer to ask for the same scorecard. A new entrant must persuade thousands of suppliers — already fatigued by EcoVadis, CDP and bespoke customer questionnaires — to fill in one more form for a buyer they have never heard of. The other half of the channel is no better. Buyer-side workflow is a module of the procurement suite already installed (SAP Ariba, Coupa, Ivalua) or of the EHS platform already running, and the same vendors selling carbon accounting and ESG reporting sell this as the third tab. The demand driver was CSRD value-chain reporting, and the Omnibus Directive that cut CSRD scope came into force on 2026-03-18 [A]. Meanwhile the underlying artefact is priced: Climatiq lists auditable product carbon footprints from EUR 4,900/year [B, vendor price list]. Neither the data nor the software is the scarce thing. The network is, and it is taken.
The incumbent
Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 1 of 7 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 7 named · 1 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| EcoVadisA | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published anywhere, and its investors disclose none. What is documented: a Form D filed 2022-09-13 by Astorg VII Co-Invest Ecovadis, a Luxembourg co-investment vehicle named for the company, with the offering amount marked indefinite. The evidenced fact is the network position — 525 EDGAR filings since 2025-01-01 name it — not a figure |
| WorkivaNYSE: WKA | $885M | — | FY2025 total revenue, Form 10-K for the year ended 2025-12-31, filed 2026-02-19; one reportable segment and no supplier-data line disclosed. Included because its platform collects and tracks sustainability values from third parties and reports to CDP, and because its own 10-K cites an EcoVadis medal — the incumbent's customer and its distribution channel in one document |
| Sphera (SupplyShift)C | not disclosed | — | Private; no disclosure. Reported to have acquired the supplier-sustainability vendor SupplyShift, which was not verified from a primary source and is UNVERIFIED |
| SAP Ariba / Coupa / Ivalua supplier modulesC | not disclosed | — | Supplier sustainability shipped inside the procurement suite; none of the three reports a line for it, and Coupa and Ivalua are private |
| NovataC | not disclosed | — | Private; no revenue published. Filed a single Form D on 2021-11-12 and nothing since [A for that fact]. Aimed at private-markets portfolio and supplier data |
| Position Green / Diligent ESG / IBM EnviziC | not disclosed | — | All carry supplier or value-chain modules; none discloses a figure for them. Named because they compete for the same budget, not because anything could be sourced |
| CDP supply chain programmeB | not disclosed | — | A non-profit disclosure system, not a vendor, and it publishes no revenue relevant here. It matters because it is the second questionnaire every supplier has already filled in — Workiva's 10-K describes submitting responses to CDP as a platform feature [A for that] |
Vendor landscape
Market leaders, the full paid field, and every open-source alternative. Where a free tier exists it is what sets the price floor, so it is analysis rather than an appendix.
Named in 525 EDGAR filings since 2025-01-01, 26 of them 10-Ks; discloses no revenue [A]
SAP Ariba, Coupa and Ivalua reach the buyer through a contract that already exists; no figures disclosed
Private specialists; no disclosure from any of them
Paid field · 6 vendors
Two-sided: suppliers pay to be assessed, buyers pay for access
Private
Private; overlapping questionnaires
Bought as a module on a renewal
Private
Sells the calculation and factors underneath supplier-footprint products, from EUR 4,900/yr
Open source · 2 projects — the price floor
Life-cycle assessment engine behind product-level footprints; actively maintained, last push 2026-09-15 [A, GitHub API]
Free factor search and five basic product footprints — enough to prove a concept without paying anyone [B, vendor price list]
These four sustainability categories are one market sold by one vendor list, and this record is where that bites hardest. A supplier-tracking entrant is not competing on features; it is competing with a rating that appears in 525 SEC filings and with a module the buyer's procurement suite already includes. Note also that the NAICS anchor is navigational: environmental consulting is where the atlas files this, but the buyers are procurement and supply-chain functions across every manufacturing and retail sector.
Evidence
Evidence. Sourced from EDGAR. The EcoVadis counts come from the SEC full-text search API run on 2026-09-20: 525 documents filed 2025-01-01 to 2026-09-20 contain the term, of which 26 are 10-Ks; comparison counts on the same basis were 14 for Persefoni and 0 for EnergyCAP. Distinctive strings were used deliberately — counts for common-word vendor names such as Normative are meaningless and were discarded. Workiva's FY2025 10-K (filed 2026-02-19) was opened and supplies the EcoVadis Silver Medal citation, the CDP submission feature and the supplier data-collection description, as well as its $884.568M FY2025 revenue and the absence of any supplier-data revenue line; Workiva's Q2 2026 10-Q (filed 2026-08-04) supplies the 2026-03-18 entry into force of the EU Omnibus Directive. The Astorg VII Co-Invest Ecovadis Form D (filed 2022-09-13) and Novata's Form D (filed 2021-11-12) were opened; neither yields a usable amount, and that is reported rather than filled in. Climatiq's published price list was fetched 2026-09-20. NOT sourced: any market size — none is claimed; revenue for EcoVadis, Sphera, Assent, IntegrityNext, Sedex, Coupa, Ivalua, Position Green or Novata, none of which publishes one. Sphera's acquisition of SupplyShift, Sphera's and Cority's ownership, and the status of CSDDD value-chain due-diligence obligations after the Omnibus are all UNVERIFIED. A full-text search count measures visibility in filings, not market share. Verify before acting.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Home page states 4,000 members; SCMP designation; sells Bill S-211 (modern slavery reporting) training
Public-sector buyer network run by Reeve Consulting; page states 57 member institutions in its 2025 annual report
Procurement-side sustainability body with a member community, peer learning circles and supplier directory
Sustainability practitioners; individual and organizational membership, member directory
Sustainability news, Trellis Briefing newsletter and the Trellis Impact conference; also runs a paid peer network
News and conferences for corporate sustainability and brand teams; membership network
GLOBE Forum (Vancouver) was the Canadian sustainability event; its site says GLOBE Forum 2026 is paused. ISM's site redirected to a login page and Procurious served no readable content, so neither is listed.